Mt. Pleasant, MI
Deerfield Park - Original Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #2 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Top notch course

2-4    9/1/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 sets of concrete tees. These tees are frequently set up to require totally different shots, as opposed to similar shots from different lengths.

Starting with a short first hole that plays over 30' uphill, there are tons of elevation changes on the first part of the course.

GREAT mix of tight wooded and reasonably open shots.

Beautiful scenery and a nice walk.

There are a couple nice areas to sit down and have a drink or a cigarette, as well as a pump to fill up water bottles about halfway through the course.

The parking lot is usually at least half full, but I've never felt rushed, or held up by other players on either course.
Cons: Concrete tees are shorter than I'd prefer. Some don't have room for an additional runup from behind the concrete, which throws off my timing somewhat.

Poison Ivy is present, but not overwhelming.

Wildwood course weaves through original Deerfield, and I've talked to people who've gotten confused.
Other Thoughts: The original Deerfield course is a well established, nicely laid out course. As I mentioned in my Cons, Wildwood weaves through Deerfield in a couple places. The Wildwood course has "Wildwood" engraved in it's tees which are longer than Deerfield, and plays to DGA baskets instead of Innova baskets. So mixups should be few and far between. There are several unique pin positions that force you to play over a hill to reach the pin. These are all well marked with flags on top of the pin. Deerfield has a few longer holes, but for the most part they'll run from 250' to 400' and be fairly tight so bring your precision game and enjoy. If you're passing through the area you need to try both Deerfield and Wildwood. If you live in the area and haven't played these courses, why the heck not? Get out there! :~D

Edit 2/16/14: After playing here last summer this was the course I found myself comparing all others to, and as winter has dragged on, this is the course I find myself most looking forward to of getting back out on. It may not have all the elements to make it a 5 star course, but it's definitely the most all around enjoyable course I've played to date.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Gem of a course

1    7/4/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 149  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/30/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quality course with plenty of eye appeal in a nice, clean, well maintained park. Course is located in a section of the park that seems dedicated to disc golf... for the most part.
• Dual concrete tees provide significantly different looks rather than just longer/shorter versions of the same hole
• Good shot variety with a nice mix of fairway shapes and distances. Mostly well wooded with a few open shots. Well-conceived water carry on 14 may not be all that far, but wind can definitely be a factor. Course offers quite a few risk/reward opportunities.
• Elevation: course is draped over rolling terrain. Most holes feature significant changes from tee to basket. Absent any truly monster hills or drops, elevation is an ever-present factor on the first 11 holes or so. Course flattens out a bit toward the end.
• Flags and such employed to help locate the pin on holes where elevation obscures the basket.
• Innova Disctatchers distinguish the original Deerfield holes from the Wildwood course (which overlaps much of the same section of the park). They're easy to find in the woods and help eliminate confusion as to which basket to play to.
• Mostly a technical course, but not quite to the extent of Wildwood. While there are plenty of tight fairways requiring finesse, Deerfield features a few long holes that are relatively (but far from completely) open, allowing you to air it out a bit. Other holes feel a bit more open off the tee, but have well-guarded pins or well-placed trees to keep you honest, but there's no shortage of holes where tree love will come in handy.
• Good signage: color coded tee markers (yellow for longs, red for shorts) provide hole #, distance and par. Abundant use of "Next Tee" signs keep you moving in the right direction. First course I've ever played with signage cautioning you to watch for Poison Ivy.
• Interesting use of timbers, rocks and other materials to intelligently combat soil erosion to keep course looking/playing better for longer.
• Nice benches located all along the course - present on many (if not most) holes.
• Sections of the course provide nice stretches of shade on hot summer days.
• Another quality course on site - more "ching" for your park admission buck.
• Vault toilets located just after tee off on 18, near parking - no running water but it's there should you need to card a deuce.
Cons: • Shares much of the same land as the Wildwood course, with several tees for both courses located near each other. Bound to be confusing for visitors, but a lot of thought went into avoiding what could have been a complete navigation nightmare. See other thoughts for more on this.
• Some relatively long walks connecting a few holes. Not really all that bad, but most are fairly short, so the longer ones tend to stick out. Walked over to a few of Wildwood's tees only to realize I wasn't where I wanted to be.
• Hole 2 plays near a volleyball pit - could definitely be a problem if it's being used.
• Not saying tee markes need a overhead map, but a directional arrow would be nice on blind holes.
• Poison Ivy's always a con (even when they put up signs to warn you of it).
Other Thoughts: Much of Wildwood weaves in and around holes from Deerfield's original course. This has the potential to be a directional dilemma, however, they've done quite a lot to help make the best of this situation:
•Map (available when you pay to enter the park) clearly shows layout of both courses (green for Deefield/Original, brown for Wildwood), so you can see the relative positions of each set of tees at the same time.
• If the front of the tee says "Wildwood" then it's the wrong tee.
• Different color tee markers for the two courses.
• Different basket types (Chainstar/Innova) help establish whether you're playing the hole as intended.

