Massillon, OH
Lincoln Park (Oak Ledges DGC) Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #9 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Eastern Ohio has some Serious Elevation

1    4/8/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 39  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 1.8 Years
Pros: Oak Ledges DGC is located in beautiful Lincoln Park that has a variety of other things to do. Luckily, the section of the park that the course is in is primarily dedicated to disc golf. The parking lot is big and there is a Porta-John right next to it (which, according to other reviews, is an upgrade from the other bathroom). Hole 1 conveniently starts a few feet away from the parking lot, near the playground. There are an abundance of garbage cans and benches, which is nice to see because you hike up and down many hills throughout the course.

Tee signs are easy to spot, in new condition, and helpful in locating the pins. Concrete tee pads are in great shape, comfortably long, and dug nicely into the ground. Baskets are Mach 3 and have the hole numbers on them. This is helpful in a few spots where you see more than one basket at a time.

The most enjoyable factor to me was the use of elevation on every single hole, whether it was throwing uphill, downhill, across a ravine, or on a side-sloping hill. There are a few pretty extreme elevation changes that are a lot of fun (holes 1, 2, 7, 9, 12, 14, 15, 16, and 18). The course plays through a pretty densely wooded area, so most holes offer multiple lines, and you will throw many different types of shots throughout your round. Also, there are many well thought out pin positions that offer challenging upshots that do not give a lot of room for error, whether being located on a fast green (4, 16) or on a hill surrounded by a steep drop-off (7, 9, 11).

Navigation flows very well and is intuitive for the most part. There are a good number of next tee signs pointing you in the right direction, and a few sets of stairs are helpful in climbing up steep hills. The course begins and ends very close to the parking lot. It is also nice how there aren't many areas where it would be easy to lose a disc, as the rough is pretty limited here.
Cons: -Navigation is great for the most part, but can be tricky around the deep ravine (holes 7 and 9). There is no clear direction for where to go next. There are a few times where you cross roads, so be careful.
-There were a few holes that played uncomfortably close to yards and the park roads. Since hole 2 is downhill, a player could easily hyzer into that person's yard. I felt like I was playing in someone's backyard for holes 3, 4, 11, 13, 14, and 15. It was clearly part of the park, but they play very close to peoples' yards.
-While the holes present are a blast, there is not a whole lot of variety to the types of holes that this course offers - most holes are evenly wooded and hilly. The distances are very similar as well, and only one hole is longer than 400 feet.
-The course is packed pretty tight in a few spots, so I could see some definite trouble if multiple people were playing the course at once. Also, there are some areas where you backtrack to the next hole and parts where different fairways and baskets are close to one another (areas around holes 7 and 9, 12 and 18, 14 and 15). There were a few spots where I needed to check the basket's number first, as multiple were in view.
-Only one tee pad and pin position per hole
Other Thoughts: Lincoln Park (Oak Ledges) offers you a very technical course that will cause you to really think before a lot of your shots. It is a very fun course in that it is not too frustratingly hard, but does offer multiple tight, technical shots. It is definitely a hike, which is a plus in my eyes. People of all skills would enjoy this course, and it is located within 30 min of many other fine courses. I had a tough time deciding what to rate this course. If I could, I'd give it a 3.75, but will raise it up to a 4 because of how well done a lot of the holes are. What is most notable to me is how many unique holes there are on such a small piece of land. Holes 5, 7, 9, and 16 offer something different that I have never seen before. This is an awesome course, was very well designed, and is truly a course that I could play every day.

My favorite holes were -

5- Straight shot that plays super tight off the tee and then downhill to the green
7- Straight shot playing over a deep ravine then uphill to where the basket sits. Not a lot of room for error on your upshot
9- Much like hole 7
14- Longest hole on the course. Plays uphill and through many trees
16- Plays downhill then over a ravine with the basket on a hillside

  challenge me this....

