Salt Lake City, UT 
Fairmont Park Share
Uploaded By: Bassman76jazz Hole #11 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 341ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Ghetto Course

1    3/17/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 56  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays through a pretty busy park that has a lot of other uses aside from the course. I played it on a Sunday evening and me and my group had the course to ourselves as far as golfers were concerned.

The majority of the poles are pretty well marked with the exception of 2-3 (Hole 3 comes to mind since it's a wood pole and the tape doesn't stick to it). The map is pretty accurate and we didn't have too difficult a time navigating it.

One pro is that they are poles which can be harder to hit, especially between the tape markers. It could help with narrowing your shots a bit.
Cons: I am pretty hard on supposed disc golf courses that don't have baskets. This is a city park with so many other things going on that the disc golf course is really an afterthought.

Even on a Sunday evening with very few people in the park we still had major issues with people getting in the way.

Although the map is pretty good, with all the poles it's really hard to determine what one is the one you should be shooting at. Some poles are even marked and aren't played according to the map. Then again the map only has 18 holes but the course supposedly has 24.
Other Thoughts: Someone went to great lengths to mark the poles with directions to the next pole on many of them and even distances. It's unfortunate that it is kind of a waste in my opinion.

The park is way too busy to play the course any normal time, and since it's an object course it's hardly worth playing anyway.

I think a rating of 2 is pretty generous and I only give it that because the poles are marked really good for such a course, otherwise it would be a complete waste.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Takes dedication.

1    9/30/2012   3/3/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a busy city park that has a ton of other activities going on. Pavilions, skatepark, walking paths, dog walkers, soccer fields, it is a free for all. Coming here during peak park hours would be a silly idea, interference galore.
- There are trees in this park. So, at the very least, it isn't wide open shots from start to finish.
Cons: - No pads. No baskets. No signs. Minimal markings. If you take the effort to try and figure out where you are supposed to throw from and throw to, more power to you. Perhaps if I was a local and would play the course often, I would take the time to mark the poles better. There are so many poles it is hard to discern which one is which according to the map.
Other Thoughts: - Wow this was frustrating! Even if you manage to identify the correct pole to tee off from, figure out which pole you are trying to hit, and then figure out which way the next pole is, the golf isn't that great. I am usually very open minded about all disc golf courses, no matter how funky, but this takes the cake.
- When I was there in 09/2012, on top of everything else, there was construction going on so chain-link fences were everywhere, chopping the course into sections. Salt in the wounds.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  farmont park

2-4    5/17/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: Bassman76jazz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: longer than other cources in the area, quiet and no other players.
Cons: some holes and tees poorly marked, the taped of wood light poles have no markings and the poles that are marked are faded or taged over.
Other Thoughts: best played on weakday mornings (i have not seen any other players there yet so its good for beginers like me)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Right in the middle of SLC

5+    7/3/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: welshjohn74
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 19.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *A nice alternative to the nearby courses.
*Never crowded when I play. I can roll right through in the mornings with a lovely cup of coffee.
Cons: *Sometimes of the day make the course unplayable due to the traffic it receives (esp. soccer games) so hitting someone is a certainty at these times.
*No baskets - tone poles, which I don't think is a con, but people are finicky.
Other Thoughts: I have played a few tone pole courses and I enjoy them. These are the biggest tone poles - taped off light poles. The third pin is not clearly marked: it's right by a picnic pavilion so its impossible to hit without nailing someone. I always throw to the 16th as an alternative. Holes 9 and 16 are nice challenging shots. Morning is the best time of day to play this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.