Mundelein, IL 
Diamond Lake Slough Share
Uploaded By: notroman Hole #6 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / --   3 / 270ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Another average prairie course.

1    8/16/2009   9/5/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/13/2009
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Rubber teepads are better than grass.

2) Nice tee posts and signs and some directionals.

3) Baskets are wonderful and very new.

4) Course is isolated from other activities which is always positive so there is no worry about hitting any other park patrons.

5) Challenging course because of how tight the fairways are and you are forced to work your shots one way or the other on most holes. Only one straight hole.
Cons: 1) Teepads are not level.

2) Another prairie course that just doesn't impress. It is an allright course, but so much like many other prairie style settings. Mowed fairways through tall grasses and rough shule.

3) Course is not beginner friendly because of all of the blind baskets combined with the tall grasses and some bad shule.

4) Shot requirements are simply too similar. Mostly left to right holes which is the opposite of what most courses are. Most people throw RHBH and this is a tough course for the majority of people. Forehanders and lefties might have a better chance to score well here. You would be better if you could throw everything well. (This is not necessarily bad design, but I would have mixed it up a little more (5 left to right, 3 right to left, and one dead straight). Maybe a few more straight holes would have been better.

5) Not enough obstacles other than the shule on either side of the fairways. I woul have liked to see a few more individual trees in play.

6) #8 is poorly designed because it looks logical to just follow the mulch path, but don't do it.

7) Shule can be punishing for your game and your skin. Look out for roses and thorny shrubs.

8) Not much elevation change except on #6 and #8 and #9. Even these holes is only about 10 vertical feet or less.

9) No water in play either and it looks like there is some swampy areas on the property that could have been used. If they just starting mowing down fairways, I would rather have seen them find some other features of the park.
Other Thoughts: This course was recently installed, so I am sure that more maintenance will be on its way and the locals will figure out some more rough to shave down.

Here is a quick rundown of the hole layout:

1) Short left to right with deep rough on both sides.

2) Short left to right with trees and deep rough on both sides. Blind shot around the corner.

3) Dead straight hole with an evergreen and a small fruit tree guarding the basket. You can go around either tree to park the basket or right up the gut with a powerful arm.

4) Another left to right hole with trees on both sides.Blind teeshot.

5) First right to left hole on the course, deep rough and trees on both sides.Blind tee shot.

6) Left to right slightly downhill. Blind teeshot to the basket. Blind teeshot.

7) Right to left into the woods. Gap narrows to about 10' for the last 30-50', so either park it in the opening or go for the basket (could cost you a par if you do go for it and miss the gap).

8) Left to right hole. DO NOT FOLLOW THE MULCH PATH!!!! Fairway turns at 45 degree angle 20-30' into the woods. Going up the mulch path will force you to throw around some trees. Totally blind shot.

9) Right to lefter uphill. Blind to the basket again.

I wrote this to show how this course is similar. It has too man of the same shots, too many holes are similar distance, and too many of the holes re totally blind teeshots. Blind shots are ok but when you incorporate all the thick prairie grasses and rough, you better not be playing this course alone. It took me and my partner for the day (Doktor John) as a spotter on about 3-4 of the holes just to make sure the discs were findable if missing the fairway.


10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice new short course

5+    8/29/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: beamrider
Played: 110  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A challenging short course that rewards precision. It is nicely landscaped and several holes, notably 3 and 7, are quite picturesque.

The course is isolated from other activities in the park, so there are no swing sets, swimming pools, picnic areas, houses, etc. that could interfere with your round.

Good signage and easy to follow from hole to hole.
Cons: The course design is too tight. With all the available land (they're planning to add another 9 holes) they somehow designed the holes very close together. As examples, if you overshoot the 3rd basket, you could easily hit someone on the 6th tee (I almost did). I was nearly hit on the 4th tee by an errant 3rd hole tee shot (the shooter couldn't see me). And the 5th basket is only about 10 feet from the 6th hole fairway.

Mosquitoes can be bad. I've played several times and on one occasion the mosquitoes were as bad as I've ever experienced.

The rough is harsh and can be intimidating, with thick thorny bushes in many spots. Losing a disc is a distinct possibility.
Other Thoughts: Lots of blind tee shots, as only on the 3rd and 7th tees can you see the basket. While not objectively bad, my preference would be for fewer blind holes.

Overall, a vast improvement and much nicer course that the other Mundelein course (Leo Leathers Park).

