Milford, MI 
Kensington Black Locust DGC Share
Uploaded By: dalenoel Hole #15 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 314ft.   3 / 314ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee: Tight start that opens to a basket on right



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Kensington

5+    9/21/2010   9/22/2010
Review By: bartman0118
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2010
0 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: This is the best course ever made! (in michigan) it is a lot of fun. i go almost everyday
Cons: the entry fee is the worst part even though its not much at all
Other Thoughts: i love this course more then any other course ive ever been to

0 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best.

5+    3/18/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: Jabanger
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Course maintained, combination of tight woods shots or wide open bombs. Technical, Chainstar Baskets.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and absolutely love it. With the hilly terrain and tight woods shots this course will force you into taking the right shot or you may pay dearly.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    7/10/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: STXCougar
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes, short and long. Pro tees offer the allowance of testing your arm strength and other holes test your technical ability
Cons: if you throw into the woods on some holes you may not find your disc
Other Thoughts: bug spray

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Challeng worth your time

5+    6/13/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: Ghostrunner
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: This course will teach anyone how to be the best disc golf player you can be. It will test and challenge the best of the best but is still attainable by the new. The front 18 will allow the finesse player to shine while the back 9 allows the power to show through.

This is my home course and I wouldn't want any other course to be so.
Cons: The pros and also the cons. This course can be VERY frustrating. Other than Hudson Mills this course is one of the longest I have ever played, but the short holes are equally as challenging.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and everyone who is willing to travel should come play asap.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 more variety than the old Tunnnel course

1    6/13/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: discNDav
Played: 332  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 30.2 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I played the old Tunnel course in 2000 and liked it yet this new configuration provides much more of a challenge. Two sets of cement tee pads on most of the holes along with tee signs made it easy to navigate. Lots of variey such as open, wooded, up and down.

27 holes.

Lots of picnic tables near the tees act as benches.


Cons: Mostly lefty friendly, a lot of holes started out straight (as most do in Ann Arbor) but a majority of them ended up left to right.

Tall grass can make the course rather wet and mud can be found in places. After paying $5 to enter the park and $2 to play, I excepted better maintenance.

Other Thoughts: The last 9, 19-27 were longer and geared to the experienced player which I enjoyed, this is why I bumped my rating up to 3.5 as the first 18 is only a 3.


Drinking beer is allowed, simple rule per the
starter "no liqour".

This course gets crowded despite the pay to play, get there early!




5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/14/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 97  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 18.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *27 holes
*Excellent large, concrete teepads
*Located in huge park, set off in its own area, nice wooded setting
*Easy to navigate 1st time playing
Cons: *As noted in the other reviews, the course is biased to a lefty ... not a problem for me as I have a good forehand, but if you don't, you'll notice
*It seemed like every hole was blind. Not every hole, but like 20 of 27 .... why??
*Many unlegit fairways, especially from the long tees ... no reasonable flight path. I played shorts on a lot of the holes because the shot from the longs was ridiculous. Or maybe it was supposed to be a par 4 on those ... wouldn't know as par wasn't on the sign?
*Crowds - even midweek there were lots of big, slow playing groups .... the guy i was playing with said it gets completely jammed up on nice days
Other Thoughts: This course was fun to play, but definitely not as good as expected from reading the other reviews. I wouldn't go out of my way to play unless you are in the area, as i was.

Having 27 holes is nice, but it seemed like 1-18 were crammed in pitch n putt shots with repetitive holes. Heavy schule on both sides, you can't see the basket from the teepad on most holes, and there was a long stretch of holes in the middle that were all 240' ... in short, a bit boring. I enjoyed the back 9 more, but several of the holes had ridiculous lines from the long tees that really didn't follow a realistic flight path.

Also it gets really crowded. I went middle of the week on a cold, wet day and there were 40 cars in the lot.

Erosion issues everywhere from the heavy foot traffic ... i bet it gets muddy when it's raining.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    4/13/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: pickman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 22.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The biggest Pro - Kensington is almost in my backyard! Great for people who throw both fore-hand and back-hand, favors lefties and fore-hand in my opinion.
Cons: I miss the old course!
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course alot, I throw both fore and back hand, that's a HUGE benefit here, the extras are great!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/19/2010   2/19/2010
Review By: cpjackson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great distance, great variety, great elevation (for SE Michigan anyway), blends old with new, very challenging. 27 Holes. 19-27 will bring your score back down to earth.
Cons: Can't really think of any, but if I had to pick something, it's the number of left to right holes. There are plenty of righty hyzer shots, too so it's not a huge problem. Maybe the rough can be unruly at times. I think that will get better with time.
Other Thoughts: Great new course. This plus the Toboggan, Independence Lake and Hudson Mills will make the Ann Arbor area a prime location for Worlds. You could even work Lakeshore in. Can't wait.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/18/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: bpatton
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has an excellent up north feel. The view from the first tee pad (long) is incredible. Because of the location of this course within the park itself it has an isolated feeling. Nobody who is not playing frolf is gonna get in the way. This course is getting a reputation for being too hard for beginners which keeps the course moving right along.

The course is very clean, which is something to be said for a course in southeast michigan.

From the shorts, this course is very technical. Par is not hard to achieve if you can throw it 200 ft. and land in the fairway (at least for the first 18).

The extra nine offer a completely different experience than the first 18 (read much more difficult). It is like a completely different course. Even landing in the fairway is not a guarantee for par, because of the technical nature of the course. Sometimes it pays to lay up!

Makes excellent use of the land that I used to gaze out at before the course was 24 holes. Everything is easy to find, with the exception of hole 6. The pathway directly behind the basket is way more clearly defined than than the new pathway to the next basket. Maybe some shrubbery behind the basket would prevent any confusion.

From the long tees this course is probably the best I have played in Michigan. You don't have to be able to throw it 400+ in order to par every hole, though it helps. A solid 300 ft. drive, with accuracy, is all you need to have a chance at par on every hole. The longest holes don't play as long as they are due to elevated tees.

Cons: WAY too many rhbh anhyzer, or forehand shots for a righty. This is the most friendly course for a left handed thrower that I have ever played.

The short tees could stand to be a little tougher. Most of them are pretty short/easy. Would be comparable to the old Kensington course before it had cement tees, with the original pin positions, and only 18 holes.

Other Thoughts: In another year this course is going to be the best around. I imagine a slight adjustment of the pin positions, in order to compensate for the drastic lefty bias, and some thinning out of the rough due to more play making the course a little bit more forgiving to errant drives.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/19/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 40  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2010
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I thought this course was great. You have to utilize all sorts of throws. Almost every hole has two pads to throw from. Great pads, concrete, and very long. Score cards/maps,and pencils were available. Very easy to navigate through the course.
Cons: The only con I can really think of is that you have to pay to get in, but I think it was worth every penny. This course was very clean and well kept.
Other Thoughts: Saw lots of people, all of them friendly, and even had a group of guys help us look for one of our discs. I really enjoyed all the different ways the holes were set up, doglegs left and right, some straight, some with trees in play, some wide open, and many with changes in elevation. I thought the basket that was mounted on the stump was real cool too. I will play again anytime I have a chance.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.