Center Barnstead, NH
Woods at Beauty Hill Share
Uploaded By: justin Hole #12
5 / 277ft.   5 / 370ft.   5 / 450ft.   5 / 550ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Very Good Course

2-4    7/24/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: Hal_Jordan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Brick Launching Pads
-Innova Baskets
-Ground Maintenance
-Forces you to throw a broad range of shots
-Markers showing distance from basket.
-4 Sets of tees
-Driving Range
-Practive Basket
-Loaner Discs
Cons: -I hit a seriously thick patch of black flies. that were quite distracting for a hole or 2.
Other Thoughts: I played there for the first time on a Saturday, around 10:30am and was teh only person on the course. I returned, with a buddy, the next day and again we were the only players out there.

I hope this course gets some business. The have certainly put a good amount of time and effort into it.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/22/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 71  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful course, very remote with thick woods.

- Excellent use of elevation, especially in the first 12 holes elevation comes into play on every hole.

- Great variety of hole layout. Doglegs left and right as well as some narrow straight shots. The design rewards players that can use a variety of shots.

- Incredibly clean, not a piece of trash to be found.

- Navigation was a breeze. At first I was worried that there was no map at the kiosk but the course is so well marked with next tee signs and a natural flow that there is no need to have a map.

- Loaner discs on hand. They had a bucket of 150g-165g discs for the newbies.

- A good mix of tight holes and open bombs. Too much of either can get repetitive but they did a great job here mixing the forest holes with the open field.

- No crowds, I went on a sunny Friday afternoon and my car was the only parked for the entire round I played.

- Nice new brick tee pads and multiple tees for a range of skill levels.
Cons: - The baskets - I know that they are currently working on replacing the old ones and are almost halfway there.

- I'm reaching to find con's here but you can argue that some of the pars are a bit off. The par 4s should be tough par 3s and 5s should be 4s. But the lowest overall score still wins right?
Other Thoughts: Overall this is an excellent course and you can tell that a lot of work went into the design. Normally I'm not a big fan of pay to play courses but in this case it is totally worth it.

I brought 3 friends that had never played disc golf before. At first I was worried that the tight technical holes would be frustrating. But the multiple tees and lighter loaner discs on hand made it a fun experience even for my 6 year old nephew.

This course is worth going out of your way for if you are in the area. I was on vacation staying in Alton Bay and it was only a 15 minute drive. But I will go out of my way to come back when I'm back in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A wonderful romp in the woods

5+    6/10/2012   4/25/2011
Review By: jtreadwell
Played: 31  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/20/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A fantastic mix of long drives, precise technical shots, and huge elevation changes.
- There are multiple tees for every hole that allow anyone from pros to toddlers enjoy the course.
- Everything from tee signs to OB are clearly marked. Every hole has a clever nickname (aside from "meadow" which can't really be called clever) which spices up the experience. It's much more fun to say, "I aced John's Hollow today!" than, "I aced hole 7!".
Cons: Now that the baskets have been updated, the course is much better. Grooming leaves something to be desired as there is no winter work and the grass has a tendency to get very long during the warmer months. A few holes seem a bit incongruous length wise (18 is a par 3 that is longer than the par 4s). There are several holes with rather awkward lines, and a few holes that have a rather repetitive feel.
Other Thoughts: This course will challenge just about everyone, especially those who have a hard time driving in a relatively straight line. The baskets are strategically placed so that putting is just as much a risk/reward situation as the longest wooded drive, with many right on the edge of severe dropoffs and heavily wooded doom.There are now 18 additional "pitch and putt" holes ready for play with another full course apparently in the works. Honestly, the pitch and putt "bobcat" course adds nothing to the facility. While it's clear that a lot of work went into clearing the dense woods for them, it seems like the efforts could have been better spent elsewhere. They are all between 40 and maybe 75ft. long with the old crappy baskets (now with more thick, disc rejecting chains than before!). The worst part is that being cut into dense woods, the bugs are 10 times worse than the regular course and they seem to view high DEET bug spray as mere seasoning. Skip the safari holes. Getting back to the positive, even the drive to Beauty hill is pleasant and it really builds up the excitement seeing what the area has to offer for epic land arrangement. As others have noted, bring gallons of bug spray and check for ticks. As long as you have thick skin for bugs this will be a very pleasant day of Disc Golf

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

2-4    9/18/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: Zeke I
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: set up is great
distance is challanging
picnic tables at diffrent locations on the course
Cons: some of the tee boxes were not there but were marked well
Other Thoughts: Great course good location loads of fun for beniiners and experts alike. Lots of room to WING IT!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tees for everyone in the Family

2-4    7/31/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 73  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are four sets of tees on every hole; one to suite every level player. Some of the long tees (blue) have brick pavers on them. Tee signs are on the blue pads and distance markers on the short ones. There is a really good mix of holes from all the tees. A few tight alleys, up/downhill, a few ace races thrown in the mix. The fairways are clean and offer enough space (in the field anyway) to let your disc do its thing. In the field next to the barn there is a practice basket and a throwing net. The navigation is simple and straightforward with next tee signs when needed. All of the grass is mowed and OB is marked clearly. Scorecards, a porta-pottie and small disc shop are near the big barn.
Cons: THE BASKETS!!! Now to explain. They seem line Instep's with super shallow baskets and really thick chains. If you don't hit it just right you will have a bounce out from ten feet away. The contition of the short tees ranges from poor to mediocre. Several of the fairways are really close to each other causing some confusion; especially during tourneys. The parking area is awefully bumpy so drive slowly.
Other Thoughts: All of the holes have super cool nicknames.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Serene and Clean

