Franklin, TN 
Liberty Park Share
Uploaded By: SimonCarr Hole #4 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 206ft.   3 / 233ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket ~ Placement A



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >

1    10/16/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This ten hole course is set in a beautiful, well kept park. There are elevation changes on most holes. Every hole has dual pads and two pin locations. The sign at the entrance of the course tells you if the pins are in the A or B location, this helped me out a lot. The signage here is excellent. All the pads are concrete and the area around many of the pads is built up since a lot of the holes play on a hill. They also have benches in a lot of places and posts to hang you bag.

The course itself is really nice. All but one of the holes are completely in the woods, but there was little under brush. The fairways were mulched and lined making the course look great and navigation even easier.
Cons: There really isn't much I could find about the course I didn't like. The biggest con for me was a couple of the holes or pin locations seemed extraordinarily difficult. One hole more than half way through was a really tough turnover from the long pad that seemed more lucky to me. I was glad another hole (maybe 8 or 9?) was in the B position, because the A position was another 100 feet and the fairway got extremely narrow. Of course it's possible they're still working on some of the alternate positions, I'm not sure.

I hope this course is expanded to 18 holes in the future.
Other Thoughts: A lot of time and effort has been put into this course and it shows. Some of the lines can be pretty tight so a new player might be a little frustrated here, but on the other hand this course could help teach accuracy. An advanced player should find a nice mix of birdie opportunities and a few more challenging holes.

This is the highest I've rated a course with less than 18 holes, and it deserves it. The course is just minutes off I-65 and is worth checking out if you're passing through.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 fun times

2-4    9/27/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: RollinAbsher
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great maintenance, good baskets, tee pads, benches and places to hang up your bags. there ire good shots for every one only shots that ar not really needed is hizer thumbers rollers and tomahawks. all of the holes are short enough that even ams will have a good time, your big arms dont just dominate the course, the people that would dominate are the people that are precise and have a verity of throws.
Cons: BUGS BUGS and more BUGS. bring you bug spray, by the time i left there i had a million mosquito bites and they say earlier in the year the tics are bad but i went late enough they werent a factor. the only other thing i didnt like about the course is the fairways are layed out in mulch which is slick and tends to roll under you feet.
Other Thoughts: over all a good course 10 holes with 2 tee pads per hole. if i had to guess if they host tournaments out there it will be a split round where you play all ten holes from the red pad then all ten from the white pad for a combined total for 1 round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Liberty Park

1    7/25/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fun and challenging course. At this point it offers 10 holes that are primarily wooded with some great elevation changes. The fairways, though tight at times, are quite fair but accuracy and finesse are both needed to score well. Also, a little luck and some tree love will certainly be well received. The course itself flows pretty well and the designers did a great job keeping the holes diversified enough so you don't feel like you are playing the same hole over and over. Two concrete tee pads from each hole also help the variety. You practically end up with twenty different holes if played through twice employing both pads. There are multiple pin placements as well. Speaking of the pins, they are Innova Discatchers. The fairways have been cleared out really well and the trees and debris that were removed were ground into mulch and spread around and really define the fairways beautifully. Not only is it attractive but it serves its purpose really well.

You will find many other amenities here as well. Great signs including tee signs with maps of the fairway, next tee signs, and warning signs if crossing in front of a long pad to get to the shorter pads where needed. Also there is a large sign at the entrance with an overview of the course and indicates what placement the pins are in. You will also find benches, trash cans, and places to hang you bag, it's all here.

Holes one and ten both start and finish near a generous gravel parking lot. Portable toilets are close by too. Getting to the course is convenient from I-65. Crockett Park, which is another good course, is also pretty close if you are planning on a disc golf day.
Cons: As I mentioned this is a great ten hole course but eighteen holes would make this a super course. There are some areas that still need to be beat in a little, especially near a few of the baskets. An example would be a few knee high, thick areas fifteen or so feet from the basket. Time will cure this and by next year should iron itself out.
Other Thoughts: I applaud The Franklin City Parks Department for installing this course. They didn't seem to pinch pennies on this one and it shows. Most of the material and labor was provided by the city. They are open to the idea of consulting with locals (Williamson County Disc golf Club) and I understand they are looking for other city parks to install baskets in. Let's hope they do!

Liberty Park is a great course and well worth the effort to play. Enjoy.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, wish it was 18!

2-4    8/11/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Liberty Park is a wooded course with lots of elevation and great signage. Finding the park is easy - just one mile off the interstate. There are several parking lots, with a gravel one closest to the entrance. A large course map is posted at the entrance to the park. Looking at the map, there are many variations for each of the 10 holes.

With multiple teepads on all 10 holes, and the multiple pin positions - it easily the best 9/10 hole course I've ever played. The teepads are all very nice, but do not allow a long run-up. The course designers did a good job to make sure all the teepads were level, even on the side of the hill. No real thick underbrush like other local courses. The baskets are discatchers.
Cons: There were a few spots where the walking path would cross fairways. This was well marked, so its not a huge issue.

