Superior, WI
Mont du Lac - Eagle's Peak Share
Uploaded By: djschnabel Hole #11 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 155ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket ( B-Pin )



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Start to the Day

5+    9/13/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: Ajampalm
Played: 54  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a perfect warm-up or cool-down course for the White Cedar. It offers you many different shots especially uphill and downhill, but gives you hyzer and anhyzer opportunities as well. Though many shots are open they still require the ability to hit a line to sink birdies. You can feel good or bad about your round and respect the layout equally on this great course on site.
Cons: Again not having full cement tee pads is disappointing, but when you consider the location it would be hard to get everything in place...
Really its a great course to compliment the White Cedar.
Other Thoughts: Anyone who is in the area is a fool to not play these courses. They are not for rec players, but pay to play courses really shouldn't be. With the amenities on site and the dual courses plus cheap camping it blows me away there aren't more people doing weekend getaways here. Do yourself a favor and take a full day or two and enjoy the best that the northland has to offer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Northern MN Course

2-4    6/14/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: a.bergal
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 7/7/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I would say this is the best course in the Twin Ports area. When I have been there the grounds have been well maintained. The tee boxes and pins are well marked as well as the signage to the next hole. The course is built on the ski hill so be prepared for VERY hilly and steep terrain that makes for a great challenge. Great service at the chalet before and after rounds with refreshments and a small selection of discs.
Cons: This course doesnt have many negatives, only things that i can think of are muddy conditions and the construction. Playing over the 2012 summer there is some construction going on at the top of the hill so there is some traffic of workers and machines on the course. And one of the holes is currently torn apart from this construction. Also after rain since some of the holes are heavily shaded or in the trees it can take a while for the course to dry out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: keepDGobscure
Played: 94  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The previous reviews refer to the old layout of the two courses. Eagle's Peak is now a self contained 18 hole course independent of the White Cedar course (though they can be played together if you skip to White Cedar after hole 9). Eagle's Peak plays up and down the ski slopes, whilst traversing steep valleys and wooded areas along the way. It does not play terribly long, I think there is only one hole over 600ft, and there are a few shorties in wooded areas. It is very well designed though, taking advantage of every hill, peak, patch of trees, etc. The view from the top of the hill is absolutely amazing, and it is very relaxing shooting down the hill on the last stretch of the track.
Cons: Signage could use a bit of work, I missed a few holes on the front nine and had to find my way back to play them. I could not find tee 16 to save my life, so skipped it and played the pond shots. There is a map of the course at the bar, but one is not allowed to carry it with them (bring a copy machine?). I do wish for the course to be longer and have a bit more on an 'extreme' feeling to it. It pairs very well with the White Cedar course, but would compliment it more if there were some 700ft shots.
Other Thoughts: Although the ski hill looks massive and like quite an undertaking, it is still a walk in the park compared to the White Cedar course, where you must hike very steep ravines and strenuous trails on and in between holes. The bar at the bottom of the hill offers very reasonably priced drinks and totally sick flat screen to 'watch the game'. Enjoy a refreshment here before going into the extreme fairytale-like course: White Cedar.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!!!

2-4    9/11/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 67  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 3.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is sick. Long mix of every thing left, right, up down, woods, water and open. This is a hard course that will test any player. Great use of a ski hill in the off season. They have a bar and a pro shop. The people are friendly and helpful. The course is five dollars to play but it is well worth the money. You can camp there and play the course all weekend. This course also over looks a state park and is very beautiful. The lay out is great and it is an excellent work out going up and down the ski hill. Very challenging and well thought out. They have a great cannon hole that is absolutely amazing & is a tribute to the old kaposia hole but its better. Defiantly one of the best course I have ever played. Almost a perfect course.
Cons: The only two things that could make this course better would be having cement tee pads on all the holes and being better maintained as in trails, stairs and bridges. This course will test you physically and mentally I think this is a plus but some might see it as a con.
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to play this course again. I will try to play it anytime I am in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Quite the experience

1    8/23/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: discgolfer99
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 40.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Scenry is fantastic. To enjoy it, you gotta earn it. I enjoy a good hike, but holy cow. Many different shaped holes to force every shot in your bag. The amount of work that goes into the course is amazing. Played here on the way back from Highbridge and the natural tees were a welcomed perk. I'm a casual player and would prefer natural tees, I can see if money was on the line that concrete is better but....anywhoo, the course has it all..... all but the....(see cons)
Cons: The walks/hikes between holes were long, dangerous, and abundant. The flow is fine and finding your way is fine, but it seems to never end. It didn'tt really have the feel of playing disc golf, it was more hiking. I understand that it's a ski hill, but it seemed like way too many uphill holes. Fast greens are nice, but a few were out of hand.
Other Thoughts: The course is not for me. I enjoyed many of the great holes and apprectiate the work that has been done. Its great to see another pay to play private course pop up. It's apparent that the owners did not design it for the average joe who plays occasionally. Be prepared for a long grueling round. Take a few discs out of your bag and bring more water and snacks, gonna need em. I recommend trying atleast once to have your own opinion. Great in many ways!!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome & challenging, best $5 I ever spent

