Massillon, OH 
Lincoln Park (Oak Ledges DGC) Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1
3 / 341ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Eastern Ohio has some Serious Elevation

1    4/8/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 78  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Oak Ledges DGC is located in beautiful Lincoln Park that has a variety of other things to do. Luckily, the section of the park that the course is in is primarily dedicated to disc golf. The parking lot is big and there is a Porta-John right next to it (which, according to other reviews, is an upgrade from the other bathroom). Hole 1 conveniently starts a few feet away from the parking lot, near the playground. There are an abundance of garbage cans and benches, which is nice to see because you hike up and down many hills throughout the course.

Tee signs are easy to spot, in new condition, and helpful in locating the pins. Concrete tee pads are in great shape, comfortably long, and dug nicely into the ground. Baskets are Mach 3 and have the hole numbers on them. This is helpful in a few spots where you see more than one basket at a time.

The most enjoyable factor to me was the use of elevation on every single hole, whether it was throwing uphill, downhill, across a ravine, or on a side-sloping hill. There are a few pretty extreme elevation changes that are a lot of fun (holes 1, 2, 7, 9, 12, 14, 15, 16, and 18). The course plays through a pretty densely wooded area, so most holes offer multiple lines, and you will throw many different types of shots throughout your round. Also, there are many well thought out pin positions that offer challenging upshots that do not give a lot of room for error, whether being located on a fast green (4, 16) or on a hill surrounded by a steep drop-off (7, 9, 11).

Navigation flows very well and is intuitive for the most part. There are a good number of next tee signs pointing you in the right direction, and a few sets of stairs are helpful in climbing up steep hills. The course begins and ends very close to the parking lot. It is also nice how there aren't many areas where it would be easy to lose a disc, as the rough is pretty limited here.
Cons: -Navigation is great for the most part, but can be tricky around the deep ravine (holes 7 and 9). There is no clear direction for where to go next. There are a few times where you cross roads, so be careful.
-There were a few holes that played uncomfortably close to yards and the park roads. Since hole 2 is downhill, a player could easily hyzer into that person's yard. I felt like I was playing in someone's backyard for holes 3, 4, 11, 13, 14, and 15. It was clearly part of the park, but they play very close to peoples' yards.
-While the holes present are a blast, there is not a whole lot of variety to the types of holes that this course offers - most holes are evenly wooded and hilly. The distances are very similar as well, and only one hole is longer than 400 feet.
-The course is packed pretty tight in a few spots, so I could see some definite trouble if multiple people were playing the course at once. Also, there are some areas where you backtrack to the next hole and parts where different fairways and baskets are close to one another (areas around holes 7 and 9, 12 and 18, 14 and 15). There were a few spots where I needed to check the basket's number first, as multiple were in view.
-Only one tee pad and pin position per hole
Other Thoughts: Lincoln Park (Oak Ledges) offers you a very technical course that will cause you to really think before a lot of your shots. It is a very fun course in that it is not too frustratingly hard, but does offer multiple tight, technical shots. It is definitely a hike, which is a plus in my eyes. People of all skills would enjoy this course, and it is located within 30 min of many other fine courses. I had a tough time deciding what to rate this course. If I could, I'd give it a 3.75, but will raise it up to a 4 because of how well done a lot of the holes are. What is most notable to me is how many unique holes there are on such a small piece of land. Holes 5, 7, 9, and 16 offer something different that I have never seen before. This is an awesome course, was very well designed, and is truly a course that I could play every day.

My favorite holes were -

5- Straight shot that plays super tight off the tee and then downhill to the green
7- Straight shot playing over a deep ravine then uphill to where the basket sits. Not a lot of room for error on your upshot
9- Much like hole 7
14- Longest hole on the course. Plays uphill and through many trees
16- Plays downhill then over a ravine with the basket on a hillside

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Small Course, Big Personality

1    6/12/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
New Tee Signs with Maps, Distance, Par and Bag Hanger
Nice Concrete Tee Pads
Great use of Elevation
Good Variety of Distances
Great Variety of Shot Types
Both Wooded and Open Holes
Great Pin Placements
Very Well-Manicured and Maintained
Playground, Walking and Biking Trails, and Picnic Areas In Park
Baskets are in Good Shape
Ample Parking
Benches and Trash Cans Throughout
Scenery/Lanscaping is Amazing
Most Skill Levels Can Play Here
Cons:
No Real Long Holes For Big Arms
Bathrooms on Basically Condemned
Navigating is Tricky in A Couple Spots
Roads/Traffic In Play on Several Holes
Paths/Fairways Are Slippery When Wet
Other Thoughts:
Oak Ledges is a great little 18-hole course located in a small city park in Massillon, Ohio. The course and park are both very clean and very well-maintained except for the restrooms which looked nearly condemned.

