Disc Golf Store
Effingham, IL 
Effingham DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 425ft.   3 / 355ft.   3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Kinda tight

2-4    7/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: ervin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It has 18 holes, and some of them are quite good. There are a couple shots where you can really drive a disc, but on the whole the course is pretty short with really tight fairways. I think that hole 6--the one that starts on top of a hill and ends just outside the graveyard--is my favorite.
Cons: The first three holes are really quite simple, mando and all. Then four becomes almost impossible to figure out where you're supposed to be aiming. The first time I played this course I used the 5th basket on the 4th hole. Also, the layout leads a bit to be desired. Hole 11 has a nice tee shot, but if you have any kind of arm you're going to hit a family watching their child play baseball. Then the 12 and 13 go right past a picnic shelter--dangerous in my opinion. The holes are really on the short side though, and the challenge is more finding the next hole and not throwing at the wrong basket rather than getting through the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Play with someone who has been there before. It's fun, but not that challenging.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    7/26/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: AirMcNair
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Short course but with good mature trees to make you throw the right shot. Tee pads are great and when I was there they were making more concrete ones. Good use of the land they had.
Cons: Short course. Need better tee signs. Tee pads on the back were gravel but like I said they were building the concrete ones.
Other Thoughts: Nice to stop and play if you are driving through. Early in the AM there is no one there.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/16/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 388  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course plays through a nice little city park with rolling holes and mature trees.
It makes good use of both. Lots of OB, several holes play near the creek, and a park road plays through the course. Makes it more challenging. The club guys have made some changes to some of the holes and they play much longer.
It is otherwise a good course to work on your short game.
Cons: A lot of holes under 250 feet, not a lot of variation in these hole types.
Tee pads are crushed limestone, and are almost always rutted.
HEAVILY used by nondiscers. They have no idea what you are doing so be CAREFUL my buddy nailed a woman off a skip after we yelled four! 5 times. Lots of playground equipment in play. Be careful for kids
Other Thoughts: If the club gets together with the park and makes the changes to holes 3 and 15 , I'd bump this course up half a point. 15 was probably one of the most picturesque holes I've played. 400' downhill hyzer, with a really nicely terraced hillside on the right side.

Update 3/14/10:
Many good changes happening here.The effingham guys have done some great work up at the course. Played it yesterday...15/18 (I think) holes have concrete. multiple tees (only 1 of each concrete) on 2, 3, 5, 6, 10, 12, 15. Plus many just play longer. Highlights include a lengthened 3, 5, and of course that sweet 400' downhill hyzer on 15 with the terraced plants on the right. I'm guessing a change in total course length for long (concrete except for across the creek on 6) tees of 600'-800' (250' for 3, 200' for 15, 100' for 5, plus many just lengthened)

Looks like hole 11 (the one after the shed hole) is going to need to be changed as there is a new building where the tee used to be.

Will keep updating as changes are made...will rerate when changes are done.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Really Effing Short Course

1    2/26/2008   2/26/2008
Review By: tenWatts
Played: 50  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2010
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The first time I EVER played this course I shot a 14 down on 18 holes. There are multiple tee pads on a few holes and some great elevation on some others. An old graveyard behind one of the pins is some what cool and errie at the same time. There is a good mixture of elevation and that is the aspect of this course that was the most fun and sticks with me the most.
Cons: Way to short and easy. Only two or three holes that you can't EASILY reach in one shot. The course has really wide fairways (when not completly open) and really short pin placements. There is not a lot trouble making shots when you have so much room to work with. A few holes were under 200' and completly wide open, straight out in front of the tee. Other than the elevation this course was forgetable and boring at best.
Other Thoughts: It's worth playing once if you're passing through but don't make a special trip to go check it out.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.