Taylor Lake Village, TX 
Taylor Lake Village DGC Share
Uploaded By: ChrisMacG Hole #12 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 183ft.   3 / 267ft.   3 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    9/17/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 74  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long challenging course that offers many different challenges. Mild terrain offers you some finese play. Mild tree coverage throughout the course. You can play muiltiple tee locations if you have a local show you. Very nice layout. This course is quickly becoming one of my fav. For the Houston area. Especially since a ton of trees are being cut at Mac. Good mix of left/right hand holes. #6 is a really nice open, but difficult hole due to wind and distance. The restroom is centerally locate on the front 9.
Cons: Not a full 18 hole at the moment. Takes a little guess work as to where the next hole is on a few holes. Some signs missing. Protected wildlife area involved in play area. That should not be allowed. Due to the fact that most people will try to retrive a disc that has landed in the protected area. Course is sort of dictated by "the neighbors"they live near the course and cause some negative vibe for the locals. The police are also a little over protective. Nothing major but don't be surprised to see a local patrol out and about.
Other Thoughts: Has protential, but needs a little bit of attention as far as tee box signs and the first three holes, and some benches would be great. This course is better than the new course at Jack Brooks. Easily one the few18 hole courses that is fun. For more advanced players.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/9/2010   2/4/2010
Review By: bobbeno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice location with big trees and bay water close by; nice sunsets. This is becoming one of my favs., closer than Jack Brooks and just as good, ex-sm. elevation changes on the last few holes; one ex-long hole to air your arm out; and a drive over a gully (protected wetland) to a sm. island/pennisula.
Cons: Holds water here and there, mostly on the front 9; holes 1-3 were being relocate, start on #4; or start on 10 after a rain and keep your feet dry, play it twice for 18 holes of play.
Other Thoughts: Keep OFF spray handy, when 65F or higher

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Another Successful New Course for H-Town

1    10/18/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 98  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a scenic park located a few miles from Kemah. Taylor Lake Village is a refreshing, well planned, fun course that will challenge beginners and advanced players alike. Props have to be given out to Chris and the people who stepped up and put this course in. It took a lot of work but man did it pay off. The first thing you will notice is how nice a park this course sits on, it is busy, but in a good way and everyone I met there was very friendly. It is located right next to an inlet leading to the ocean and has some really nice views.

Apart from aesthetics the course is well laid out and offers challenges for righties and lefties. It mixes distance well with holes 2 and 6 being pretty good distances and with the wind being a big factor for 6 it will test anyone's arm. There are also some good medium distance holes like 3 and 8 which offer a few different lines to the basket while being far from easy. To me the signature hole for this course is 11 which is over a culvert, is slightly elevated and really gives you that perfect risk vs. reward challenge. The back nine is shorter but much more scenic with sloping fairways and concludes with one of the only true island holes in the Houston area.
Cons: So far the main flaws to this course are in the process of being fixed. There are no tee signs or discernible tee pads, but the poles they have in the ground and the numbers on the cages make navigating the course at least doable. Just print out the map before you go and you will be fine. The course was really busy, almost bordering on Bear Branch busy, but that's to be expected since it is new.
Other Thoughts: This course was deceiving, when I first saw the pics online I thought it would be just another MacGregor clone, but it was so much more. I really enjoyed playing there and the locals were fantastic. I can not say enough about the work that was put into getting this course put in, you guys rock. This is the perfect compliment to Jack Brooks 1 and 2 and Miramar and is helping to make South Houston a legitimate disc golf destination.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, Busy Park

1    10/17/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The TLV course is located in a very nice community park that seems to be well up kept and popular. On the morning that I went to play my first round there were several dog walkers, picnickers, and DGers using the facility. Unlike many Houston area courses where the land that is used is usually the cast off, almost unusable parks (flood plains, bad areas of town, out of the way, etc.), the TLV course is clearly located in more of a premium location. This adds a lot to the "curb appeal" of the course. As for the course it self, the design has good balance and a medium level of challenge. There are holes that require hyzers, straight shots, and annys and there are holes that need long, middle, and shorter shots off the tee. As a whole, the course is a bit on the shorter side, but many of the drives are in the 300-340 range making them still challenging in order to get your twos.
Cons: There were a handful of holes that played very close to either the walking paths, or the next tee. This wasn't a big deal, but it could be considered a mild safety hazard if the golfers aren't careful before they throw. this will be changed, but at this point (10/17/09) there aren't consistent tee signs, tee boxes, or a course map. That will be solved soon as the course is developed (I did not lower the rating I gave based on this). Overall, the course is nice, but a little vanilla...there really weren't any holes that stuck out in my mind.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing here, and I will play again as much as I can make it down. The course is not a destination course, but as soon as it was put in, it became one of the nicer courses in Houston. To rank it amongst its peers, I would say that it is a bit nicer than MacGregor or Moffitt, but not quite the overall challenge or facility of Jack Brooks. A nice place to play and I will be happily recommending it to anyone in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.