Deerfield Original really is a gem of a course and accommodating to players of all skill levels. Nice setting to play quiet, peaceful round. While both courses are great in their own right, I think Deerfield Original is better balanced in terms of overall shot variety and fairway type, hence I think it earns a 4 disc rating.

$6 a day /car is a bit steep for a single person playing one round, but pretty reasonable for two 18 hole courses. It's a downright bargain if you have some people in the car with you - several parks I've visited charge more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/30/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 195  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic- Beautiful park. Multi-use park but most of the area where disc golf is, it's exclusive. In some areas some sand volleyball courses are in play.

Teepads- Dual pads per hole (except #1?) offering unique looks at each basket. there are some places where the shorts are way more forgiving than the longs and vice versa

Routing-- super easy, no map required. enough "next tee" signs to choke a clown ( please choke a clown! they're creepy!!) Paths are nicely worn in the event of signs missing but there are many many access roads that cris-cross this property that could make it extremely trick to navigate here... there are a few baskets that could use maps to know where to throw (#2 comes to mind)

Baskets-- Innova baskets, nicely visible in the woods with flags where it could be tricky.

Teesigns-- nicely present on all holes but no maps. could use maps in a lot of places where the throw is blind.
Cons:
Risk v Reward- there is risk v reward here but it's mainly in the form of thick thick shule truly punishing errant throws. Keep track of where you're throwing or pay the price!!

Rough-- VERY VERY thick and punishing.

Variety-- someone compared this course to flip city. I have to laugh as these courses are NOTHING alike. I would agree however that this course is very reminiscent of Branstrom in Fremont (Bill designed as well). I do question some of the lengths on the teesigns as being inaccurate though. I would strongly prefer there to be more open holes like #5.

Other Thoughts:
Got a chance to look at the "wildwood" course which intertwines with the original course. I kind of find it odd that the courses are concurrant rather than separate but time will tell. the course looks pretty sweet. the pads are in and the fairways are roughed in but no baskets are in.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Brings a tear to Bilbo Baggins' eye

2-4    1/6/2012   9/26/2012
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
This review was updated on 1/9/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Accuracy is more important than distance, however both are needed on many holes; likely challenges every skill level
+ Creative design on many holes keeps your attention throughout; no holes are "duds"
+ Booming with natural growth: very tall trees, aged natural/planted forests, green grass
+ Some elevation changes also add an element of difficulty
+ Lots of "tunnels" (more like alleys)
+ All good teepads; all distances marked, even from AM tees
+ Not busy on a Sunday morning
+ Cared for/maintained
+ No attendant to take our moneys :)
+ Ample parking
+ No ghosts
+ Innova baskets are easy to see, though block high shots, whatevs
Cons: - Poisonous plant-life (clearly marked, but dangerous and scary)
- Buddy lost his brand new Teebird on hole 14 :-/, but still a great hole!
- Am tees seem to take a lot of the challenge out of the course
- No hole diagrams
- No directional signs (might be confusing for first-timers without a guide; I had help)
- Hole 2 volleyball
Other Thoughts: **UPDATE**: Played here in the snow on a Sunday around noon. Wow, this is such a great course. Great shape and playable in winter. Locals were friendly including the sledders who got out of our way so we could drive on hole #5. I'm very excited for the second 18 hole course!

