Disc Golf Store
Fort Bragg, CA 
College of the Redwoods DGC Share
Uploaded By: Lonhart Hole #2 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 305ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
What a fun course!!!

1    8/21/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 77  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: College of the Redwoods is a great place for Disc Golf!
Love the Brand New Practice Basket they have next to the first tee!
** Great Tee Signage
** Cement/Rubber Tee Pads (2 with 12ft Circle Tees)
** Mach 3 Baskets
** Right ON the coast! You can see the ocean from a couple tees!
** Already a couple pin placements on most holes
** One Hole with Hanging basket - which is always fun!
** The view of the coastline and the general flow of the course make for an amazingly fun time!
Cons: * Transients abundant
* Only a few truly technical shots (Short Pin Placements)
Other Thoughts: I loved this place! With more land I'm sure they could build this into an amazing 18 Hole Course! Lot of great ideas going into creating new and more challenging fairways and pin placements. We need more courses right along the California Coast! Thank the locals for all of the hard work out there!! Lots of shrubbery and bushes cleared out!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

NorCal Coastal Discin

2-4    6/10/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: zofo
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The scenery and weather was beautiful! This 9 is perfect for the beginner or intermediate player. The course is well groomed and very clean when I played. The holes have concrete tee pads except for 5 which is a crumbly mess. Layout is pretty straight forward. Only had to search for the 6th tee ( only one without a sign) It was a planned destination for my trip to the coast and it didn't disappoint.

hole 1 straight shot but hidden in a bunch of redwoods
hole 2 300ft plus over a hill..hidden basket fun!
Hole 3 straight shot 300ftish
Hole 4 160ftish behind a tree
Hole 5 250ftish in a bunch of tall shrubbery hidden basket fun!
Hole 6 not sure how far no tee sign but had a huge concrete circle tee pad shoot over shrubbery..350ftish
Hole 7 elevated tee straight shot 300ftish
Hole 8 250ft ish only hole that needed and anhyzer shot hidden tee behind redwoods
Hole 9 350ftish straight bomb from elevated tee
Cons: Pretty much a RHBH throwers course...ok with me as that is what I throw. only needed to do a few hyzers and one anhyzer shot to baskets. The only other issue was with some of the tee pads. was a crumbly mess as i stated above and tee 6 was missing a signage. This made for a little scouting to figure out the course.
Other Thoughts: There was no other players out their the whole time I was there. The course was clean and had benches and some trash cans at tees. As I said the course was well maintained with mowed fairways and good baskets. It is near hotels and campgrounds which is nice. I will come back over and over when I visit the coast to get out of the heat of the valley!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mendo Coast Frolf, come get some

5+    9/30/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: wyldeman99
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice layout, well maintained, great locals, and there's always players there. The course is set up as a nine but if you can find the right locals there they'll show you the alternate pads to make the back nine.
Cons: the course can get a bit repetitive as in you can really get away with one style shot for the whole course. A few shot are very short which turn into basically an upshot for a birdie, or an ACE RUN!!
Other Thoughts: The locals here are the ones the run the course. They are the ones that do all the upkeep with the grass, garbage, maintenance, etc. Recently the locals went around the communities businesses and raised donation money to help improve the course.
M.C.F.C. for life!!!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and quick

5+    10/29/2011   10/31/2011
Review By: Lonhart
Played: 183  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 20.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located off Hwy 1, it is very easy to find and minutes from hotels in Fort Bragg and downtown.
*Very friendly and helpful locals
*Usually someone at the course, but the layout is easy to follow, with signs at each tee
*Fairways were mowed and extensive use means shrubs and grass were not an issue
*Can play the regular 9 holes in 20 minutes, so multiple rounds are easy
*Not much chance of losing a disc
*Very clean and scenic
*People were enjoying beverages et al.
Cons: There is a lot of space and the holes could be expanded and added to, making this a 12 or 18 hole course. Tees are dirt with lots of hard, small rocks that act like ball bearings, but plenty of space to tee off to the side.

I would have scored it higher but most of the holes are short. I shot 7 of 9 birdies at one point, but usually 4 or 5. So the challenge is to try to park every hole. They can all be birdied.
Other Thoughts: Some very nice locals (Jeremy, Chris and Chris, Matthew et al.) showed my the Ice Bowl layout, which uses tone poles. These are white PVC and sprinkled throughout the course, and some holes are very fun.

Although I usually saw another player at the course, I think you could play the regular 9 then go safari for another 9 holes. Lots of potential.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    11/3/2009   2/13/2010
Review By: Uncle Travelin' Matt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Beginner Friendly
*Short holes
*Awesome locals are helpful
*Good use of natural obstacles
*Always people around to play a round with
*Tons of parking
*Huge open field next to the course to practice drives
*Great view of the ocean
*Course is easy to navigate
Cons: *garbage left in bushes
*natural tee pads
*no practice basket
Other Thoughts: This course is really fun and a work in progress. The locals are all working really hard on making this course excellent and the things that I mentioned as "cons" will work themselves out with time. The MFC is a great disc golf club and you should definitely play a round with them if you are in town. Please take out any trash you have and help keep it clean!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Roadtrip Jewel

1    11/7/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: delve
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great blend of obstacles, nice distance for me, not too far but not super short either. Beautiful area, Ocean view from some tees.
Cons: Some partyers and or wild animals (whats the difference?) have filled the bushes with disgusting garbage and if you bomb a shot and have to root for your disk you are presented with a repulsive mess.
Other Thoughts: This was truly a joy to stumble upon on our road trip. We were just heading to the beach to see the enormous rollers coming in and as we were leaving we saw the huge banner advertising "free" disk golf, lol! We had to check it out, we ended up playin the 9 through 3 or 4 times!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A work in progress.

5+    2/21/2010   6/30/2009
Review By: kinfolkfan
Played: 96  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its a new course and in the growing sport of disc golf that is good. A real nice mix of shots. Each one very different from the last. There are signs for the tee pads and the flow of the course is just as a disc golf course should be. After you finish a hole the next tee is within sight. During the week you can use the college restrooms. Plenty of beautiful views. Dogs are welcomed, which could be a con in some peoples eyes. There is no charge to play or park.
Cons: The grass was holding this course back from a better score. Now it is really knocked back.. Of course just having 9 holes is a con. Natural tees have been packed with gravel so it is better than mud. Not too many cons come to mind... Oh some trash in the brush on # 5 and it is kinda gross, lots better than it used to be, but still bad.
Other Thoughts: I am super excited to watch this course grow into a great 18 hole disc golf course. There is a lot of work ahead, and also a lot of possibilities. Come out and enjoy.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.