Course Extinct
Schofield, WI 
Machmueller Park Share
Uploaded By: Geoffro Hole #4 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 160ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Worth a stop, nice character.

1    9/21/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 170  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 16.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unique park terrain. There is a decent amount of elevation and it's utilized fairly well. Open space is used well in conjunction with driving around sporadic trees or driving into or out of the woods line.
The wind will definitely impact your game, as it did mine today. I'd call it more open than wooded. Some neat views of a quarry.
Greens are well protected on a lot of holes, so no boring wide open blast away putting here.
Decent range of distances on the holes, ranging from 347' to 131'.
Some quasi water hazard OB, adjacent proerty line OB, and ball diamond OB.
Good balance of left, right, and both routes on holes.
Neat terraced green on hole 4 despite the short distance.
Hole 10 is a brutal (awesome) hole that requires shot placement through a maze of trees to the fairway turning point, then a dead on upshot to a well protected green.
Fairly quiet area and clean park. Not a lot of punks, litterers, and vandals, probably because only one small subdivision is close by.
Tee signs are nice and simple but effective and distances seem to be accurate.
Cons: Only one set of tees, and many of the holes, despite the range of distances, are purely putter holes. 400'+ and more in the 260-320' range are missing and substituted for some 160, 130, 140' holes. Too many short holes.
Gravel tees are rutted and worn, they are marked with small 4x4 red squares at the front edges.
Holes 5 and 6 play pretty close to one another, so do the greens for 4 and 7 - could be interfernce areas.
Some subjective cons...
I think a more teasing hyzer route should be available on hole 6.
I thought it would be nice to see more holes created in the woods between 9 and the end of the course. I suppose it is too wet though. Lots of sloppy wet ground in that area especially with hole 9 and 10.
While the greens are well protected and not boring open ones, they're not really placed on any slopes that would be considered really risky.
It would be nice to be able to use the small pond off to the right of #9 - especially if a long tee were installed.
Other Thoughts: With a second set of tees, in a lot of cases though the existing tees is just a tweener tee and a longer and shorter would be needed, the park could have even more to offer for a wider range of players. I did not have a good putter driver on today, so the course was "too short" for me, my own lack of good putter drives, but it speaks to the skill level that the course caters too. The short holes are very short and well below midrange range for an advanced player.
I wonder how well this course will be maintained? While the greens are nicely protected and routes are tree filled, it appears like they would get out of control and almost eliminate the hole unless things were kept in check. (like hole 11, 12, and many of the low limbs around the greens on 1, 8, 9, and 11)
The course is worth a stop, so it's not Passable (1.5). It's very neat in some instances, but with the cons I mentioned, and some concievably easy upgrades like a second set of gravel tees, it's just not at the same level of other 2.5 disc courses I've played (and not that close to a 3). I see it as a solid 2, with enough character and uniqueness to draw in travelers and not disappoint them much. The ace runs are always welcome scattered in with the rest of the course.
I agree, it is the best in Wausau.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Wausau Area

5+    8/21/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Bushmaster
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation changes. A nice mix of wooded and open holes. Lots of ace chances.
Cons: Gravel tee pads are getting uneven and hard to throw from.
Other Thoughts: My home course so I might be a little biased, but it is a nice course. It would be nice if they had more room to make it an 18 hole course. Good use of the available space. Hole 10 is a tough par, I am usually happy with a bogey on this hole.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyed it, would play again

1    7/19/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: koogs
Played: 100  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 12 holes. 1-8 are basically wide open with just enough elevation and obstacles to keep it from being boring. Hole 9--see cons. Hole 10 through the woods with a narrow gap--easily the best hole. 11-12 are on the edge of the woods and are ok. A nice course map at the start and tee signs at every hole. No one else was in the park. Some birdies should be had ( I had 3) and maybe even an ace (I had 0).
Cons: Tee pads were pretty bad--loose dirt, gravel, and small rocks. I teed off from just next to the tee area, which is what others do, apparently. Hole 9 is not my idea of fun. It's in the middle of a swamp with a 4 foot wide walkway from tee to basket. A bad throw will go in. But even a good throw for a birdie will land in a thick, dark black muck that looks like tar. But the worst part is, even an ace isn't safe because the muck is surrounding the basket, you will have to go in it to get your disc back. It's unique, but that doesn't make it good. I skipped this hole, so it's good that there are extra holes here.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't make a special trip back here, but I enjoyed it and would play it again if I'm in the area with some time to kill.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  not as good as memorial park

