Disc Golf Store
Center Barnstead, NH 
Woods at Beauty Hill - Lynx Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #2 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 129ft.   3 / 160ft.   3 / 247ft.   3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
A Lot in a Name

1    8/22/2014   9/14/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 234  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Lynx course in The Woods at Beauty Hill has several excellent holes, in any degree from wide open to thick woods. The bricks paving the blue tees serve well as firm, level launchpads, and there are signs for all. The signs have a nickname for each hole and the other vitals with a rudimentary map. Minimum of 2 tees on every hole, not all are decked out like the blues. The DISCatchers look good and do what they do. I liked the scene walking up to the practice basket and driving net behind the barn. There was a also shed with loaner discs, message board, cooler with drinks for sale, a porto-potty, and other nice amenities. Stepping on the first tee everything was starting nicely. I like to throw down from the top of a hill, and that's what you get here. About 300' and not a lot of trees in the fairway. Got a birdie right out of the gate. Two is an about face and throw back up the hill. Mostly open except the shed that is right in front of the basket, which I nailed with my drive. Oops. I did manage to lob a thumbed over the top and save par. Three turns facing down hill again, 100' longer than the first hole. Still with a lot of airspace above the fairway, until you near bottom of the hill where the basket is protected by a rock wall, and some trees as well. Great hole. The next few holes take you through a more wooded portion of the same hillside. Hole 4 starts at the bottom, a par 5 dogleg left. Tough, but fair. 5, 6, and 7 are shorter in distance, heavier woods, and the downhill gravity assist on 7. I was shooting 1 under par to this point, but I lost my mojo on "The Outer Limit", hole 8 is a little longer. I got a good drive off, just couldn't get it in the basket and made bogey. 9 and 11 got me as well, and all the sudden I am 2 up and facing another tough par 5. 12 is named "Rocky Road" and the more literal interpretation is the accurate take. Nothing sweet about this, unless you get the par. A long, low drive to the elbow in front of a rock wall, and a sharp right turn, looking up the hill, still a good distance through a narrow wooded line to the target. I got the par, and 13 opened up into the flat, spacious meadow at the top of the hill. 13 and 14 are along the edges of the trees, RHBH hyzer shots of 319' and 240', respectively. I got birdies on both of them, after a good putt on 14. Hole 15 is long, a par 4 that crosses the flat, wide open center of the meadow. It is fun to bust out the big guns and just chuck it, and this is as simple as that. You, a long stretch of grass, and the basket. 16 and 17 play back into the woods, 16 longer, and 17 with more trees. 18 is open on the left side, and a dogleg right down the hill. A 372' par 3 that I couldn't handle. Bogey on the last hole put me at 1 over par (60), according to the scorecard I printed from the link.
Cons: There was a little mud, but not bad considering rain the night before. 15 is kind of bland, but the only total yawner on the course. Would you rather walk past and not throw? OK.
Other Thoughts: Lynx is a really solid course, fairly rated around 4 by my standards. The atmosphere is relaxing, and course is well conceived and executed. I didn't play the other course on site, the much shorter 18 hole Bobcat. There were 5 holes of a third, uncompleted course (Cougar?) that were also playable. The Lynx is enough reason to go check it out. If you have time, the rest is bonus golf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Must-Play Course

5+    6/14/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: blumonk
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Brick tee boxes for all blue tees are nice.
*The owners are very friendly, always glad you came, and often host youth group and school kid outings in order to further the sport.
*Practice basket and huck net.
*Bobcat course to work on your short game is a nice change of pace and a 3rd course of traditional size and design is currently in the works.
*Nice use of the elevation from a few tee boxes to rain down from.
*Exceptionally clean.
*Some random items located throughout for children to play I Spy, and I THINK there's a hole-by-hole listing of the items available at the Pro Shop.
*Some very old and beautiful trees give the woods holes a very rustic feel.
Cons: *As a LHBH player, most holes seem to either be neutral or favor RHBH.
*A few tees have some tree locations that prevent a clear and obvious lane to shoot for and leave you to simply pray.
*It's kind of middle-of-nowhere, but totally worth the trip.
Other Thoughts: Although I don't get over there a lot, I'm always reminded of why I love this course whenever I do go.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    5/15/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: Kinsman
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Old New England farm course are always some of my favorites to play and Woods at Beauty Hill is no different. Set in the beautiful rolling hills of southern NH, the course opens with nice combination of downhill and uphill holes on open fields before heading into the woods. Wooded holes were well trimmed and maintained. A few more open field shots on the back nine where wind could certainly be a factor on some days. Brick paved tee pads on all the blue tees, but shorter all-natural tees are marked on most holes.
Cons: A few of the wooded holes seem to have a few too many random trees in the fairways. Lots of luck involved depending on how the disc kicks. Lots of short par 3's but there are enough longer holes to keep things interesting.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fun course in a beautiful setting. Not a whole lot of challenge, but enough variety to keep things interesting.

