Taylor Lake Village, TX 
Taylor Lake Village DGC Share
Uploaded By: ChrisMacG Hole #8 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 254ft.   3 / 317ft.   3 / 402ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Beautiful but fading away

5+    5/16/2014   5/16/2014
Review By: sageathor
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2014
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This was one of the best courses in the houston area, surrounded by pure delight, Taylor Lake Village is a prime location for a disc golf course. Now that the front half of the course has been removed, only holes 10-18 are still playable. With these holes only the course still offers a great variety of shots ranging from big hyzers, low ceiling shots, with most of the holes being fairly open but good pin placement still demands a good line. The course would be categorized in the beginner to intermediate skill level.
Cons: None of the tee signs are accurate, be careful after rains because the teepads are made of dirt and become very muddy and slippery., the reason most the front half of the holes were pulled was due to pedestrian traffic and a few bad complaints. There are not too many negatives to this course.
Other Thoughts: There are plans in the works to add addional holes that will replace some of those that were removed to back behind the water authority building. There are a lot of friendly people you meet out here and its a great place for a new person to come play without the worry of losing a disc in think brush or water hazards. Many of the locals have created alternative teeboxes that make the course playable as 18 or 21 holes. Hopefully after the redesign the course will reestablish its old characteristics and flow.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Worth a stop for locals

5+    11/30/2012   12/4/2012
Review By: spaceguy87
Played: 74  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun, relatively easy course in a quiet neighborhood. Par should be considered 55 (one long open par 4 with OB on each side of the fairway). TLV has beautiful baskets that are only 3 years old. The course is easy to navigate, even with some signs missing. Every tee box at least has a wooden post and a red spoke on every basket points to the next tee box which helps for the holes that lack signage.

The course is very clean - you can tell the city loves their park, even if the disc golf course itself has had some tension associated with it since its installation. Despite that tension, the locals are friendly, including the joggers and the dog owners. I only have to wait a few seconds for passing walkers and joggers every so often despite the high traffic of the park. This implies that the course was well thought out to mostly avoid areas that would be frequented by non-disc golfers.

I think the gravel walking trail and roads is well used for strategic OB. I can list about 9 holes that use this OB to force players to think hard about placement and shot selection, making the shortness of the course less of an issue.

Trees are abundant obstacles that give a lot of holes interesting low ceilings that are fun. The park made it through the 2011 drought pretty well.

Real bathrooms near Hole 8 that are in decent condition. Working water fountain near the dirt parking lot.

The park is regularly mowed so the landscaping looks good.
Cons: Only 15 baskets.

Also, much of the hole numbering has become very confused since they removed hotes 1-3 over 3 years ago. Hole 4 became hole 1 and someone recently repainted the numbers to go from 1-15. This new hole 1 is not very near the parking lot. Many people who show up and have not researched the park online would probably see hole 7 (old hole 10) right by the parking lot and start there. Also, someone made the very poor decision of moving tee signs from retired tee placements to new tee placements and the maps don't apply, causing much confusion for non-locals.

While the course is not too easy, it also is not overly challenging. I have shot as low as 46 on the course and regularly shoot under par. If you have a consistent 300 foot drive, this course will not test your approach game and you may find yourself driving with your Roc or Buzzz most of the round.

Every so often there will be a Boy Scout camp out near the pavilion (old hole 8) that makes at least hole 8 unplayable, if not one more hole. This is a rare occurrence, however.

Bring your waterproof boots if it has rained recently. Many holes, mostly on the front 9, accumulate standing water and the natural tee pads get very slippery.

There is one hole (old hole 8) that could send a disc into a playground if a RHBH had a really bad griplock, but I have never seen it happen in several hundred rounds.
Other Thoughts: I have literally played this course hundreds of times, as it is my "home" course. It is not the best course in Houston by far but is a great stop if you are in the area or is a perfect home course if you live nearby. It is more fun to spend an afternoon at TLV than Miramar (5 miles away), in my opinion, especially if you are bringing the family or the dog in tow (snakes are more common at Miramar).

TLV is a nice course in its current state but could become a great course with better teepads and a better relationship with the Village, which might eventually allow 3 more baskets for a full 18. This is not a place you will see a big tournament played in the near future but is an ideal course for a casual round if you don't want to worry about losing a disc and like how it feels to hit a birdie.

