Trenton, ME
Hapana Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: DeafDiscGolfer   (Taken 8/2009)
Route 3 Entrance Sign



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
rough around edges but some fun holes

2-4    7/30/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: headbangerdiscus
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: fun hill top holes
freshly mowed long field holes
challenging pinball tree lined holes
Cons: mostly shorter par 3s
rough, wood chip/tree root tees
no scorecard
no clubhouse (atleast was locked when i played)
little hard to navigate
no hole map
only one bench for resting
overflowing trash/recycling
Other Thoughts: Tee boxes are only wood chips with rocks/ roots sticking up. Not a problem really for me, but maybe older players or kids may have a stumble or two. A little hard to navigate first time through, put on your eagle eyes and you'll see little signs that mark the way to next hole, but would be nice if they were not brown/green and a color that stood out more from the trees. Note: 1st tee is on hill to front left of building. No hole layout maps, but most aren't too long so a short walk will let you know where you're aiming. Some fun holes, such as throwing to top of hill with basket resting upon a large rock. Another tee on top of large rocks on top of a hill where you sail disc over treetops below. A couple open field holes let you really test your distance,especially hole 18. No scorecards so use one you've got kicking in your bag from a previously played course, or contact me, i made one using distances I wrote down from tee signs (had to guess on hole 6, sign was missing). All par 3s except hole 14 (par 5). As one of the few options near Bangor I enjoyed it. The cons are easily overcome. I am sure I will be back since I work near here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing to say the least

5+    8/22/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: Mr. Blue
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of short holes with a couple of medium length holes make this course a great idea for the beginner or Junior Disc Golfer.
For the avid disc golfer, this course is great for practicing your short and mid range game. It is a beautiful walk in the woods.
Cons: The tee boxes are hazardous, and inconsistent.
The trash cans are not kept up on, and there is unnecessary refuse on the course as well.
There are no maps or scorecards available.
The biggest con is the fact that while the place is a great IDEA for Juiors to play, the course is NOT friendly towards families. This is a shame as the members out there are great people, but the management leaves much to be desired.
Other Thoughts: Too bad this course is not well kept. There is much potential on the property. It is a shame that the place is a disc golf course posing as a business because AS a business, there is WAY too much work to be done to make it acceptable as a pay to play disc golf course, especially when there are SO MANY OTHER BETTER OPTIONS WITHIN AN HOUR from this spot. Here's hoping these reviews of the course on here are taken for the opportunity to improve that they are intended to be.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great potential

1    8/12/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: stormrider
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course with a huge variety of holes. Heavy woods to open fields, lefts, rights, up-hill and down-hill, the course keeps you guessing from start to finish.

Overall the course emphasizes accuracy over power; roughly half are in the 200' range, but the foliage makes it significantly harder to get the perfect shot. There are a handful that let you really drive though.
Cons: The course would definitely benefit from some scorecards with a map, as there are a couple of pretty confusing areas.

Do a tick check when you get home, this is a heavily wooded area and the locals say they do occasionally see them here.
Other Thoughts: Definitely helps to follow some locals around for your first round. Tee areas are generally flat beds of wood chips, and are marked with wood placards showing hole number, distance and par (but no map).

For $3 per round or $5 per day it's really not a bad course, but at the same time, most of the free courses I've played are better groomed and maintained, so it would be nice if they put a little more work into the upkeep.

The course has huge potential, it's in a great location, and is the only course in the Trenton/Bar Harbor/ Ellsworth area. If the owners would put just a little more energy into the course it could be a real solid course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just on the way to Bar Harbor!

1    8/30/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: DeafDiscGolfer
Played: 108  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice balances of short right, straight, and left of mostly wooded fairways. Good enough for Rec. to Pro players who wanted to stop by to play a quick 18-holes.

Only need mid-range drivers, putters or even a Frisbee to play! Can use distance drivers at #1, #14, and #18 if you really need more oophs with your drives.

Plenty birdie holes here and there.

Nice running creeks at some holes. There's one unique #6 hanging basket!

There's a nice sitting bench near by #10 basket up hill.

Trash barrels at most holes that seems to be overflowing with beers (plenty cash refunds!).

Nice looking entrance sign and clubhouse!
Cons: Its nearly impossible to navigate the course on your own for the first or even the second times!! Bring or meet the locals!! The first tee is hard to spot but its in front of clubhouse at the left on the mount.

There are some tee signs propped on the ground that only shows Hole #, Par, and Feet but no way to know where's that old Mach baskets are at. Unless you take a walk and try to spot the baskets that has NO obvious bright markings anywhere. It is difficult to disguise old baskets from the wooded trees.

Very poor walkways between tees. There's no "next tee" signs or directions as well.

No course map provided nor course map sign outside of the clubhouse either (hint, hint).

The natural tees are horrible and hazardous! Way too much tree roots sticking above the tee area. Very difficult to make small quick run-ups but only takes one step to make the driving shots!

Couple wetland holes that seems always occur after the rains but there's some walking 2x5 wood pathways at few holes. Might as well to prepare to get your shoes soaked anyway.

No restroom or drinking water provided.

All that for 3 bucks a round or 5 bucks a day?
Other Thoughts: I was disappointed to see that the course tees, signs, and baskets are not being well marked for any visiting disc golfers and the tee layouts are not that great nor impressive.

These are huge potentials to generate more visitors ($$$) who wants to stop by to play/checking out before/after visiting the Bar Harbor at Mount Desert Island which is one of Maine's tourists' hot spots. The course is right on the very only road (Route 3) less than a mile before the small airport and before entering the island, you cannot miss those entrance sign! See photos to get the idea.

I was very fortunate to join a nice young patient couple at the right time to guide me around 18 holes and allowing me to take pictures of each holes. They were only using Frisbees to play a round and they did it very well!

I would not recommend any new players to try throwing discs there because its difficult to locate discs in the thick grasses and bushes outside of the fairways. Better bring Frisbees for the newbies first. There are only four open-fielded holes out of 18 holes which are in the woods.

Now, I have played there only once (August 2009) and wouldn't mind to go back there when I'm on the way to the island again someday!

I do hope to see some major improvements in order to get better course ratings!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.