Nice quiet course

5+    8/25/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: Ctufankjian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good variety if holes between woods and fields. Nice tee pads and baskets throughout. Small 9 hole putter course on the side. Extremely quiet. Great practice fixtures. The least busy course in NH IMO.
Cons: Not particularly well designed compared to other area courses. Some holes should be completely vamped IMO. Which is generally why designers try to do it right the first time. Not as well maintained as some other courses ie long grass,etc. Not as challenging as others either.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Course

1    10/3/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: C6H12O6
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is easy to navigate, has brick tee pads on every hole, and is a great mix of wooded and non-wooded shots. There is a small pro shop, score cards, and pencils. This course makes good use of the natural elevation, and requires touch shots, straight shots, and long shots in the open.
Cons: Non- Really. I played this course in the poring rain, so I don't have much to say about that
Other Thoughts: This course is a must visit if you are in New Hampshire. The course is heavily wooded, but there are fairways, and there are only one or two holes that could be considered "poke and hope." There are plenty of birdies to be had, and a couple open holes on the back nine to crush on. Come and play this course to support the wonderful private courses of new England

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course

5+    7/13/2013   8/28/2012
Review By: davistd0
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The tee pads are cement/brick and are all in great shape. There are multiple tees on each hole, but the closer tees are natural. Great hole variety, 5 field and 13 woods. The woods holes follow what look like old farm roads with rock walls along some of the fairways. A few fairways have massive old pine trees along one side that provide long, straight low-ceiling shots. Many holes have significant elevation change that plays a huge role in your shots. Course is easy to follow and has good signage. Very friendly owners.
Cons: Some of the fairways a little strange. Example 11, 12, 16. It's tough to say exactly why these hole rub me the wrong way. I guess they just don't strike me as "disc golf holes." They feel like tee + basket + X = good hole but the X is missing. I won't dock more than 1/2 for this since I can't even define it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course!!

1    8/4/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: benjah
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well maintained and uniquely challenging.

- Loved the diversity of the holes. Some good bomber holes, but also good technical short holes.

- The brick tee pads were very nice.

- Exceptionally clean.

- Clear walking paths and signage, we didn't struggle to find one hole.

- One of the owners came out to greet us and they were very nice.

- Definitely worth the $5.
Cons: It's honestly a struggle to find a major con, but I guess if there was two things I'd pick on it'd be the location of some of the shorter tees (we didn't use them, but some of them seemed to be in crazy spots) and there were no loaner discs available when we went (and there was only one other group on the course and they weren't using them, so they just weren't there). But that's it. The rest was awesome.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty Hill

1    4/28/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: roBailey
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very clean course. The fairways are in great shape and the brick t-boxes are awesome! There are 4 sets of tees for different skill levels (the brick boxes are only for the higher skilled tees). There are several holes in the woods, and a few in an open field (the wind is a huge factor here). The signage is very clear. The baskets are in great shape.
Cons: I was hoping the 'pro-shop' would be open, I don't know if you have to call ahead...
Other Thoughts: I will be back, hopefully on a less windy day. Great course, lots of fun to play/

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty Hill

5+    11/12/2011   3/14/2012
Review By: Lemony
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brick Tee Pads
-Excellent Hole Design
-Hole design is not right hand biased, lefty's are welcome here.
-A mix of technical shots and wide open bombs make Beauty Hill a welcome reprieve from the many "hit your line" courses I have played in NH.
-Nicest property owner I have met, possibly ever.
Cons: -When the grass is long on 15 / 18 it is sometimes difficult to find your drive.
-After rain this course can be fairly muddy, and the soil holds water well, bring towels.
-Black fly season is really bad, bring bug dope.
Other Thoughts: There are a couple of back-to-back backbreaker holes in 11 and 12. If one tree were removed on hole 11 it would reward a still difficult LHBH shot, as it stands now it is a LHFH. Check out the pro-shop chances are even for a small space it will have what you want in the weight you want.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

5+    10/8/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: bigpygmy
Played: 58  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained, clearly marked, super nice people, great setting with a variety of shots
Cons: Sometimes the grass is a bit long, easy to lose a disc in the field, but you'll get it back
Other Thoughts: Nice scene going on here. Cool, friendly people

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.