Make sure to visit Boondoggles - the (un)official 19th hole of the course - after your round. Boondoggles is located just across Taylor Lake and you can almost see it from old basket 6.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/14/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 125  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a lot of good things to be said about TLV. For one, the park that it is situated in works very nice for a disc golf course. Huge trees are present on every hole so no shots are gimmies. Also a few trees have been planted at the beginning of the course so in a few years those trees will be more prevalent as they continue to grow.
-The signs on the tees that still have them are fantastic signs some of the best I have seen, sadly there are very few tees that still have the signs.
-The course is relatively new so the baskets are all in great shape with the bright yellow bands visible from great distances out.
-There is a bit of elevation change (10 feet or so on some holes) which is very surprising considering how close the course is to the gulf.
Cons: -As good of a park this is for disc golf there is too much going on in the park that can easily get in the way of a round from the pavilion and playground at the beginning of the course to the road so close by on some holes.
-This course only has 15 of the original baskets still in as mentioned before. so people coming out here expecting an 18 hole round of golf will be disappointed.
-Some tees are too close to the previous baskets. It would not be hard to over throw a drive on some holes and land on the next tee pad.
-Course navigation can become a problem if you are a first timer especially around holes 8-12, bring a map.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for this side of town as there is nothing else to even compete. I have seen people play "Safari Golf" for 3 holes to create a full 18 holes which is always an option if you really want to get a full 18 in, just be wary of other players as this course receives a lot of traffic.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ehhh...It's Alright.

1    3/16/2012   3/22/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Taylor Lake is enjoyable for its consistent length and openness. Long arms should enjoy the course playing from the alternate pro tees that come at more than 7250'. However, there is enough length variation that new and average players will still enjoy the course. The signs that are still in place are in good shape, and once you get to hole #4 (the new hole #1), the course is relatively easy to follow. The back nine is much stronger than the front, and I enjoyed the peninsula hole of #11 and its layout into the wind and water. It's an acceptable consolation from the original design where an even cooler #11 shot over the water in a much more dangerous approach.

BEST HOLE/S: #11
Cons: The tees are natural and the entire area looks like it will have standing water in some parts most of the time. Some of the signage is gone, and there are a few confusing parts still where a map is nice to have. Don't forget your bug spray - this is the Houston gulf coast after all. These are minor grips compared to the fact that holes one through three have been removed due to the neighborhood, and to me that's never a good sign when local support begins to deteriorate. Moves like that make you wonder what the future may bring.

I suppose my biggest complaint however, is that the course is kind of boring. Granted, I didn't think the course is bad by any means, but there wasn't anything that stood out in my memory of why I would love this place. There just simply isn't one standout feature. I kept thinking - this place isn't much different than Anges Moffitt Park, which consistently rates lower yet has a full #18 holes.

WORST HOLE/S: #5 & #7
Other Thoughts: I was very conflicted about how I've felt about a course upon completing a round. I've wanted to play Taylor Lake for a while now, after hearing so many positive things about it. However, in the end - it's seemed it was like an overrated summer blockbuster. The anticipation was much better than the experience itself, and at only 15 holes, it barely hits the three disc mark.

However, even in this lament - I will agree that most players will enjoy this atypical Houston course. The openness gives options to test shot making, and the constant breeze off the water should help increase skills and techniques. Bottom line is if you live in Houston, check it out - if you're visiting, drive the extra twenty minutes to Jacks Brooks Park and hit Cedar Hills and Gulf Meadows to get in a quality disc golf experience.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/17/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 67  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long challenging course that offers many different challenges. Mild terrain offers you some finese play. Mild tree coverage throughout the course. You can play muiltiple tee locations if you have a local show you. Very nice layout. This course is quickly becoming one of my fav. For the Houston area. Especially since a ton of trees are being cut at Mac. Good mix of left/right hand holes. #6 is a really nice open, but difficult hole due to wind and distance. The restroom is centerally locate on the front 9.
Cons: Not a full 18 hole at the moment. Takes a little guess work as to where the next hole is on a few holes. Some signs missing. Protected wildlife area involved in play area. That should not be allowed. Due to the fact that most people will try to retrive a disc that has landed in the protected area. Course is sort of dictated by "the neighbors"they live near the course and cause some negative vibe for the locals. The police are also a little over protective. Nothing major but don't be surprised to see a local patrol out and about.
Other Thoughts: Has protential, but needs a little bit of attention as far as tee box signs and the first three holes, and some benches would be great. This course is better than the new course at Jack Brooks. Easily one the few18 hole courses that is fun. For more advanced players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 15 Holes that want to be 18

