Center Barnstead, NH 
Woods at Beauty Hill - Lynx Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #14 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 125ft.   3 / 183ft.   3 / 240ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Destination Course in New Hampshire

1    9/22/2016   11/6/2016
Review By: Discette
Played: 356  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 20.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

This is an 18 hole course located on a beautiful private farm. The course provides amazing challenge and variety of shots. It winds up, down and around the woods and meadows. Course has that historic New England vibe complete with barn, beautiful trees and old stone walls I played this course as part of a trip playing 12 states in 12 days. This was the only course I played in the state of New Hampshire.

I used bullet points for those that don't want to read the entire review.


Home-style Disc Golf
On my trip, I had the opportunity to play several private farm courses across New England. This farm course has that wonderful New England vibe that you won't find in the rest of the US. Beautiful trees and meadows and moss covered rock walls. Most everything on the farm is homemade and not mass produced. You can see the craftsmanship on the hand painted tees and the brickwork tee pads.


Signs
Every Blue tee has a tee sign showing the location of all four tees and the target. These signs are handcrafted and hand painted. These beautiful home made tee signs show that great signs don't need to have computer generated graphics and full color printing to be top notch. Home made details are one of things I really loved about the private "Farm Courses" I played across New England.

Multiple Tees
Each hole has up to four different tees. The longest blue tees have brick tee pads, signs and some have benches. Each tee sign shows the locations for all the tees. Every tee is marked with color coded PVC pipes that include the distance from that tee. Some holes have up to four different tees, and some have shared tees.

Well Maintained
I really appreciate a well maintained course. On my visit all the grass was mowed and all the signs and tees were in great shape. There was no garbage, butts or graffiti to be seen A couple of the shorter tees could have used a little trimming.

Fun for All Abilities
Since there are four tees on most holes, this course is suitable for players of all abilities. The long doglet left Hole 4 is an exceellent example of how you place long to short tees. There really isn't a lot of rough for players to lose discs and no bodies of water in play.

Challenge
This course requires thinking and placement to score well. I would say this course is not quite a championship course, but it does have a few holes with a championship challenge. If you play smart you can get the pars. However, you are welcome to try for the birdie, but it might not be as easy as
it looks.

Compact Design
This course is thoughtfully laid out and doesn't require a lot of extra walking to get from tee to tee. There is the option to stop after Hole 14 or take a quick break and refill water jug at the shed and use the restroom.


Personality
This course also has some great personality starting with the fact each hole has a name that is mostly descriptive or a little humorous. I think we all know what to expect when we come to hole named "Rocky Road". There are amazing old trees lining the fairways of 10 and 11. Like many courses in New England, there are several old rock walls among the course lining fairways creating that unique NE feel. Hole 2 is a steep uphill throw over a working hen house to a basket framed behind twin trees.

Navigation
Excellent signs and compact design make it very easy to find your way around the course. I don't remember if there were "next tee" signs anywhere, but the were all very easy to find. I didn't need the map and I didn't have to do any backtracking to find next tee.

Only one course in New Hampshire
I was hoping on my trip that I could play the top rated course in each state. At the time of my trip, this course was not the top rated New Hampshire course here at DGCR. (It has now risen to the top spot.) I am so glad I chose this course. It came to choosing between public Pinnacle with rough gravel tees or a well maintained private course. While I was only in New Hampshire for a day, this course really sums up the rural beauty and relaxing atmosphere I felt in New Hampshire.

Destination worthy
While the course may have been a little out of my way, it was well worth the time and effort needed to get here. The small fee is well worth the price. Woods at Beauty Hill is a true disc golf destination. Please don't forget to check in and pay before you play. Like all destination courses, it has a great challenge, a unique personality, easy to navigate and is just plain fun!


Kids, carts and strollers
There should be no problem with carts and strollers. Probably not ideal for kids in strollers. The first three holes have some steep up and down. The rest of the terrain is more level, but roots and rocks abound. Older kids will be able to walk and can even play along from one of the shorter tees. The shortest tees take a lot of the distance and obstacles out of play. They have loaner discs available in the shed.

Restroom
There is a well maintained portable restroom near the barn and check in kiosk.

Pay to Play
Don't forget to check in and pay before you start to play. Be respectful that someone has opened their home to you. Be sure to take all your trash with you and leave it better than you found it.
Cons:
Not enough time
The only real con is I wish I had allowed more time to play the other courses on site and enjoy the peace and relaxation. Woods At Beauty Hill is truly a destination, not just a course to hit on a drive by.

Late fall shaggy
Not really a con with such a well maintained course, but a couple of the shorter tees were getting a little shaggy. That should all go away with the leaves come winter. I didn't see the unfair fairways that early reviewers complained about. Apparently the course has matured and the fairways have been trimmed up over the years since those reviews.

Other Thoughts:
Thank you
I want to thank the owners for opening up their home to disc golfers. Thank you for the opportunity to play your course and enjoy the unique beauty of your part of the world. I will fondly remember my time at your course for many years to come.


