Milford, MI 
Kensington Black Locust DGC Share
Uploaded By: dalenoel Hole #27 (Taken 10/2011)
5 / 634ft.   5 / 507ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #27 Short Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Challeng worth your time

5+    6/13/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: Ghostrunner
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: This course will teach anyone how to be the best disc golf player you can be. It will test and challenge the best of the best but is still attainable by the new. The front 18 will allow the finesse player to shine while the back 9 allows the power to show through.

This is my home course and I wouldn't want any other course to be so.
Cons: The pros and also the cons. This course can be VERY frustrating. Other than Hudson Mills this course is one of the longest I have ever played, but the short holes are equally as challenging.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and everyone who is willing to travel should come play asap.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 more variety than the old Tunnnel course

1    6/13/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: discNDav
Played: 293  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.3 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I played the old Tunnel course in 2000 and liked it yet this new configuration provides much more of a challenge. Two sets of cement tee pads on most of the holes along with tee signs made it easy to navigate. Lots of variey such as open, wooded, up and down.

27 holes.

Lots of picnic tables near the tees act as benches.


Cons: Mostly lefty friendly, a lot of holes started out straight (as most do in Ann Arbor) but a majority of them ended up left to right.

Tall grass can make the course rather wet and mud can be found in places. After paying $5 to enter the park and $2 to play, I excepted better maintenance.

Other Thoughts: The last 9, 19-27 were longer and geared to the experienced player which I enjoyed, this is why I bumped my rating up to 3.5 as the first 18 is only a 3.


Drinking beer is allowed, simple rule per the
starter "no liqour".

This course gets crowded despite the pay to play, get there early!




5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/14/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *27 holes
*Excellent large, concrete teepads
*Located in huge park, set off in its own area, nice wooded setting
*Easy to navigate 1st time playing
Cons: *As noted in the other reviews, the course is biased to a lefty ... not a problem for me as I have a good forehand, but if you don't, you'll notice
*It seemed like every hole was blind. Not every hole, but like 20 of 27 .... why??
*Many unlegit fairways, especially from the long tees ... no reasonable flight path. I played shorts on a lot of the holes because the shot from the longs was ridiculous. Or maybe it was supposed to be a par 4 on those ... wouldn't know as par wasn't on the sign?
*Crowds - even midweek there were lots of big, slow playing groups .... the guy i was playing with said it gets completely jammed up on nice days
Other Thoughts: This course was fun to play, but definitely not as good as expected from reading the other reviews. I wouldn't go out of my way to play unless you are in the area, as i was.

Having 27 holes is nice, but it seemed like 1-18 were crammed in pitch n putt shots with repetitive holes. Heavy schule on both sides, you can't see the basket from the teepad on most holes, and there was a long stretch of holes in the middle that were all 240' ... in short, a bit boring. I enjoyed the back 9 more, but several of the holes had ridiculous lines from the long tees that really didn't follow a realistic flight path.

Also it gets really crowded. I went middle of the week on a cold, wet day and there were 40 cars in the lot.

Erosion issues everywhere from the heavy foot traffic ... i bet it gets muddy when it's raining.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    4/13/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: pickman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The biggest Pro - Kensington is almost in my backyard! Great for people who throw both fore-hand and back-hand, favors lefties and fore-hand in my opinion.
Cons: I miss the old course!
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course alot, I throw both fore and back hand, that's a HUGE benefit here, the extras are great!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/19/2010   2/19/2010
Review By: cpjackson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great distance, great variety, great elevation (for SE Michigan anyway), blends old with new, very challenging. 27 Holes. 19-27 will bring your score back down to earth.
Cons: Can't really think of any, but if I had to pick something, it's the number of left to right holes. There are plenty of righty hyzer shots, too so it's not a huge problem. Maybe the rough can be unruly at times. I think that will get better with time.
Other Thoughts: Great new course. This plus the Toboggan, Independence Lake and Hudson Mills will make the Ann Arbor area a prime location for Worlds. You could even work Lakeshore in. Can't wait.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/18/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: bpatton
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has an excellent up north feel. The view from the first tee pad (long) is incredible. Because of the location of this course within the park itself it has an isolated feeling. Nobody who is not playing frolf is gonna get in the way. This course is getting a reputation for being too hard for beginners which keeps the course moving right along.

The course is very clean, which is something to be said for a course in southeast michigan.

From the shorts, this course is very technical. Par is not hard to achieve if you can throw it 200 ft. and land in the fairway (at least for the first 18).

The extra nine offer a completely different experience than the first 18 (read much more difficult). It is like a completely different course. Even landing in the fairway is not a guarantee for par, because of the technical nature of the course. Sometimes it pays to lay up!

Makes excellent use of the land that I used to gaze out at before the course was 24 holes. Everything is easy to find, with the exception of hole 6. The pathway directly behind the basket is way more clearly defined than than the new pathway to the next basket. Maybe some shrubbery behind the basket would prevent any confusion.

From the long tees this course is probably the best I have played in Michigan. You don't have to be able to throw it 400+ in order to par every hole, though it helps. A solid 300 ft. drive, with accuracy, is all you need to have a chance at par on every hole. The longest holes don't play as long as they are due to elevated tees.

Cons: WAY too many rhbh anhyzer, or forehand shots for a righty. This is the most friendly course for a left handed thrower that I have ever played.

The short tees could stand to be a little tougher. Most of them are pretty short/easy. Would be comparable to the old Kensington course before it had cement tees, with the original pin positions, and only 18 holes.

