Layout Extinct

Spring, TX
Northside Christian Church DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: srm_520 Hole #3 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 315ft.   3 / 347ft.   3 / 141ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  Awesome & Relaxing

1    8/4/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: TravisBays
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course plays well for a beginner or a Pro. There are signs on each hole with a snapshot of the hole & length. About 75% of the course is shaded and we played mid day, which was hot, but nice to have the holes in the shade. The scenary is awesome, giant oak trees where the holes are. The holes play around the edge of the property which makes a great walk back to the car. Very well maintained!
Cons: It would have been nice if there was a water feature for some degree of difficulty.
Other Thoughts: Very realistic par 3 holes. I parred on 2 holes and my buddy parred 3 holes.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 18 holes 9 baskets

1    5/3/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1131  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 4.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of Holes. I was very impressed by the variety of shots required, each hole is different than the previous requiring decent line shaping. Good length on a few holes, a couple grip and rip shots and good technical variety, impressive on such a small plot of land. I'd call every hole a "true par 3" the long holes can be driven with a nice drive, there are very few direct ace runs, even the short holes offer a decent challenge.

Forgiving. The course is very forgiving, a poor shot never went far off and was easy to recover from

9 holes? I played through on the A tees, and then again on the B Tees, both were an entirely different experience, I never felt like I was just playing a longer or shorter version of the same hole, they all felt like a brand new hole only using the same basket. Some B Tees are longer, some are shorter, most adjust left or right, I was impressed with the variety that the alternate tees provided.

Clean. A few trash cans in strategic places were used well, the course was well kept though some small parts were under construction, everything looked nice.

A beautiful wildflower garden was the location of hole 4 B-Tee, I sat there for a good 10 minutes enjoying the flowers.

Retaining pond was used well. Holes 2 and 3 used the hazard well.

The natural tees were relatively level and sufficient for the course.

Parking/Amenities. Huge parking area, and the church is nearby.

No Crowds. I had the entire course to myself for the entire 2 hours I was there, granted it was early in the morning, but the course didn't look over used and I doubt there will be crowds to fight with very often.

Nice Tee Signs. Give distance, alternate tee locations, and general layout of the hole, navigating the course (once finding hole one) was easy.
Cons: Navigation. Once I found hole 1, it was easy to navigate (probably because I had already found every other hole), I'm probably just blind or stupid, but I did wander around for a good 15 minutes before I found hole 1. Located just to the right of the main/tar parking lot. My problem was that I parked in the overflow parking lot near hole 5.

4 B-Tee crosses the overflow parking lot, it was my own fault I parked my vehicle in the way, but it's possible that others may be parked unknowingly in the way.
Other Thoughts: A very enjoyable round, would definitely play again if in the area and I would recommend it to anybody nearby.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great training/beginner course

1    4/1/2010   4/7/2010
Review By: linkbhg
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Most holes are wide open which make for great practice. Very little punishment for stray shots. The retention pond/ditch plays well on hole #2. The tee signs show length and give an estimate on alternate tee position.
Cons: No tee boxes and the dirt tends to be uneven.
Other Thoughts: Seems as though it will get very soggy after a rain judging by the vegetation and dirt patterns in the fields.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Subtle Surprise near Spring

5+    11/24/2010   12/1/2009
Review By: ChaseTheAce
Played: 89  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located on church property that is open to the public.

With only 9 holes, the course does a great job of balancing shot selections while providing a nice mix of left, right, straight, wooded, and open holes.

There are currently 3 configurations for play, making it easy to get in 18-27 holes in a single round. The alternates give you a different perspective for each hole without any redundancy.

The course requires a good amount of accuracy to obtain birdies and all tee positions allow for a fair line to the basket. If your shot strays it is likely to end up deeply embedded in dense brush or trees.

There is a decent amount OB in play with concrete parking lots and fences, adding an edge of difficulty that is uncharacteristic of many 9 Hole courses in the area.

