Carlyle, IL 
Carlyle City Park Share
Uploaded By: green_hornet915 Hole #3 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 263ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    6/1/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: Moosejuice
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: Fun par 3 course in an old park in a nice little town near Carlyle Lake. Great if you live nearby or are camping at the lake. The park has plenty of old trees for shade and to provide a mild amount of obstacles. The park is mildly hilly, so even though it's a small park, it's fun for disc golf.

This course hasn't changed since the previous reviewers with one exception. Hole 6 used to have a line of large bushes that made for an interesting obstacle, but those have been removed. So it's easy to make this hole in two shots now.

All of the baskets are visible from the tees except 1 & 8.

Hole 1 is to the right of the yellow railings over the runoff channel and slightly up hill behind the bushes across the path.

Hole 8 is situated behind the restroom and 30 or so feet down the hill. When teeing off, aim right of the restroom about 20 feet and just over ground level or you'll overshoot the basket.
Cons: Old, single chain baskets.

No tee pads and the grass is worn down at the tees so on damp days you have to tee off away from the tees slightly to avoid mud.

No maps indicating fairways, but with the exception of holes 1 & 8 the baskets are visible and intuitive.

Would be a lot Better with Upgraded Baskets

2-4    11/15/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: dehaas
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice rolling hills in an old park. I've always liked the large old trees that shape natural lines on a disc golf course and this park has plenty of that.

Overall this course is just fun to throw. It has the oldschool par 3 feel to it where it's duece or die with your group of buddies.

Lots of room in the park for safari golf or a set of long tees. My buddy showed me the long tees that his group of friends play and there are some long bombs out there.
Cons: You can see multiple baskets from some of the tees, and the signs just have distances listed. Luckily I was playing with somebody who knew the course.

Hole 2's tee was overgrown and everybody throws from the sidewalk next to it, same thing with hole 3. A little course maintenance would help, or just denote the sidewalks as the tee.

By far the worst part of this course are the baskets. Single chains aren't ideal, but what's even worse are that the bars in the cage are spaced too far apart. Low putts can actually travel into the basket, and made putts can fall out of the basket. My rating reflects the baskets, and if they were replaced with modern baskets I would probably bump it up to a 3. From the way I understand it the baskets were made by a local welding shop.
Other Thoughts: This course plays pretty quick and is a good course to go play if you want to play some fun holes and just go have a good time. Nothing super challenging, but if you're in the area and want a challenge go play Foundation Park in Centralia.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Could use some work

1    6/13/2012   6/13/2012
Review By: KoenigStern
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: - Variable elevation makes for interesting shots
- Beautiful park setting
- Bathrooms and water fountains available
- Nearby pool if you wish to take a dip after a hot and intense game of disc golf :)
- nice flow to course.
Cons: - Signs are 4x4 pieces of wood with hole number and distance, but doesn't really clearly indicate where the basket is.
- Dirt tee pads. #2's pad was DOWNHILL, so tee-ed off on the sidewalk right next to it
- Tees also don't say which side of it to start from.
- Single-chained baskets
- Plays through park area, may be congested if there were any pavilions being used for parties
Other Thoughts: Not that bad of a course. The holes themselves are fun and my only REAL complaints are the actual baskets and tee pads. The single chains bug the heck out of me as some putt shots go through. If the park were to upgrade above mentioned, my rating for this course would be a 4. Not a course to go out of your way to play until if they were to upgrade it.

 Not bad...

1    12/5/2010   12/5/2010
Review By: REDARMY
Played: 32  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Neat little 9-er that makes GREAT use of the space available.

It's not a large park, but the holes were laid out well to make good use of the elevation and obstacles present.

Layout made a good balance of lefty/righty shots, and the couple of fast greens added challenge to and otherwise uninteresting course.

Plenty of parking and bathrooms are always a plus.

4x4s for tee signs with distances painted on them didn't give you any direction to throw, but the holes are short enough and open enough that it didn't really matter; all holes were visible from the tee (except for 8) if not a few steps out.
Cons: Single chain baskets, natural pads, un-descriptive (though adequate) teesigns, and an overall lack of length make this a good novice course, but nothing more.

The easy shot for 6 is a big hyzer that plays right over/through a swingset; not the greatest design strategy IMO...

The complication of avoiding christmas decorations/electrical wires that were seemingly laid on top of the teepads with no regard to the golf patrons seems a bit careless, if not reckless. (Should unruly golfers decide to *remove* obstacles in their way, there's nothing to stop them)

Other Thoughts: Natural pads, single chain baskets, and no real big or tricky holes makes this a good course to travel to to round out a day at Centralia (especially if you're a St. Louis-er heading back west), but certainly not a destination in and of itself.

Watch out for vehicle traffic on 8 (or other park patrons coming in and out of the john), christmas decorations at the appropriate times, and little ones/pedestrians frolicking through those obstacles/on the pedestrian paths that criss-cross the course.

I'd like to get back here in the summer time to see how it plays without all of the christmas obstructions.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little nine holer

2-4    8/2/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 363  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good facilities at course (water spicket on hole 1, 2 by shelter, 7 has fountain and spicket, 8 has water in the bathrooms)
-good use of available landscape in the small (5-7 acre?) park. Landscape includes good elevation changes (1- slight downhill, 3-uphill, 4-down, 5-up, 6-on side of hill, 7-rolling fairway, 8-up then down to blind basket)
-mature trees on all holes, some holes have some saplings that will grow up to be larger and some good bushes.
-Many pavilions to rest at if needed (only takes about 25-30 minutes to play)
-onsite pool (sweet!)
-OB on several holes (3,4,6,8-road and 1 when water is present in the drainage ditch.
Cons: -Tee signs are 4x4 posts with hole number and distance
--natural tee pads (7's tee pad is terrible (slightly sloped down and the hole requires you to play a higher shot so in my experience it was hard to shoot high enough to get to the pin) and 2's pad is missing (I found the tee sign but no worn out area near it and it's on the side of a hill. I just threw from behind it on the walking path
-Home made 12 chain smallish baskets-it's nice that they were donated for this memorial dgc, but I had several spit outs or spit throughs, and I even had one go into the basket and fall out of the bottom of the basket. Upon further examination, all the cross bar welds on the baskets weren't uniform and the larger ones allowed discs to pass through if they were tilted just right.
-Course is very short, most holes under 250' and almost all of them you could hyzer a midrange or putter over the main obstacle(s) and be fine if not parked.
-There is some danger of hitting people or cars. There is a swing set right in the main disc flight path on hole 6, no one was there when I was playing, but could be dangerous when park is busy. You also throw over the walking path on 1 and 3 so be careful for pedestrians, on hole 8 you throw out over a road right at a blind curve, I played 3 rounds and each time I played, a car drove past just as my disc was going over a hill.
-no benches or trashcans at any of the tees (trash can at parking lot and pavilion though)
Other Thoughts: This is a fun, easy little course, good practice for driving with a putter or short mid. Good for beginners and people working on developing a short, accurate tee game. It's quick to play, you can play 18 in under an hour. Really if this course didn't interfere so much with other park users and the baskets were fixed up a bit, I'd give it a 2.5.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good use of small city park

6/29/2008   6/29/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great use of the available land, all couple acres of it. Features rolling hills, plenty of trees and a creek (dry at the time I was there). Well marked. Several holes more of the type you'd fins on a 'real' course.
Cons: Dirt tee pads. Have to use caution around kids playing in park. Baskets are homemade and don't catch anything.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.