Layout Extinct

Spring, TX
Northside Christian Church DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: srm_520 Hole #7 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 398ft.   3 / 263ft.   3 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    1/1/2013   1/1/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 105  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was one of the first courses I played but held off reviewing it to really take it in as a more experienced player.

This is a great 9 hole course in the north Houston area. The land is perfect for disc golf in my opinion, with very defined fairways but trees scattered in strategic places.
There are double concrete tee pads for each hole that gives a COMPLETELY different approach to the basket at each hole. This is definitely not a 9 hole course because with the extra tee pads this could easily pass as 18 holes with 9 baskets.
There are benches at every hole and trash cans throughout the course. It is quite obvious that the designer(s) of this course really put a lot of thought and care into this course because this course is clean and has a great feeling to it.
The flow of the course is very easy to follow. With big tee signs at every tee it is easy to find where you need to go by just taking a look around.
There is a retention pond that comes into play twice at the second and third hole and if it is filled with water it can add big risk/reward type shots in the quest for birdies.
The last few holes are a good chance to really get some air out on your discs. They are wide open in a sense that you do not need to be too cautious on your drives
Cons: Sadly, this course only has nine baskets which turns a lot of people away when there are two great 18+ hole courses nearby. The land has potential to add another nine holes but I would not be surprised if the church does not want anymore since there is not a surplus of land like you would find at Windwood right down the road.
The fairways are clean but off the fairways is a different story. It is like playing a game of minesweeper reaching in for your discs in the thick brush on most holes. There are four inch thorns on most holes which could ruin a day if one of them cuts you too bad. Just keep your disc safe and there will be little to worry about.
-The last few holes all feel similar. There are courses with worse repetitive holes and this is merely nitpicking at this point but the hole variety could be better.
Other Thoughts: This feels like one of the better kept secrets in Houston disc golf. Like mentioned before, Sprin Valley and Windwood are both a short drive away from Northside so that is why this course does not see as much action as the other two, rightfully so though. Those two courses are better then here but this course is definitely nothing to scoff at. With more baskets, this course could be one of the premier destinations in the city. I hope someone is working towards expanding the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 NCC-DGC

1    1/12/2012   1/14/2012
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nine holes of great play here. This is the start of a very interesting Disc Golf course. Hole 1 starts out pretty short and sweet with a straight throw around some trees. Then comes the fun. holes 2 & 3 throw across a retention pond and are kind of tricky to get around some trees on both holes. Holes 4 through 9 play around the church parking lot with some interesting places to grip and rip your discs. If the upcoming back 9 turn out to be as challenging as I have heard they are going to be, Windwood Pres. might have some competition in the future.
Cons: Not enough variety. Not enough obstacles on the 4th through ninth holes. No others I can think of at the moment.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course to air out your discs. Like I have said before, if the forthcoming back nine is as challenging as I have been told it's going to be, this could be a very awesome disc golf course. Here's hoping!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Place

1    4/1/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MrNiceFella
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean, well maintained, multiple tee pad distances on each hole. Tee pads are excellent. Lots of trees, nice layout and easy getting around.
Cons: No real elevation changes. For Houston that is not a big surprise.
Other Thoughts: If you want to play multiple courses in one day this is located between two other great courses.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Great New Course in North Houston

5+    9/28/2010   7/11/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2010
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Northside Christian Church DGC is brand spanking new, which means the DGA pins are in perfect condition and have each hole number clearly posted on the top of the pin. They have also placed red flags at the top of each pin to help with spotting from a distance.

The course slightly favors a LHBH thrower and plays in a mix of wooded and open terrain with many old growth trees providing a challenge and great shade on a hot Houston day.

All main and alternate tees now have full size concrete tees. The main box also has some of the cooler markers I have seen on a course. Each marker is full color with a map of each tee and pin placement, distances, name of the hole, as well as a bit of scripture of sorts. Mostly, inspirational things to make you think, but very cool and clever for a church course have.

Also, I love the new full color map at the start of the course - which makes for easy navigating. A lot of work has clearly gone into making this course, which means it will hopefully continue to grow and get better.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #3
Cons: As with almost all Houston courses, the terrain is limited to shooting around trees, and there is no real elevation change to mention. There are no water hazards (which some consider a plus), but there is a swampy retention area that looks like it can get nasty after a rain.

The signs are fantastic, albeit a bit close the tee box. I always wonder why someone would put a tall sign at the front of a thin box where there's a real potential to smack your hand on the throw. Also, I love concrete boxes, and they are plenty long, but a bit thin for my style of throw. I should be worried about my drive and not my footing, so having a thin box with big signs, and uneven footing right off the box, and it can mess with your head. It's not really a big deal, but of an observation you should know.

A couple of tee locations (8A in particular) are in weird places from the previous tee. Again, not a big issue, but the first timer here will really want to examine the map if they want to play both tees.

WORST HOLE/S: #4
Other Thoughts: Having played every church course in the greater Houston area - I would consider this course the best. It basically plays like BridgePoint Bible Church, but with three additional holes and more opportunities for additional tees and future expansion. Bottom line, if you are a fan of the beginning holes at Miramar Park or the course at BridgePoint, you should be satisfied with this course.

Northside Christian Church is a solid three disc rating, and borders on 3.5 discs. Given Houston's land limitations and that it's only a nine-hole course, it really can't score much higher in my opinion. However, having said that - ratings aren't everything, so go out here and enjoy a fun and solid round of golf.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.