New wooden benches and trashcans are a great addition.

As of 11/24/2010 (a year after I first played it), the course is looking the best it ever has. The fairways have broken in, much of the debris has been removed, and the course just looks clean. All of the concrete tee-boxes are fantastic and in pristine shape.

It is apparent that those who maintain this course are as adamant about keeping it in pristine condition as they are playing it. Sheldon, Brian, and Jim are out here often and would love to hear your appreciation for their hard work and efforts in providing one of the best 9 Hole courses in Houston.
Cons: All previous cons such as rough fairways, lack of tee pads, and sign posts being too close to the boxes have been addressed and fixed in very little time.

There is always room for improvement on any course and any issue or suggestion can be brought up on hfds.org

The course only has potential to be so good and I feel that the course is nearing its completion. I love this course, but without certain aspects of a "great" course, I can only rate it a 3.5/5.

Other Thoughts: Northside is a good midpoint between other great courses like Spring Valley and Windwood.

It's refreshing to see a Church course that is not "pitch and putt." It would be great to see other challenging courses on Church property in the Houston area. Players should understand that it is a privilege to use these facilities and do the best to not lose them by encouraging others to pick up trash and be respectful to the course and other players while at Northside.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A top notch church course

5+    8/8/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2010
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
One of the newest courses in town is at Northside Christian Church. It's filled with shiny double chain DGA baskets. Each basket has a tall orange bicycle flag attached to it for enhanced visibility. All tees are ample sized concrete pads (as of 2010). The main tees are marked with nice metal signs that include a hole layout map. Alternate tees are marked with wooden posts. There's a practice basket installed by the parking lot at the first tee. There's a course info board by the first tee that has a map of the course.

I was thoroughly impressed at the variety of shots on this Church course. It's apparently been installed by someone who knew what they were doing. First hole is a sharp hyzer down a decent tunnel of trees, #2 is a straight shot over a mostly dry detention pond to a basket nestled in a grove of trees, #3 is a big anny shot... you get the idea, variety. There's a good mix of long and short holes, especially when you consider the alternate tees.
Cons:
Alt tee #1 is surrounded by some broken glass, be careful. Basket #2 has water in play behind the basket that isn't visible until you get all the way up there (so don't go long!). The detention pond that #2 and #3 play over will be muddy after a decent rainfall; putting down some cinder blocks or the like would help players crossing when muddy . The rough is really rough and physically punishing if you have an errant throw. I picked up my first ticks, two of 'em, by hole #9 on this course so bring bug spray or long pants.
Other Thoughts:
After a year in the ground now it's clear the church does a good job maintaining the course. Many of the concerns in my original review of a year ago have been addressed now.

Some locals have an unmarked "gold" layout with super tough holes that average 600'-700' each.

Update recently posted on the local message board:
There are public restrooms open from 8AM to 8PM. They are located on the front (street side) of the church building in the portion closest to the driveway (yellowish color). There is a drinking fountain and restroom doors located on each side. You'll see it just to the left as you drive in.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/11/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: JAFFY
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a church 9 the course has a decent mix of holes for all throwing styles. Practice basket at the start and since it's new all the baskets are in great shape.
Cons: Grass can get tall on holes 5-9. Only played once where it was unbearable. The brush is getting cleared but the holes 1 & 3(could come into play on 4 too) can gobble up discs.
Other Thoughts: Hard to really judge the course since it's in transition so my pro/con is pretty vague. Definately has good potential--especially in comparison to other Church courses. With that said, the major groundwork is laid so don't hesitate to try it out. Not too far from Spring Valley and worth playing since it's new. Seen water moccasins on two seperate occasions. B/W 4 & 5 and the giant stack of limbs on #8. As others have said, signs and concrete pads on the way which will help the course's cause. Been going to the course since it was playable-past 3-4 months. Seems progress is at a stalemate but with the heat and a course that's probably getting worked on by volunteers it's totally understandable. Course is pretty close to home so I hit it when I have a pocket of time. Will review further as progress is made.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Legit 9 Hole Course in Spring

1    7/27/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 91  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very few courses in the Houston area get the kind of love and care that this one does on a daily basis, shout out to Brian, who is out there daily keeping it up. Located on a nice piece of land, every inch has been utilized to a great degree creating a fun and technical 9 hole course.