All that
Many courses I play on road trips, I only get to play once. This is a course that I immediately wanted play again. It provided that challenge that you know if you had another chance you could get that par or the birdie if you "only would have". This course also had a great personality and vibe that made me want to slow down, relax and enjoy the beauty and quiet atmosphere. This course fired up my game and brightened my world all at the same time. Some courses have great personality and some have great challenge and some, like Woods At Beauty Hill Lynx have it all!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Staple of my yearly play

5+    8/13/2015   10/13/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An absolute must play for anyone who is ever in the area. This is a secluded slice of serenity. The course is artfully designed, meticulously maintained, and an absolute delight to play. The first hole is a beautiful sloping down shot that will inspire and motivate you throughout the entire round. Blaze, and his family, have really developed an absolute gem on their property. The hosts are positively charming. Blaze, if he isn't too busy keeping the course in order, will occasionally throw a few holes with you and give you a tour of the upcoming extension. There is a practice basket and a throwing net for ample warm up before you start your round. The pro shop has a huge selection of discs for sale or loan. The course plays fairly quickly so you can get a couple rounds in if you have the arm for it.
Cons: The course is not beginner friendly. It will really challenge new players.
Other Thoughts: Love this course. You guys are the best.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A True Gem

5+    8/11/2016   9/8/2016
Review By: Polecat-Meow
Played: 35  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/8/2016
Pros: Secluded, bucolic, peaceful. This course has the feel of 'adventure disc golf' but is laid out to play relatively quickly and has enough gentle pin locations to make the challenging/longer holes less demoralizing. Interactions with the proprietors/guests at the farm have been great. Plenty of loaner discs nowadays in the shed. All the blue T's are superb and seem to grip in any weather. Interesting scavenger hunt can be fun for young and old alike: lots of interesting odds and ends tucked away in the trees; the course has a certain rural artisan attitude. This is also a great wintertime course for the more rugged disc enthusiast.
Cons: Hole 8 needs drainage work, it gets muddy in the middle. Some of the holes feel similar to one another at first (5 & 17, 9 & 11, 6 & 16). After several times playing this course the subtle differences become apparent but some suggestive tree-trimming is needed to accentuate the unique lines of each hole.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure if this is the Harmon Hills of the north or if Harmon Hills is the Beauty Hill of the south but they feel very alike. It is possible, and awesome, to play Harmon Hills at sunset or sunrise and drive north to do the same at Beauty Hill (or vise versa). If there is a path to disc golf nirvana it looks a lot like that.

Great, varied course

2-4    8/3/2016   8/16/2016
Review By: Lupulus
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Wide variety of hole types
- Brick tee pads for the long tees
- Usually three separate tee lengths
- Well maintained
- Decent signage
- Some fun alternate lines through the trees if you are willing to risk it
Cons: - Occasional bugs
- Some of the wooded holes have trees in the fairways that discs (my discs, at least) seem to find every time
Other Thoughts: Fun and well-maintained private course with a huge range of shot types. The course starts out in the open near a barn and the first three holes are mostly wide open. The course then transitions to the woods with a mix of short and long holes made technical by trees and elevation changes. The course owners have done a good job of providing holes with left and right doglegs, long straight holes, and up and downhill shots.

Toward the end of the course, the holes are placed in a large field, which allows for some fun power shots, especially on the 570 foot par 5. The 18th is a 400+ foot open field hole with a dogleg right that plays well to my LHBH.

Additionally, the Woods at Beauty Hill has an 18 hole par 2 course and the owners have completed the front 9 of a 10,000+ foot par 4 and 5 course. Both provide different challenges and are lots of fun to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Lot in a Name

1    8/22/2014   9/14/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 296  Reviewed: 181  Exp: 13.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Lynx course in The Woods at Beauty Hill has several excellent holes, in any degree from wide open to thick woods. The bricks paving the blue tees serve well as firm, level launchpads, and there are signs for all. The signs have a nickname for each hole and the other vitals with a rudimentary map. Minimum of 2 tees on every hole, not all are decked out like the blues. The DISCatchers look good and do what they do. I liked the scene walking up to the practice basket and driving net behind the barn. There was a also shed with loaner discs, message board, cooler with drinks for sale, a porto-potty, and other nice amenities. Stepping on the first tee everything was starting nicely. I like to throw down from the top of a hill, and that's what you get here. About 300' and not a lot of trees in the fairway. Got a birdie right out of the gate. Two is an about face and throw back up the hill. Mostly open except the shed that is right in front of the basket, which I nailed with my drive. Oops. I did manage to lob a thumbed over the top and save par. Three turns facing down hill again, 100' longer than the first hole. Still with a lot of airspace above the fairway, until you near bottom of the hill where the basket is protected by a rock wall, and some trees as well. Great hole. The next few holes take you through a more wooded portion of the same hillside. Hole 4 starts at the bottom, a par 5 dogleg left. Tough, but fair. 5, 6, and 7 are shorter in distance, heavier woods, and the downhill gravity assist on 7. I was shooting 1 under par to this point, but I lost my mojo on "The Outer Limit", hole 8 is a little longer. I got a good drive off, just couldn't get it in the basket and made bogey. 9 and 11 got me as well, and all the sudden I am 2 up and facing another tough par 5. 12 is named "Rocky Road" and the more literal interpretation is the accurate take. Nothing sweet about this, unless you get the par. A long, low drive to the elbow in front of a rock wall, and a sharp right turn, looking up the hill, still a good distance through a narrow wooded line to the target. I got the par, and 13 opened up into the flat, spacious meadow at the top of the hill. 13 and 14 are along the edges of the trees, RHBH hyzer shots of 319' and 240', respectively. I got birdies on both of them, after a good putt on 14. Hole 15 is long, a par 4 that crosses the flat, wide open center of the meadow. It is fun to bust out the big guns and just chuck it, and this is as simple as that. You, a long stretch of grass, and the basket. 16 and 17 play back into the woods, 16 longer, and 17 with more trees. 18 is open on the left side, and a dogleg right down the hill. A 372' par 3 that I couldn't handle. Bogey on the last hole put me at 1 over par (60), according to the scorecard I printed from the link.
Cons: There was a little mud, but not bad considering rain the night before. 15 is kind of bland, but the only total yawner on the course. Would you rather walk past and not throw? OK.
Other Thoughts: Lynx is a really solid course, fairly rated around 4 by my standards. The atmosphere is relaxing, and course is well conceived and executed. I didn't play the other course on site, the much shorter 18 hole Bobcat. There were 5 holes of a third, uncompleted course (Cougar?) that were also playable. The Lynx is enough reason to go check it out. If you have time, the rest is bonus golf.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Must-Play Course