1    7/16/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: acerun
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: first 8 holes are great, like #4 with the rocks around the tee area and nice elevation on the first 7 holes. Nice paths from hole to hole after #8
Cons: hole 8,9, and 10 is quite hard for a beginner, and houses too close on 9, 10, and 11. #9 was nearly impossible for a right handed back hand thrower and out of bounds on both sides of wooden walk way? Not fun after a long hard rain, your disc may go in the water and have to rethrow again and again. And chains need to be roughened up a bit, cause disc just slides off, not much grip. Not much they can do as they are so new yet. And yes farm to close.
Other Thoughts: Tee pads are gravel? Hope they can put some cement in, in the near future.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 decent little course

1    6/14/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: sbent518
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice elevation change challenge and also the variation with the holes, wide open straight shots in the open in the area of the park to working your way into the woods at hole 9, then the rest except the last hole are rather wooded and narrow, nice variation.
Cons: Hole 9 isn't too bad, but as a very beginner, this is the second course i've played, 9 scared the crap out of me since i don't have floating discs, and with recent rain the was enough water if, quite unfortunately, you go off the path by more than 5 feet, you might lose your disc. The gravel tees are very worn and kind of horrible, making them more of a dirt divot for you to play from, you can see others are standing further back or even to the side just so they have a level surface to tee off from.
Other Thoughts: Great course with the land they had to work with, though holes 9 and 10 can be quite muddy if there's been rain! i remember one hole's sign was missing, looks like someone stole it, sadly, if you havn't played the course yet, try to memorize the course map, it'll quicken your game a lot just for knowing where the next hole is.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad

2-4    9/6/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: Geoffro
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a fun course for me - in lots of ways I agree with tallpaul, but I'll go ahead and expand:

Given the property the course designers were working with, this is a really good course. It would have been easy to throw some baskets out in a field and call it a course. The designers instead used what was available to create a challenging 12 holes. The first few holes use existing trees trees and creative elevation changes to accomplish this goal. At hole 9 you head into the woods, and the challenges here are formidable - especially on hole 10 (par 3? - really?). I got our with a bogie and considered myself very lucky.

A nice split rail fence guides the path in the woods, lots of effort have been put into this course to make it both fun and challenging.

Tee signs are now up, and look good, as well as a full course map at the onset. Garbage cans at every hole, and a "disc fishin' stick" stays on hole 9 to help you get your disc out of the swamp (oh, it will go in the swamp...)
Cons: I don't mind the gravel tees, but I know these aren't too popular. Many shorter holes at the beginning that are pretty easy to par, in spite of the creativity mentioned above. Some holes in the woods are really wet, and a couple tees are still dirt with roots, etc., making a run up difficult. I'm sure this will improve with time given the amount of effort put in thus far.
Other Thoughts: Like everyone I think, I would rather play 18, but if it's 12 or nothing, I'm still playing. This course was developed in part by one of the same individuals involved at Big Eau Pleine: http://www.dgcoursereview.com...e.php?id=219, Pete Hoover. If you play both courses, you can see similarities.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 better than Memorial Park

1    8/14/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 740  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an upgrade to nearby Memorial Park. The shots at this 12 are more technical; or require more distance to reach pin. Some play tougher than yardage would indicate. #4 is only 200 ft.; but is an uphill shot. #9 is only 131 ft. but requires throwing a tiny gap; over a bridge; with water to both sides of crossing. #10 is a 294 ft. annheiser (rhbh); and required six shots from me!

Great Dane brewery nearby: serving a very tasty watermelon brew in August 09.
Cons: Gravel tees (nuff said).

Relatively short course; this is another of the small, but pretty courses perched "up nort"; between destination courses: Big Eau Pleine County Park, and the Sandy Point Disc Golf Ranch.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the short, finishing holes. Each had a "cuteness" value that, when done well, makes playing these small parks a valuable experience; and exciting. It is quite possible to go in the (fairly clean) swamp on that bridge crossing shot!!! Discs should be retrievable in nearly all cases.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.