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course with room to grow

1    8/22/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly flat corner of a heavily wooded and brushy park. The course was cleared out of this dense brush, so there are nice grassy fairways with very punitive rough (though you'll find lots of tasty blackberries while you're off the fairway!). There's not a lot of elevation available, but what was there was used well on a couple holes to add a little bit of challenge.

There is a mix of left/right turning holes with a couple straight holes, though this is one of the few courses that favored LHBH players more. Different kinds of shots are necessary to have a run at all the holes and stay on the fairways.

There is a very nice course map, and easy to read signs on all the tees. The tee pads are rubber on wood frames. They seemed to be in great shape and nicely leveled, hopefully they'll hold up over time. The flow of the course is very easy to follow, and there is never a question of where to go next, or where to throw.
Cons: This course seems to have a bit of a personality disorder. All the holes are short ace run length, which would suggest a beginner course. On the other hand, nearly all the holes have some kind of turn or a blind basket, and very punitive rough. This means that it ends up frustrating for newer players, and way too easy for more advanced players.

I didn't mind the rough, I thought it was a fun challenge, but it definitely would make the course difficult to play alone. A spotter helps immensely on most of the holes, and reduces the chance of a lost disc. There are plenty of thorns and bugs off the fairway, so be prepared.

There is a long walk from the parking lot to the first tee, though there are signs making it pretty obvious where to go. The course ends up relatively close to the first tee, so it's easy to play multiple times, but there's another long walk back to your car if you park in the main lot. There are a couple holes that have nearly overlapping fairways, or throw right over another tee, which could make for some safety issues as the course gets more crowded.
Other Thoughts: As I said above, many beginners will find this course a little frustrating if they can't stay on the fairway. It is a nice short course though, and very easy to navigate. More experienced players will get a good workout of their short game accuracy here, but won't need anything longer than a mid (I threw putters for 22 of my 23 shots here).

This is a fun little course, but nothing all that exciting. Don't plan a trip just to come here, but it is the better of the two Mundelein courses.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 New, interesting course...

1    8/16/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: Doktor John
Played: 415  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 25.6 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice tees
Good signage
Intuitive flow
Well groomed--great effort was spent clearing the fairways, etc...literally cut into some thick growth
Great use of available space
Very definative paths to every basket
Excellent risk/reward situations
Good variation of holes...dog-leg right and left--really tests various shot execution
Short course but not a traditional pitch and putt because of the thick brush and natural obstacles--really forces a finesse game--you just can't bomb awayor you will pay dearly
Not crowded at all (played on a Sunday morning and not anyone else there
Cons: Some baskets are blind, so without a spotter, you could be searching awhile for an errant throw
Given what this course is and the terrain available they did a great job
Other Thoughts: The day that we played it (harr0140 and I) the main gate to the park was closed.
We followed the GPS coordinates on this site and they led us to a house on the back side with a "path" (well worn grass) next to the construction permit sign...follow that path and it leads to a dirt road that goes right to the basket for 8 and tee off for 9. We started at 9...then turn right on the big path after 9 and it takes you to the tee for 1.
Not sure where you would park if you went in the main gate...but we assumed there was signage.
even though it was a small course, I really enjoyed it because it forced you to focus on every throw on every hole.
I would HIGHLY suggest playing with another person so you could have a spotter...I don't think I would have enjoyed it as much by myself.

Tip: if you can find a playing partner who is a landscaping expert it really helps...harr0140 could find any of my errant throws super fast, while I was wandering around in the brush with no perspective of where my disc landed :)

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Worst Course EVER

1    8/4/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: TheTruth
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2009
6 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: There are nice tee grounds, that seem durable, and seem to not be slippery when wet.
The tee's are nice and new.
Also, easy to navigate.

Many blackberries to eat while you look for your disc in the weeds
Cons: EVERYTHING BUT THAT.
The course seems to be made by plowing through a very thick wooded and weedy area. If you cannot throw it in this plowed area, you are screwed. The course is very short, and easy to overthrow many drives (and then go into the woods).
The biggest downfall with this course is the design. It favors fore-handers, and does not allow for very great drives. You will find that you have to lay up on a couple of holes to have a decent score (esp 9). If you play without a fore-caddy to watch your discs, you will probably loose one, or spend way too much time looking.
On hole 6 you have to throw over the the 5th holes tee.
Poison ivy is also a problem.
Other Thoughts: Worst course ever. I would rather play the other Mundelein course that is in an open field.
Also... tons and tons of mosquitos...
Dont Go.

Believe TheTruth

6 of 20 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.