Other Thoughts: In another year this course is going to be the best around. I imagine a slight adjustment of the pin positions, in order to compensate for the drastic lefty bias, and some thinning out of the rough due to more play making the course a little bit more forgiving to errant drives.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/19/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 36  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I thought this course was great. You have to utilize all sorts of throws. Almost every hole has two pads to throw from. Great pads, concrete, and very long. Score cards/maps,and pencils were available. Very easy to navigate through the course.
Cons: The only con I can really think of is that you have to pay to get in, but I think it was worth every penny. This course was very clean and well kept.
Other Thoughts: Saw lots of people, all of them friendly, and even had a group of guys help us look for one of our discs. I really enjoyed all the different ways the holes were set up, doglegs left and right, some straight, some with trees in play, some wide open, and many with changes in elevation. I thought the basket that was mounted on the stump was real cool too. I will play again anytime I have a chance.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Course

2-4    9/13/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: IamtheWandering1
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Challenging tee placement if your playing the pros
-Spreadout layout so your never really on top of other players
-Big enough where my dog can go nuts and run non stop
-Challenges to throw many anhyzers when most courses do the opposite
-Score Cards w/map
-Terain comes into play
-Technical Design
-Well maintained
-Enough Trash Cans
Cons: -Metro park staff are standoffish
-Mesquitos
-Toilets needed service
-Random Rocks in tall grass my friend completely ate it going for a disc
Other Thoughts: The pay to play thing kind of sucks because I am cheap person but it shows on the course that are like this one. Also it being so new makes it a joy to play and it is clean. I would recomend it, it is as good as Hudson Mills.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

27 Holes worth of Seriously Good Discing

5+    9/13/2009   9/13/2009
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 167  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2014
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Fairly complete course featuring elevation changes, short techinical holes, longer winding holes, and a couple of nice bomber holes that have you throwing from elevated tees. Course challenges all aspects of your game.
- Nice mix of flat and gradually sloping fairways, a few small valley-like dips and a couple of serious hills thrown in for good measure.
- Great shot variety: Excellent mix of L & R dog-legs, tunnel shots, and holes that really reward a good S-shot. The thick brush may favor a Tomahawk or Thumber, or other creative escape shot when drives stray from the fairway (and sooner or later on this 27 hole behemoth, they will). Several baskets are tucked away off the fairway and well guarded by trees. Up-shots that don't land in the sweet spot where basket comes off the fairway may require straddle or hyzer putts.
- Spacious dual concrete tee pads on most holes. Long and short play differently, even when the change in hole length is minimal.
- Fairways clearly defined and neatly mowed.
- Navigation may be a bit tough for first timers, but most paths are obvious.
- Decent tee signs with distance and crude (but effective) hole layout (same as Hudson Mills & Willow).
- Scorecards with maps, pencils.
- Course comes back to parking lot after holes 15 & 18 for abbreviated rounds.
- Party store across from north entrance (Milford Rd.) has a nice assortment of discs.
- Pay to play: If you saw how run down the previous course was, you'd understand. This course pays for itself and it's maintenance. The $2 fee keeps DG from being a cash drain on the park and filters most of the trouble that ruined the old course. Park presence helps to keep trouble from happening.
Cons: - Could use more variety in distances from the Am tees, and many of the Long tees are really nothing more than the same look with another 60 ft tacked on.
- Would benefit from rotating, alt pin placements.
- Elevation only a comes into play on
- Park entry fee for cars in addition to the fee to play disc golf (annual car pass is good at all the metroparks).
- I've heard park will charge pedestrians to enter the course because local kids say, "I'm just walking along with him," but play anyway
- Grass just off the fairway is extremely tall and thick, Shots just off the fairway can be tough to find.
- Rough is thick and hungry for discs (especially the last 9 holes). I recommend "safety in numbers" because of this. If you plan to play solo however, it's a busy course, and there's a very good chance you'll be able to hook up with a group of locals who will be happy to let you play in with them.
- Bugs can be a nuisance on last 9.
Other Thoughts: I delayed writing this review because I needed some time to let my bias for the old course fade, and wanted to judge this course on it's own merit (or lack thereof) after having played a few rounds here, and... I really like this place.

This course will expand your game. I throw mostly RHBH, playing here has helped me improve my FH shot, develop control on annie releases, and use understable discs to turnover then fade back to carry S-shaped fairways.

- Glass containers are not allowed, but dogs, beer and wine are.
-Many blind holes.
- They just put a few neat branch and rock lined paths between a few holes on the final 9 to make it easy to find the next hole.
- Basket for 18 is mounted on a large tree stump - looks cool.
- This is essentially Discraft's home course. It's only 10 miles from their building, and Jim Kenner and Discraft Pros heavily influenced its design. The first 18 are challenging, the last 9 were meant to be championship caliber.
- Course's hunger for discs has diminished; it has become a bit more forgiving now that it's "broken-in."

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cry-babies stay home...

2-4    9/6/2009   9/9/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 72  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great tee-pads and signs at every hole. Well defined fairways. Great baskets. Easy to follow from basket to next tee. The course is spread out very well, nullifying most waits. A wide variety of shots, short to long, open and closed fairways, hyzers and anhyzers galore. The maintenance is immaculate. Utilizes the terrain and the scenery very well. Lots of hills and valleys.
Cons: No water holes. The signs at the tee-boxes could be a little more helpful. Better than nothing, I suppose. Very easy to lose a disc in the rough bushes and high grass. Still has a lot of casuals roaming around. That should change due to the challenge of playing here. It needs tissue paper at the tee boxes due to the constant crying of some players.
Other Thoughts: They really did a great job with this course. The changes to the old holes, while minimal, sets the bar high for the rest of the course. Lots of variety and plenty of what makes a golf course great- a challenge for all. Both pro's and am's will find this place very demanding and will want to play more than one round just to try and conquer this place.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.