Mt. Pleasant, MI 
Deerfield Park - Original Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #9 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 268ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Approach



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    4/23/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: Gyro
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of shots; distance, elevation, water hazards, and technical shots. Fun to play through twice using both sets of tee pads. Beautiful park to have a course in.
Cons: Tee pads and $6 fee. A couple spots have a lot of poison ivy, but at least there are warning signs.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Have all of your discs

5+    1/15/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: ViolaBouquet
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great all around course. Every hole has two cement tee pads, and will test every one of your shots. What is great about the alternate tee pads are that instead of just moving you closer, many times it completely changes the direction of your hole. You can easily play 18 long, and 18 short for a great day of 36 completely different holes
Cons: Nothing now that the cement tee pads are in!
Other Thoughts: This is a must play if you are in the mid-michigan area

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Sleep On Deerfield Park

1    7/26/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 12.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Deerfield Park offers some great play and diverse terrain. Elevation changes abound and variety is abundant. Players have plentiful opportunities to exercise their shot making abilities as pin placements are well varied throughout. The course also makes use of a "true" water hazard in that a body of water must be traversed in order to make the simplest approach to a basket. Navigation is easy and directional cues are widely visible throughout as well as distance and directional signage at each tee. Two perfectly poured tee pads are present for each hole offering long or short starts to each hole. The course is well kept and clean, yet still offers a rustic wild feel that sets a great tone. Distances run between 190 feet and 515 feet with varying difficulty which allows most players to play within a comfortable zone without having to manage huge distances to make par. This course is a great walk and a great play over some fabulous land.

The first hole takes you on an uphill journey over a dirt fairway lined with trees to get things started properly. Two makes use of a blind hole with a severe dog leg right over grassy land. An American flag on a long pole reveals the position of a basket that is located in a depression past a volleyball court. The third hole is again a blind shot over one grassy hill and down a another. There is already great use of landscape right from the jump. Fourth hole is up hill and leftward again on grass. Quite a bit of variety. After a nice walk through a bushy labyrinth the fifth hole emerges and reveals a giant grass fairway and the longest hole on site. A grip it and rip it dream that caters to all styles as long as they include decent distance and a modicum of accuracy. So far, this course is greatly entertaining and wildly diverse! Hole six is another blind hole utilizing an American flag on a long beacon pole, again great use of hills. Holes seven and eight are your requisite tight wooded technical skill shot holes through narrow gaps with pines waiting to belt your shot into difficult positions off the open sand fairway. These holes are possible instabogeys and may cause the first hiccups in a previously smooth round. Nine is another valley shot similar to number five but more wooded and with a few scattered bushes to serve as obstacles on the way to a leftward basket. Ten is a return to the tight pine lined idea of seven and eight. Hole eleven is worthy of signature hole status. A great view and a 400 foot shot to the right over a ravine. Nice. Twelve is the first unremarkable hole on the path. A fairly simple hyzer with tall weeds being the only trouble. Thirteen is another longer style hole that allows a player to pull back and fire hard before commencing into a rather choked off corridor through pine rows to the basket. This hole gives you a view of the pond that comes into play on fourteen. Fourteen is about 300 feet over a pond from the long tee. This hole inspires a safety look to determine where a safe approach lies. The basket lies within pines about 100 feet from the water's edge. A great hole. Another worthy signature hole. Fifteen is another leftward shot that is open up front and narrows down into another pine forest. This course has great variance. Sixteen and seventeen are shorties through tight pine rows again with poison ivy adding to the headache. Eighteen leads back to the parking area and requires a RHFH sidearm shot to negotiate trees that block any straight path to the rightward bucket.
Cons: Cons are minimal. I am hard pressed as a reviewer to find anything wrong with this course. Digging deep only dredges up the possibility that hole thirteen is an overly hard par 3 as it ends through a very tight grouping of pines after requiring a substantial tee shot and it is borderline unreasonable or unfair as some would say. Apart from this hole, skill will guide a player.
Other Thoughts: This course requires a six dollar day pass for your car or an annual car tag. Disc golf is no extra charge, but be aware that you need cash to enter the park. I was greatly impressed with this course and I am surprised that more people haven't boasted it up because it is really solid. I wish it was closer to my home because I would be delighted to have the option of playing this on a whim. There were few people out there taking advantage of this great park. I appreciate that having to pay to play keeps riff raff out and the course is pristine. Play this course. It is worth a drive.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 can't wait for real tees

1    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Epic hilly mostly wooded course with a few long open holes and a shot or two over/by a small lake.
Major elevation by state standards. New so it's not overgrown or too rough. Mix of hole types ranging from 200ft flick shots to 500+ downhill is nice.
Long and short tees.
Cons: - Bad, large gravel small and packed in tight tee pads (soon to be replaced with cement*)
- RHBH biased, several holes don't have a lefty/sidearm route and/or shot off the tee due to trees close in front of the pad forcing an akward approach to the shot.
- Severe poison ivy on 3/4 of the last holes, complete with warning signs no holes should have been built there.
Other Thoughts: With new soon to be cement tees it will be nicer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 All Day Every Day

