Junction City, KS 
South Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #3 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Baskets Are Ugly But Somewhat Functional!

1    10/19/2015   10/21/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is probably the seventh Eagle Scout course I've played. Most of them are lacking in some important component or another. This one has the funky ugly baskets that don't hold your discs. That's easy, just play it as make if your disc falls through the bottom. The baskets are extremely solid. They will be able to withstand the vandalism that comes with being in such an isolated park. What bothered me more was not having any marked tee pads. I never like throwing basket to basket.

The course plays starts in front of the ball fields and completely plays around them in a counter clockwise direction. Previous reviewer Chained Evil summed up each hole very well in his review so no need for me to be redundant. I really thought # 7 was the signature hole on the course. It's a fairly long, but reachable downhill throw to a narrow opening in the woods. It's probably 280' to this opening but the opening is probably only 30' across. That narrow little gap then takes you to a little lawn area where the basket sits. But if you miss this opening, you could have a difficult time getting through this opening. Very cool hole.

Someone had painted tee areas on the grass with a bright pink spray paint but I couldn't find them for 8 or 9.
Cons: The # 1 con for me would be the lack of permanent tee pads.

The second con would be the consistent prevailing winds which took most of the enjoyment out of holes 1 and 2.

The ugly baskets.

No signs.
Other Thoughts: I appreciate the work that the scout put into this course as a tribute to his grandfather who worked for the city, in the park's department. You can never fault these Eagle Scouts and the work ethic that put into their projects. This is actually one of the better scout courses I've played. I'd like to see the park's department come in and follow up on the project and not just let stand the way it is.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Has potential but needs work

1    7/27/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 344  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The grounds were well taken care of and the grounds were clean of litter. As the title says there is great potential here and if they would put in permanent signage at each tee box that would help tremendously. The first 2 holes offer you the chance to air it out, more on #2. Hole #2 is uphill, and if the wind is out of the south, make sure you stay to the left with your drive.
#3 is pretty much a straight shot, just make sure you land in the fairway and you will be fine, don't go to the right!!
#4 Again a straight ahead shot, thick trees to the right. Also the basket sits right in front of the tree line, so don't over shoot or it might be tough getting back out.
#5 Short hole and the basket is tucked between 2 big cedar trees.
#6 Another straight ahead shot, big cedar just to the left of the basket. #7 is the signature hole, in my opinion, and is downhill and the basket is to the right past the big cedar tree. This is the longest hole on the course and pretty much follows the sidewalk.
#8 Goes uphill, again follow the sidewalk, also has a narrow line you must hit because there are trees, bushes lining this hole on both sides. #9 Plays uphill and is open. Basket is to the left and just a few feet behind the sign at the top of the hill.
As of my visit there were not any other disc golfers here, so you will most likely have the course to yourself.
Cons: First lets start off with the baskets. It was really a crap shoot to see if your putt would stay in the basket and not fall out the bottom. These are home baskets and angle downward at the base instead of lie flat so your disc has a 50/50 shot of staying in the basket even after you have made your putt. No signage and no tee pads. You pretty much just start wherever you want, throw to the first basket and away you go. Not so much safari style, because the baskets are numbered, but there are no wore out spots in the dirt to get an idea where to throw from. It would be very easy to lose a disc here, and trust me I would know first hand. Spent a solid 10 mins searching for a mid range disc on #3. Of course this is not the courses fault, but there are several sand plum bushes in the rough on #3 and they are sharp, again speaking from experience. Holes #7 and #8 it would be very easy to hit a walker coming down the path, #8 especially. Be extra cautious on these 2 holes.
Other Thoughts: This course could be so much more than what it is. I am not knocking the work done by fine folks that put this course in the ground but some tweaking is needed. If they were to add tee pads, or designate an area, add signage with distances, and put in some real baskets then I would bump this review up to 2.5. For a 9 holer it has a mix of long and short. More short than long and it also uses the trees, rough, and what elevation is available. On #2 if the wind is out of the south it makes this hole play a lot longer. Please be aware of the people walking on the paths before you throw. As I have all ready mentioned this is extremely important on #8 and #7. I wouldn't drive out of my way to play this course but if you were passing through town on your way and you needed your fix then you might give this course a shot. Its not the best in the state but it sure could be better with a little TLC.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Another on vacation

2-4    5/23/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: shawnsink
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I got to take my wife and dad out there to play and my dad is now going to start playing.
Cons: No tee boxes..awkward layout..the baskets are homemade and just sad.The disc normally falls right thru the bottom of the basket.
Other Thoughts: We had just went to this course because it was up the street from where i grew up at.Should have went somewhere else but didnt really have a choice ha

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/24/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 92  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: This course was in a secluded area. Relatively serene.
Cons: I have to start with the baskets. These baskets are terrible. I have been to several optimist courses, and usually like the courses. This course did not even have regular baskets. Your discs will fall through the bottom. The baskets look like they were crafted in someone's garage. Not that every basket must be Mach or Disc Catcher, but a basket must be able to hold a disc. There are also no tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: This course is hard to find, and not very enjoyable. I would encourage you avoid it.

 How about some teepads and baskets that actually catch?

1    5/14/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 330  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained park with the course more or less traversing a loop around some ball diamond. Holes are decent length and have a good mix of open and wooded shots. Hole #7 is the best of the lot with a downhill shot where you need to hit a precise landing area or be stuck in dense woods.
Cons: The teepads, or lack thereof. You essentially play from basket to basket. Speaking of the baskets, these are amongst the worst catching baskets I have ever encountered. Seven of my nine putts fell out the bottom. While the last six holes offer a nice amount of woodsiness, the fact that a walking/biking path runs amongst several of them (it runs right down the fairway of Hole #8) makes them a safety hazard.
Other Thoughts: This course was built as an Eagle Scout project, and sadly like a number of Eagle Scout project courses I see, not much consideration seems to be given to what happens after the Eagle Scouts are done. The use of poor catching homemade baskets as opposed to buying professional quality ones is an example of this.

What disappointed me most about this course was that it has the land potential to be a fantastic course, as the nine fairways aren't that bad once you take away the walking paths, and there seems to be land in the perimeter of the park to potentially expand the course to 18 holes, but the slipshod construction of the baskets and lack of pads greatly hampers its playability. There was nobody using the park while I was there, which I think good baskets and marked tees (even if they're just signposts) alone would change. Perhaps its time to get a new batch of Eagle scouts to fix this mistake. Only worth your time if you need this added to your course count, otherwise keep on driving.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Didn't know it was here!

1    6/22/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: KC Red
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There aren't many other courses around so if you happen to be there like we were, and want to play, there's a course at least.
Cons: No Tee pads, older 'handmade' style baskets.
Other Thoughts: My parents live in JC and go to South Park to use the walking trail there. They happened to mention that they 'saw some of those basket things' there so we went up to check it out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center