Franklin, TN 
Liberty Park Share
Uploaded By: SimonCarr Hole #1 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 170ft.   3 / 265ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Red Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 This course grows on you

2-4    10/8/2011   10/11/2011
Review By: boondock339
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The way this course is designed, you play the first 10 from the red tees and then you play the second ten from the white tees. Ironically, the less experienced players may actually find the white tees easier. Even though the shots are longer than the red, they are much straighter. The red tees are closer but offset so that the shots are much more technical. Considering that the park will not currently allocate any more permanent space for tees, I think that this course makes the best use of what it has. What it has is pretty fun and worth going back for. The folks that designed and maintain the course do love it, so it will only get better with time.
Cons: When I played on Friday, the underbrush was out of control. It was not a lot of fun to retrieve discs that strayed from the narrow fairways.
Other Thoughts: I played this course from the white tees on Friday, and then I turned around and played from red tees on Saturday. Saturday was also a course cleanup day which I came out for. PEOPLE, if you have a problem with how a course is maintained, then be part of the solution. Anyone can complain about the maintenance of a course(which I tend to do that), but I feel that if you are really involved in the sport then you need to be helping to take care of the courses that you love to play on. With that being said, the other advantage to helping with cleanup on Saturday, was that the course was set up temporarily for the upcoming tournament(Liberty Pro/Am Fall Spectacular). After playing the temporary set up (8 new holes!) I would highly recommend coming out for this tournament. The new temporary holes are a nice compliment to the wooded nature of the permanent holes. They are a little bit more wide open, yet quite challenging. If you have never played a course with a required "drop zone", then you should come out for the next work day (Oct. 22nd) and get some practice for the tourney(Nov 12th).

Notes:
I will try to do an in-depth review after the tourney.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 5/9ths of a Round

1    7/2/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 227  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Liberty is probably the most fun non-18 hole course I've played. The layout stays away from other activities in the park save for a walking trail or two but I didn't see anybody out while I was playing. The land the course is on is very well manicured with very defined fairways and rough. The fairways are fair and the rough does what its suppose to, cause you a headache. Skill level will determine what your score is after getting into the rough. Each hole has a different feel in that you won't be throwing the same tee shot multiple times in a row. The elevation here is used very nicely with multiple climbs and falls along the way. With being less than 18 holes, I was a fan of several holes being longer and more challenging. The dual tee pads change the shot shape as well as the distance so there's no lack of variety if you want to play 20 holes instead of just 10 holes. The tee signs are simple but adequate and include a rivet system to tell which sleeve placement the basket is in. That being said, there are dual sleeves on each hole but I don't know how often they are changed. This makes for a cool 40 different shots off the tee. A large course map near number one also indicates which placements are in. The tee pads are nicely sized, grippy and well constructed. Those on inclines or declines have extra measures taken off the ends so that 1. the thrower can safely follow through and 2. the tee pad won't crack from erosion under the pad in a few years. Navigation is a breeze through the course from the baskets to your next respective tees. Signs are even posted warning of nearby fairways where and errant shot or a deflection might come your way.
Cons: The biggest thing I noticed was that several of the rivets marking which sleeves were incorrect so I threw the incorrect shot towards what I thought the location of the basket was. Or maybe I just wasn't paying close enough attention. On several of the holes there were benches and trash buckets while others there weren't. Other than that I don't really see any other Cons with the layout besides it not being 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: This course can be a lot of fun and a good technical challenge to any player. The woods keep you honest and the fun factor should keep you coming back for more. With as heavy as the woods are and the surrounding area, I see why they do their Ice Bowl in the heart of winter. Plus they add a further 8 holes to complete the 18. Hopefully one day this course will be a complete 18 but until then I'll keep coming back to play these solid 10.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Left me wanting more...holes

1    9/22/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and short concrete tee pads and multiple basket positions. Easy course to navigate with no confusion. Very good signs. Everything is new, and in great condition. The course is in a fairly large park with trails, grills, playgrounds, ballfields, etc. It is all very nice and well-kept. Not huge elevation, but this course uses what there is very well. Course is mostly wooded, but the underbrush is cleared nicely, and the fairways are well mulched. Just a very nice, clean course. Benches and posts with hooks for bags everywhere. Good mix of uphill, downhill and level shots.
Cons: Only 10 holes. Everything is so clean and nice, it would be great if this was a full 18 hole course. Throw in an additional 8 holes with a few unique, or really challenging holes, and this course could be great. Not a super-challenging course. May be too simple for advanced/experienced players.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course even though it is short and sweet. This would be a good place to practice putter rounds or discing down techniques. With so many good courses in the Nashville area this could be a good place to go practice and avoid the crowds. Definitely worth a quick round if you are in the area.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Liberty Park