To locate the course enter from the intersection of 17th Street Northwest and Lincoln Park Drive Northwest. Park in the lot on the east side of 17th Street, look for the playground. From the parking lot you will see the bulletin board/map and first tee on the south side of the parking lot.

The course plays through the small park, crossing roads in several places. The busiest road does not come into play, but you do have to cross it so be careful, especially if you have kids with you. The two smaller roads that cut through the park do come into play in several spots and traffic, both pedestrian and vehicular, can be a small issue. Just keep an eye out and you should have no problems at all.

After playing the first few holes you really start to get a feel for the type of course you are playing. Nothing too long, but technical and keeps you thinking. Many of the holes have a couple of different lines to take and, in my opinion, this keeps you coming back and keeps things interesting.

The designers did a great job with this course, making it both fun and challenging while working with such a small amount of land. They really used the natural features and obstacles the area has to offer to create some truly unique holes. The first one that comes to mind is hole 5. A fairly straight shot, you start in the open, shoot through the tunnel of trees down to the plateau below. Be careful not to over shoot the basket or put too much anhyzer on it or you will miss the plateau and end up well below the basket with no real shot at deuce. One of the features that make this hole and course so great are the huge stone steps that lead you down the fairway. It gives the course a unique feel and really lives up to its name.

Another great design feature are the pin placements. Not only are they picturesque, atop a hill or surrounded by stone, they provide an excellent risk-reward factor with drop-offs, hills, and guardian trees all coming into play. This is probably the best feature of the course making the short game a real equalizer.

All-in-all I really enjoyed this course. I thought the course was amazing for the land they had to work with. The park is very small and compact but the course has big personality. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone in the area, and with Deis Hill and Spiker-Arboretum not far away you can't go wrong making the Canton area a stop on your next road trip.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Lincoln Park

1    2/18/2011   2/19/2011
Review By: JoseCafe704
Played: 29  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation changes are paramount on this course and used very objectively. There's a wonderful balance between uphill, downhill, and flat holes. Many older growth hardwoods assist in making this course relatively unique in that most courses throughout the state just unfortunately don't have as many mature trees. There's little frustration in finding the next tee with arrows and signs leading the player around the course. The technical aspect of the course leaves the player to really concentrate on the drive, as good shots with some risk involved (throwing parallel with ravine, skirting it's entire length) will be awarded with an easier play on the basket.
Cons: I know I visited the park after the first big thaw in nearly two months, but there were some areas I could imagine stay pretty damp year round. Lots of such evidence around the tee pads where you could tell those involved with the maintenance of the course have been trying to address this issue. The road that cuts through the middle of the park is, like others have mentioned, a definite distraction and consideration on several holes. Some holes also play dangerously close to private property (Hole 14 and 15?). The tee signs have been replaced from the ones seen in the pictures for this course. Though they have nice wooden bases and hooks on the back to hold your bag, the sign itself is just a piece of laminated paper that won't last nearly as long as the old DGA signs that were on the course.
Other Thoughts: One of the better laid out courses I've played in awhile. A lot of thought and attention was given to the design, and I plan on coming back in the warmer months to play this one again!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Precision is Instrumental

1    8/10/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: kinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
~Scenic trails, heavily wooded and hilly
~Long concrete tees, in nice condition
~Baskets are in very good shape
~Solid signage with plenty of arrows on nearby trees to keep you going in the right direction
~Parking lot puts you right at the 1st tee
~18th basket is close to the parking lot
~If technical throws are your thing, this is your course
~Challenging and an all around nice hike from start to finish
~Copious amounts of benches and trash cans
Cons:
~Trees and heavy vegetation on some parts of the ground can displace discs easily
~Only a few holes that contain any resemblance to an open fairway
~Difficult course start to finish for players without a lot of experience
Other Thoughts: Played fairly difficult for a guy like me who has yet to master consistent 250' throws that can fly straight as an arrow. The course itself is in a wonderful natural setting with more than enough undulation. The entire round provides for a very pleasant hike through a nicely wooded area with neat stone steps and natural trails. Plenty of beauty can be found all around and the constant shade was appreciated on a 90 degree August afternoon. I hit my share of trees off the tee, but also had a few sneak by which helped. Many of the baskets are placed on some unforgiving mounds so you are constantly reminded on using good form from tee shot to putting. I could easily see this course maintaining it's technical status while allowing for more approachable drives and an overall better experience if 2-3 of the smaller tress on most of the holes were removed. This course is a nice contrast to Arboretum-Spiker in nearby Canton so I am blessed to be close to both.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great for hot day

