Milford, MI
Kensington Black Locust DGC Share
Uploaded By: dalenoel Hole #10 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 330ft.   3 / 244ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Short Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 It Keeps Going And Going

1    6/9/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: These were by far the best tee pads that I have ever played on period. So nice and big. The course is 27 holes of fun with a good mix of open and tight holes. The design makes good use of the natural setting without being overly ambitious with its land use. The tee signs were very nice and it was super cool to see that there were shorter tee pads on all the holes that needed a shorter tee pad and on many other holes. The shorter pads make it more fun for better players to play with more novice players. The course gets no outside traffic and has the feel of a country club. The course is well maintained, though one would expect that with having to pay to play. It is nice that the layout basically has an 18 hole course and a 9 hole course for those who may just want to get in a quick nine holes. There are really nice score cards at the booth. The par listed on the cards is very accurate as to what one might expect to shoot. This course was not out of reason for a beginning player.
Cons: There does feel like some repeatative holes. How many times can you throw that slight left to right shot through a tight tunnel? It is a pay to play course which is always a negative if you ask me. The tee signs though very nice did not always give you a good representation of how much each hole bends. Traffic at this course has to be bad, as it was very busy in the middle of the afternoon on a Thursday when I played. The bugs on this course are really bad. Literally put on the bug spray and two holes later had to put it on again. The back 9 or last 9 are the worst for bugs by far. If you are playing in the off season you technically have to go somewhere else in the park to pay before you play.
Other Thoughts: This was a really fun course to play. I happened to like most of the longer holes on this course and was only frustrated a couple of times with the tight holes. Still the tight holes were fair. This is one of those courses that you will definately want to play though there are a few things that detract from it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good course!

1    6/5/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: rortopan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Well maintained
-Long concrete pads
-Easy to Navigate
-lots of variation in hole design
-Lots of benches for resting while waiting
Cons: -High grass and thick woods off the fairway, easy to lose a disc
-Lots of blind holes, partially good and partially bad
-Pay to play... but its worth it.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 car wouldent start!

5+    7/2/2006   4/19/2011
Review By: intimadator
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: huge course, they open up an extra 9 holes at peak season, lot of tournaments-great course for right or left handed peeps, pretty nice hole lay-out
Cons: lots of trees, tall grass, lost discs often, but dont let that get u down it pays off u find a lot of discs too!
Other Thoughts: try to concentrate!

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Side arm or lefty course

1    6/11/2010   4/4/2011
Review By: The Doctor
Played: 61  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2011
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Nice landscaping and park maintained. Also helped me work on my anhyzer for 24 holes. Playing from the pro tees that is. The short tees make it an easy course.
Cons: There was not enough variety on the course. All tournaments at kensington should be on Tobaggon.
Other Thoughts: went there to play tobaggon but the am nationals were going on. tobaggon looks sick.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad... For a lefty

5+    3/13/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: ViolaBouquet
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Nice length.
Nice variety of open, and wooded shots
Cons: I like a course that has a variety of shots going right, left, and center.. (6 of each to mike a nice 18 holes) but this course just goes insane with putting baskets on the right. Most of the holes that could be straight shots have the baskets along the right side of the fairway too. It was designed by someone who threw forehand, and it shows.
Other Thoughts: The course is not bad, but instead of challenging me to throw many different shots, I just found myself working on my anny shots.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Still missing Tunnel

5+    12/4/2010   12/10/2010
Review By: dagwood112
Played: 72  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really solid hardware. The concrete pads are all in good shape and large. The baskets are adequate and above. The signage could be better in terms of hole diagrams. But, the important information is made clear in aesthetically pleasing fashion. Sadly, vandals' penises adorn some of them.

The course is well-maintained and fairly free of trash, but not immaculate. Bottles and cans are occasionally present to trick your eye while looking for plastic. They do a nice job of keeping the pads clean.

The course makes good use of a mix of holes from the old Tunnel course and newly built holes. Navigation is primarily smooth (excepting the Black Locust cherries who without fail head towards the wasteland/dirtpile/old Tunnel teepad after #5). The course flows well and has numerous spots to take a sit at a picnic table and rest. Many of these spots offer some welcome seclusion.

The holes are varied in both distance and shot requirements. Pro and Am teepads on many holes add more variety. The first 18 doesn't have any huge holes, but there are a couple opportunities to let fly. And, the pros add some length. The first 18 does a better job with wooded finesse shots and ace runs, which are plenty. The all-new 19-27 (the back) add substantial length, especially from the pros. The back offers more isolation as well. The holes are interesting and challenging, and include wooded finesse and open power shots.

Black Locust is in a strong facility. There are port-a-cans onsite at the course. Running water can be found across the street at the beach complex and also at a blockhouse of bathrooms near the ballfields. I think the beach complex has a snack bar that is open seasonally. I've never eaten there.

Holden's near the Milford Rd. park entrance is the joint for discs and provisions.

The course is pay to play.
Cons: Although the back adds some length to the course, there is a shortage of holes that permit a power shot.

Most of the greens are fairly pedestrian. Other than #27, none of them really punish aggressive misses at the pin.

If you don't have a shot that can reliably handle left to right lines this course could get frustrating. Some complain that the new course favors lefties and rhfh too much.

Peak summer hours can be dreadful for crowds. Large groups of people tend to proliferate, each possessing only the thinnest connection to this concept 'disc golf.' The advent of pay to play has whacked some of these fools, but not all.

It's not free.

There are no water hazards.

Course lacks a signature hole.
Other Thoughts: Kensington is my home course and I have deep affection for the entire park. It's beautiful in all seasons.

I was bummed when they moved the course and I still miss a couple of the old holes. I believe that in the moving process Kensington lost its signature hole, #14.

Despite this loss, the new design and new holes come together to produce a very strong course. If I included in this review the amount of fun I've had at Kensington, it would have been a 4.5.

As for the crowds, timing is everything. Early = good.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Kensington

5+    9/21/2010   9/22/2010
Review By: bartman0118
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2010
0 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: This is the best course ever made! (in michigan) it is a lot of fun. i go almost everyday
Cons: the entry fee is the worst part even though its not much at all
Other Thoughts: i love this course more then any other course ive ever been to

0 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best.

5+    3/18/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: Jabanger
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Course maintained, combination of tight woods shots or wide open bombs. Technical, Chainstar Baskets.
Cons: None that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and absolutely love it. With the hilly terrain and tight woods shots this course will force you into taking the right shot or you may pay dearly.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    7/10/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: STXCougar
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes, short and long. Pro tees offer the allowance of testing your arm strength and other holes test your technical ability
Cons: if you throw into the woods on some holes you may not find your disc
Other Thoughts: bug spray

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Challeng worth your time

5+    6/13/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: Ghostrunner
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: This course will teach anyone how to be the best disc golf player you can be. It will test and challenge the best of the best but is still attainable by the new. The front 18 will allow the finesse player to shine while the back 9 allows the power to show through.

This is my home course and I wouldn't want any other course to be so.
Cons: The pros and also the cons. This course can be VERY frustrating. Other than Hudson Mills this course is one of the longest I have ever played, but the short holes are equally as challenging.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and everyone who is willing to travel should come play asap.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.