Gladstone, MO
Old Pike Country Club Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #7 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    7/14/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: astomps
Played: 41  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 2.7 Years
Pros: +holes 1,6,7, 9, 10,13
+only a couple of shots are open straight shots
+course makes good use of the land

Cons: -tee pads are a bit small
-signs are all broke
-pond on 13 is a disceater

Other Thoughts: worth playing a few times at least

Pay to play DG?

5+    6/6/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: redbirdfaninkc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's close to home.
Cons: They expect you to PAY, to play disc golf. There are at least 10 other courses in Kansas City within 25 miles of my house, most of which are much better taken care of, have better baskets, and are much more fun to play and they are FREE. I refuse to pay to play at any DG course, especially when not even two years ago this course was a free course. Some jokers took it over and now they think they can charge 50 a year. Get real!
Other Thoughts: I will pay 50 dollars to play this course as soon as you make it worthy of that amount of money. I spoke with one of the "guys" and he said I couldn't even bring a guest. Lame.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Economically Challenged

2-4    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: jbradley266
Played: 53  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Character is the word that describes this course the best; it has more than its share. There is something for everyone, open holes, wooded, water, elevation and technical shots. Each hole seems to have a personality of its own and some even have names to describe them. This course was obviously built on a budget but you can tell it was done with the kind of insanity that could only be described as genius.
Cons: I'm not sure that's completely fair to judge this course for it is as opposed to for what it could be but there are a lot of cons currently. Eighteen almost goes over one's tee except for the mandos which are just out in the middle marked by stakes. Some holes are so tight I couldn't find a clear shot or path to the hole. There are no tee signs; the tee pads aren't great or temporary and finding your way around is difficult. There are hay bails for benches, rubber trash cans at most tees, some tees have plant stands, and a couple of the bridges have strange white plastic chains as railings, which gives it a sort of white trashy feel to it.
Other Thoughts: This course is a diamond in the rough. All that is needs is some clean up, new pads and signs, and maybe get rid of some of the decor. I think that it's coming, let's hope so.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

updated review, course has improved

1    10/6/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: Magnatizer
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 25.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2014
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: #1 is a solid starting hole. Some reasonable tunnel shots. Update: lines opening up on a some of the holes which, on my initial round, were undefineable. #3 in particular has improved. Added length to a few holes as well. Course is well kept.
Cons: Very challenging flow. Update: course flow, ie navigation, has improved. I would love to see a longer tee on the lake hole.
Other Thoughts: I'd not go out of my way to play this course. If you've time to play head down the road to one of the best in the country, Water Works. Update: if I'm in this area of town WW is still the choice.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Very Nice!!

5+    8/29/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: drummerjh
Played: 49  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging little course set on the grounds of Old Pike Country Club. It has a nice mixture of tight, wooded holes, water hazard shots, a few ace run holes, and a couple of nice open shots with road OB looming nearby.
Cons: I don't have too many bad things to say about this course because it is still in the development stages. They are currently raising funds to replace the loose gravel teepads with concrete pads, as well as adding tee sings for easier course navigation. Once these tasks are completed, it will go from being a decent course to an excellent course.
Other Thoughts: The 4 newly added baskets makes it a full 18 hole course, but you will probably need a local to show you the layout. Play does flow a little better now with the added holes.
The fundraising tournament is being held on September 18th. Here is a link for more information: http://www.discgolfdicks.com/Events.html

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better than I first thought...

2-4    6/8/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first 9 of this course is very picturesque. Lots of mix in elevation. Hole 6 has you throw from a valley up toward the parking lot with a steep hill going up to it. Course was well thought out, utilizing trees and water very well. One of the posts to mark the tee has bag holders on it. Located in a very nice area.
Cons: Some major navigation issues, partially caused by a lack of tee signs. It's almost impossible to find your way around without a map. A very long walk between 6 and 7. 7 Can easily be played to 9s basket and 9 to 7s. 8 plays right next to fenced in yards. Hole one gets flooded after a rain. Gravel tee pads are ok, but you can easily lose your footing. They recently added, but not complete, holds 10-14 are short and technical, but don't have very defined fairways...yet. hole 13 has a home-made basket and hole 14's sign fell down in some wind.
Other Thoughts: I didn't play hole 10 which plays right over the pond because I had already lost a disc that week and I didn't want to lose another one. There are some weird, what look like giant depressions in some of the greens. I don't know if they used to be sand traps or what, but after it rains, they do make good small water hazard. If you land in the rough, you might encounter some poison ivy problems.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Northland gem

1    4/19/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 312  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good intermediate level course on the grounds of a private club which hosts tennis courts and a pool along with the DG course. (Only the DG course is free for the public to use). Holes have decent and varied distances and woodsiness, and some elevation change. A couple of holes with water threat. Good lefty-righty balance. Baskets have flags for easy sighting.
Cons: Gravel tee boxes are uneven and you can mess up your footing really easy. Holes 3-5, while technically challenging feel a tad redundant. Hole 8 cuts too close to neighboring property to the north. Basket 9 is too close to hole 7 and you can easily mistake it for 7's basket which sits to the left along the woods.
Other Thoughts: Kind of a strange, yet welcome addition to KC disc golf, and definitely the best nine holer in the area. Coming off I-29 and Vivion, you can miss this place very easily traveling north. Its a lot easier to see going south on Old Pike Rd. League on Wednesday nights. The club appears to have some more property, and I have heard there are plans for additional holes. while I don't think you could squeeze 18 into this place, a nice 12 hole course might be possible, perhaps incorporating the pond a bit more. Not a must play, but a good warm up for Water Works just a couple miles away.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Very Strange Course of Action

1    3/29/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 207  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had a strange flow to it. It has elevation, water, risk/reward, OB, and forces a variety of shots. The first hole goes up hill along the tennis courts. Then #2 is a long down hill run. #3 through #5 are back and forth across the front lawn of the facility dealing with tree windows. #6 is shooting out of a valley up toward the pool. #7 is a sharp left turn to a wooded edge. #8 is a shot through an alley of back woods, but still fairly open with residence on the left. #9 is a slight right turn with trees on the right and a pond on the left. This fairway is very narrow, so get it to the basket. When the Clubhouse is open there is a bathroom.
Cons: The gravel tee pads were a little unstable for good footing. You will need a map to find your way around here. There is a bit of a walk between some of the holes. The layout is kind of spread out all over. Watch out for geese droppings as there seems to be a few of those residents here.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor for this course is mixed. Some of the holes were fun to play, but I can't say that I was overly excited about throwing multiple drives on any of them. The holes were technical enough to peak my interest, but I can't see playing this more than once. This course would be worth trying out if you were in the area, but I really wouldn't make road trip to go here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Open to public - For Free!

1    7/14/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: Jayl3ird
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Just spoke with Jennifer @ the country club. Anyone can play, anytime they are open, for free! She asked that disc golfers check in w/ the front desk so the staff knows who's out there. On Wednesdays, there is a large group that plays the course. FYI

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Better than expected

1    7/1/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: kcnickster
Played: 53  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging little 9 holes, almost every hole has some sort of different challenge. Plenty of trees and just enough elevation to push this little course to the next level.
Cons: Grass tees and a little tough to figure out especially the last 4 holes without some guidence. Unless you join the Country Club only available for play on Wednesdays during the summer.
Other Thoughts: Water comes into play on 7 and 9, and the group I was playing with we didn't have the guts to play 9 the "right" way found a safer fairway away from the water.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center