Center Barnstead, NH 
Woods at Beauty Hill - Lynx Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #6 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 102ft.   3 / 152ft.   3 / 194ft.   3 / 194ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
New England at it's finest

2-4    10/2/2016   12/8/2016
Review By: peasebwh
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - It's the picture perfect idea and mixture of family and pro.
- Almost no chance to lose your disc. Just a couple holes that have some overgrowth that might make it a challenge if you miss-throw.
- Quiet. Quaint. Turning into a full complex. Signage is great.
Cons: - Not too many approach options besides what you see.
- Might be a bit too easy for par for vet or pro players.
- No other course really close. If you travel here be ready to travel to go anywhere else.
Other Thoughts: I'm holding out on my 5 just until I'm absolutely blown away but this course is so close for me. With the growth of it turning into a complex (a warm-up/beginner course and then a big arm pro course) this will make this a must visit destination.

1-Chute) It's straight. Slight down hill. Good warm up hole but keep it low with the overhanging foliage.
2-Upper Dog) Another straight shot but straight through a chicken house, over a rock wall, up a hill. So you probably want to stay a little right and get over and around the obstacles.
3-Power Ade) 390ft on the blues, downhill. You might make it. Get past the field, over the rock wall and into a spacious grove of trees and birdie could be a tap in. You also might be OB in the road if you aren't careful.
4-Dog Wood) So the "par" might be messed up if the short tees and the longs are the same but this dogleg left, uphill is not for the weary. Hills to the left after the turn and thick trees to the right, you don't want to get off the fairway to keep pace.
5-Artful Dodger) If you can dodge a tree you can stick an Ace.
6-Ladel) Your basket is now in a little gully. Drop it in but get out of fairway on either of these holes and you'll likely have to settle for a layup.
7-John's Hollow) Don't over throw down the hill. It's a little tricky to see the basket when full bloom leaves but this is where you don't want to be long.
8-Outer Limit) Uphill dogleg right. Good little hole where you don't want to be in the short conifers to the right and you really can't be left over the wall.
9-Side Kick) Is mostly straight but the basket sits in the side of a hill right behind a grove of bigger trees. Swing it around wide and stick it.
10-Maple Lane) Is straight. Can you keep it straight or will you loss it over the bank on the left or in the thicker little trees on the right. Left is easier to recover from.
11-Diamond) You've got your choice. Left for the anhy or flick floater but don't go long or it will go all the way down the hill. Right and it's a little tighter but with the hyzer run it leaves you with a nice approach. Few more trees to the right than the left so the reward of getting straight to the basket seems "easier" to the left.
12-Rocky Road) It's a straight right turn. Hit the first straight line to the "L" in the wall, then repeat. Rock wall all along your left. Easy right?
13-Wing It) First of a several field throws. Bit of a blind over the hump throw but certainly reachable at 319.
14-Big Pine) Starts off over the field and ends up just back into the woods edge.
15-Meadow Lark) Biggest obstacle might be hitting a bird. Let it fly, play the wind. It's a great time to break out the camera.
16-Jubilee) Hit the gap of the trees and toss your disc back into the woods. Relatively open approach makes for a good welcome back to the woods hole.
17-Horse Corner) The line to the right is pretty good but you can also choose a way through the left if you see it that might be even easier if you hit your release.
18-Dog Tired) Big curve to the right around the edge of the wood. The basket will be right at the crest of a hill so your approach better be sure or your gamble will leave you longer than you started.

Again, come to Beauty Hill. You shouldn't be disappointed. You have a 19th hole back up to the practice basket as you end your round. Hopefully soon the Pro/Big course will be open as well and your $5 can turn to $8 and you can make a day here playing all 3 courses.



2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course!!

1    8/4/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: benjah
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well maintained and uniquely challenging.

- Loved the diversity of the holes. Some good bomber holes, but also good technical short holes.

- The brick tee pads were very nice.

- Exceptionally clean.

- Clear walking paths and signage, we didn't struggle to find one hole.

- One of the owners came out to greet us and they were very nice.