1    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: Everett Evans
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Four tees on each hole
- Beautiful environment, woodsy and fieldy
- Pretty obvious layout for each hole, so easy to guess where to drive, even on blind holes. I parked #16 without looking due to the sign and the feel of the fairway from the teebox. And probably some luck.
- Great signage!!
- A few picturesque downhill holes (1, 3, 7)
- Good use of elevation, up, down, flat, sidehill
- Good length from blue, a few legitimate par 4s (maybe not quite par 5s)
- Orange tees would be great for super-newbies, young ones
- This place is REMOTE!!
- Not a spec of trash, fairways in perfect condition, fields mowed in the past few weeks, everything in beautiful shape!! They did have a tournament here last weekend, so that probably helped the conditions.
- A few short easy putter holes, a couple where you can air out your arm.
Cons: - This place is REMOTE!! My wife and two little ones walked with me because there isn't ANYTHING within 30 minutes of the course for them to do.
- Hole 17 was the only hole I didn't like. A forced, short dogleg (100 feet one way, turn 90 degrees, 100 feet another way) is not the way you want to end the round. It looks like a lot of people play straight, but it is a crapshoot through the trees. I took an annoying 4 and was pretty soured.
- Nothing, it is a great course!!
Other Thoughts: Obviously the owners put a lot of time into this place, and it shows. Well worth the 5 bucks for two hours of solid golf. A ways out of the way, but well worth it.
Yes, the baskets are basically practice portables, but they caught my putts with no problem, and the four I missed wouldn't have gone in no matter what basket I was putting at.
Also, not sure why the negativity for Rocky Road (Hole 12). I thought it was a solid, difficult hole, with a par to back that up. Really could be a par four, not a five. Lots of courses around the US have similar two drive holes, glad there is at least one in NH. I drove short and left on the front half, flicked around the corner, approached to 20' and hit the putt for a four, and felt pretty good about it, but a three is definitely possible.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful!

2-4    6/27/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: N8malibu
Played: 43  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tranquil setting, relaxed atmosphere, owner came out to welcome us as we pulled in to the parking field, just as she did last time. Some challenging holes but the pars reflected that. pillaged the raspberry patch, yum, why let the birds get 'em before they hit the ground. Good mix of open and wooded holes. clearly marked signage
Cons: Field hadn't been cut in a while but I've seen worse. Dave beat me, hangs head in shame. Monster bugs, bring your bug spray or prepare to be eaten alive by deer/horse flies.
Other Thoughts: Love the course but it's a bitch to get to, but if you're up for a road trip in the country, it's a sweet destination.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good course

1    5/22/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 8/20/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Loved the course overall. I thought it was a really good mix between tight woody holes and long "let er rip" holes. Good use of elevation and pretty interesting course. Really liked all the work with the tee pads. I took my wife and she loved there was wemons tee on every hole. Also a practice basket and net at the big barn was nice. Really loved the area and land that the course is on. This is a course to watch and could be amazing down the road.

UPDATE: Wow this course is getting good. All New Baskets and a bunch more brick tee pads. Huge improvement. Really the premiere course in NH. All the work done is obvious and i cant wait to go back soon.
Cons: main con i would say is its a tad on the easy side,,even the blue tees. A couple of the par 4's should be par 3 and the par 5 should be a 4.
Other Thoughts: I was amazed to see the negative ratings on this course. Ya the baskets arent great but to give this course a 2 is just ridiculous. A great piece of land and a ton of work has gone into the course. Hopefully more people try out this hidden gem in NH.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

2-4    3/21/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: NH Disc Dude
Played: 40  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great location, good use of elevation, good mix of open and wooded holes. Great people. I went on a windy cool day and enjoyed every minute of it. Beautiful place with a ton of potential. The baskets were not nearly as bad as people have said, all my good shots fell and so did a couple of my bad ones. :)
Cons: The tee pads need upgrading, and maybe some better walkways between holes. But overall a good course. All courses are works in progress people.
Other Thoughts: I am a little disheartened by the negative vibe this place has gotten. This course doesnt have Discatcher baskets...SO WHAT. it has baskets. This sport isnt about having the best equipment its about having fun and enjoying beautiful places. This course offers a place to do just that. Yes it needs work but its totally worth an afternoon as it sits. So head to Barnstead and get huckin'

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty Hill

5+    7/12/2008   7/1/2009
Review By: atonalruss
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained, pretty long course, easy to navigate, nice use of elevation, great mix of wooded and open holes. Friendly owners who really love and care about the game.
Cons: As everyone else has said, the baskets need upgrading. The hole with the narrow path and right angle turn after 300 feet, only to have another 300 foot narrow path is not good.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course and would play it more if it were closer. I played their tournament (Beauty Hill Challenge) in July of 2007 and it was a great first tournament experience for me. Great people, good food, and much disc golf love. The grounds are beautiful, the $5 fee ($10 for the day) is reasonable considering it is the cleanest course I've ever played and well maintained. I'm hoping they will begin to upgrade the baskets soon. But even so, this course is great fun.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.