Layout Extinct

Spring, TX
Northside Christian Church DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: srm_520 Hole #1 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 257ft.   3 / 228ft.   3 / 120ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

2-4    1/1/2013   1/1/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 105  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was one of the first courses I played but held off reviewing it to really take it in as a more experienced player.

This is a great 9 hole course in the north Houston area. The land is perfect for disc golf in my opinion, with very defined fairways but trees scattered in strategic places.
There are double concrete tee pads for each hole that gives a COMPLETELY different approach to the basket at each hole. This is definitely not a 9 hole course because with the extra tee pads this could easily pass as 18 holes with 9 baskets.
There are benches at every hole and trash cans throughout the course. It is quite obvious that the designer(s) of this course really put a lot of thought and care into this course because this course is clean and has a great feeling to it.
The flow of the course is very easy to follow. With big tee signs at every tee it is easy to find where you need to go by just taking a look around.
There is a retention pond that comes into play twice at the second and third hole and if it is filled with water it can add big risk/reward type shots in the quest for birdies.
The last few holes are a good chance to really get some air out on your discs. They are wide open in a sense that you do not need to be too cautious on your drives
Cons: Sadly, this course only has nine baskets which turns a lot of people away when there are two great 18+ hole courses nearby. The land has potential to add another nine holes but I would not be surprised if the church does not want anymore since there is not a surplus of land like you would find at Windwood right down the road.
The fairways are clean but off the fairways is a different story. It is like playing a game of minesweeper reaching in for your discs in the thick brush on most holes. There are four inch thorns on most holes which could ruin a day if one of them cuts you too bad. Just keep your disc safe and there will be little to worry about.
-The last few holes all feel similar. There are courses with worse repetitive holes and this is merely nitpicking at this point but the hole variety could be better.
Other Thoughts: This feels like one of the better kept secrets in Houston disc golf. Like mentioned before, Sprin Valley and Windwood are both a short drive away from Northside so that is why this course does not see as much action as the other two, rightfully so though. Those two courses are better then here but this course is definitely nothing to scoff at. With more baskets, this course could be one of the premier destinations in the city. I hope someone is working towards expanding the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 NCC-DGC

1    1/12/2012   1/14/2012
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nine holes of great play here. This is the start of a very interesting Disc Golf course. Hole 1 starts out pretty short and sweet with a straight throw around some trees. Then comes the fun. holes 2 & 3 throw across a retention pond and are kind of tricky to get around some trees on both holes. Holes 4 through 9 play around the church parking lot with some interesting places to grip and rip your discs. If the upcoming back 9 turn out to be as challenging as I have heard they are going to be, Windwood Pres. might have some competition in the future.
Cons: Not enough variety. Not enough obstacles on the 4th through ninth holes. No others I can think of at the moment.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course to air out your discs. Like I have said before, if the forthcoming back nine is as challenging as I have been told it's going to be, this could be a very awesome disc golf course. Here's hoping!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

a great church course

2-4    9/29/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 59  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2012
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: a nice 9 hole course with slight terrain offers dual t pads. plans are in the making for another 9 holes plays along a bayou and a ditch. Mix of wooded holes and a few open ones with trees near by. Some tees offer nice looking possible shots at other baskets. Moderate distance. Nothing too long and nothing too short. An ace run on maybe two holes. #6. Being one of them. Nice looking tee boxes and signs at every hole. The area around the baskets offer some possible skips. Well groomed. Easily one of the best nine hole courses in all of Houston.
Cons: Needs a little more length. Hopefully when they add the last nine they will add some distance.
Other Thoughts: I had so much fun playing this course with a friend I highly recommend the course for any level of player. Can't wait to see them put in a back nine! If you pay the Houston area this is a must. In my opinion this is one of the if not the best nine hole course in Houston area.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet 9

2-4    9/18/2011   9/20/2011
Review By: jrcamp001
Played: 198  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good mix of open shots with heavy treed shots, good distance, reasonable OBs, nice sized concrete teepads, two sets of tees, great signage.
Cons: Could use a little more distance, and I look forward to another 9 to make it 18 holes with a few along the bayou resulting in some side-hill lies and baskets on the edge.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    9/2/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: ca762
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nice course challenging for a nine hole the staff at the office was very pleasant and respectable would play again
Cons: none other than the thorns will get you from the brush but that wont happen if you thow straight....