Relatively new course manicuring problems. Most of it will be fixed just from getting more play.
Other Thoughts: The first two holes play downhill through the woods. #3 is the only hole on level ground - playing 500+ feet along the edge of a creek. Holes 4 through 7 play up and down a very steep hill with tight fairways. Depending on the teepad you play from, there are some very tough shots to pull off. #8, #9 and #10 play back at the top of the hill, close to the parking lot.

One of the best reasons to play this course is that it is only 10 minutes from Crockett Park in Brentwood. This is a very solid 10 hole course, but it could be much better with an additional 8 holes. I'm not sure if an expansion is planned, but there seems to be additional space at this course near the top of the hill.

Liberty Park is different than most of the other Nashville area courses because of the elevation. Barfield Crescent, or Mastin Lake in Huntsville are two similar kind of courses.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great new course--can't wait until it grows up

1    8/10/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent signage
Great directional signs
Signs to warn you if a walking path is going to intersect a throwing area
Very intuitive course
Big sign at the beginning telling you what placement (A or B) all the baskets are currently located
Benches at every tee
Bag hangers at every tee
Garbage cans at every tee
Excellent tee pads
Dual tee pads at every hole that provide very different experiences
Two basket palcements on every hole (It was the "A" placement the day I played--overall they seem to be the further of the two)
Extremely well manicured
Great baskets with seemingly extra deep baskets
Awesome use of available space--hole 10 (the last hole) drops you off right back at the parking lot
Very well designed and thought out--whoever designed this course has paid attention to flaws in other courses and really thought though the details
No redunancy on holes
Very challenging layout that causes you to use strategy and every throw in your arsenal
Nice and technical but very defined paths (usually a couple) on each hole
Great elevation changes
Superb risk and reward factor
Cons: Only 10 holes--only a con because I would love at least 18 holes done as well as the 10 that are there. I'm sure it is a factor out of the control of the designers.
Some holes are not super long from the red tees (the short ones) but still very challenging due to the technical nature of the course
Other Thoughts: This course is well worth seeking out.
If you like super technical courses that demand excellent strategy and spot on execution, you will love this course and be sad that there are only 10 holes. (but it plays so quickly that 2 or 3 rounds can easily be played in a short amount of time)

Certain people may be frustrated with this course because it is in no way, shape or form catering to big arm folks and people who have the ability to bomb the sweeping 400-600 foot drives.
If you are a more open course player, this course would be great for you to play because, even though it is very punishing if you stray off the fairway there is little or no chance that you will lose a disc in the process.
Total beginners could be a tad frustrated, but I know from experience that cutting your teeth on technical courses like this will cause your up-game/approach game to be fine tuned in a way that will help on any course and the way you are forced to think through shots will ultimately help you on all courses--so don't shy away from this course if you live in the area

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Ace on # 6 long

2-4    7/20/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Mr.Beu
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: completely fresh and tuff coarse, thanks to the powers that be for bringing new challenges to my game, and close to home
Cons: seed ticks are really bad, if you get off line you will be covered in ticks
Other Thoughts: i just hope that eventually there will be more holes back by # 9 & 10 wonder if i got the first Ace out there.... #6 long

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hills, hills and more hills

1    7/9/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: ambroze
Played: 129  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice looking course with good signage and multiple walking paths to the tee boxes. It is a very challenging course, possibly one of the harder courses in Nashville (mainly because you'll be too tired to throw after climbing all of those mountains). They have nice areas on each tee pad for hanging multiple bags and there are reflectors on the trees showing you the fairways. This is a very unforgiving course, get off the fairway and you game will go downhill very quickly. Lots of risk reward here.
Cons: Too many steep - VERY steep hills which makes the playable for this course somewhat unacceptable. That would be the number 1 complaint from everyone who plays this course past hole #5.
Other Thoughts: I've been looking forward for this course to open for a long time now but had never been out to see what the course even looked like. It is nothing like I had expected. I would much rather play Crockett Park in Brentwood. If you want to score well on this course I would recommend having a midrange finesse game. I finally figured out that some of these downhill shots do not require a driver but a smooth midrange floating technique. Let it sail because the fairways are so tight that if you end up in the woods on one side or the other you are most likely looking at a bogey.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Got in a bit early

1    7/9/2009   7/10/2009
Review By: Moffit
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some great shots. It is very well maintained (of course it opens officially in a week). Almost the entire time you are going to be on mulch, which should make for much easier travel instead of wet slick grass on the steep hills. This course is also a good workout if you are interested. Dual tee placements (red and white) make for a 10 hole course to feel more like 20.
Cons: The course is hilly, I can not stress that enough. Steep drops during tight straight drives can be aggravating, not to mention the uphill shots. The course is placed very obviously on the side of a rather steep hill. The mulch when I was there was very think and almost fluffy, for lack of a better word. This made walking much more difficult, but again, as soon as this course opens and people start walking on it the mulch should get flattened out. Did I mention this course is tight? Beware!
Other Thoughts: I only threw through the first 6 holes (out of 10) before park employees informed us we were not allowed to be there, but from what I could tell the course was all wooded hills with tight corridors. There was one fairly open and flat drive (hole 3 I believe), if woods and hills are your thing, enjoy!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.