Gladstone, MO 
Old Pike Country Club Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #3 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 423ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    7/14/2013   7/14/2013
Review By: astomps
Played: 50  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3 Years
Pros: +holes 1,6,7, 9, 10,13
+only a couple of shots are open straight shots
+course makes good use of the land

Cons: -tee pads are a bit small
-signs are all broke
-pond on 13 is a disceater

Other Thoughts: worth playing a few times at least

updated review, course has improved

1    10/6/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: Magnatizer
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 25.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2014
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: #1 is a solid starting hole. Some reasonable tunnel shots. Update: lines opening up on a some of the holes which, on my initial round, were undefineable. #3 in particular has improved. Added length to a few holes as well. Course is well kept.
Cons: Very challenging flow. Update: course flow, ie navigation, has improved. I would love to see a longer tee on the lake hole.
Other Thoughts: I'd not go out of my way to play this course. If you've time to play head down the road to one of the best in the country, Water Works. Update: if I'm in this area of town WW is still the choice.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Better than I first thought...

2-4    6/8/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first 9 of this course is very picturesque. Lots of mix in elevation. Hole 6 has you throw from a valley up toward the parking lot with a steep hill going up to it. Course was well thought out, utilizing trees and water very well. One of the posts to mark the tee has bag holders on it. Located in a very nice area.
Cons: Some major navigation issues, partially caused by a lack of tee signs. It's almost impossible to find your way around without a map. A very long walk between 6 and 7. 7 Can easily be played to 9s basket and 9 to 7s. 8 plays right next to fenced in yards. Hole one gets flooded after a rain. Gravel tee pads are ok, but you can easily lose your footing. They recently added, but not complete, holds 10-14 are short and technical, but don't have very defined fairways...yet. hole 13 has a home-made basket and hole 14's sign fell down in some wind.
Other Thoughts: I didn't play hole 10 which plays right over the pond because I had already lost a disc that week and I didn't want to lose another one. There are some weird, what look like giant depressions in some of the greens. I don't know if they used to be sand traps or what, but after it rains, they do make good small water hazard. If you land in the rough, you might encounter some poison ivy problems.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Northland gem

1    4/19/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good intermediate level course on the grounds of a private club which hosts tennis courts and a pool along with the DG course. (Only the DG course is free for the public to use). Holes have decent and varied distances and woodsiness, and some elevation change. A couple of holes with water threat. Good lefty-righty balance. Baskets have flags for easy sighting.
Cons: Gravel tee boxes are uneven and you can mess up your footing really easy. Holes 3-5, while technically challenging feel a tad redundant. Hole 8 cuts too close to neighboring property to the north. Basket 9 is too close to hole 7 and you can easily mistake it for 7's basket which sits to the left along the woods.
Other Thoughts: Kind of a strange, yet welcome addition to KC disc golf, and definitely the best nine holer in the area. Coming off I-29 and Vivion, you can miss this place very easily traveling north. Its a lot easier to see going south on Old Pike Rd. League on Wednesday nights. The club appears to have some more property, and I have heard there are plans for additional holes. while I don't think you could squeeze 18 into this place, a nice 12 hole course might be possible, perhaps incorporating the pond a bit more. Not a must play, but a good warm up for Water Works just a couple miles away.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Very Strange Course of Action

1    3/29/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 209  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course had a strange flow to it. It has elevation, water, risk/reward, OB, and forces a variety of shots. The first hole goes up hill along the tennis courts. Then #2 is a long down hill run. #3 through #5 are back and forth across the front lawn of the facility dealing with tree windows. #6 is shooting out of a valley up toward the pool. #7 is a sharp left turn to a wooded edge. #8 is a shot through an alley of back woods, but still fairly open with residence on the left. #9 is a slight right turn with trees on the right and a pond on the left. This fairway is very narrow, so get it to the basket. When the Clubhouse is open there is a bathroom.
Cons: The gravel tee pads were a little unstable for good footing. You will need a map to find your way around here. There is a bit of a walk between some of the holes. The layout is kind of spread out all over. Watch out for geese droppings as there seems to be a few of those residents here.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor for this course is mixed. Some of the holes were fun to play, but I can't say that I was overly excited about throwing multiple drives on any of them. The holes were technical enough to peak my interest, but I can't see playing this more than once. This course would be worth trying out if you were in the area, but I really wouldn't make road trip to go here.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.