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    8/2/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: gutley
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: path are clear, concrete tee off, basket are flag mark to help located from tee off if possible, bench at every tee off, course path sign at every tee off.
Cons: There's big woods pile near middle of #8 path and couple big stump. It's really minor as long you don't make major fade or turn. Even if it end up in woods, it's still easy to find it.
Other Thoughts: Might want to consider adding disc golf shop. I could see how the profit could be use to donate for church or to maintain courses.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A great nine hole course

5+    1/22/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 79  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is one of the best nine hole courses in the greater Houston area and ranks up there with Miramar and Timberlane in terms of challenge offered. The first three holes play through the woods and over a retention pond that is usually dry. The last six holes mix light woods and open fairways to keep you on your toes.

For the most part the holes are well thought out with a good mix of throws. The wooded holes put a premium on control and the more open holes have just enough obstacles to make your drive count.

Cement tee pads on all regular and alt tees make playing this course twice through a definite must.
Cons: If your disc goes into the bushes you're likely going to get scratched up pretty bad on the thorns. I haven't seen such mean underbrush on a course. The thorns are like needles.
Other Thoughts: There is room for more holes out there and I hope the church thinks about expanding the course. It is one of the best church courses in Houston and should be on your list of places to play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Super chill course

5+    4/30/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: shawnsink
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice area.Pro baskets.Concrete tee boxes.Fun course layout.Alternate tees with actual alternating distances.For example box a on hole 7 is about 100 feet longer than box B...while box b on hole 1 is like 40 feet shorter but a different angle so it makes it lots of fun.They also allow you to play night golf as long as you clean up after yourself
Cons: Cant really think of anything off the top of my head that i dont like about this course.
Other Thoughts: A great warm up course...no water hazards as of now...unless we get rain...they also started doing mini tournys out there which i plan on checking out

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Place

1    4/1/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MrNiceFella
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean, well maintained, multiple tee pad distances on each hole. Tee pads are excellent. Lots of trees, nice layout and easy getting around.
Cons: No real elevation changes. For Houston that is not a big surprise.
Other Thoughts: If you want to play multiple courses in one day this is located between two other great courses.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great church course

1    1/8/2011   1/8/2011
Review By: Scoopy
Played: 170  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Was pleasantly surprised upon my arrival of this course. There's a great map that shows A and B t-pad location, flight paths and distances. Also a practice basket near first t-pad. Playing both t-pads gives you 2 completely different looks for each hole. I really liked how they mixed up the long and shorts between both A and B t-pads. Other courses are usually play one set of short t's, then long t-s. This course mixes it up very well. All concrete pads, benches and trash cans throughout the course was nice to see and helped keep the course clean. The overall layout was nice and it had a really good flow to the course. Makes great use of the land and the retention ponds were some of my favorite shots. There was no water in the retention ponds when I played, but I could see it being a major water hazard after heavy rains. It was great to see so many families out playing on a beautiful mild winter Saturday afternoon, husbands, wives and kids all throwing discs!! Awesome!! I would highly recommend this course to anyone, and its definitely worth a road trip as there are other courses within a 20 minute drive for a great day of exploring new courses.
Cons: Can't really think of any cons. If I had to, I'd say a couple of t-pads seemed to be in odd locations and not pointing towards the basket.
Other Thoughts: Overall I thought this was probably one the best church courses I've played, and one of the better 9 hole courses in the greater Houston area. The course is well maintained, the locals were super friendly and I had a blast!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.