Center Barnstead, NH 
Woods at Beauty Hill - Lynx Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #11 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 137ft.   3 / 257ft.   3 / 257ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Beauty Hill

1    4/28/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: roBailey
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very clean course. The fairways are in great shape and the brick t-boxes are awesome! There are 4 sets of tees for different skill levels (the brick boxes are only for the higher skilled tees). There are several holes in the woods, and a few in an open field (the wind is a huge factor here). The signage is very clear. The baskets are in great shape.
Cons: I was hoping the 'pro-shop' would be open, I don't know if you have to call ahead...
Other Thoughts: I will be back, hopefully on a less windy day. Great course, lots of fun to play/

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty Hill

5+    11/12/2011   3/14/2012
Review By: Lemony
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brick Tee Pads
-Excellent Hole Design
-Hole design is not right hand biased, lefty's are welcome here.
-A mix of technical shots and wide open bombs make Beauty Hill a welcome reprieve from the many "hit your line" courses I have played in NH.
-Nicest property owner I have met, possibly ever.
Cons: -When the grass is long on 15 / 18 it is sometimes difficult to find your drive.
-After rain this course can be fairly muddy, and the soil holds water well, bring towels.
-Black fly season is really bad, bring bug dope.
Other Thoughts: There are a couple of back-to-back backbreaker holes in 11 and 12. If one tree were removed on hole 11 it would reward a still difficult LHBH shot, as it stands now it is a LHFH. Check out the pro-shop chances are even for a small space it will have what you want in the weight you want.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/8/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: bigpygmy
Played: 60  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained, clearly marked, super nice people, great setting with a variety of shots
Cons: Sometimes the grass is a bit long, easy to lose a disc in the field, but you'll get it back
Other Thoughts: Nice scene going on here. Cool, friendly people

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  My first time at Beauty Hill

1    9/10/2011   9/11/2011
Review By: nfair
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My sons and I played Beauty Hill for the first time this afternoon. What a beautiful course! The tee pads are great and the new baskets are fantastic. When my sons weren't throwing their discs they were playing the eye spy game along the course and having a great time. Lisa came out to greet us and give us a quick guide to the course then checked in with us again as we left to make sure we had a great time. It was a great welcome to the course.

This course has a great mix of shots. Uphill, downhill, across the hill, tight woods, wide open fields, lefty, righty, about the only thing missing is significant water to lose your disc in and I'm not going to complain about that! From reading about this course and talking to Blaze last year at a tournament and Lisa today it's clear a lot of work has been put into this course and the results are great.
Cons: I imagine they'll be putting in the brick tee pad for 15 soon, then I think every hole will have a nice brick tee pad so this won't even be a con.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  The Best Around!

5+    8/4/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: Mandaduffy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the first course I ever played 4 years ago when vacationing at a nearby lake in Barnstead. Since my first visit they have updated the tees, for the blue course, and replaced the old baskets.

The course has just the right amount of open fairways, and technical shots in the woods. The shots in the woods have a clear path to take towards the tee, but, if you do go off course the pines are old and established making undergrowth very sparse.

The owners are fantastic, friendly, and take the feedback on this site seriously. They indicated many of the changes made were due to comments on this site, Also, the last time I was there the course designer was there working on one of the few tees not yet finished with brick. You could tell he took pride in his work and the course.

If you have a group, call ahead and they can make accommodations if you wanted to grill.

There are other courses around, and I hope the Woods at Beauty Hill sets a standard for them, and more to come.
Cons: There are a couple holes with poison ivy, but it's not a problem if you stay on the course!
Other Thoughts: I've brought many friends to play this course and introduced them to a sport I've grown to love. This course remains my all time favorite! Whether it's their first time, or they're a pro, this course has much to offer.

The course is never crowded, worth the price, and I can't wait to go back again!

P.S. If you have a smartphone grab the Disc Caddy free App and you can load the course and keep track of your games!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/4/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: bradharris
Played: 87  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2012
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The word "Beauty" is definitely apt to describe this course. The setting for this course is truely beautiful. The entire property has a very peaceful, tranquil feel to it. Being in a somewhat remote area, there's not a lot of noise out there.

The course is very well maintained with mowed grass, nice brick tee pads and excellent signage.
Cons: There are some major design issues here that make the course frustrating and unfairly difficult. There are a number of holes where the intended line is littered with trees, overhanging branches and even telephone pole wires. These obstacles add an element of randomness and luck that can punish even good shots.

Hole 12 is probably the most poorly designed hole on the course. It requires a ~300' tee shot through a tight tunnel with an OB wall long. The intended landing zone is just short of the wall, with another tight tunnel shot ~250 to the pin. The problem with this hole is the trees at the corner. The landing zone really has just two landing "spots" no more than a few feet wide. In either of the spots, you get a nice clear line with an opportunity for the three. However, a few feet to either side leaves you staring at a wall of trees requiring a short putter dump shot to get back into the clear. Removing the trees at the corner between the two lines would create a nice, fair landing zone that rewards a good first shot.