This is a most-memorable course for many reasons. I believe a lot of disc golf's appeal comes from the natural beauty and I believe the designers of this course preserved the forest's aged beauty. It was magical wandering through the trees listening to the dew drop from their leaves. The morning sun shown through the trees in the middle of the course in ways only a master wizard could craft. The muggles have done a good job of keeping this course on form.

Insider tip: Check dgscene.com's Talk pages for this course and the local clubs for possible events going on here. We didn't go one weekend because of Civil War reenactments because we saw the Doubles league had re-located one day. I also read that they have league course clean-up days. Very, very cool.

Keep up the good work Deerfield!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Falls just short of the 4.5 disc rating.

1    7/21/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Hole #, Par, and Distance on the signs. This helps in navigation and shot selection. There is no diagram which is always a negative, but most of the holes are visible anyways and I think single basket placements.
2) Excellent effort on the directionals to help guide you around the course. There sometimes were multiple signs directing you to the next tee and there even was a sign pointing you to #1. This effort is appreciated by the travelling disc golfer.
3) Nice Innova Discatchers help with visibility in the woods. I think these are the best baskets for wooded courses because of the yellow band.
4) Very unique idea for a bunker on Hole #2. There is a raised mound, then behind that mound about 6-8' is the basket which is actually a depressed area and then on the other side of the basket is also another raised mound. Effectively you want to get your disc in between the mounds for a drop in putt. The top of the basket is not visible from the approach, but they do have a flagpole above the basket to help with location. It is a little different and some may call it gimmicky . . . but I think it shows creativity and changes up the norm a bit.
5) Although the park has poison ivy in spots . . . they also have signs indicating the locations where the poison ivy is. I think it is extremely important to make the public aware of trouble areas like this . . . although I hope they are working to eradicate the PI too.
6) The variety on this course from tight wooded, to moderately wooded park like holes and even a couple pretty open ripper holes. It is always appreciated when a disc golf course throws just about everything at you, and it is rare to find a course that has everything. This course even has the tough to find water.
7) Dual concrete tees allow for all levels of play. Beginners may struggle but it is a playable course for beginners to see what disc golf can be like in terms of challenge.
8) It's always a positive when I get a hole to throw a roller on . . . #18 and it curled back and actually did a complete 360 around the pole for a drop in deuce. Not every course has the hole for a roller, but this one actually had 2 holes.
9) The long tees really give this course more variety in the distance department, but because we had a long weekend of disc golf we decided to play the shorts. The variety was not tremendous in terms of distance because they were all virtually 1 shot holes, but they went from putter shot to mid-range to a handful of drivers. That is enough variety for me even though the distance isn't huge.
10) Moderate elevation changes on some holes. It isn't anything too extreme, but enough to alter your shots. It sure is fun to throw down the big hills.
11) You need to be able to throw all your shots here. There is a nice variety of discs needed and you need to be able to work the disc in both directions. Couple that with the fact that holes are uphill and downhill it is a true test of your shot making ability.
12) The park is a $6 cost for the day or a seasonal pass is available. This certainly seems to keep the riff-raff out. Fortunately no one was in the booth so we pulled in, I put $6 under my windshield wiper and a note saying no one was at the booth. Lucky for me, no one came to check for the permit and I got my $6 back, but I would say it is worth it if you have a couple people playing. Alone $6 might be kindof steep considering Flip City charges only $1 per round per person.
Cons: 1) Tee-signs are missing the diagram which I always find helpful. Sometimes it just shows you what the intended routes are, now you just have to figure them out.
2) Volleyball court is right in the middle of the #2 fairway. It could be dangerous if someone was using that area. Other than that the course is pretty solitary but this point is an issue.
3) Poison Ivy in spots . . . I know it has signage but I sure hope they are trying to eradicate it.
4) Dangerous in a few spots because of tees close to fairways or greens. These are things that need to be avoided in good design. While the spots aren't the worst I have seen, they still are worth noting.
5) The rough areas can be gnarly in spots. There is some underbrush in spots that really puts a premium on being in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This course was pretty special. It had a little of everything and it was fun at the same time. It was very scenic and beautiful and it was completely isolated from other activities (except volleyball on #2). I thoroughly enjoyed the course and am really happy we made sure to include this course in our plans. It is what I would consider a gem in the middle of the state, so if you find yourself nearby be sure to stop. I would drive a while to play this course though too, and the options of the long or the short tee makes it all the more enjoyable. I would love to come back and play the long tees, I looked at them and it looked like it would be a real challenge.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Deerfield Park: A Thrill a Minute

