Orrington, ME 
DR Disc Golf - Long 18 Share
Uploaded By: Murfshay22 Hole #11 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 163ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pretty Sweet for the flick

1    10/25/2014   10/27/2014
Review By: laughingbenjamin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Echoing what others have said, well kept, good club house, Friendly.
Cons: Not a lot of balance for shot variations. No Tee signs. Pay 4$ per round is a bit steep but most locals don't mind
Other Thoughts: I would certainly go back anytime I am in Maine and we will probably bring a Can vs America tourney down here at some point

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course

1    8/7/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: Jaxully
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well kept, friendly staff, good pro shop on the premises, wood chips on fairways, long shots, and work being done to make it better.
Cons: Not a real variety of shots, all in the woods, no field shots, no map or hole signs on a pay to play course, no hole really stood out to me they were all mediocre.
Other Thoughts: The whole course is in the woods some shots more open than others, there is no real signature hole here that made me remember this course as special.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course, changes often

5+    5/13/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: InfTechFour
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate
Varied shots (left, right, straigh, some downhill/uphill)
Designed for an intermediate level player
Woodchips on fairways
Clean and upkept well
Cons: No field shots
Hole signs are simply stickers on trash cans
No course map
A few too many tunnel shots, including one on a tight hyzer curve
Other Thoughts: This is by far the best course in the area. The owner is very nice and they have a small pro shop. This course has changed every year for the past three years and seems to be vastly improved every year. On that note all of the pictures are very outdated and most of the reviews will probably be for an older course. Best way to see how it plays is to go yourself. This course has many par 4's and 5's that should probably be 3's and 4's making them quite easy as long as you avoid the many trees. Overall I rated it a 3/5 because it is a fun, well designed course, but doesn't really offer anything special and is missing some basics you would expect from a pay to play course like a course map and better hole markers.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Mostly woods but well done

5+    7/14/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: headbangerdiscus
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: concrete pad tees
some fun up and down hilly holes
well kept
stocked pro shop
plenty of woodchips for a clean course floor, easy to find your disc
portapotty about halfway through course
lots of picnic tables
Cons: Mostly wooded, would be nice to have more variety in hole elements.
Not many open, let 'er rip holes (skill/accuracy/tomahawks a must)
Other Thoughts: Nice course, well maintained. All concrete pad tees. lots of picnic tables to rest at. Easy navigation. Not as much thick brush/tall grass to lose your disc in. Lots of clearing done with clean woodchip floor. Mostly a trip through woods but there are a few field holes, and nice hard rights and lefts, and couple ups and downs keep it interesting. Pro shop stocked with discs, bags, baskets, snacks, drinks. Owner is nice, gave me a good deal on a bag. he said another course is underway here. he let me test drive several discs until i found one that really worked for me. I am sure I will be back several times as this is close to home!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Woody

1    8/16/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: ghova
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very fun course to play. Good mix of short and long holes on a disc golf dedicated piece of land. Tons of work was put into this course cutting down trees and creating fairways through a beautiful forest. Most of the holes are very creative and challenging using the land well. Good tee pads and baskets, and navigation was not really a problem even with out maps or tee signs. Friendly pro shop staff and rental discs for $1 each.
Cons: No tee signs or any information regarding the hole you are playing. If it is a blind shot you may have to walk a few hundred feet down the fairway before you can locate the basket. You would think that it being pay to play they would splurge on some decent signs. But it is a relatively new course and they probably havent gotten around to it yet. Not too much elevation but what is there is used well.
There are some holes that leave something to be desired. Some forced landing zones that feel unnatural, but they do add to the challenge so I cant really criticize the design. In a few years if this course puts the pay to play money it receives back into the course i can see it getting a much higher rating, but now I would call it a good (3.0) course.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very interesting course.. Woodchips cover every fairway giving it a unique feel and great smell. Never seen anything like it. The course was cut into a nice forest and it seems every tree they cut down they chipped to line the fairways with. Will definitely stop here again if i am in Maine and it is definitely worth the greens fee to play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A good midrange course

1    6/10/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: blazerico
Played: 187  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I don't typically review the courses I play, but I have to chime in on this place because of the high ratings that it is getting. It is a nice mostly flat/wooded course with a well stocked clubhouse. It seemed to be a course that would make lefties happy, with many L-to-R basket placements, luckily my sidearm was working well. There are a few nice long holes that are pretty challenging due to the narrow fairway and number of trees. The owners do a great job of covering everything with woodchips and there a numerous signs, so you definitly know where to go between holes.
Cons: There are a few things that keep this course from a higher ranking:
-too many short holes(around 200ft).
-Tees signs that show the hole layout would be great so you know where you are throwing on the few long holes. Or at least print the map on the back of the scorecard.
-I know its the norm in Maine, but coming from PA, I have to complain about pay to play. I can see paying $4 for the day, but per round is a little much in my mind.
Other Thoughts: I don't mean any disrespect to the locals because this is a nice course, but I think the other reviewers need to play more top level courses before deeming this anything more than a three. (Then again, maybe I need to play more Maine courses) There is no way this is a four disc course and it is nowhere near a five disc course! I don't know how much land they own, but it seems some of the holes could be extended. The par of 72 is way too high. With all of the 200ft holes, this should be a par 54 or less. 72 is the par at some courses that are almost twice as long as this place.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    4/26/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: davistd0
Played: 42  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun and challenging course to play for golfers of all skill levels. The course is easy to follow with signs at each basket pointing towards the tee for the next hole. Most of the tees are cement pads, a few are wood chips because those holes may change in the near future to accomadate an additional course. Good variety of tee shots: hyzers, anhyzers, some straight up the middle.
Cons: The day after rain, some of the holes can be pretty water logged, especially in the spring. The staff is quick to lay down fresh wood chips to absorb/cover the water though.
Other Thoughts: Good course, friendly owner and staff in the club house. Check out their blog at http://www.orringtondiscgolf.blogspot.com /

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

5+    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: educator11
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 20.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2010
0 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Beautifully maintained and challenging, and easy enough for beginners to walk and enjoy! Handicap system (same as ball golf) used to balance doubles events and allow everyone to play in tournaments.
Cons: It's closed in the Winter

0 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.