There are a couple holes (6 and 16) that have some of the most awkward lines I've ever seen. They both require straight shots off the tee to hit a tight window, but past the window, the hole curves very slightly left. Most players will hit the gap and end up in the trees on the right. To make matters worse, the tees are positioned at very awkward angles so that it's very difficult to find a stance that gives players an opportunity to hit the line.
Other Thoughts: I have a lot of mixed feelings about this course. On the one hand, it is very well maintained. There is obviously a lot of care taken and it shows. This is the saving grace of this course.

However, this seems like a mask for the underlying product which is not very good. There are too many unfair holes which make the course incredibly frustrating, particularly for better players who are accustomed to being rewarded for good shots.

Beginners will enjoy this course. They are accustomed to hitting trees and being in the woods and will not notice much difference between this course and other, more fair ones. However, they will notice the nice amenities and nice upkeep.

More advanced players will be overly frustrated by the unfair nature of the course. At this level, players are accustomed to being nicely rewarded for hitting the right line off the tee. Seeing these nice shots kick hard into the woods gets old really quickly.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Very Good Course

2-4    7/24/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: Hal_Jordan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Brick Launching Pads
-Innova Baskets
-Ground Maintenance
-Forces you to throw a broad range of shots
-Markers showing distance from basket.
-4 Sets of tees
-Driving Range
-Practive Basket
-Loaner Discs
Cons: -I hit a seriously thick patch of black flies. that were quite distracting for a hole or 2.
Other Thoughts: I played there for the first time on a Saturday, around 10:30am and was teh only person on the course. I returned, with a buddy, the next day and again we were the only players out there.

I hope this course gets some business. The have certainly put a good amount of time and effort into it.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    4/22/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 79  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 9.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful course, very remote with thick woods.

- Excellent use of elevation, especially in the first 12 holes elevation comes into play on every hole.

- Great variety of hole layout. Doglegs left and right as well as some narrow straight shots. The design rewards players that can use a variety of shots.

- Incredibly clean, not a piece of trash to be found.

- Navigation was a breeze. At first I was worried that there was no map at the kiosk but the course is so well marked with next tee signs and a natural flow that there is no need to have a map.

- Loaner discs on hand. They had a bucket of 150g-165g discs for the newbies.

- A good mix of tight holes and open bombs. Too much of either can get repetitive but they did a great job here mixing the forest holes with the open field.

- No crowds, I went on a sunny Friday afternoon and my car was the only parked for the entire round I played.

- Nice new brick tee pads and multiple tees for a range of skill levels.
Cons: - The baskets - I know that they are currently working on replacing the old ones and are almost halfway there.

- I'm reaching to find con's here but you can argue that some of the pars are a bit off. The par 4s should be tough par 3s and 5s should be 4s. But the lowest overall score still wins right?
Other Thoughts: Overall this is an excellent course and you can tell that a lot of work went into the design. Normally I'm not a big fan of pay to play courses but in this case it is totally worth it.

I brought 3 friends that had never played disc golf before. At first I was worried that the tight technical holes would be frustrating. But the multiple tees and lighter loaner discs on hand made it a fun experience even for my 6 year old nephew.

This course is worth going out of your way for if you are in the area. I was on vacation staying in Alton Bay and it was only a 15 minute drive. But I will go out of my way to come back when I'm back in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A wonderful romp in the woods

5+    6/10/2012   4/25/2011
Review By: jtreadwell
Played: 76  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/20/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A fantastic mix of long drives, precise technical shots, and huge elevation changes.
- There are multiple tees for every hole that allow anyone from pros to toddlers enjoy the course.
- Everything from tee signs to OB are clearly marked. Every hole has a clever nickname (aside from "meadow" which can't really be called clever) which spices up the experience. It's much more fun to say, "I aced John's Hollow today!" than, "I aced hole 7!".
Cons: Now that the baskets have been updated, the course is much better. Grooming leaves something to be desired as there is no winter work and the grass has a tendency to get very long during the warmer months. A few holes seem a bit incongruous length wise (18 is a par 3 that is longer than the par 4s). There are several holes with rather awkward lines, and a few holes that have a rather repetitive feel.
Other Thoughts: This course will challenge just about everyone, especially those who have a hard time driving in a relatively straight line. The baskets are strategically placed so that putting is just as much a risk/reward situation as the longest wooded drive, with many right on the edge of severe dropoffs and heavily wooded doom.There are now 18 additional "pitch and putt" holes ready for play with another full course apparently in the works. Honestly, the pitch and putt "bobcat" course adds nothing to the facility. While it's clear that a lot of work went into clearing the dense woods for them, it seems like the efforts could have been better spent elsewhere. They are all between 40 and maybe 75ft. long with the old crappy baskets (now with more thick, disc rejecting chains than before!). The worst part is that being cut into dense woods, the bugs are 10 times worse than the regular course and they seem to view high DEET bug spray as mere seasoning. Skip the safari holes. Getting back to the positive, even the drive to Beauty hill is pleasant and it really builds up the excitement seeing what the area has to offer for epic land arrangement. As others have noted, bring gallons of bug spray and check for ticks. As long as you have thick skin for bugs this will be a very pleasant day of Disc Golf

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

2-4    9/18/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: Zeke I
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: set up is great
distance is challanging
picnic tables at diffrent locations on the course
Cons: some of the tee boxes were not there but were marked well
Other Thoughts: Great course good location loads of fun for beniiners and experts alike. Lots of room to WING IT!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.