5+    6/19/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: acton1js
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gotta say, this is a very refreshing break from CMU's sub-par putt-putt course. Every hole presents a unique tee shot, challenging you from tee to green. It will keep you honest, but at the same time reward well executed shots. The scenery is gorgeous; Michigan woodlands are some of the more beautiful in the country. The pay-to-park keeps some of the "trash" out and the experience more enjoyable for everybody. Number 5 is the holy grail in my opinion, nothing but 500' of grip and rip, right down a sledding hill. If you live in Mt. Pleasant, you would be a fool to not come play this gem.
Cons: Definitely bring your deep woods bug spray.

Also, be weary of poison ivy, although the more dense areas are marked off.

Pretty long shot over water on hole 14, no shame in playing the shorter tee there.
Other Thoughts: If you play after 7 during the longer summer days, you will not have to pay at the gate, although an annual pass will pay for it self really fast if you play there frequently.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Worth the 1 hour 40minute drive!

2-4    6/3/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: thesamiam
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I wont bother to give a long winded review because a couple of other reviews on here pretty much cover what could be said. Especially helpful (IMHO) were BUCKETBONANZA with the great hole by hole description ( Ahhhh... I felt like I was still there)and SEANBLITZ25 with a nice addendum.

All that I can add is that we do an every other week travel to a course to play a new/favorite course in the area. After driving 1hour and 40 minutes to play this course, it will be added to the rotation as a new favorite. All of the tee pads are cement now and with the great variety of holes it truly was a great course and lots of fun to play. I agree with bucketbonanza that #13 is a bit ridiculous to play as a par 3. I think that is our own fault (as Michiganders) we always tend to want (at our own confidence losing peril) to play EVERYTHING as a par 3. I played some disc golf down South for a summer and they play the (actual) pars called out on the courses. Hole #13 IS actually called out as a par 4- 500 ft for the yellow (long tee)on the sign so....

Aside from that course was not very busy which made for smooth flow and traffic that was faster played through larger groups and was out of the way quickly.
Cons: The only thing I could maybe go with for a con was that the tee pads were quite slippery from being sandy and there weren't any brooms for sweeping. We just used our towels to "dust off" the pads when needed.
Other Thoughts: To the disc golfers that like fun and challenging courses:

If you're in the area go play it.

To the fellow "travelers":

Go play it, its worth the travel time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

2-4    5/7/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: ZdybelT
Played: 53  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -elevation change is great.
-variety of holes.
-great distance shot.
-use of land and water was good.
-Not repetitive and different from other course.
Cons: -poison ivy right near the hole.
-pay to play.
Other Thoughts: It was a great course to play on. Nice for a wooded scenary with different elevation changes. Also if you go on a bad looking day you probably wont have to pay to get in.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

awesome course

1    5/6/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this is an awesome course, every tee pad is up to date, trash cans on every hole, very easy to follow, had signs on where to go to the hole, great signage of distance, every hole was great. Hole 1 is on top of hill, was out of breath though, but was very good exercise. Baskets were innova. water shots were awesome, u have to have a long throw on some of the holes, but it is great to have holes like that. Bathrooms throughout the course.
Cons: wow I just cant say anything bad, I guess the $6.00 fee would be my only con, we didnt have to pay bc no one was there to collect, but when we were leaving there was
Other Thoughts: will be back when they have the other 18 holes up.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Spend the time and drive the extra distance...

1    5/29/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: Jeffro Skull
Played: 103  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a great technical course with a couple of long open holes to stretch the arm.
Park ran course but primarily a DG exclusive course.
Cons: A few blind shots, so if you play solo keep an eye
Other Thoughts: Great park & rec site, so bring the family and make a day of it.
Go ahead and knock me for the "piss-poor" review, but I like to keep is short and simple! ;)

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.