Milford, MI 
Kensington Black Locust DGC Share
Uploaded By: dalenoel Hole #19 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 619ft.   4 / 455ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Long Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Beautiful more than just disc golf

1    9/15/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
This review was updated on 1/25/2013
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: + All tees are adequate size and thoughtful placement
+ Amateur tees for confidence building ;-)
+ Majority of the holes are challenging for RHBH/LHFH, which makes for a great skills building course
+ A wonderful mix of openness and tunnel shots
+ The back 9 has a completely different feel than the front 18 (27 holes!)
+ Two practice baskets
+ Portopotties
+ Very easy to find
+ Some scenic areas overlooking wildlife and pastures
+ Speaking of which, the most squirrels I've seen on a DG course ever!
+ Open even though there was some sort of run/walk race going on
+ Creative layout
+ Bottle cap tree design on hole # something :D
+ Holden Party Store had Westside, MVP, Lat64, Discraft, Innova, Gateway, and maybe another brand or two but I didn't notice because I fell in love with a VIP Warship, Lat64 Ruby/Diamond for my wife, and a Wizard putter for extra fun
Cons: - While the layout is creative, the course may need more signs directing you to the next hole from the basket
- There were definitely quite a few people playing here on a Saturday and not all of them were okay with playing through/letting people play through
- Not closer to me :-P
Other Thoughts: This course brought me to a whole different level. Never have I been more aware that I need to work on my RHFH or RHBH anhyzer throws. I realize now that I have a lot of work to do to get better in tough situations. I hope to one day get the distance and control over my discs that this course necessitates for getting a respectful score. I really mean it, this course was gorgeous. The layout was intuitive at times, but creative at others, which is why playing new courses is exciting. The holes threw us off a bit and by the 9th hole we were completely immersed in disc golf lusciousness. One thing that helped me a lot (since we got there before an attendant was at the booth) was taking a picture of the course map before playing. We paid after our first 18 holes and took maps and stuff, then played the back 9. Then ate lunch, then played another 18. I wish we could have played the back 9 again, but we had to head back home :-(

I will definitely come back here, I will definitely combine playing this course with the other Metroparks in south/southeast Michigan the next time I get a weekend day completely wide open. How sweet would it be to play Hudson Mills, Black Locust, and then Stony Creek?!

This course was A quality and I'm very happy it seems to do rather well, so it won't be going anywhere anytime soon. It's not a 5/5 discs in my opinion, but it's very close.

Thanks for reading!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Black Locust

1    9/15/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 67  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Extremely tough, yet awesome and well made. An incredibly popular place, with 27 holes that test your game. Mix of wooded to open.
Cons: The crowds can make it difficult to golf, yet its such a prestigious course.
Other Thoughts: Incredibly well made, almost a perfect course, with great mixture of trees and placement shots.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Classic

5+    7/9/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: mrblonde314
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Has all the essentials (cement tees / garbage cans / benches etc)
- Two practice holes
- Two starting points (Hole 1 or Back 9)
- Love the Back 9
- Kept some of the classics
Cons: - Despite two starting points, course still gets VERY crowded. Don't even try to play on 4/20 lol
- Not enough RHBH holes (The guy who re-designed it throws predominately forehand)
-
Other Thoughts: While I am an advocate of DG and encourage everyone I know to try it I have to say I often find a unique type of people at this course which I could do without (Groups with 10+ people, people throwing before you're clear, lots of people littering / vandalizing). I know that's almost expected at any course but it's more so at Kensington, enough to make mention of it anyway. It has to be because of the sheer amount of traffic this course gets on a daily basis you're prone to get your fair share of people who disrespect the course. But the other 99% of people who play here are fantastic.

First course I ever played (well the original) so it will always be special to me.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Flat out Enjoyable

1    5/19/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +2 sets of tees
+27 holes
+Well groomed
+"Fair" Fairways
+Beautiful Environment
+Challenging without being too daunting
Cons: +seemed like it was fairly popular and thus could get crowded.
+tee signs could be much more informative, but they were in nice condition.
Other Thoughts: I loved playing this course. I ended up here after getting the snot beat out of me at Hudson Mills Monster and this course put a smile back on my face.

