Center Barnstead, NH
Woods at Beauty Hill Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #17
3 / 140ft.   3 / 140ft.   3 / 195ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 (Hard Dogleft Left before stone wall/field)



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Nice quiet course

5+    8/25/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: Ctufankjian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good variety if holes between woods and fields. Nice tee pads and baskets throughout. Small 9 hole putter course on the side. Extremely quiet. Great practice fixtures. The least busy course in NH IMO.
Cons: Not particularly well designed compared to other area courses. Some holes should be completely vamped IMO. Which is generally why designers try to do it right the first time. Not as well maintained as some other courses ie long grass,etc. Not as challenging as others either.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Course

1    10/3/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: C6H12O6
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is easy to navigate, has brick tee pads on every hole, and is a great mix of wooded and non-wooded shots. There is a small pro shop, score cards, and pencils. This course makes good use of the natural elevation, and requires touch shots, straight shots, and long shots in the open.
Cons: Non- Really. I played this course in the poring rain, so I don't have much to say about that
Other Thoughts: This course is a must visit if you are in New Hampshire. The course is heavily wooded, but there are fairways, and there are only one or two holes that could be considered "poke and hope." There are plenty of birdies to be had, and a couple open holes on the back nine to crush on. Come and play this course to support the wonderful private courses of new England

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course

5+    7/1/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: davistd0
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2013
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The tee pads are cement/brick and are all in great shape. There are multiple tees on each hole, but the closer tees are natural. Great hole variety, 5 field and 13 woods. The woods holes follow what look like old farm roads with rock walls along some of the fairways. A few fairways have massive old pine trees along one side that provide long, straight low-ceiling shots. Many holes have significant elevation change that plays a huge role in your shots. Course is easy to follow and has good signage. Very friendly owners.
Cons: Can't think of much besides location; its a little bit out of the way from everything except Concord.
Other Thoughts: One of the most enjoyable courses I've ever played.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course!!

1    8/4/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: benjah
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well maintained and uniquely challenging.

- Loved the diversity of the holes. Some good bomber holes, but also good technical short holes.

- The brick tee pads were very nice.

- Exceptionally clean.

- Clear walking paths and signage, we didn't struggle to find one hole.

- One of the owners came out to greet us and they were very nice.

- Definitely worth the $5.
Cons: It's honestly a struggle to find a major con, but I guess if there was two things I'd pick on it'd be the location of some of the shorter tees (we didn't use them, but some of them seemed to be in crazy spots) and there were no loaner discs available when we went (and there was only one other group on the course and they weren't using them, so they just weren't there). But that's it. The rest was awesome.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beauty Hill

1    4/28/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: roBailey
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very clean course. The fairways are in great shape and the brick t-boxes are awesome! There are 4 sets of tees for different skill levels (the brick boxes are only for the higher skilled tees). There are several holes in the woods, and a few in an open field (the wind is a huge factor here). The signage is very clear. The baskets are in great shape.
Cons: I was hoping the 'pro-shop' would be open, I don't know if you have to call ahead...
Other Thoughts: I will be back, hopefully on a less windy day. Great course, lots of fun to play/

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty Hill

5+    11/12/2011   3/14/2012
Review By: Lemony
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brick Tee Pads
-Excellent Hole Design
-Hole design is not right hand biased, lefty's are welcome here.
-A mix of technical shots and wide open bombs make Beauty Hill a welcome reprieve from the many "hit your line" courses I have played in NH.
-Nicest property owner I have met, possibly ever.
Cons: -When the grass is long on 15 / 18 it is sometimes difficult to find your drive.
-After rain this course can be fairly muddy, and the soil holds water well, bring towels.
-Black fly season is really bad, bring bug dope.
Other Thoughts: There are a couple of back-to-back backbreaker holes in 11 and 12. If one tree were removed on hole 11 it would reward a still difficult LHBH shot, as it stands now it is a LHFH. Check out the pro-shop chances are even for a small space it will have what you want in the weight you want.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice

5+    10/8/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: bigpygmy
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained, clearly marked, super nice people, great setting with a variety of shots
Cons: Sometimes the grass is a bit long, easy to lose a disc in the field, but you'll get it back
Other Thoughts: Nice scene going on here. Cool, friendly people

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  My first time at Beauty Hill

1    9/10/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: nfair
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My sons and I played Beauty Hill for the first time this afternoon. What a beautiful course! The tee pads are great and the new baskets are fantastic. When my sons weren't throwing their discs they were playing the eye spy game along the course and having a great time. Lisa came out to greet us and give us a quick guide to the course then checked in with us again as we left to make sure we had a great time. It was a great welcome to the course.