- Definitely worth the $5.
Cons: It's honestly a struggle to find a major con, but I guess if there was two things I'd pick on it'd be the location of some of the shorter tees (we didn't use them, but some of them seemed to be in crazy spots) and there were no loaner discs available when we went (and there was only one other group on the course and they weren't using them, so they just weren't there). But that's it. The rest was awesome.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty Hill

1    4/28/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: roBailey
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very clean course. The fairways are in great shape and the brick t-boxes are awesome! There are 4 sets of tees for different skill levels (the brick boxes are only for the higher skilled tees). There are several holes in the woods, and a few in an open field (the wind is a huge factor here). The signage is very clear. The baskets are in great shape.
Cons: I was hoping the 'pro-shop' would be open, I don't know if you have to call ahead...
Other Thoughts: I will be back, hopefully on a less windy day. Great course, lots of fun to play/

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty Hill

5+    11/12/2011   3/14/2012
Review By: Lemony
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brick Tee Pads
-Excellent Hole Design
-Hole design is not right hand biased, lefty's are welcome here.
-A mix of technical shots and wide open bombs make Beauty Hill a welcome reprieve from the many "hit your line" courses I have played in NH.
-Nicest property owner I have met, possibly ever.
Cons: -When the grass is long on 15 / 18 it is sometimes difficult to find your drive.
-After rain this course can be fairly muddy, and the soil holds water well, bring towels.
-Black fly season is really bad, bring bug dope.
Other Thoughts: There are a couple of back-to-back backbreaker holes in 11 and 12. If one tree were removed on hole 11 it would reward a still difficult LHBH shot, as it stands now it is a LHFH. Check out the pro-shop chances are even for a small space it will have what you want in the weight you want.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  The Best Around!

5+    8/4/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: Mandaduffy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the first course I ever played 4 years ago when vacationing at a nearby lake in Barnstead. Since my first visit they have updated the tees, for the blue course, and replaced the old baskets.

The course has just the right amount of open fairways, and technical shots in the woods. The shots in the woods have a clear path to take towards the tee, but, if you do go off course the pines are old and established making undergrowth very sparse.

The owners are fantastic, friendly, and take the feedback on this site seriously. They indicated many of the changes made were due to comments on this site, Also, the last time I was there the course designer was there working on one of the few tees not yet finished with brick. You could tell he took pride in his work and the course.

If you have a group, call ahead and they can make accommodations if you wanted to grill.

There are other courses around, and I hope the Woods at Beauty Hill sets a standard for them, and more to come.
Cons: There are a couple holes with poison ivy, but it's not a problem if you stay on the course!
Other Thoughts: I've brought many friends to play this course and introduced them to a sport I've grown to love. This course remains my all time favorite! Whether it's their first time, or they're a pro, this course has much to offer.

The course is never crowded, worth the price, and I can't wait to go back again!

P.S. If you have a smartphone grab the Disc Caddy free App and you can load the course and keep track of your games!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 good course

1    5/22/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
This review was updated on 8/20/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Loved the course overall. I thought it was a really good mix between tight woody holes and long "let er rip" holes. Good use of elevation and pretty interesting course. Really liked all the work with the tee pads. I took my wife and she loved there was wemons tee on every hole. Also a practice basket and net at the big barn was nice. Really loved the area and land that the course is on. This is a course to watch and could be amazing down the road.

UPDATE: Wow this course is getting good. All New Baskets and a bunch more brick tee pads. Huge improvement. Really the premiere course in NH. All the work done is obvious and i cant wait to go back soon.
Cons: main con i would say is its a tad on the easy side,,even the blue tees. A couple of the par 4's should be par 3 and the par 5 should be a 4.
Other Thoughts: I was amazed to see the negative ratings on this course. Ya the baskets arent great but to give this course a 2 is just ridiculous. A great piece of land and a ton of work has gone into the course. Hopefully more people try out this hidden gem in NH.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/30/2006   9/11/2007
Review By: justin
Played: 341  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous course on an old farm with manicured grass & vintage stone walls. A crazy amount of labor has been poured into some elevated tee pads. They are a must-see. Great signage. Tournaments feature the best food and hospitality around!
Cons: Cheaper baskets with upgraded chains. If the baskets were replaced I would give this course a 5 of 5. Still, not to be missed.
Other Thoughts: 11 wooded & 7 open holes. Good deal of hills and challenging basket placements. Combination of Wickham (CT) and Pyramids (MA). I could go on and on. Just play there.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.