1    7/25/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fun and challenging course. At this point it offers 10 holes that are primarily wooded with some great elevation changes. The fairways, though tight at times, are quite fair but accuracy and finesse are both needed to score well. Also, a little luck and some tree love will certainly be well received. The course itself flows pretty well and the designers did a great job keeping the holes diversified enough so you don't feel like you are playing the same hole over and over. Two concrete tee pads from each hole also help the variety. You practically end up with twenty different holes if played through twice employing both pads. There are multiple pin placements as well. Speaking of the pins, they are Innova Discatchers. The fairways have been cleared out really well and the trees and debris that were removed were ground into mulch and spread around and really define the fairways beautifully. Not only is it attractive but it serves its purpose really well.

You will find many other amenities here as well. Great signs including tee signs with maps of the fairway, next tee signs, and warning signs if crossing in front of a long pad to get to the shorter pads where needed. Also there is a large sign at the entrance with an overview of the course and indicates what placement the pins are in. You will also find benches, trash cans, and places to hang you bag, it's all here.

Holes one and ten both start and finish near a generous gravel parking lot. Portable toilets are close by too. Getting to the course is convenient from I-65. Crockett Park, which is another good course, is also pretty close if you are planning on a disc golf day.
Cons: As I mentioned this is a great ten hole course but eighteen holes would make this a super course. There are some areas that still need to be beat in a little, especially near a few of the baskets. An example would be a few knee high, thick areas fifteen or so feet from the basket. Time will cure this and by next year should iron itself out.
Other Thoughts: I applaud The Franklin City Parks Department for installing this course. They didn't seem to pinch pennies on this one and it shows. Most of the material and labor was provided by the city. They are open to the idea of consulting with locals (Williamson County Disc golf Club) and I understand they are looking for other city parks to install baskets in. Let's hope they do!

Liberty Park is a great course and well worth the effort to play. Enjoy.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great new course--can't wait until it grows up

1    8/10/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent signage
Great directional signs
Signs to warn you if a walking path is going to intersect a throwing area
Very intuitive course
Big sign at the beginning telling you what placement (A or B) all the baskets are currently located
Benches at every tee
Bag hangers at every tee
Garbage cans at every tee
Excellent tee pads
Dual tee pads at every hole that provide very different experiences
Two basket palcements on every hole (It was the "A" placement the day I played--overall they seem to be the further of the two)
Extremely well manicured
Great baskets with seemingly extra deep baskets
Awesome use of available space--hole 10 (the last hole) drops you off right back at the parking lot
Very well designed and thought out--whoever designed this course has paid attention to flaws in other courses and really thought though the details
No redunancy on holes
Very challenging layout that causes you to use strategy and every throw in your arsenal
Nice and technical but very defined paths (usually a couple) on each hole
Great elevation changes
Superb risk and reward factor
Cons: Only 10 holes--only a con because I would love at least 18 holes done as well as the 10 that are there. I'm sure it is a factor out of the control of the designers.
Some holes are not super long from the red tees (the short ones) but still very challenging due to the technical nature of the course
Other Thoughts: This course is well worth seeking out.
If you like super technical courses that demand excellent strategy and spot on execution, you will love this course and be sad that there are only 10 holes. (but it plays so quickly that 2 or 3 rounds can easily be played in a short amount of time)

Certain people may be frustrated with this course because it is in no way, shape or form catering to big arm folks and people who have the ability to bomb the sweeping 400-600 foot drives.
If you are a more open course player, this course would be great for you to play because, even though it is very punishing if you stray off the fairway there is little or no chance that you will lose a disc in the process.
Total beginners could be a tad frustrated, but I know from experience that cutting your teeth on technical courses like this will cause your up-game/approach game to be fine tuned in a way that will help on any course and the way you are forced to think through shots will ultimately help you on all courses--so don't shy away from this course if you live in the area

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Ace on # 6 long

2-4    7/20/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Mr.Beu
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: completely fresh and tuff coarse, thanks to the powers that be for bringing new challenges to my game, and close to home
Cons: seed ticks are really bad, if you get off line you will be covered in ticks
Other Thoughts: i just hope that eventually there will be more holes back by # 9 & 10 wonder if i got the first Ace out there.... #6 long

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.