Franklin, TN 
Liberty Park Share
Uploaded By: SimonCarr Hole #1 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 170ft.   3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Red Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Fall/Winter Course

5+    5/1/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: kingje1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a very tight wooded course with some extreme elevation changes and is very challenging. There are no really open shots although there are some with some good distance. It will force you to be accurate with your discs. This course has taught me how to use my discs better. You will need every type of shot with this course. There are pro and am tees. Number 9 is amazingly challenging at the end of the course. You have to see it to believe it. I have only hit par on it when it's in the long position once having played the course some 100 or so times.
Cons: This course is practically unplayable in the summer. There are an abundance of ticks lurking everywhere. Even if you hit fairway on every hole you will walk away with one on your clothing. Then there's the brush, the course is dominated by small plants that do a great job of hiding the ground. Then there's the piles of sticks and logs that look like snake nests.
Other Thoughts: This course is awesome in the fall and winter. I play this course over and over in those months especially when Crockett is crowded. Six is one of my favorites. It shoots steep downhill fading slightly to the right all the way down about 300 feet.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and new

5+    3/6/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: entangled
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A new course to play is always fine by me. Finesse and control over power here. Neat layout with the white tees being shorter and tougher and the red tees being longer and more open. Good 20 holes.
Great complement to Crockett and close by too, lay back and get out of the sun and wind here.
Great pads, baskets, bag holders, trash cans and benches at practically every tee.
Cons: We need 8 more baskets. This will do.
I guess ticks and nature things are a problem, but I live in this area and am used to these things. That's gonna be with any course around this area.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

1    6/19/2011   2/7/2012
Review By: The Drake
Played: 91  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a truly well designed woods course. Tight, but not impossible fairways are the mainstay of the course. Not many if any "wtf" trees in the fairways which make for clearly defined throwing lines taking out the need for an excessive amount of luck needed at a lot of woods courses. It actually places a heavy emphasis on actual skill to score well.

Two sets of tees with unique views of each pin. Though distances may not be much changed on a lot of the holes the character from each provides a different line to the basket appropriate for different skill levels.

By the nature of the land available there are not a whole lot of long holes, but this course doesn't need them. There is one open-ish long hole which allows you to crank one, but even it has a well protected fairway with a creek to the left and woods to the right. What really makes this woods course stand out in my opinion is the variety of shots. Set in a small public park it utilizes elevation change perfectly. Another huge bonus that can sometimes be hard to master is the pure variety of shots needed off the tee. I honestly found myself throwing nearly every type of shot I can with almost every type of disc in my bag off the tee. From hyzers to anhyzers, backhand to sidearm, touch to power this course really does force you to have each to score well despite the lack of distance.

Aesthetics: Could be THE best tee signs I've ever seen. Simple yet elegant and most importantly accurate. You gt the feeling the people who work on this course spend a lot of time on it. The tees are great, the fairways are (or at least when I played it were) exceptional. I honestly felt like I was playing a PGA style course in terms of its upkeep.
Cons: Having only moved to Nashville maybe 1 week prior to playing this course I had never heard of it and did not know anything of the local DG scene so when I played the course, like most of the non-natives, I assumed it to be a 10 hole course. The only legit con I can have would be related to that assumption only because for bigger events you just can't play this course. Small local events you could get away with. Maybe a final found for a large area tournament, but unless you want to double up on each hole and add to waiting time it wouldn't work very well.

The only other con I can give it is that it took me a solid 30 minutes once I got near the park to actually find it. Using my GPS on my phone it took me to the backside of the park where there was some construction going on and you couldn't actually access the park let alone the disc golf course. But that may likely be resolved at this point.
Other Thoughts: This could be the best non-traditional disc golf course I've ever played. There is no question that having a complete 18 hole course would be more ideal, but given the land constraints you can't really ask for much more in terms of a top notch disc golf course.If you have control and accuracy you'll shoot well, if not then you're looking at a long day of searching for plastic.

I would recommend playing this course (if you have the stamina) after playing Crockett which is nearby as its a great contrast and can give you a good idea of your overall game if you can score well at both.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Woods Course!