5+    9/30/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: Surlydrinker
Played: 142  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a little of everything you could ask for in a disc golf course. Up's, down's, left's, right's, straight's, tunnel's, and open holes. Very good mix. B pins on over half of the holes. It is a 24 hole course that plays half on the mountain and the other half in the white cedar forest. A natural spring feeds a creek on a couple of holes in the forest. O.B. on 7 of the holes. Holes 12 - 14 have a old Kaposia layout feel to them. Holes 19 - 21 start at the mountain summit and are hugh down hill bomber shots. Awesome views from up there. You finish the course with 3 water holes that shoot up to and over a spring feed pond. Great for taking a swim after a hot day. Course has many birdie opportunities if you can keep it in the fairways and make your putts. Very challenging in the B pin positions. Garbage cans and water coolers on almost every hole.
Cons: Tee boxes are natural and some of them can be pretty slippery when wet.
Other Thoughts: Not too many places I know of that you can sit down at the club house and get a beer and pizza after you round. The course is always expanding. Talking with Logger the course designer, he told me that next year the course is going to expand to a 27 holes layout and by 2011, they plan on splitting the course in half and making it into two 18 holes courses and have a camping facility as well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/30/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: djschnabel
Played: 140  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 17.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tremendous layout, many different styles of holes. Brian has played enough courses to know what works, and it definately shows. This is not a course to play for beginners, go to the new Morgan Park course if you are. This has to be the premier course in this part of the state. My playing partners and I agree, this has to be right up there with Kaposia, and Blue Ribbon Pines, and any other course we have played (60+). Take your time, you may want to play twice, but you may be unable to (lots of hiking).

I didn't think the distances between holes were bad, maybe they have changed since Guurn's review. We did play in an on/off rainstorm, and the terrain was slick (clay). The signage is good enough to get through, once you play it one time, you will definatly know where to go the 2nd round.
Cons: Slippery slope, perhaps a better map @ club house, or signs w/ layout on them. The signs currently just state distance/par.
Other Thoughts: Great chat w/ Brian after the round. We were on our way up to Grand Marais, or we could have stayed and played all day. If you are going to Duluth to play disc golf, maybe play Morgan Park to warm up, then head here and stay here. Beer, great disc golf and conversation!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hiking boots recommended

1    7/25/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 81  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 27.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a tough course in the woods and on a ski hill that will challenge your endurance and balance as well as your game.

I have trouble calling this a typical ski hill course because even though you will be walking on ski hill type terrain you spend more time in the woods than on the ski hill. It is a very well designed course allowing you to both air it out and have shots at aces. I would call this an advanced course, not for the beginner.

It is tough to describe the course without going hole by hole which I won't do here. Some are very typical of a heavy wooded course, like Hole 7, 185 feet through the trees and over a creek. Some holes are more like a typical ski hill course, like hole 1, 605 feet uphill. The main theme you will see here is steep hills and extremely beautiful terrain. Errant shots will make you pay harder that almost any other place. The deep ravines, ever present in the hilly country around here, are usually used as a disincentive to going off the fairway.

There is a tribute hole to the now defunct gorge shot at Kaposia park. We all commented on it playing through the first time, and after the round we ran into the designer and he confirmed it.

They have excellent signage leading you to the next teebox from the basket. Most holes have benches and many have garbage cans. There is a pro shop/bar with scorecards and rental discs. It is pay per play.
Cons: Only a few holes had actual teeboxes. Some of the baskets were temporary ones. The terrain is tough. Not all holes had stairs where is was really needed and some of the baskets were in places (like the very steep side of a hill) that made you say huh. This course doesn't need those gimmicks and if they intend to keep the baskets in places like that they may have issues with erosion..
Other Thoughts: This course is far better than my review is letting on. The reality is that this is a newly designed and opened course that is still in development. Once they settle in and get teeboxes in I will be moving this rating up. This has the potential to be a 5 star course. I will be recommending it to my friends. They have a league of some sort on Tuesdays when it is also open to mountain biking.

For the 5 dollars we also got a free beer at the end of a round.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.