Franklin, TN
Liberty Park Share
Uploaded By: johnnyfoodstamp Hole #10 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 231ft.   3 / 273ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Left me wanting more...holes

1    9/22/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and short concrete tee pads and multiple basket positions. Easy course to navigate with no confusion. Very good signs. Everything is new, and in great condition. The course is in a fairly large park with trails, grills, playgrounds, ballfields, etc. It is all very nice and well-kept. Not huge elevation, but this course uses what there is very well. Course is mostly wooded, but the underbrush is cleared nicely, and the fairways are well mulched. Just a very nice, clean course. Benches and posts with hooks for bags everywhere. Good mix of uphill, downhill and level shots.
Cons: Only 10 holes. Everything is so clean and nice, it would be great if this was a full 18 hole course. Throw in an additional 8 holes with a few unique, or really challenging holes, and this course could be great. Not a super-challenging course. May be too simple for advanced/experienced players.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course even though it is short and sweet. This would be a good place to practice putter rounds or discing down techniques. With so many good courses in the Nashville area this could be a good place to go practice and avoid the crowds. Definitely worth a quick round if you are in the area.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 foodstamp nailed it

2-4    8/12/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: BrandonKeele
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has all the little extra's to give it an "executive" feel for a "10" hole. Bag hangs,water fountain, scorecards, trash bins...etc... GREAT signage! But Johnny Foodstamp nailed it. This is a 20 hole course. The supposive "am" tee's are harder than the pro in most places. A newby would have no chance of getting to the basket safely, as there is no real clear shot to them. This course does have a lot of variety actually, those being elevation shots. In the nashville area these are the more upward or downward elevation shots around. So if your a big sweaty disc golfer bring some water! Your calves are gonna hurt ya'. I had a good time.
Cons: Only one open shot. It is hole 3. The rest of the course is so left, right, up. down, that it didnt bother me too much. I had fun with the skill shots, more finesse' less muscle. It is if cedar hill and mundy park had a rich well taken care of baby.
Other Thoughts: Kinda hard to find. Lots of circle's happened :) But there were some friendly deer hanging out in the park to welcome us and get us going.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent 20 hole course

1    8/16/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 24  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice signage and baskets. Course is in excellent shape and very easy to navigate. Nice scorecards and little disc golf pencils at the entrance to hole 1 in the mailbox on the big sign. Port-a-Potty and water fountains by the parking lot.
Cons: Expect to get lost in a few suburban roundabouts and subdivisions if you don't have a GPS. Quite hilly and repetitive.
Other Thoughts: Quote from the back of the scorecard, "Play the first round on the RED TEE then play again off the WHITE TEE." We did this backwards thinking that the white tees were Pro and the red were Am (we wanted to play Pro first). I now believe in retrospect that this is a 20 hole course. This conclusion is also backed up by the fact that the red tees are not easier, just closer, and at a different angle than the white. The white tees have a much clearer shot, it's just a bit longer. Also, the A and B position changes for all the baskets by the month! I will play this as a 20 hole course from now on. Had a great time!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Very Wooded, Very Technical

5+    4/15/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: khull
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course to build accuracy and get used to making high pressure drives and apporaches. The T's are concrete and in good shape, and the baskets do a good job of catching most shots without much bounce out.
Cons: There isn't a lot of variety here. There are a few longer holes, but they do not offer much of a chance to rip a long drive due to a narrow field or a ton of trees. The course also really punishes bad and even just less than perfect shots. I have nearly lost several discs on fairly good throws.
Other Thoughts: When playing this course, I would advise that you wear a hat and jeans. I have found ticks on me several times after playing this course. There is thick brush if you stray too far off of the trail, and I have come accross several snakes. Be careful out there!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 On the verge...

