Mt. Pleasant, MI 
Deerfield Park - Original Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #1 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 135ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
  Better with age

5+    1/3/2010   1/4/2010
Review By: J.Taylor
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of hole types:
Lots of elevation changes (which is rare in this area)
Long bombs
Short (and long) technical drives
Water in play
Hyzers, Anhyzers, and Straight rips

Beautiful scenery regardless of the season.

The course is "breaking-in" well with lots of the rough becoming more manageable.

Addition of short tees opens the course up to more players while giving experiencd players several fun ace-runs.
Cons: Tee pads are still compacted dirt which can be good or bad depending on the day and your luck.
Other Thoughts: We are still hoping the Parks will install (or let us install) concrete pads.

In the summer bring something to swim in after a round or two. The swimming beach is just to the west of holes 15 and 18 and about 100 yards from the parking lot.

Other than the tee pads I feel that this course is one of the best in a pretty wide area with its pros definitely outweighing the cons.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Short or "Alternative" Tees

5+    11/18/2009   11/25/2009
Review By: JohnnyShoes
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Makes Deerfield almost an entirely new course. For people who thought that Deerfield was too hard, this will make it so you have a lot more fun. Turns par/bogey holes into ace runs.
Cons: Dirt pads are still a bit mushy and a tripping hazard. Park Staff are out daily adding dirt and rock to, and tamping down, the tees.
Other Thoughts: This addition to the park makes the 20 dollar yearly park pass even more desirable. It is truly like having two courses in one.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 36  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really thought this course was easy to navigate through, easy to find the next hole. I really like the signs. This course had a wide veriety of shots, tricky, narrow fairways, long drives, dog legs, uphill, and downhill.
Cons: The pads were a lil short. I wished the signs showed the layout for the hole. Slight hazard of losing a disc on hole 14, good disc placement will be key.
Other Thoughts: All in all this course was great, I really liked hole 2 with the dog leg to the right and the hole tucked behind a hill in a lil ditch (very cool hole placement). Hole 5 was a 515 par 4 that you can really let your disc fly. I also really liked hole 14 by the water, this one was a lil more tricky. This park is real nice and maps are available at the gate when you pay for parking, or you can get them online and print them as well. This course is also only like 10 minutes away from central michigan university disc golf course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wood chip tee pads!!!

2-4    8/4/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: yes s1rr
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Sweet Holes, All skinny narrow fairways with the exception of 4 or 5, good distance shots no matter the hole, uphill downhill shots all over the place, tricky shots, make you think shots. Not busy, costs 5 to play usually to exhausted and sick of looking for discs to play another rd. hole 5 i beleive shot off the sledding hill, !!!!!!, what a sweet shot, however misfire and your disc has a 50/50 chance of being found by someone else
Cons: Teepads are too short, made of woodchips, and sometimes there are dropoffs after, which makes for an interesting tee off for everyone in the group (the teepads are strictly why the course gets a 2.0 rating).
Other Thoughts: first time i played the course thought it was AWESOME, that is because i started from hole 5 and the next 12 holes were pretty awesome no complaints, the first 5 are hard to start on, they are pretty challenging shots, 1. uphill shot (friend lost disc), 2 90 degree turn basket in a ditch (find hole b4 shooting) you will probably end up in a volleyball court or in some trees, hole 3(my brother lost a disc i got a deuce buzzz shot) downhill very slight curve left. next hole uphill again. Then you get the satisfaction of letting a bomb go on number 5.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Up and Down, Up and Down, then Round and Round

2-4    7/26/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very interesting and well designed course that played really nicely given that it is still in its infancy. The course layout was very well thought out, utilizing most of the terrain changes in the park. Accuracy is challenged throughout the entire course, beginning immediately with a long, narrow, wooded uphill on #1. Hole #11 will have you considering all sorts of shot options with its elevated tee box, low ceiling, and narrow fairway, but it seems that a roller may be the throw of choice here. Hole #13 with it's long S-shaped fairway and basket hidden in the pines, flirts with the edge of the pond on the property while #14 gives you the option to throw over or around the end of the same pond. Shot variety included plenty of uphill drives and putts, downhill drives, left, right, and "S" shaped fairways, and open fields, pine rows, and wooded holes were all pretty evenly represented. Basket placement on holes #2, #6, and #14 was incredibly creative while the big, wide open, downhill #5 offered a great chance to really let 'em fly and distances from 190 to 515 feet kept you guessing!

