Effingham, IL 
Effingham DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 400ft.   3 / 200ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Old Hole #15



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun park course

5+    6/15/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: schimmy
Played: 116  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
Pros: Effingham's course is a fun, short, beginner friendly course.

The teeboxes are huge and give plenty of room for run up even though most of the holes are pretty short.

Loops back to the car after hole 10 allowing the players to grab fresh beverages from the car.

Bathroom along hole 11's fairway.

Great signature holes playing on the sledding hills. Holes 6, 7, 8 and 15.
Cons: The baskets are old DGA Mach IIs and are very easy to spit out of.

There are a few areas that are dangerous for other disc golfers and/or other park users. Hole 4 tees off throwing right at Hole 8's teebox. There is a playground next to Hole 11 and 14. Errant throws on hole 13 can end up on 14's teebox.

During the winter time, the city puts up Christmas lights and about half of the course is unplayable. There is a winter layout but it is very confusing and not nearly as fun.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun and it is where I learned to play the game. Over the years it has been improving by adding new pin placements and longer tee boxes. It is still a little too compact, but with the available land I think they did a good job.

I had a lot of Effing Fun

1    1/16/2013   2/19/2013
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) DGA Mach baskets with the number plate facing the tees. Rungs of the basket are painted to mark where the next tee is located.
2) Concrete tees with yellow posts to mark their location.
3) Scorecards with a map are available at the first tee along with a kiosk for more disc golf information. There is also a rules sign available for those beginners who might show up to play this course.
4) Hole #6 is a great and unique type of hole and I executed it about as well as I possibly could. I threw a 400' turnover with my new Pro Beast that I just got from a friend before this trip. It had just enough flip to turnover and go down the hill before coming back right towards the basket. I hit the 30' putt for my longest deuce ever 425'.
5) There is an extreme amount of elevation on a few holes. Some of the holes have gentle elevation change and even some flat holes. It is a nice mix of elevation change.
6) All shot shapes are required to do well on this course. There are some hyzers, some anhyzers, and some straight shots. You can use a wide assortment of shots on many of the holes but some do dictate exactly what type of shot you need to throw.
7) There is an awesome amount of distance variation here. You will need good drives, good upshots, and good recovery shots to play well here.
8) Excellent variety of foliage density with some mostly open, some moderately wooded, and a few with enough trees to force a shot.
9) Multiple tees help to make this course different for variety and also more beginner friendly.
10) The disc golf was a lot of fun, lots of different shots, lots of fun throws, and that is the biggest part in my desire to return.
11) Very large mature hardwood trees on the property make this a pretty course as well as a nice place to escape the heat in summer by playing under the shade these trees create.
Cons: 1) The biggest drawback to this course is the level of compaction and erosion happening. It is going to happen on slopes like they have here, but it is complicated by the type of soil they have.
2) There seemed to be some sketchy stairs and retaining walls here. I hate to see good courses with bad infrastructure because that means it is not sustainable. I know it is simply the standard for disc golf, but I am hoping that bar gets raised in the coming years. Just because we are a non-standard sport does not mean we do not deserve the same amount of safety and effort when it comes to how our course is played.
3) When I played there were Christmas decorations in the way. This was funny because it brought my wife and I back to our first course played (Freeman Lake Park in Elizabethtown, KY) but at the same time it shows that disc golf is not the priority. I am not asking parks to take out disc golf to have Christmas Decorations, but perhaps disc golf could be designed away from areas that are needed for this and other things.
4) There are a few places where the tees and baskets are a little close, causing both confusion and some minor safety issues. Hole #6 is a really bad spot where a disc could end up in like 3 different fairways or near tees. Safety should be a priority, and while this course is over 10 years old, I think it might have been dangerous in a few spots from the beginning.
5) Minimal benches and garbage cans available to the disc golf course, but there are options by the pavilions/bathrooms and baseball field area.
6) Walkers as well as the road running through the park housing the Christmas decorations create some safety issues for others. Some of the throws are moderately blind also, which makes it even more dangerous.
Other Thoughts: While my cons may seem strong, they do not outweigh the amount of fun I had on the course. The design was for some fun shots and good amount of challenge, unfortunately it was also a bit unsafe in a few areas. If some baskets could be re-arranged to be safer it would also take away from the fun, so it is a hard thing to recommend, while the course might suffer in fun and challenge it would be safer and thus sustainable. I prefer courses be more sustainable even at the expense of fun, challenge, beauty etc. It's hard to recommend but it is something I have to stand up for.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course to learn the game

5+    12/21/2012   1/17/2013
Review By: Piker
Played: 62  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are many different tee pads to give 18 holes play different almost every time it's played.
Cons: The course is hard to navigate for people that havent played there before.
The hill on hole 6 is dangerous if it has rained recently.
Other Thoughts: It is a fun course to play if your stopping through town.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Kinda tight