1    2/20/2010   2/20/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 133  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Liberty Park is a younger course. Since the baskets are new, they are in good condition. Concrete tees at both Red and White boxes are even and uncracked. Benches and bag-racks at every hole add some flair. As for the design, it was really good for 10 holes. There are multiple hills with elevation changes; some are very tough. You will need to be able to "work" your discs pretty well in order to shoot a good round at Liberty. The fairways are very well-defined and mostly mulched. Paths are indicated to the next tee box. In short, this course was designed and planted with elements that most courses incorporate as they "season". Liberty already has many amenities.
Cons: I think that there is the opportunity to expand the course. I am not on the Parks Board or anything, but it seems like the park has ample land to expand this course. I list this only as a con because I think 18 holes would improve the overall course flow. While the two sets of tees each present different angles, the major design elements are the same. For instance, hole 9 is a long tunnel S-Curve....from both the white and the red.
Other Thoughts: I am giving this course the rating of a 3 because it is a "good" course, but I feel there is more potential. You can play from each set of tees (as we did today) in order to get in 20 holes. But like I said earlier, while the angles may change, the elevation elements and basket placement are the same. Liberty's basket placemets offer excellent risk/reward opportunities. Blow-by putts are often punished. In my opinion, this course is worth a stop if you're in the area. It is an excellent compliment to Crockett Park which is more open and long. Liberty requires more finesse and accuracy. Since they are only 5 miles apart, it makes for a well-rounded day of disc golf if you can play both.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Give Me Liberty...

2-4    6/14/2012   2/16/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a technical woods course with lots of elevation. The course is on land dedicated to disc golf. Even though there are only 10 holes, there are 2 sets of tees. The red tees are shorter, the white tees are longer but not necessarily easier, as the tees are placed so you have different looks and lines to the basket. This factor makes this course play almost like 20 holes! There are 2 possible basket locations for each hole as well- A and B, which are indicated by a marker on each tee sign post. I really like that A is not always longer than B on a given hole. This avoids the course being either long or short, but makes a nice average distance regardless of set-up.

There are informative tee signs at both sets of tees which include a hole map and distances to both hole locations. They are also very nicely done. They are made of two layers of plastic with the map and info etched out of the top layer giving a nice 3-D effect. Nice touches include 1) the map on the kiosk and 2) the super nice color scorecards/map. Navigation is a breeze with clear paths that are very well marked. Also nice are the tees pads which are concrete and level despite all the elevation.

The holes mainly play in the woods up and down the hillside with just one hole open and flat, but that one plays along a creek. Each hole does have a fairway (most have been mulched and lined with logs) and at least one path to the basket- some are narrow, but none are impossible. There is a nice variety of up and down, but at different degrees of steepness. Some holes are straight, some go left, and some go right. Though no holes are super long, there is a pretty good variation in distance from hole to hole which is reinforced by the elevation and alternate set of tees.
Cons: I recently played this course for the first time in summer conditions and the rough is thick and there is lots of it. The fairways are very narrow as the foliage seemed to be taking over and finding discs was difficult, plus there were lots of ticks. Course could use a good work day and some weedeaters. (I happen to prefer this course in the winter.)

There are lots of extra signs on the course, but other than the tee signs and kiosk, the rest are just printed paper in protective sleeves. Permanent wooden/plastic signs would be a nice touch.

It is too bad there are only 10 holes. If 8 more could someday be added at the quality of the other 10 (and there appears to be room) then this could be a fantastic course.
Other Thoughts: This is not your typical <18 hole course- it is much better. It is one of the best "9-hole courses" out there! One really nice thing about this course is that all the people involved in getting it ready for play did a really nice job of planning. The public was not allowed to play this course before it was completed (some courses open with just baskets… and then the fairways, concrete tees, navigational aids, etc. come later, but not here), and doing it this way was well worth the wait for us locals!

Couple this course with nearby Crockett Park which is only a couple of miles away for a super day of disc golf.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course to test your accuracy!!

5+    1/27/2010   1/29/2010
Review By: Scott P
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Love this course!! Nice concrete tee pads and place to hang your bag on every hole! A nice wooded course that is very hilly and will not only test your accuracy but will also give you a workout. Having the red and white tees is like having 20 holes cause the shots are so different. Hole 3 is the only open hole but you still have to be very accurate because of the creek on the left. There are 2 basket positions for each hole that change every few months. Another plus of this course is the box on the course map at entrance that always has a supply of score cards and pencils for the course!
Cons: The only con would be the lack of more holes to play but having well placed white tees along with the reds really helps.
Other Thoughts: This course is kept up nice with well defined mulched fairways and paths. There are several benches throughout too for when those feet get tired from the up/down hilly walking. Play this course and you won't be dissapointed!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/19/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: msudog_
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 1/25/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is definitely one of my favorite courses. It's a very beautiful little course. I've only played 4 times, but I haven't had any problems with it being crowded. In fact, I've only seen a couple people out there.