The trail was well marked with plenty of nicely done "Next Tee" signs. Footing on the trail was exceptional with hard packed earth in some places and wood chips in others. Course layout kept side-by-side holes far enough away from each other that errant shots from neighboring holes didn't appear to pose a problem (except for #13 and #14). Fairways were well maintained and the rough was surprisingly light - we spent very little time searching for lost discs.

*** Update 9/18/10 ***
The new cement pads for both long and short tees and the added signage around the course has really put some polish on this gem!!! Seriously.....this one is well worth going out of your way to play!
Cons: Finding the correct parking lot and first tee proved to be a challenge. I have updated the course info with better directions to the correct parking lot. Once in the parking lot, follow the small sign and the wood chip path into the edge of the woods, then make a sharp left to find the first tee.

Tee signs were nicely done with hole number, footage, and par, but they lacked any mention of directionality which proved to be a pain for a first-timer. The course map is now available on the Links tab. The map shows #2 as being a straight shot, but it actually requires a shot toward the closest right corner of the volleyball court, then it's a very hard right into the opening in the woods, over the small hillock in the clearing, then down in the ditch. Currently, a small US flag marks the top of the basket.

The gravel/sand/clay combination tee boxes were nicely done but will require more traffic and lots of maintenance to really pack down for good footing. Rain both last night and today meant they were muddy, loose, and pitted when we played. Cement pads have been installed all around!
Other Thoughts: Besides the DG course, Deerfield Park includes a nice sandy beach, several shelters, horseshoe pits, volleyball courts, grills, and nature/biking trails. It's a great place to bring the family and hang out for a day. All of the numerous outhouse-style pit toilets have been spotless every time we've been there.

The $6 fee is for a vehicle pass for the park. Annual passes are also available. If you forget to print and take the map on the Links tab, ask the attendant at the park entrance for a copy.

I definitely had more fun the second time through since I then knew my way around. Beginner and mid-level players, be prepared to use every possible shot you know (and probably some you don't know yet, too!).

*** Updated 11/29/09 for Alternate Tee Pads ***
Alternate tee pads were added in October, making this a more reasonable course for families and groups of drastically mixed abilities. The new pads are made of the same tamped clay/gravel as the main pads, are easy to find, and make each hole MUCH easier.

All the alternate pads offer either a dead straight or a slightly right curving, almost completely unobstructed shot at the basket, and all but 2 shorten the distance to the pin by at least 80-100 feet.

I think the new pads are a great addition for families and beginners, but, as an intermediate player, I was disappointed that their placement really eliminated the challenge and unique flavor of each hole. I'm a big fan of shorter distances for weaker arms, but I much prefer it when the alternate tees keep the challenge factor on a par with the main tees. In this case, the alternates change the entire feel of the course, and not in a good way :-(. It's sad that the short tees by-pass all the features that make the holes on this course so amazing. That said, the distances from the alternate tees are much more realistic for beginning players, and, in general, the alternate tees are a great addition for a course of this difficulty.

*** Update 9/5/10 ***
Both long and short tees now have cement pads that are smooth and level. Drop-offs on the end of a couple of pads have been reinforced with large rocks embedded in the dirt. Additional "next tee" signage has been added between a couple of holes, and a scorecard box has been installed on a post at the course trail entrance. New signs around holes 15-18 warn of poison ivy in the heavy rough....be aware that it's also on the fairways and trails although they are keeping it well mowed so it may be hard to identify.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

5+    9/6/2010   7/18/2009
Review By: CMUviolin
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2010
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Every hole has two cement tee pads

Has holes between 200 and 500 feet.

No hole is like the next (left, right , straight, downhill, uphill, etc.)
Cons: The signs do not have a map, which can be troublesome for first timers, but there are scorecards at the entrance with maps.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.