Fort Bragg, CA 
College of the Redwoods DGC Share
Uploaded By: Lonhart Hole #2 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fun

1    3/27/2016   5/22/2016
Review By: Skwirly
Played: 51  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -easy to navigate
-good use of elevation, trees and foliage
-adequate signage
-fun
-wind adds a challenge
Cons: -only 14 holes
-the salty air is doing a number on the baskets, but it hadn't become a problem yet, mostly just noticeable rust around the bottom chain ring and bottom links
-not enough foliage to really give this area a ton of challenge
Other Thoughts: I played this course pretty early on a Sunday morning and I only saw a couple of people out there. The design of the course really utilized the lay of the land available. There are large bushes and large trees but they aren't dense. The holes uses the challenge of throwing around, out of and into these features and adds some slight elevation changes. There gully lined by trees that creates an alley with the housing on the west side. Hole 8 is a challenging little tunnel shot in the gully. From the tee for 8 you can turn around and see the basket for 9 hanging from a branch. 9 is a fun RHBH hyzer from a tee outside the gully to the hanging basket. Hole 12 was my favorite, you shoot from a hill at a big bushy tree which sits on hill in a cul-de-sac shaped depression that drops about 5' along the center of the fairway on both sides of the tree. The basket sits just on the other side of the tree on the higher side of the drop off so it's a FH hyzer or BH hyzer and unless you're lucky you're playing for par either way. I really enjoyed playing this course and would recommend it if you're in the area, but I wouldn't go out of the way for it. Of course Fort Bragg is just a generally fun place to go, so you should go there and play this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 What a fun course!!!

1    8/21/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: GVDiscr
Played: 85  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: College of the Redwoods is a great place for Disc Golf!
Love the Brand New Practice Basket they have next to the first tee!
** Great Tee Signage
** Cement/Rubber Tee Pads (2 with 12ft Circle Tees)
** Mach 3 Baskets
** Right ON the coast! You can see the ocean from a couple tees!
** Already a couple pin placements on most holes
** One Hole with Hanging basket - which is always fun!
** The view of the coastline and the general flow of the course make for an amazingly fun time!
Cons: * Transients abundant
* Only a few truly technical shots (Short Pin Placements)
Other Thoughts: I loved this place! With more land I'm sure they could build this into an amazing 18 Hole Course! Lot of great ideas going into creating new and more challenging fairways and pin placements. We need more courses right along the California Coast! Thank the locals for all of the hard work out there!! Lots of shrubbery and bushes cleared out!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 NorCal Coastal Discin

2-4    6/10/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: zofo
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The scenery and weather was beautiful! This 9 is perfect for the beginner or intermediate player. The course is well groomed and very clean when I played. The holes have concrete tee pads except for 5 which is a crumbly mess. Layout is pretty straight forward. Only had to search for the 6th tee ( only one without a sign) It was a planned destination for my trip to the coast and it didn't disappoint.

hole 1 straight shot but hidden in a bunch of redwoods
hole 2 300ft plus over a hill..hidden basket fun!
Hole 3 straight shot 300ftish
Hole 4 160ftish behind a tree
Hole 5 250ftish in a bunch of tall shrubbery hidden basket fun!
Hole 6 not sure how far no tee sign but had a huge concrete circle tee pad shoot over shrubbery..350ftish
Hole 7 elevated tee straight shot 300ftish
Hole 8 250ft ish only hole that needed and anhyzer shot hidden tee behind redwoods
Hole 9 350ftish straight bomb from elevated tee
Cons: Pretty much a RHBH throwers course...ok with me as that is what I throw. only needed to do a few hyzers and one anhyzer shot to baskets. The only other issue was with some of the tee pads. was a crumbly mess as i stated above and tee 6 was missing a signage. This made for a little scouting to figure out the course.
Other Thoughts: There was no other players out their the whole time I was there. The course was clean and had benches and some trash cans at tees. As I said the course was well maintained with mowed fairways and good baskets. It is near hotels and campgrounds which is nice. I will come back over and over when I visit the coast to get out of the heat of the valley!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    11/3/2009   2/13/2010
Review By: Uncle Travelin' Matt
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Beginner Friendly
*Short holes
*Awesome locals are helpful
*Good use of natural obstacles
*Always people around to play a round with
*Tons of parking
*Huge open field next to the course to practice drives
*Great view of the ocean
*Course is easy to navigate
Cons: *garbage left in bushes
*natural tee pads
*no practice basket
Other Thoughts: This course is really fun and a work in progress. The locals are all working really hard on making this course excellent and the things that I mentioned as "cons" will work themselves out with time. The MFC is a great disc golf club and you should definitely play a round with them if you are in town. Please take out any trash you have and help keep it clean!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.