Independence, KS
Independence College DGC Share
Uploaded By: preeves Hole #9
3 / 480ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pirate Country

1    4/27/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 227  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course was well maintained and it has a nice variety of shots. The tee pads for the front 9 were good(back 9 is natural). There is a nice mix of long and short holes here too. There was a decent amount of water threat here with a stream that runs through the front 9 on a couple of holes. The holes are mostly open, but there are just enough trees to challenge you and not frustrate you.
This course offers both uphill and downhill shots as well. The best hole in my opinion was #10 where you threw over the fountain. I loved this shot.
Cons: Obviously if classes were in session your round would be affected. A couple of the holes on the back 9 throw next to a parking lot, so be advised. Dirt tees on the back 9, not a huge con, but they will be slick after a good rain. Discatchers on the front 9 and DGA's on the back 9. Not a big deal but I would like to see it all the same, just being nit picky here.
Also throwing next to the street on #12 and #14 could cause you some trouble if you shanked one to the right, so be careful.
Other Thoughts: A back 9 holes have been added since the last review making this a 18 hole course. It is best played when classes aren't in session. We played here on a Saturday morning and were the only discers on the course. This is a nice little college course that isn't on the technical side. If you enjoy a course that has just enough openess then this will be to your liking. If you are a fan of a more wooded course then you will probably not find this up your alley. I thought they did a good job of using what land, trees, and water threat that they had available to them to make a pretty decent course. Worth a stop if you are in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 ICC DGC

5+    7/30/2011   7/30/2011
Review By: preeves
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 6/9/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads.
Usually well mowed
Distance Challenges
Elevation Changes
Challenging Shot Selections
Good Use of Available Terrain
Cons: Open Layout
Few Trees for Technical or Accurate Shooting
Course can be Swampy after Rains
Front 9 baskets and Back 9 baskets don't match
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and belong to its league(so this review may be a little bias). We just finished the back nine holes, poured the concrete tee pads. The course provides an overall shot progression between distance and accuracy. With the use of Mando's and area terrain it makes the course more difficult and technical. Signs are all posted, but some need updating, also Mando signs will be placed soon for their marking as well. On a whole I really enjoy playing this course and find it on the top end of courses within the area on challenge and up keep.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Basic 9 hole course

1    10/31/2009   10/31/2009
Review By: dekalbdiscfan
Played: 47  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 11/6/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tees
-New Pins
-Metal benches next to the tees
Cons: -Generally flat course
-A few obstacles (trees; water hazard on hole #2) but overall not very many challenges
-Difficult to locate #1 Tee. **It is located below the Student Union on the sidewalk.
Other Thoughts: Pretty basic 9 hole course in SE Kansas. Course is newer with concrete tees and new baskets. Nice tees signs have been added to make the course easier to navigate. Doesn't offer a lot of challenges except for varied distances; There are some trees and a water hazard but nothing that really makes you take a tough shot.
I wouldn't go out of your way to play this, but if you're going to be in Independence then it might be worth checking out.
**ICC offers a college PE class for disc golf (haven't heard of this being offered before), I wonder how interesting the class is?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.