Disc Golf Store
Center Barnstead, NH 
Woods at Beauty Hill - Lynx Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #12 (Taken 9/2011)
5 / 277ft.   5 / 370ft.   5 / 450ft.   5 / 550ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Must-Play Course

5+    6/14/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: blumonk
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Brick tee boxes for all blue tees are nice.
*The owners are very friendly, always glad you came, and often host youth group and school kid outings in order to further the sport.
*Practice basket and huck net.
*Bobcat course to work on your short game is a nice change of pace and a 3rd course of traditional size and design is currently in the works.
*Nice use of the elevation from a few tee boxes to rain down from.
*Exceptionally clean.
*Some random items located throughout for children to play I Spy, and I THINK there's a hole-by-hole listing of the items available at the Pro Shop.
*Some very old and beautiful trees give the woods holes a very rustic feel.
Cons: *As a LHBH player, most holes seem to either be neutral or favor RHBH.
*A few tees have some tree locations that prevent a clear and obvious lane to shoot for and leave you to simply pray.
*It's kind of middle-of-nowhere, but totally worth the trip.
Other Thoughts: Although I don't get over there a lot, I'm always reminded of why I love this course whenever I do go.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    5/15/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: Kinsman
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Old New England farm course are always some of my favorites to play and Woods at Beauty Hill is no different. Set in the beautiful rolling hills of southern NH, the course opens with nice combination of downhill and uphill holes on open fields before heading into the woods. Wooded holes were well trimmed and maintained. A few more open field shots on the back nine where wind could certainly be a factor on some days. Brick paved tee pads on all the blue tees, but shorter all-natural tees are marked on most holes.
Cons: A few of the wooded holes seem to have a few too many random trees in the fairways. Lots of luck involved depending on how the disc kicks. Lots of short par 3's but there are enough longer holes to keep things interesting.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fun course in a beautiful setting. Not a whole lot of challenge, but enough variety to keep things interesting.

Nice quiet course

5+    8/25/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: Ctufankjian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good variety if holes between woods and fields. Nice tee pads and baskets throughout. Small 9 hole putter course on the side. Extremely quiet. Great practice fixtures. The least busy course in NH IMO.
Cons: Not particularly well designed compared to other area courses. Some holes should be completely vamped IMO. Which is generally why designers try to do it right the first time. Not as well maintained as some other courses ie long grass,etc. Not as challenging as others either.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course

5+    7/13/2013   8/28/2012
Review By: davistd0
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The tee pads are cement/brick and are all in great shape. There are multiple tees on each hole, but the closer tees are natural. Great hole variety, 5 field and 13 woods. The woods holes follow what look like old farm roads with rock walls along some of the fairways. A few fairways have massive old pine trees along one side that provide long, straight low-ceiling shots. Many holes have significant elevation change that plays a huge role in your shots. Course is easy to follow and has good signage. Very friendly owners.
Cons: Some of the fairways a little strange. Example 11, 12, 16. It's tough to say exactly why these hole rub me the wrong way. I guess they just don't strike me as "disc golf holes." They feel like tee + basket + X = good hole but the X is missing. I won't dock more than 1/2 for this since I can't even define it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Very Good Course

2-4    7/24/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: Hal_Jordan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Brick Launching Pads
-Innova Baskets
-Ground Maintenance
-Forces you to throw a broad range of shots
-Markers showing distance from basket.
-4 Sets of tees
-Driving Range
-Practive Basket
-Loaner Discs
Cons: -I hit a seriously thick patch of black flies. that were quite distracting for a hole or 2.
Other Thoughts: I played there for the first time on a Saturday, around 10:30am and was teh only person on the course. I returned, with a buddy, the next day and again we were the only players out there.

I hope this course gets some business. The have certainly put a good amount of time and effort into it.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

2-4    3/21/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: NH Disc Dude
Played: 43  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great location, good use of elevation, good mix of open and wooded holes. Great people. I went on a windy cool day and enjoyed every minute of it. Beautiful place with a ton of potential. The baskets were not nearly as bad as people have said, all my good shots fell and so did a couple of my bad ones. :)
Cons: The tee pads need upgrading, and maybe some better walkways between holes. But overall a good course. All courses are works in progress people.
Other Thoughts: I am a little disheartened by the negative vibe this place has gotten. This course doesnt have Discatcher baskets...SO WHAT. it has baskets. This sport isnt about having the best equipment its about having fun and enjoying beautiful places. This course offers a place to do just that. Yes it needs work but its totally worth an afternoon as it sits. So head to Barnstead and get huckin'

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.