Center Barnstead, NH 
Woods at Beauty Hill - Lynx Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #6 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 102ft.   3 / 152ft.   3 / 194ft.   3 / 194ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Amazing course!!

1    8/4/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: benjah
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well maintained and uniquely challenging.

- Loved the diversity of the holes. Some good bomber holes, but also good technical short holes.

- The brick tee pads were very nice.

- Exceptionally clean.

- Clear walking paths and signage, we didn't struggle to find one hole.

- One of the owners came out to greet us and they were very nice.

- Definitely worth the $5.
Cons: It's honestly a struggle to find a major con, but I guess if there was two things I'd pick on it'd be the location of some of the shorter tees (we didn't use them, but some of them seemed to be in crazy spots) and there were no loaner discs available when we went (and there was only one other group on the course and they weren't using them, so they just weren't there). But that's it. The rest was awesome.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty Hill

1    4/28/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: roBailey
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very clean course. The fairways are in great shape and the brick t-boxes are awesome! There are 4 sets of tees for different skill levels (the brick boxes are only for the higher skilled tees). There are several holes in the woods, and a few in an open field (the wind is a huge factor here). The signage is very clear. The baskets are in great shape.
Cons: I was hoping the 'pro-shop' would be open, I don't know if you have to call ahead...
Other Thoughts: I will be back, hopefully on a less windy day. Great course, lots of fun to play/

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty Hill

5+    11/12/2011   3/14/2012
Review By: Lemony
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brick Tee Pads
-Excellent Hole Design
-Hole design is not right hand biased, lefty's are welcome here.
-A mix of technical shots and wide open bombs make Beauty Hill a welcome reprieve from the many "hit your line" courses I have played in NH.
-Nicest property owner I have met, possibly ever.
Cons: -When the grass is long on 15 / 18 it is sometimes difficult to find your drive.
-After rain this course can be fairly muddy, and the soil holds water well, bring towels.
-Black fly season is really bad, bring bug dope.
Other Thoughts: There are a couple of back-to-back backbreaker holes in 11 and 12. If one tree were removed on hole 11 it would reward a still difficult LHBH shot, as it stands now it is a LHFH. Check out the pro-shop chances are even for a small space it will have what you want in the weight you want.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  The Best Around!

5+    8/4/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: Mandaduffy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the first course I ever played 4 years ago when vacationing at a nearby lake in Barnstead. Since my first visit they have updated the tees, for the blue course, and replaced the old baskets.

The course has just the right amount of open fairways, and technical shots in the woods. The shots in the woods have a clear path to take towards the tee, but, if you do go off course the pines are old and established making undergrowth very sparse.

The owners are fantastic, friendly, and take the feedback on this site seriously. They indicated many of the changes made were due to comments on this site, Also, the last time I was there the course designer was there working on one of the few tees not yet finished with brick. You could tell he took pride in his work and the course.

If you have a group, call ahead and they can make accommodations if you wanted to grill.

There are other courses around, and I hope the Woods at Beauty Hill sets a standard for them, and more to come.
Cons: There are a couple holes with poison ivy, but it's not a problem if you stay on the course!
Other Thoughts: I've brought many friends to play this course and introduced them to a sport I've grown to love. This course remains my all time favorite! Whether it's their first time, or they're a pro, this course has much to offer.

The course is never crowded, worth the price, and I can't wait to go back again!

P.S. If you have a smartphone grab the Disc Caddy free App and you can load the course and keep track of your games!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 good course

1    5/22/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 8/20/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Loved the course overall. I thought it was a really good mix between tight woody holes and long "let er rip" holes. Good use of elevation and pretty interesting course. Really liked all the work with the tee pads. I took my wife and she loved there was wemons tee on every hole. Also a practice basket and net at the big barn was nice. Really loved the area and land that the course is on. This is a course to watch and could be amazing down the road.

UPDATE: Wow this course is getting good. All New Baskets and a bunch more brick tee pads. Huge improvement. Really the premiere course in NH. All the work done is obvious and i cant wait to go back soon.
Cons: main con i would say is its a tad on the easy side,,even the blue tees. A couple of the par 4's should be par 3 and the par 5 should be a 4.
Other Thoughts: I was amazed to see the negative ratings on this course. Ya the baskets arent great but to give this course a 2 is just ridiculous. A great piece of land and a ton of work has gone into the course. Hopefully more people try out this hidden gem in NH.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/30/2006   9/11/2007
Review By: justin
Played: 278  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous course on an old farm with manicured grass & vintage stone walls. A crazy amount of labor has been poured into some elevated tee pads. They are a must-see. Great signage. Tournaments feature the best food and hospitality around!
Cons: Cheaper baskets with upgraded chains. If the baskets were replaced I would give this course a 5 of 5. Still, not to be missed.
Other Thoughts: 11 wooded & 7 open holes. Good deal of hills and challenging basket placements. Combination of Wickham (CT) and Pyramids (MA). I could go on and on. Just play there.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.