2-4    7/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: ervin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It has 18 holes, and some of them are quite good. There are a couple shots where you can really drive a disc, but on the whole the course is pretty short with really tight fairways. I think that hole 6--the one that starts on top of a hill and ends just outside the graveyard--is my favorite.
Cons: The first three holes are really quite simple, mando and all. Then four becomes almost impossible to figure out where you're supposed to be aiming. The first time I played this course I used the 5th basket on the 4th hole. Also, the layout leads a bit to be desired. Hole 11 has a nice tee shot, but if you have any kind of arm you're going to hit a family watching their child play baseball. Then the 12 and 13 go right past a picnic shelter--dangerous in my opinion. The holes are really on the short side though, and the challenge is more finding the next hole and not throwing at the wrong basket rather than getting through the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Play with someone who has been there before. It's fun, but not that challenging.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good one

1    8/21/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: kylesplash
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is setup in a nice park, the park offers plenty of hills and trees. You have a water hazard when you are playing next to the creek. Its nice that the course has concrete tee boxes. Some of the holes have long or challenging shots
Cons: Some of the hills have ruts and are washed away. You have to play over a road that cars drive on
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, and I am looking forward to playing it again.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Improving Course

2-4    7/30/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: foo_g
Played: 43  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads have been added to every hole. Signs are still being added and updated.

There is a good bit of variety on this course. It offers a good mix of long and short holes, uphill and downhill, wooded and open, as well as blind shots. Some of the holes have been lengthened and offer a few opportunities to really let it fly off the tee. There are also several ace opportunities still available.
Cons: For a first time player, this course is probably a bit confusing. Baskets for holes 4, 5, and 7 are all in the same area. Some signs also still show the old basket locations. Consider using a spotter on hole 6.
Other Thoughts: The local club has put a lot of resources into improving this course and making it a fun place to play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Course Up-graded

5+    3/20/2011   3/26/2011
Review By: Bif13
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads, elevation changes, lenghthened holes.
Cons: a few holes are a little short, but are necessary to accomidate course flow.
Other Thoughts: Within the last two years there have been several changes to this course. There are concrete tee pads on every hole, but some alternate tee pads are still crushed limestone. #3 has been stretched out to 500' from the long tee, #4 basket has been moved, #5 is a short hole but a 2 is useful on the front 9 as it is more difficult than the back 9. #6 has been lenghthened to around 400'. #7 has an alternate tee pad across the creek. #10 basket was moved to 280', #11 moved to 350', #12 moved to 300', #14 moved to create a more challenging tee shot with a fast green. #15 is stretched out to 400'. Overall the course plays with more challenges than the past, longer holes are a nice change and when playing the roads and rope fence as out of bounds it can be even more challenging as numerous fairways squeeze down to 30 or 40 feet wide in landing zones. Still plays as all par 3's, except #3 from the long tee, plays to a 4. If you can deuce #2 it is rare. The course has been made better by the locals with a lot of cooperation of the parks dept. who have been very accomidating to our requests. There will be more tournaments played there as the first C tier is scheduled for July 2011.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    7/26/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: AirMcNair
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Short course but with good mature trees to make you throw the right shot. Tee pads are great and when I was there they were making more concrete ones. Good use of the land they had.
Cons: Short course. Need better tee signs. Tee pads on the back were gravel but like I said they were building the concrete ones.
Other Thoughts: Nice to stop and play if you are driving through. Early in the AM there is no one there.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 good medium size course

2-4    7/3/2009   7/25/2010
Review By: urdone00
Played: 123  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 34.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: short to medium length holes with a descent variety of shots to throw. elevation changes and ob make some of the holes a challenge. well kept park, easy to find and ample parking next to hole #1 (of the 4 times I have played only seen 1 other group playing)
Cons: with never seeing anyone playing , wonder why there is so much trash and very few trash cans.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy stopping thru here while traveling to stretch my legs and play a descent ,quick 18 holes of golf on my own private course. ha!ha!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course...

1    6/12/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: cooktastic
Played: 62  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice little 18 hole course set in a very nice city park in Effingham. The park itself is beautiful...some really pretty holes here to play (like around 5-8 and 16-18). They have recently put in cement teepads for most of the tees...some holes even have two sets. Very easy flow to the course...never any question of where to go next. Several aceable holes here. I hit metal 3 times. They used the elevation changes very well in this course. There were a couple of very fun downhill shots to play. Well maintained and easy to get to...I would recommend a round out here if you are in the area.
Cons: There is some other traffic in the park that you really have to watch. I had to wait on a few walkers (who obviously had no idea that they were in the killzone). You can pretty much leave your driver at home...most holes are around 200 feet or under. This causes a little bit of a feel of repetition on the course. There are a few teepads that are still pea-gravel and they are very uneven (I am assuming the cement tees are a work in progress so this should resolve itself). A couple of the baskets (while nice) are starting to show a little age. Don't need replacing yet but looks like they will in the near future.
Other Thoughts: This was a pleasant surprise of a nice little short 18 hole course. I had a lot of fun playing it and will be back when visiting family again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.