5+    11/24/2010   11/30/2010
Review By: Autiger1291
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great tight, wooded course. This course requires many different kinds of shots off the tee pads and many more from the rough. All the tee pads are large and in great shape. Benches are present on most holes as well as bag holders. The reds and whites present very different shots on most holes. With that in mind you can play twenty holes and not feel like you played the same course twice. Many of the tee shots from the white tees are difficult and you are rewarded greatly for staying in the fairway. The course is very well maintained. A lot of the rough has been thinned out as traffic has increased, but ticks and chiggers can still get you in the summer time. You might want to consider long pants during the summer. All the baskets are top notch and the signage is great. Almost all of the holes, if not all, have two pin positions. The A positions are very challenging with the B positions being slightly easier. All of the fairways are covered with mulched trees. The elevation changes not only make for tough holes, but also for a workout. The park is never crowded, and do not be surprised if your the only one on the course. There is a great big map of the whole course by hole 1 and it is almost always full of score cards and pencils.
Cons: It seems that the park has enough space back there to have a full eighteen, but the ten holes that are present back there right now are great. It would be nice to have a putting basket and there is room for one. There is a basket close to the parking lot, but if there is much traffic on the course than you obviously can't warm up on it. Again there really is not much room to warm up throwing or putting if there are people on the course.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is great course that really provides a challenge for players of all levels. It's great for a solitary round of disc golf, which is becoming harder and harder to come by with the growth of the sport of disc golf.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course to test your accuracy!!

5+    1/27/2010   1/29/2010
Review By: Scott P
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Love this course!! Nice concrete tee pads and place to hang your bag on every hole! A nice wooded course that is very hilly and will not only test your accuracy but will also give you a workout. Having the red and white tees is like having 20 holes cause the shots are so different. Hole 3 is the only open hole but you still have to be very accurate because of the creek on the left. There are 2 basket positions for each hole that change every few months. Another plus of this course is the box on the course map at entrance that always has a supply of score cards and pencils for the course!
Cons: The only con would be the lack of more holes to play but having well placed white tees along with the reds really helps.
Other Thoughts: This course is kept up nice with well defined mulched fairways and paths. There are several benches throughout too for when those feet get tired from the up/down hilly walking. Play this course and you won't be dissapointed!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/19/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: msudog_
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/25/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is definitely one of my favorite courses. It's a very beautiful little course. I've only played 4 times, but I haven't had any problems with it being crowded. In fact, I've only seen a couple people out there.

This course has red and white tee pads along with A and B pin positions that I think are moved every month. The main sign at the beginning of the course tells you which position is in current use.

This course has awesome signs, benches, trash cans, and places for you to hang your bag on every hole. The fairways are all mulched except for the one open hole, so footing isn't a problem here.

I didn't feel like any of the holes were repetitious, and I had to use a lot of different shots.

Probably what I enjoyed the most was the type of disc selection I had to choose. Because this is a shorter, wooded course, I only brought 1 driver, 3 mids, and 3 putters. You definitely need overstable and understable putters and mids.

The baskets are huge!
Cons: If you stray from the fairway, watch out for thorns. They are everywhere and some look lethal.

It's has gotten a lot cooler around here, so I didn't have to deal with any bugs. There is a sign at the beginning warning about them.
Other Thoughts: I realize it's a 10 hole course, but the reason I gave it a 4 is because of the multiple tee pads. The designer did an excellent job of making each tee pad a different type of shot. Only on the open hole was the angle the same. So I don't feel like I'm repeating a hole when I play both tees, which means 20 holes.

I think beginners could have fun at this course, especially when the basket is in the B (shorter) position. It teaches accuracy, careful planning of each shot, and the value of playing for a 3 instead of playing for a 2 and getting a 6 (I'm still learning this).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 fun times

2-4    9/27/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: RollinAbsher
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great maintenance, good baskets, tee pads, benches and places to hang up your bags. there ire good shots for every one only shots that ar not really needed is hizer thumbers rollers and tomahawks. all of the holes are short enough that even ams will have a good time, your big arms dont just dominate the course, the people that would dominate are the people that are precise and have a verity of throws.
Cons: BUGS BUGS and more BUGS. bring you bug spray, by the time i left there i had a million mosquito bites and they say earlier in the year the tics are bad but i went late enough they werent a factor. the only other thing i didnt like about the course is the fairways are layed out in mulch which is slick and tends to roll under you feet.
Other Thoughts: over all a good course 10 holes with 2 tee pads per hole. if i had to guess if they host tournaments out there it will be a split round where you play all ten holes from the red pad then all ten from the white pad for a combined total for 1 round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.