This course has a great mix of shots. Uphill, downhill, across the hill, tight woods, wide open fields, lefty, righty, about the only thing missing is significant water to lose your disc in and I'm not going to complain about that! From reading about this course and talking to Blaze last year at a tournament and Lisa today it's clear a lot of work has been put into this course and the results are great.
Cons: I imagine they'll be putting in the brick tee pad for 15 soon, then I think every hole will have a nice brick tee pad so this won't even be a con.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  The Best Around!

5+    8/4/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: Mandaduffy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the first course I ever played 4 years ago when vacationing at a nearby lake in Barnstead. Since my first visit they have updated the tees, for the blue course, and replaced the old baskets.

The course has just the right amount of open fairways, and technical shots in the woods. The shots in the woods have a clear path to take towards the tee, but, if you do go off course the pines are old and established making undergrowth very sparse.

The owners are fantastic, friendly, and take the feedback on this site seriously. They indicated many of the changes made were due to comments on this site, Also, the last time I was there the course designer was there working on one of the few tees not yet finished with brick. You could tell he took pride in his work and the course.

If you have a group, call ahead and they can make accommodations if you wanted to grill.

There are other courses around, and I hope the Woods at Beauty Hill sets a standard for them, and more to come.
Cons: There are a couple holes with poison ivy, but it's not a problem if you stay on the course!
Other Thoughts: I've brought many friends to play this course and introduced them to a sport I've grown to love. This course remains my all time favorite! Whether it's their first time, or they're a pro, this course has much to offer.

The course is never crowded, worth the price, and I can't wait to go back again!

P.S. If you have a smartphone grab the Disc Caddy free App and you can load the course and keep track of your games!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/4/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: bradharris
Played: 68  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2012
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The word "Beauty" is definitely apt to describe this course. The setting for this course is truely beautiful. The entire property has a very peaceful, tranquil feel to it. Being in a somewhat remote area, there's not a lot of noise out there.

The course is very well maintained with mowed grass, nice brick tee pads and excellent signage.
Cons: There are some major design issues here that make the course frustrating and unfairly difficult. There are a number of holes where the intended line is littered with trees, overhanging branches and even telephone pole wires. These obstacles add an element of randomness and luck that can punish even good shots.

Hole 12 is probably the most poorly designed hole on the course. It requires a ~300' tee shot through a tight tunnel with an OB wall long. The intended landing zone is just short of the wall, with another tight tunnel shot ~250 to the pin. The problem with this hole is the trees at the corner. The landing zone really has just two landing "spots" no more than a few feet wide. In either of the spots, you get a nice clear line with an opportunity for the three. However, a few feet to either side leaves you staring at a wall of trees requiring a short putter dump shot to get back into the clear. Removing the trees at the corner between the two lines would create a nice, fair landing zone that rewards a good first shot.

There are a couple holes (6 and 16) that have some of the most awkward lines I've ever seen. They both require straight shots off the tee to hit a tight window, but past the window, the hole curves very slightly left. Most players will hit the gap and end up in the trees on the right. To make matters worse, the tees are positioned at very awkward angles so that it's very difficult to find a stance that gives players an opportunity to hit the line.
Other Thoughts: I have a lot of mixed feelings about this course. On the one hand, it is very well maintained. There is obviously a lot of care taken and it shows. This is the saving grace of this course.

However, this seems like a mask for the underlying product which is not very good. There are too many unfair holes which make the course incredibly frustrating, particularly for better players who are accustomed to being rewarded for good shots.

Beginners will enjoy this course. They are accustomed to hitting trees and being in the woods and will not notice much difference between this course and other, more fair ones. However, they will notice the nice amenities and nice upkeep.

More advanced players will be overly frustrated by the unfair nature of the course. At this level, players are accustomed to being nicely rewarded for hitting the right line off the tee. Seeing these nice shots kick hard into the woods gets old really quickly.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.