Certainly not the most challenging, but that by no means it was an easy layout, especially from the longs. What it did have in spades, I thought, were fun shots. Some real nice elevation changes, a variety of bends to the fairways. I especially enjoyed the long snaking fairways of the last 9 holes.

Well worth the visit and $.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 1st Time Back

1    10/4/2011   10/4/2011
Review By: dalenoel
Played: 148  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 23.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Like the Tunnel the tee pads are great. Pay to play seems to allow the course to be maintained better. Have always like the defined fairways, high rough and lack of trash. The course used only some of the old Tunnel holes but did change basket placement to improve the difficulty. Most holes are left to right but not so much to not be able to make most in par.

I did like the additional 9 due to the increased length. Next time it will be better knowing exactly the basket placement.

Use of the elevation changes made up for the lack of shot types needed.

Kiosk was closed probably due to the time of year.
Cons: There was not a great variety of shots beyond a slight anhyzer followed by moderate approach and a solid put.
Other Thoughts: Wish some of the old Tunnel holes had been kept. Seems like only from 5 through some of the alternates were kept.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/24/2011   7/29/2011
Review By: CKR-JK
Played: 58  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great mix of every shot in your bag.
Pay to play.
Maintaind well by the park.
Best tee pads I have ever played on (long and wide).
Cons: To many casuals who trash the course and break trees, litter, and are loud.
Other Thoughts: My home course.
Only on really nice days are casuals a problem, most are courtious.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent, A Lot of Fun

1    7/6/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: kw83028
Played: 36  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Use of land
Great Terrain changes
Tight shots & Open shots
27 Holes
HUGE teepads
Alternate teepads
Very clean
Port o Potties
Benches
Tee Signs
Garbage Cans
Nice score cards
Cons: Well over half of the holes play left to right. Other than that, I didn't really find anything to complain about.
Other Thoughts: Today was my first time playing Black Locust and I can easily say that it is the best course that I have played (10). This course offers excellent use of terrain. There are plenty of elevation changes. There was a great selection of open and tight holes. I was challenged plenty of times on the tighter holes.

It is also very nice that there are alternate tee pads for almost every hole. We played the long tees and that made for a nice long course. All 27 holes add up to just short of 10,000 feet!!

The only real negative that I found was that the majority of the holes play left to right and some seem a little repetitive. There were quite a few holes where you just flick a short forehand out 250-300, let it break to the right and post it. I think that the different terrain and different paths cut into the trees made up for it though.

I found myself using quite a few different shots to get around this course, but I can see where it might get very simplified the more that you play it.

Overall I loved it and will make plans to come down and play it as much as possible!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best.

5+    3/18/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: Jabanger
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Course maintained, combination of tight woods shots or wide open bombs. Technical, Chainstar Baskets.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and absolutely love it. With the hilly terrain and tight woods shots this course will force you into taking the right shot or you may pay dearly.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    7/10/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: STXCougar
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.7 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes, short and long. Pro tees offer the allowance of testing your arm strength and other holes test your technical ability
Cons: if you throw into the woods on some holes you may not find your disc
Other Thoughts: bug spray

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/19/2010   2/19/2010
Review By: cpjackson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great distance, great variety, great elevation (for SE Michigan anyway), blends old with new, very challenging. 27 Holes. 19-27 will bring your score back down to earth.
Cons: Can't really think of any, but if I had to pick something, it's the number of left to right holes. There are plenty of righty hyzer shots, too so it's not a huge problem. Maybe the rough can be unruly at times. I think that will get better with time.
Other Thoughts: Great new course. This plus the Toboggan, Independence Lake and Hudson Mills will make the Ann Arbor area a prime location for Worlds. You could even work Lakeshore in. Can't wait.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.