Mahwah, NJ 
Campgaw Reservation - Blue/Black Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #2 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 225ft.   4 / 546ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun but unkempt

1    8/26/2011   11/14/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course begins in the woods surrounding the ski hill and finishes on the more open slopes of the ski runs. The first 10 holes follow the 18 hole green layout, and are technical shots through fairly thick forest. There are enough trees and brush to punish errant shots, and the rocky hilly ground makes for tricky roll aways and tough greens. The wooded portion of the course offers longer and more challenging shots than the green layout, with several holes that require two good shots to get into putting range for most players. There is nice elevation throughout the course, and the mix of tough uphills and fun downhills offers a lot of excitement and variety. There is a good balance of hole shapes with left and right turning holes and a couple that call for s curves to have a chance at the birdie.

The final 8 holes use the open ski hill with some baskets and tees tucked into the edge of the woods. A few steep uphills and a huge downhill bomber finish the course with nice views and epic shots. It's always a bonus to finish the round with a top of the world shot, and this one doesn't disappoint. There is a kiosk at the first tee with maps for both layouts, and the baskets were fairly new and in great shape.
Cons: The tees are gravel for the most part, and are in pretty poor shape. Most are eroded and rutted out, and all are fairly small. I don't remember a single tee that offered a solid tee surface and that gets frustrating on the longer holes. This layout was more difficult to follow than the green, especially with two sets of tees. Some are shared with the green course, but that isn't always clear on the tee signs. It's also difficult to find some of the tees on the last 8 holes, they're not nearly as well marked or worn in as the earlier part of the course.

Some of the holes were pretty eroded and muddy, making the steeper hills difficult to traverse at times, not a huge deal to me but people with mobility issues should be aware if they play after a recent rain. The wooded holes were mostly well cleared, but the open holes were very overgrown when I played. It's not all that much fun to spend a while searching for your disc that landed in the middle of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find the course fairly long and tough, the green layout is much more beginner friendly. More experienced players will enjoy the variety and challenge, and the great use of elevation makes this course a lot of fun if a bit tiring for anyone not in good shape. Make sure to print the maps available here or have them pulled up on your smartphone, it would be a long day trying to find your way around this layout without them.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Mighty Gaw & Campgaw = Super fun!

2-4    4/16/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: Tim Red Beard
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great Parking Area
-Well Labeled Tee Signs
-Good course to get a workout in.
-Good Baskets (Including the new Mighty Baskets)
-Both courses offer an outstanding mixtures of challenging holes.
-Mighty Gaw is the toughest layout I've played, some just amazing views and just cool holes.
-Great help of locals to keep the course up to date, and are always willing to provide info on the course, that's choice.
Cons: -Teepads are gravel. There is one that is concrete. If they were all concrete this course would be 4.5.
-Some of the holes are super steep, some guide ropes to provide more safety would be good.
Other Thoughts: Overall these two courses are awesome, some of the best holes I've played. I personally judge a course by the memorability of the holes played, do I remember the cool & tough holes and did I enjoy playing them, I can say that both layouts provide great holes to remember which will make me come back year after year or anytime I'm in the area.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 WOW! The Ultimate Challenge

5+    10/14/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: toothyfish
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros and Cons of this course could be very subjective as this is not a typical DG course. Depending on what you like you may love or hate this course. So I will review this course, assuming you are an experienced player that wants a true test

* a PREMIUM on accuracy
* short/long tees on nearly every hole
* will require a large variety of shots and the ability to get out of trouble
* baskets are in great shape
* some spectacular views and amazing use of topography
* plenty of parking and the row closest to the woods is designated specifically for the disc golfers.
Cons: Some cons:
* tees are worn in some areas
* signage is not permanent, and has been known to be missing or damaged
* navigation is definately challenging, despite Next Tee signs
* rough is very heavy in some areas, finding discs can be very difficult on several holes
Other Thoughts: I find myself loving and hating this course throughout any given round. There is minimal reward for good drives, but serious punishment for bad drives. Most of the fairways are very rugged so prepare for alot of standing shots. And being off the fairway may mean settling for bogey to get back on to avoid triple bogey.

This course is NOT for beginners. The Mighty Gaw layout goes up and down the ski hill 2 1/2 times, so plan on double the amount of time to play a full round, especially from the long tees. Prepare for rugged terrain and dress appropriately. Wear hiking boots and be careful!

Because this is a course that is superimposed on a rugged landscape, clear definition of fairways and nest tees isn't always obvious, so print out the map. There are "Next Tee" signs, but it's easy to get disoriented. There are several hiking trails that are utilized, but some of these trails are not part of the course and can lead you the wrong way.

There is plenty of parking. Walk from the lot, past the ski lodges at the bottom of the hill to the first tee. There will be a large sign on your way that will have the current layout posted, as the layout changes from the long Mighty Gaw (spring and fall) to the shorter Camp Gaw (up-over-down layout)

Both Campgaw (short) and Mighty Gaw layouts (long) are in place. Tee signs are shared, but holes numbers differ in many cases so check both sides of the sign, depending on which layout you are playing.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Jersey Mountain Golf!

1    3/10/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides a workout as well as a challenging round of disc golf. There is the obligatory 800+ foot drive over the ski hill to the base to finish your day. That is to be expected on most ski hill courses but there is actually some quality disc golf here as well. The woods holes are pretty cool. I epecially liked the sheer uphill epic of hole 4! The down below the boulder green for hole 6. The fun drive to a fast boulder green on hole 8. The amazing parachute dive of hole 9 through the trees and down there. Many think this is the best hole on course, I agree. 12 is a fun uphill challenge. 16 is a grueling hole playing big up the ski hill and of course hole 18 finishing by throwing off the top of the mountain to the base. There is a lot to look forward to here. Nice that there is both a winter and summer layout to ensure year round play.
Cons: I am not much of a fan of Ski Hill disc golf in general. usually the tees are lacking and this is definetely the case here. The course was wet around the base holes. I mean really soggy to the point of making me want to quit. I am sure due to topography the base holes are always a soggy mess. I got really confused a few times, particularly at hole 5? and then again at hole 13 I actually threw down hill to basket 15 rather than uphill. Yeah I played it completely backwards. Bring a map! For all the glory of throwing off the top of the mountain...It really isn't my cup of tea. basically the hill is just too big to warrant a disc golf shot....no matter who you are you will fade spike back into the mountain and not glide prettily down the hill. It's just so steep and long. The ski lifts are ugly and break up the hill and the basket for 18 is across a gravel parking lot...So it's not a real scenic hole despite the dramatic view from up above!
Other Thoughts: If you like ski hill disc golf you might enjoy all the climbing for one big drive! The better holes are off the ski hill IMO. The overall wetness and poor conditions kept my rating down a bit. If you can look past these you can feel free to upgrade this course a bit in your own mind.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.