Tonawanda, NY 
Veterans Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: MattK   (Taken 7/2009)
Veterans Memorial Park



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
short game practice

5+    8/10/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: amorrison111
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: the course is small and easy to navigate. i prefer the course to help work on technique trying to get my throw straighter constistently. this course allows for that without any true hazards. there is also a slight elevation changes to work around, while 5 is so tempting for anyone to try to get an ace.
Cons: the amount of people on the weekends at the gazebos on nice days can get in the way of many of the later holes. i played saturday and i was unable to play 6-9 because of cars parked in the grass, and people having larger partyies in the fairways. people are the only real hazards on this course

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner Course

1    6/11/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: lucasfnelson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course to take beginners to, offering some interesting shots and even some slight elevation changes.

It is a pretty nice area, and on a quiet day it makes for a really relaxing game.

I took some first-timers here and they had a good time.
Cons: The holes are super short. Even with my first-time disc golfer friends, we played a full 18 (two laps around the course) in less than 45 minutes.

While it was nice to have signs, the only purpose they serve was to spot the next tee from the hole. Some more permanent signage would be fantastic.
Other Thoughts: For more experienced players, this course would be good to practice your short game (I only used my aviar on the entire course), or to take some beginners.

However, for new players looking to refine their skills, this is a good course to play. The only problem is wild shots run the risk of tagging an innocent bystander.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/15/2010   3/26/2011
Review By: I Wanna GO Discin'
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent beginner course. No difficult throws needed. My first time out i aced three holes
Cons: It's built around the playground so you must watch your angles or you'll hit a kid like the guy in front of us (accidently) did
Other Thoughts: Close to Mississippi Mudds and the Niagara River so you can go relax after a nice game

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good Begginer Course

5+    8/5/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: ErflesMcBride
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Course is short for begginers
-Easy navigation
-Great Scenery
Cons: -A lot of people when you play sometimes
-Short
-Only 9 holes
-no more tee signs
Other Thoughts: -there is a big ditch you have to keep crossing
-some holes cross
-there are things like garbage cans or something hanging from the tee box sign

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/24/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: bfaslewis
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -the course was fairly easy to navigate even my first time there
-free to play and to park
-the natural tees were all clearly marked
-the course makes a full single loop back to the beginning
-the back side of the park there is a small hill which leads to there being some elevation change on #'s 2, 3, 4, 5, & 6
-due to the park's small size the moderate woods make up for low difficulty relating to the shortness of the holes
Cons: -the signage needs updating. each tee is clearly marked but the signs are laminated paper and most are no longer attached to the poles but sitting in what i imagine are garbage baskets that hang from each pole
-all of the holes were fairly straightforward with no hyzer or annie shots
-some of the fairways cross: 2&3 and again at 5&6
Other Thoughts: -the course seems to be an after thought to a park whose main attractions would be the picnic shelters, and the large playground that consumes the middle of the park which is why most of the 9 holes play along the outside edge of the park.
-each tee sign reads "amateur tees must be used on the weekends" but i only saw one set of tees on each hole
-it's a okay beginner 9 hole course in an area that gets a lot of foot traffic being so close to the Niagara River

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Small and Short

1    7/24/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: ChainDigger
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Can try to ace just about any hole. Won't get frustrated by hitting trees. Easy to get to. Good practice for approach and putting, for experienced players.
Cons: Not very challenging for a relatively experienced player. You won't need any of your drivers. No maps/tee boxes. Not laid out very well.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.