Center Barnstead, NH 
Woods at Beauty Hill - Lynx Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #10 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 125ft.   3 / 150ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 good course

1    5/22/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 8/20/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Loved the course overall. I thought it was a really good mix between tight woody holes and long "let er rip" holes. Good use of elevation and pretty interesting course. Really liked all the work with the tee pads. I took my wife and she loved there was wemons tee on every hole. Also a practice basket and net at the big barn was nice. Really loved the area and land that the course is on. This is a course to watch and could be amazing down the road.

UPDATE: Wow this course is getting good. All New Baskets and a bunch more brick tee pads. Huge improvement. Really the premiere course in NH. All the work done is obvious and i cant wait to go back soon.
Cons: main con i would say is its a tad on the easy side,,even the blue tees. A couple of the par 4's should be par 3 and the par 5 should be a 4.
Other Thoughts: I was amazed to see the negative ratings on this course. Ya the baskets arent great but to give this course a 2 is just ridiculous. A great piece of land and a ton of work has gone into the course. Hopefully more people try out this hidden gem in NH.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

2-4    3/21/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: NH Disc Dude
Played: 43  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great location, good use of elevation, good mix of open and wooded holes. Great people. I went on a windy cool day and enjoyed every minute of it. Beautiful place with a ton of potential. The baskets were not nearly as bad as people have said, all my good shots fell and so did a couple of my bad ones. :)
Cons: The tee pads need upgrading, and maybe some better walkways between holes. But overall a good course. All courses are works in progress people.
Other Thoughts: I am a little disheartened by the negative vibe this place has gotten. This course doesnt have Discatcher baskets...SO WHAT. it has baskets. This sport isnt about having the best equipment its about having fun and enjoying beautiful places. This course offers a place to do just that. Yes it needs work but its totally worth an afternoon as it sits. So head to Barnstead and get huckin'

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty Hill

5+    7/12/2008   7/1/2009
Review By: atonalruss
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained, pretty long course, easy to navigate, nice use of elevation, great mix of wooded and open holes. Friendly owners who really love and care about the game.
Cons: As everyone else has said, the baskets need upgrading. The hole with the narrow path and right angle turn after 300 feet, only to have another 300 foot narrow path is not good.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course and would play it more if it were closer. I played their tournament (Beauty Hill Challenge) in July of 2007 and it was a great first tournament experience for me. Great people, good food, and much disc golf love. The grounds are beautiful, the $5 fee ($10 for the day) is reasonable considering it is the cleanest course I've ever played and well maintained. I'm hoping they will begin to upgrade the baskets soon. But even so, this course is great fun.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not my bag.

2-4    6/19/2008   3/19/2009
Review By: ShortBusDiscGolf
Played: 182  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 19.6 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Beautiful landscape, loads of nature, and clean smelling air. Nice rolling terrain on an Awesome plot of land. Loaner discs for the first timers.
Cons: I'm not a fan of the TOYS'R'US baskets. Natural tee pads don't go very far in my book either. I also think that a strong change in course layout(on just a few holes) would be well in order. You can tell that these people meant well, they just need some guidance.
Other Thoughts: I found some good food at the little gas station at the last 4-way before the course.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 -

3/25/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 161  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.5 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Beautiful scenery
-Decent elevation
-Discs available for borrow
-Not crowded
-Local league to participate in
Cons: -Crappy, crappy, crappy baskets
-Unrealistic fairways on a few holes
-Not a good course to bring first timers on
Other Thoughts: Beauty Hill is a very aesthetic course. There are some fun holes, and some really frustrating holes. I don't really know how to describe it. A ton of work went into the course to get the fairways going, but some of them are still ridiculous.

For instance, you can't make a hole with 20' wide fairways that goes on a straight line for 300 and something feet, then makes a right turn and goes on for another 300 or so feet. That's just not good course design, and it isn't fun.

Other than 4 or 5 holes that were like that, the other holes were quite nice. I enjoy tight courses as long as they are still manageable, and this course has that potential, but it's got a lot of work to go still.

Also, the baskets must be replaced for this to be considered a serious course. I'm sure getting Mach Vs was totally cost prohibitive for the owners of the land, but trying to play on Instep $50 baskets is really frustrating.

Beauty woods has the potential to be a 4.5 out of 5 course, and I hope someday it reaches that level.


***************NOTE******************
I played this course in July of 2007. If any of my criticisms have been improved since then, I apologize.
****************************************

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/30/2006   9/11/2007
Review By: justin
Played: 278  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous course on an old farm with manicured grass & vintage stone walls. A crazy amount of labor has been poured into some elevated tee pads. They are a must-see. Great signage. Tournaments feature the best food and hospitality around!
Cons: Cheaper baskets with upgraded chains. If the baskets were replaced I would give this course a 5 of 5. Still, not to be missed.
Other Thoughts: 11 wooded & 7 open holes. Good deal of hills and challenging basket placements. Combination of Wickham (CT) and Pyramids (MA). I could go on and on. Just play there.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.