1    7/17/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: dallamjm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great for a hot day. lots of shade. Lightly wooded and decent markings. No lost discs. Easy to spot baskets from tee off area
Cons: I wish there was a public bathroom midway thru
Other Thoughts: Easy to find. Good starter course for my boys. Kept them engaged

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Shaded Terrain

1    7/3/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Three six=hole loops. Concrete tees and good signs. Mostly plays under large hardwoods, i.e. in the shade on hot summer days. Lots of benches and trash cans. Bathroom.
Cons:
Busy road separates parking and holes 1-6 from 7-18. Baskets 12 and 18 are not too far from this road.
Other Thoughts:
The course plays up/down/across two slopes of a public park split by a busy road. Elevation changes on practically every hole, even mix of up/down, moderate/slight. Nice blend of left/right/S/no turns needed off the tee. A few holes have tight windows or funnels to hit, but not overly small nor long. The tighter, relatively flatter, holes are played first amongst mid-sized trees, bushes/undergrowth, and small bits of open space on the East side of the park. The West side has a steeper, larger slope, with taller hardwoods scattered about, and several miniature ravines wending their way down the hillside. There are small sets of stone stairs near some greens, and #12 has you play across a small water garden. Baskets 7, 9, and 11 have a mini-crater located just behind them. Hole-16 has you play into, and hole-17 across, a mini-ravine. Number-18 is a great finishing hole - long, downhill, woods on left practically the entire way, scattered hardwoods early and late with open space in the middle, requiring an elongated right-then-left turn shot while keeping the nose down - don't want to gain altitude or you'll find canopy.

This course was a very enjoyable play, offering a variety of achievable challenges, and having a very pleasant environment to play in - underneath the trees and across interesting terrain.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    11/7/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of little valleys and rock formations
Lots of Altitude changes
Well maintained park
Visually excellent
Not much land to work with but they use it perfectly
Lots of shot variety
Cons: A lot of the holes are kinda cramped together on a pretty small piece of land
A little trouble finding the next hole sometimes but nothing serious
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. Lots of elevation changes.The holes are all different and interesting. I loved the holes the make use of the little rock cliffs and valleys. It's a good looking course and they used the land available to them perfectly.

It was challenging but not frustrating, you definitely had to come up with a plan of attack before you throw. Plenty of trees in you way but not so much that you need to rely on luck

It lacks something though, I'm not sure what. There's nothing wrong with it but it just doesn't have anything about it that really sticks in your mind. No signature hole or anything that makes it stand out. But I would definitely play this course again and I would recommend it to anyone living within reasonable driving distance.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Updates and modifications

5+    5/11/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: jay@just-disc-golf
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2010
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is stark counties most beautiful course lots of trees lots of shots not a beginner course unless yo like trees well maintained by local club members new tee signs
Cons: would be the erosion issues from the years but this seems to be getting fixed here and there good job on the back filling of the tee pads no awful drop off now
Other Thoughts: a must play if in town

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 EXERCISE

5+    4/4/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: rcracer757
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2009
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A soccer field to practice your throws. This course has hills and trees galore. Have fun twisting a turning through all of it. I am a Bulldog at heart so it hurts me to say Massillon has a mighty fine course.
Cons: The pars on most of the holes seem to be very favorable. If you would just play as if they were all par 3 you would have a more accurate reading on how well you are playing.
Other Thoughts: Well this is a fun and challenging course and since I am trying to lose weight. This course put me to the test.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Guaranteed good timee

1    5/25/2008   8/13/2008
Review By: timg
Played: 243  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.4 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some great elevation in a well maintained city park littered with old growth trees. I also found the course easy to follow 90% of the time and that was without a printed map on hand. Also, very nice concrete teepads were available at every hole.
Cons: Tee signs were in rough shape.
Other Thoughts: Lincoln Park made for a really enjoyable and challenging round of disc golf. I wouldn't consider this course heavily wooded but there is certainly no shortage of trees. The first 6 holes play in a park-like setting with some rolling terrain. Then you make your way across the street to play the last 12 holes which is where I feel this park really ups the challenge/fun factor. These holes play mostly on a pretty steep hillside where you'll be throwing up and down the hillside, through and over ravines and of course, contending with the trees mentioned earlier.

Lincoln won't give you much opportunity to throw long bombs and rip your drives due to the placement and abundance of trees but chances are you'll probably be enjoying your round here too much to take notice. I had a lot of fun playing this course and will definitely play here again if I have the opportunity.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.