In the land of poor teeboxes this one excels with brushed concrete teepads on every hole primary and alts. It has great signs describing each pin position and the baskets are great Mach 5's. The hole variety here is exceptional for being on such a small piece of land and if you play the alts you have a legitmate 18 hole course.To top it off the local course pro has set up a super difficult set of "Gold Tees" that rivals anything in the state for distance and placement. As another pro stated if you want to get ready for USDGC, play the "Gold Tees" at Northside. If anyone is ever interested in checking out these awesome placements send me a message and Ill gladly go a round with ya.

Cons: The cons are few and far between on this course and everyday the list gets smaller as the course is cleaned up and further refined. My only major gripe is that some of the teeboxes on the Alt boxes are pointed in the wrong direction. They were put in by volunteers and some mistakes were made. They aren't drastic but are definitely noticeable. Also the rough here can be R O U G H with some briar patches and thorns (right side of 5's fairway) that will cut you a new one literally.
Other Thoughts: This course has quitely become one of my favorites in Houston. It is extremely well kept, the attention to detail is great and the hole variety is excpetional. Also it is rarely played and is a great practice course. If it seems like Im gushing its because I am, this is the best 9 hole course on the northside of town and is better than most of the 18 holers as well. If you havent played it, give it a shot you wont be disappointed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Great New Course in North Houston

5+    9/28/2010   7/11/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/29/2010
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Northside Christian Church DGC is brand spanking new, which means the DGA pins are in perfect condition and have each hole number clearly posted on the top of the pin. They have also placed red flags at the top of each pin to help with spotting from a distance.

The course slightly favors a LHBH thrower and plays in a mix of wooded and open terrain with many old growth trees providing a challenge and great shade on a hot Houston day.

All main and alternate tees now have full size concrete tees. The main box also has some of the cooler markers I have seen on a course. Each marker is full color with a map of each tee and pin placement, distances, name of the hole, as well as a bit of scripture of sorts. Mostly, inspirational things to make you think, but very cool and clever for a church course have.

Also, I love the new full color map at the start of the course - which makes for easy navigating. A lot of work has clearly gone into making this course, which means it will hopefully continue to grow and get better.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #3
Cons: As with almost all Houston courses, the terrain is limited to shooting around trees, and there is no real elevation change to mention. There are no water hazards (which some consider a plus), but there is a swampy retention area that looks like it can get nasty after a rain.

The signs are fantastic, albeit a bit close the tee box. I always wonder why someone would put a tall sign at the front of a thin box where there's a real potential to smack your hand on the throw. Also, I love concrete boxes, and they are plenty long, but a bit thin for my style of throw. I should be worried about my drive and not my footing, so having a thin box with big signs, and uneven footing right off the box, and it can mess with your head. It's not really a big deal, but of an observation you should know.

A couple of tee locations (8A in particular) are in weird places from the previous tee. Again, not a big issue, but the first timer here will really want to examine the map if they want to play both tees.

WORST HOLE/S: #4
Other Thoughts: Having played every church course in the greater Houston area - I would consider this course the best. It basically plays like BridgePoint Bible Church, but with three additional holes and more opportunities for additional tees and future expansion. Bottom line, if you are a fan of the beginning holes at Miramar Park or the course at BridgePoint, you should be satisfied with this course.

Northside Christian Church is a solid three disc rating, and borders on 3.5 discs. Given Houston's land limitations and that it's only a nine-hole course, it really can't score much higher in my opinion. However, having said that - ratings aren't everything, so go out here and enjoy a fun and solid round of golf.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.