This course has red and white tee pads along with A and B pin positions that I think are moved every month. The main sign at the beginning of the course tells you which position is in current use.

This course has awesome signs, benches, trash cans, and places for you to hang your bag on every hole. The fairways are all mulched except for the one open hole, so footing isn't a problem here.

I didn't feel like any of the holes were repetitious, and I had to use a lot of different shots.

Probably what I enjoyed the most was the type of disc selection I had to choose. Because this is a shorter, wooded course, I only brought 1 driver, 3 mids, and 3 putters. You definitely need overstable and understable putters and mids.

The baskets are huge!
Cons: If you stray from the fairway, watch out for thorns. They are everywhere and some look lethal.

It's has gotten a lot cooler around here, so I didn't have to deal with any bugs. There is a sign at the beginning warning about them.
Other Thoughts: I realize it's a 10 hole course, but the reason I gave it a 4 is because of the multiple tee pads. The designer did an excellent job of making each tee pad a different type of shot. Only on the open hole was the angle the same. So I don't feel like I'm repeating a hole when I play both tees, which means 20 holes.

I think beginners could have fun at this course, especially when the basket is in the B (shorter) position. It teaches accuracy, careful planning of each shot, and the value of playing for a 3 instead of playing for a 2 and getting a 6 (I'm still learning this).

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing facilities but just "alright" course

1    11/3/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: newsguru
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Outstanding facilities for new disc golfers - concrete tee pads - pars and maps at every hole - pro and am tee pads - very clean and kept up - difficult to lose discs - can play the whole course with a putter and/or midrange
Cons: Way too many left-handed shots - Way too many uphill shots - While playing the course, you can easily walk into other people in the middle of throwing- overlapping holes -
Other Thoughts: The course is sub-par but the facilities are perfect. I took pictures of the facilities to show my home club members how to improve our course. There's a big map showing all of the holes and pars at the very beginning. The map even says what the basket placements are(A or B). Each hole has a map with pars too. The tee pads are perfect and the course is kept up.

But what the course has in facilities, it does not have in originality or innovative course design. The holes overlap one another providing the opportunity to smash a fellow disc golfer in the face with a disc.

For some reason, there are a lot of left-handed and uphill shots. There's not much of a variety in shots. Better course design is much needed.

Despite my comments, it's a fun little beginner course. I introduced my cousin to the glory of disc golf there and I'll probably throw it again if I'm in Franklin.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    10/16/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: AdamH
Played: 182  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This ten hole course is set in a beautiful, well kept park. There are elevation changes on most holes. Every hole has dual pads and two pin locations. The sign at the entrance of the course tells you if the pins are in the A or B location, this helped me out a lot. The signage here is excellent. All the pads are concrete and the area around many of the pads is built up since a lot of the holes play on a hill. They also have benches in a lot of places and posts to hang you bag.

The course itself is really nice. All but one of the holes are completely in the woods, but there was little under brush. The fairways were mulched and lined making the course look great and navigation even easier.
Cons: There really isn't much I could find about the course I didn't like. The biggest con for me was a couple of the holes or pin locations seemed extraordinarily difficult. One hole more than half way through was a really tough turnover from the long pad that seemed more lucky to me. I was glad another hole (maybe 8 or 9?) was in the B position, because the A position was another 100 feet and the fairway got extremely narrow. Of course it's possible they're still working on some of the alternate positions, I'm not sure.

I hope this course is expanded to 18 holes in the future.
Other Thoughts: A lot of time and effort has been put into this course and it shows. Some of the lines can be pretty tight so a new player might be a little frustrated here, but on the other hand this course could help teach accuracy. An advanced player should find a nice mix of birdie opportunities and a few more challenging holes.

This is the highest I've rated a course with less than 18 holes, and it deserves it. The course is just minutes off I-65 and is worth checking out if you're passing through.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.