Saint Charles, IL 
Q Center DGC Share



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great for Beginners

2-4    10/4/2013   1/12/2014
Review By: MattElwell
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As a beginner, this course was very encouraging. A few tree hazards and some stickers in the brush but a manicured green. Every hole was well-signed, which was helpful in handicapping some of the holes that aren't easy to see from the tee.
Cons: If you're further along in your disc golf career than I am, you'll probably be bored. Every hole can be hit in one drive and there are very few challenging hazards.
Other Thoughts: You have to be a registered guest of the Q Center to use this facility. I am lucky enough to have a client who brings me on to the campus from time to time. The place has very few other disc golfing guests so I had the course all to myself except for a few joggers. I think it's a great course for practicing, since there aren't many people to get in the way of. Finally, I wouldn't suggest sneaking onto the campus. I was asked to show my badge by security once when I was playing. They're very serious about keeping non-guests out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    7/12/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through rolling grassy hills on a nicely maintained private property. There are scattered trees in play, and a few holes bring some brushy rough into play as well to add some risk. There is a decent mix of hole lengths from shorter ace runs to a couple that are in the low to mid 300s, no bombers but that makes sense on a course like this.

A few holes call for some interesting lines, including one with a pine tree right in front of the tee. There's plenty of room to make a shot on either side, but it makes you commit to a line. The tee signs are basic, but accurate and easy to follow, and the course flow is good. There are next tee signs at many of the baskets, but these aren't really necessary.
Cons: The tees are awful, they're just holes in the ground with some gravel. Many are on slopes, and all are rutted out and uneven. A couple holes are long enough that a runup is useful, and this is going to encourage people to trample the grass around the tees. The baskets are a little strange, they catch well enough for a recreational course though. The course is only open to Q Center guests.
Other Thoughts: The course isn't interesting or challenging enough to make an experienced player work too hard, every hole is a birdie opportunity. The course seems to be designed as a lunch break type of course though, and it does a nice job of catering to casual and new players. The distances are reasonable, and the punishment for errant shots is limited.

The course is private, with guards at the entrances. If you play without permission you are trespassing, so play at your own risk.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short lil course

1    7/14/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: steven2361
Played: 173  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Accurate drives required to card 2s. You need hyzers, straight shots, and anhyzers. Some rewarding birdies.

Some trees and rough obstacles shape lines.
Cons: Tees are god awful gravel stone. Several are below the land and some face far uphill.

Very easy and pretty short.

5's tee is inside the putting circle of 4

Holes 1 3 4 8 9 are pretty boring

The baskets are weird and do not catch very good at all. They have a large metal ring that sits at the bottom of the basket.
Other Thoughts: It's a pain in the ass to get to this course. Honestly, it's not worth the 2 mile round trip walk.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Private Propety with Potential

1    7/12/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 316  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Q Center Disc Golf course is located on private property. The course plays in a slightly hilly and pretty open area. There are large scattered trees that come into play on several of the holes.

Navigation of this course is pretty easy. There are next tee arrows at the base of every basket that point to the next tee.

The course has decent tee signs with descriptions and distances.

The baskets are older what I believe are Mach 3's. The one unique part is the large inner ring that holds the inner chains. It rests on the bottom of the basket. It's the first time i've seen this.

There are some decent holes that require shot shaping ability. There is a good mix of distances.

This is a very good beginner course as very little heavy rough comes into play.
Cons: The tee pads are the biggest issue. They are framed and filled in with crushed limestone. Many are not level and rutted badly. One tee (#4) has become overgrown by brush.

The piece of land is pretty solid. I thought the potential was there for a very cool 9 hole course. I think the designer missed this.
Other Thoughts: *PLAY AT YOUR OWN RISK* This course in on private property. Here is the back door in.
Take Route 25 north past the facility.
Turn left (west) on Lambert Ave.
Turn left (south) on Grove Ave.
Park on the street near the asphalt bike path. Tread lightly as your parking in a neighborhood in the front of peoples houses.
I estimate the walk to be about 1 to 1.5 miles from the start of the walking path until you step foot on the tee of #2.
Take the walking path south. There is a #18 green mile marker on the right side of the path. On the left side of the path there is a gravel walkway up the hill.
Take the gravel path up the hill.
Continue east across the parking lots into the grass area. The tee to #2 will be across the grass field. Tee #1 is in center field on the baseball/soccer field just north. It's easier to start on #2 and finish on #1.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Gotta Sneak in

1    5/20/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: Pesheffield
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice Landscaping and rolling hills. Good Combo of short and long.
Cons: This is a private course for guests of the Q Center only! Lame!
Other Thoughts: If you want to play you will have to sneak in (as I did) and they never knew. Go North on 25 past the property a bit. Make a left towards the river. Park in the neighborhood near the river path. Go south down the path and you will see a small gravel path that leads onto their property. Walk towards baseball diamond for the first tee.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a good course for beginners

2-4    8/15/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: skinner21
Played: 22  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course winds through a multi-use park on private property. the entire course plays over well manicured grass with a few mature trees to provide obstacles. This is a pretty easy course, but they do a decent enough job at forcing some creative shots in places.

Navigation is a breeze here. The tee signs are nice and all are in tact, and all of the baskets are marked. The next tee box is always very close to the basket of the prior hole. This probably should be a con, but since it seems like no one ever plays the course it isn't an issue.

The baskets, while being fairly older, are Mach II's and catch discs very well.

The course provides some respite from the boredom of attending conferences at the Q Center all day.
Cons: The tee boxes are hurting. they are limestone, which in itself isn't a con, but they are very small and not maintained properly. Many have eroded and are not usable. Others are not level.

on a few holes, the course plays very close to some soccer fields and tennis courts. Again, not many people seemed to be out there, so I didn't take off as much for this as I have for other course. If this course ever got busy, there would be some serious safety hazards between the park's other uses and the proximity of the tee boxes to the pins. But I don't foresee this ever becoming an issue.

there is a lot of wooded property on the grounds, but none of it is used for the course. It would have been nice to see them use at least some of it, but I don't think they were trying to make this course any harder than it is. There is a lot of potential on the property for a really nice course. Unfortunately, this course leaves you rather blah.
Other Thoughts: this is a private course. The Q Center, where this course is located, is a conference center and concrete retreat type of place. While this course is not that exciting, it's much better than what goes on inside those buildings.

If you're at the Q Center, by all means get some rounds in, but for anyone that can't get in, don't worry, you're not missing anything special.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Convenient

2-4    7/27/2007   6/26/2009
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Complimentary discs with ID when you stay at the Q Center. Course is well maintained and has decent tees and baskets. Course is well laid out and flows well.
Cons: Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: This was one of the first courses I ever played and don't remember much other than I had a good time. I wish I could remember more about the course, but I literally had never played disc golf until a few weeks before I played this course.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.