2-4    10/18/2009   7/27/2011
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Three sets of tees here in a nice family neighborhood park make this course suitable for everyone. High quality multi-chain DISCatcher baskets with yellow bands make them easy to spot. Some minor elevation in play. Nice scenery for the most part with a long hole playing out towards the water. Overall a pretty good mix of lefty vs. righty holes. Restrooms on-site. A welcome 18-hole addition to the Southeast side of town.
Cons:
The first three holes have had their baskets pulled due to safety concerns over discs going into neighbors' yards. There's a challenging hole that throws over some wetlands that are supposed to be protected, but disc golfers will rarely respect the "protected" area. Some tees are too close to the previous baskets and there are several places where the walking/jogging trail are in play. Print a map to help you navigate the first time.
Other Thoughts:
Steve, Chris, and the work crew deserve a lot of credit for getting this course in the ground and keeping it there when politics are involved. TLV is a good, solid course but not really what I'd consider a destination course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lunch Break

5+    2/22/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MrNiceFella
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Park is clean and well maintained. Decent variety of distances. Trees offer plenty of shady spots.
Cons: Dirt tee pads, could be more clearly marked, possibility of hitting people with discs as there are overlapping walking paths and a playground.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/9/2010   2/4/2010
Review By: bobbeno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice location with big trees and bay water close by; nice sunsets. This is becoming one of my favs., closer than Jack Brooks and just as good, ex-sm. elevation changes on the last few holes; one ex-long hole to air your arm out; and a drive over a gully (protected wetland) to a sm. island/pennisula.
Cons: Holds water here and there, mostly on the front 9; holes 1-3 were being relocate, start on #4; or start on 10 after a rain and keep your feet dry, play it twice for 18 holes of play.
Other Thoughts: Keep OFF spray handy, when 65F or higher

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Another Successful New Course for H-Town

1    10/18/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 94  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a scenic park located a few miles from Kemah. Taylor Lake Village is a refreshing, well planned, fun course that will challenge beginners and advanced players alike. Props have to be given out to Chris and the people who stepped up and put this course in. It took a lot of work but man did it pay off. The first thing you will notice is how nice a park this course sits on, it is busy, but in a good way and everyone I met there was very friendly. It is located right next to an inlet leading to the ocean and has some really nice views.

Apart from aesthetics the course is well laid out and offers challenges for righties and lefties. It mixes distance well with holes 2 and 6 being pretty good distances and with the wind being a big factor for 6 it will test anyone's arm. There are also some good medium distance holes like 3 and 8 which offer a few different lines to the basket while being far from easy. To me the signature hole for this course is 11 which is over a culvert, is slightly elevated and really gives you that perfect risk vs. reward challenge. The back nine is shorter but much more scenic with sloping fairways and concludes with one of the only true island holes in the Houston area.
Cons: So far the main flaws to this course are in the process of being fixed. There are no tee signs or discernible tee pads, but the poles they have in the ground and the numbers on the cages make navigating the course at least doable. Just print out the map before you go and you will be fine. The course was really busy, almost bordering on Bear Branch busy, but that's to be expected since it is new.
Other Thoughts: This course was deceiving, when I first saw the pics online I thought it would be just another MacGregor clone, but it was so much more. I really enjoyed playing there and the locals were fantastic. I can not say enough about the work that was put into getting this course put in, you guys rock. This is the perfect compliment to Jack Brooks 1 and 2 and Miramar and is helping to make South Houston a legitimate disc golf destination.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, Busy Park

1    10/17/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The TLV course is located in a very nice community park that seems to be well up kept and popular. On the morning that I went to play my first round there were several dog walkers, picnickers, and DGers using the facility. Unlike many Houston area courses where the land that is used is usually the cast off, almost unusable parks (flood plains, bad areas of town, out of the way, etc.), the TLV course is clearly located in more of a premium location. This adds a lot to the "curb appeal" of the course. As for the course it self, the design has good balance and a medium level of challenge. There are holes that require hyzers, straight shots, and annys and there are holes that need long, middle, and shorter shots off the tee. As a whole, the course is a bit on the shorter side, but many of the drives are in the 300-340 range making them still challenging in order to get your twos.
Cons: There were a handful of holes that played very close to either the walking paths, or the next tee. This wasn't a big deal, but it could be considered a mild safety hazard if the golfers aren't careful before they throw. this will be changed, but at this point (10/17/09) there aren't consistent tee signs, tee boxes, or a course map. That will be solved soon as the course is developed (I did not lower the rating I gave based on this). Overall, the course is nice, but a little vanilla...there really weren't any holes that stuck out in my mind.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing here, and I will play again as much as I can make it down. The course is not a destination course, but as soon as it was put in, it became one of the nicer courses in Houston. To rank it amongst its peers, I would say that it is a bit nicer than MacGregor or Moffitt, but not quite the overall challenge or facility of Jack Brooks. A nice place to play and I will be happily recommending it to anyone in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.