5+    7/6/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: seanblitz25
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Holes carved right out of a woodsy State Park. Both Challenging and Fun.
-Great place to get some exercise in the up and down semi-hilly terrain while disc'n through a tough course.
-I've spotted deer, beavers, and a Bald Eagle once. seeing Wild life in the area can be a "pick me up" after a tough hole.
-Its spread out. You're never in danger of hitting other discers on the next tee box. You literally cannot see the next hole or the previous hole from the hole your on. That enables you to absorb the current hole you're on. It makes each hole feel different and special.
-While being spread out, its very easy to navigate.
Cons: If there is a con to talk about, its probably the tee boxes. You do have to be careful around some of them but they are not that bad. They fit in with the atmosphere at Deerfield Park.
On the other hand, if they raked them more often, they would improve dramatically.
Other Thoughts: I've lived in Mount Pleasant a while now, and over the course of this summer alone I play Deerfield Park at least 3-4 times a week. This course will make you a better player the more you play it. I go to other courses that have less trees and cover less ground and I find them almost too easy cuz there is nothing in the way haha.. Deerfield is a challenge but its in the funnest way possible.
I usually shoot +1-+4 but my best round was -2.
It just takes practice and when you are done with 18 at Deerfield you'll walk away a better player having seen some holes that you couldn't of imagined before. (#5,6,8,11,12,17 are all my favorite.)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/19/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: SAxDrc
Played: 23  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Deerfield has a lot of nice elevation changes. For example hole 1 is pretty steep uphill, on 2 the basket is in a ditch (but has a flag so you know where it is), 5 is a 515' downhill shot
-very easy to navigate. there are signs that point you toward the next tee
-probably the best variety of shots of any course I have played (which I have to admit isn't a lot). There are long(5), short(16), hyzer (9), anhyzer(17), uphill(1), downhill(5), shots along(13) and over(14) a pond, tight(8) and open(5) fairways.
-very challenging. Though I'm not that good, I consider it a good day if I score better than +10.
-nice cement tee pads on the pro and am tees.
-holes 1-5 have identical benches. It seems like eventually all the holes will?
Cons: -the pro tee pad for hole 9 isn't textured the same as the rest. It can be very slippery.
-Poison ivy on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: $6 per day or $25 for a year pass. I wasn't sure if this was a pro or a con. On one hand it keeps out some of the people who trash free courses, on the other hand you're losing $6.

If you are in the area stop by the CMU course. Comparing them will make Deerfield Park seem like the best course ever.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Well Laid Out Course

2-4    5/2/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: Hyramdubya
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Deerfield Park is a really fun course and well laid out. The course was very clean, and every hole is different. There are score cards at the first tee and signs everywhere at the tee boxes and telling you where to go next. I found it very easy to navigate. Also there are ladies, tees for the ladies, and they are just as good quality as the men's. This is very rare at a disc golf course and a nice thing to see. Also if you boy can't make it past the ladies tees its fun to give him a hard time. The three best holes are 2, a small dog leg where the pin is in a ditch, 5, a 515 ft downhill hole into a field and 14 where you throw over water. In my opinion this course great and in my top 10. I will come back many times.
Cons: You have to pay to get in, $6 for the day or $25 for the season. I got the season, because I live in Midland and will come back often. I find paying a little is not that bad thou, because it keeps the riff raff out and make the course more pleasant. The tee pads are small and gravel. Hopefully they will upgrade to cement soon. Last is it would be nice to have a diagram of the holes at the tee pads. There are signs, but all it has is the hole number, distance and par. These are some minor cons and if they were to fix these issues it would be a 5 disc course.
Other Thoughts: Overall great course and if you get the chance play it. Also it is way better than CMU, but that's a nice course too.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

5+    4/23/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: jake_sktr
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great scenery. Course is well set up and easy to navigate. Alternate tees if you feel like trying for an ace on some of the shorter holes. There is a lot of trees on some holes and that makes it challenging. Lots of different types of shots
Cons: Tee pads and having to pay 6 bucks a day.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Course

5+    4/3/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: ChipFan7
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Scenic views, well maintained, extremely challenging, variety of hole types, easy to navigate, picnic areas to rest after/during rounds before you go back and play it again.
Cons: Tee areas are rather short with some steep drop-offs at the end of them, so be careful when running up or you may fall. Tee areas are made of dirt which gives the course a natural look, but hazardous when it rains, costs $6 to use for the day.
Other Thoughts: The course is just great, and the amateur/ladies tees will help keep less experienced players from getting too frustrated (you will still get frustrated).

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Reminds me of Flip City

1    3/25/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: -johnbob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is amazing! Great scenery, great hole design, challenging but fun to play! Arrow signs so you don't get lost, and flags on top of hard to see chains.
Cons: I guess the teepads could be a con, however I found it more fitting to the surrounding to just have the woodchips. I do agree that the teepads should be longer. Maps next to the tees would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me alot of the top rated flip city. I found many similarities and enjoyed playing it just as much.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.