5+    6/14/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: blumonk
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Brick tee boxes for all blue tees are nice.
*The owners are very friendly, always glad you came, and often host youth group and school kid outings in order to further the sport.
*Practice basket and huck net.
*Bobcat course to work on your short game is a nice change of pace and a 3rd course of traditional size and design is currently in the works.
*Nice use of the elevation from a few tee boxes to rain down from.
*Exceptionally clean.
*Some random items located throughout for children to play I Spy, and I THINK there's a hole-by-hole listing of the items available at the Pro Shop.
*Some very old and beautiful trees give the woods holes a very rustic feel.
Cons: *As a LHBH player, most holes seem to either be neutral or favor RHBH.
*A few tees have some tree locations that prevent a clear and obvious lane to shoot for and leave you to simply pray.
*It's kind of middle-of-nowhere, but totally worth the trip.
Other Thoughts: Although I don't get over there a lot, I'm always reminded of why I love this course whenever I do go.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/15/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: Kinsman
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Old New England farm course are always some of my favorites to play and Woods at Beauty Hill is no different. Set in the beautiful rolling hills of southern NH, the course opens with nice combination of downhill and uphill holes on open fields before heading into the woods. Wooded holes were well trimmed and maintained. A few more open field shots on the back nine where wind could certainly be a factor on some days. Brick paved tee pads on all the blue tees, but shorter all-natural tees are marked on most holes.
Cons: A few of the wooded holes seem to have a few too many random trees in the fairways. Lots of luck involved depending on how the disc kicks. Lots of short par 3's but there are enough longer holes to keep things interesting.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a fun course in a beautiful setting. Not a whole lot of challenge, but enough variety to keep things interesting.

 Nice quiet course

5+    8/25/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: Ctufankjian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good variety if holes between woods and fields. Nice tee pads and baskets throughout. Small 9 hole putter course on the side. Extremely quiet. Great practice fixtures. The least busy course in NH IMO.
Cons: Not particularly well designed compared to other area courses. Some holes should be completely vamped IMO. Which is generally why designers try to do it right the first time. Not as well maintained as some other courses ie long grass,etc. Not as challenging as others either.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course

1    10/3/2012   10/3/2012
Review By: C6H12O6
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is easy to navigate, has brick tee pads on every hole, and is a great mix of wooded and non-wooded shots. There is a small pro shop, score cards, and pencils. This course makes good use of the natural elevation, and requires touch shots, straight shots, and long shots in the open.
Cons: Non- Really. I played this course in the poring rain, so I don't have much to say about that
Other Thoughts: This course is a must visit if you are in New Hampshire. The course is heavily wooded, but there are fairways, and there are only one or two holes that could be considered "poke and hope." There are plenty of birdies to be had, and a couple open holes on the back nine to crush on. Come and play this course to support the wonderful private courses of new England

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

5+    7/13/2013   8/28/2012
Review By: davistd0
Played: 63  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The tee pads are cement/brick and are all in great shape. There are multiple tees on each hole, but the closer tees are natural. Great hole variety, 5 field and 13 woods. The woods holes follow what look like old farm roads with rock walls along some of the fairways. A few fairways have massive old pine trees along one side that provide long, straight low-ceiling shots. Many holes have significant elevation change that plays a huge role in your shots. Course is easy to follow and has good signage. Very friendly owners.
Cons: Some of the fairways a little strange. Example 11, 12, 16. It's tough to say exactly why these hole rub me the wrong way. I guess they just don't strike me as "disc golf holes." They feel like tee + basket + X = good hole but the X is missing. I won't dock more than 1/2 for this since I can't even define it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.