1    8/5/2011   4/1/2012
Review By: discjockee
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good technical shots with distance and great tee placements. Upwind shots, nice elevations, trees are bountiful on many holes. Have fun trying to finish with more than minus eight.
Cons: A little chopped up by the street, plus not all that many trash cans. The restrooms are always locked unfortunately. Plus on occasion there have been disc thieves on certain holes.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic!

2-4    6/11/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 41  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of parking, pavilion between holes #1 & #2
- Playground for the kids with grills
- Bathrooms located by hole #7 (note that as of 06/14/11, they were vandalized and appeared to be in the process of being renovated)
- Billboard at the entrance
- Map is accurate and very handy your first time out. The course can be confusing without the map.
- Concrete tees are in great shape
- Fantastic tee signs
- Convenient next tee signs
- Baskets are in good condition and well labeled
- The course flows well even with the interruption of the road between holes #6 & #7 and #15 & #16. Hole #1 starts at the parking lot and hole #18 ends right across the street near the parking lot. The land was utilized to the upmost ability.
- Amazing mix of shots required. Left and right turns, over hills and through ravines, over and under overhanging tree limbs.
- Gorgeous scenery with a rolling landscape. Constant elevation changes add tremendous value to this course. Beautiful stonework stairs make the course look 100 years old.
- Fantastic upkeep! This course is better looking than some ball golf courses I've seen. Huge thanks to the club that keeps this course top notch.
- Plenty of trashcans
- Low traffic except for disc golfers
- Benches located at the holes where you need them most!
Cons: - Bring your bug spray and watch out for poison ivy. Seems to be a breeding ground for mosquitoes.
- Hole #3 is right near private property probably receives a lot of discs
- The roads that criss-cross through the course can be very busy
Other Thoughts: - This is a very beautiful course and one that I make plans to visit at times of the year when there is plenty of moss and full natural growth when the course is at its' most beautiful state.
- Very scenic rock/water garden near the basket for #12 & #18
- I would not say that the overall course is challenging but the course certainly has it's challenges. Holes #3 & #5 have some of the more challenging tees to drive from and you can very easily hit a tree just a few feet away.
- The distance of the course is fairly short but requires some technical shots. Only able to really rip it on a few holes.
- The most challenging hole for me is #14. Not only is this longest hole but there is a small opening to aim for with OB to the right.
- My favorite hole is #7. It's short but the basket is located on a mound and I enjoy the challenge of trying to nail that straight shot through the trees and maybe one day I'll get that ace!
- I would classify this as a destination course but only in the seasons when all of nature is in full bloom

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great elevation for Ohio

5+    10/15/2010   2/28/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 5.8 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first thing that comes to mind when thinking about this course is how beautiful it is. From Spring through Fall this course is vibrant with plant life and has many great rock features throughout the course. The course has ravines, stairs carved from rock walls, lots of mature hardwoods and a sort of water garden. This course is especially spectacular in the Fall when all the deciduous trees (and there are lots of them) are in full color.

The course itself is a fairly compact 18 holes that play in a unique format of 3, 6 hole loops. I am sure this was not planned but just the way the layout happened. This course plays from lightly wooded to heavily wooded. There are not too many holes you can really open it up on. The exceptions being #'s 1 and 14 which give you some distance and some room to open it up. The course is very well balanced between FH and BH holes with numerous holes that provide line for both. Every hole on this course is unique. There is no repetition in the design. Contrary to previous reviews I think each hole has distinct lines available through the trees.

Oak Ledges takes full advantage of the wonderful elevation available with every hole featuring some form of elevation change. This can be subtle like hole #10 to dramatic like holes 2, 5 and 18. I think 3 might be the only hole that is flat.

There are some fantastic Pin placements on this course. Elevated on a mound, steep declines behind, defended by trees and on slopes. I think the pin placements are one of the highlights of this course.

This course has a nice pavilion, bathrooms (not super nice) and a playground. The tees are in good shape, with a few new natural long tees being put in but are currently unmarked. The tee signs are nice providing an accurate overview of the hole and distance. Navigation is relatively intuitive and should not be a problem for first timers.

There are 6 temp holes that get setup for tournaments to bring the course up to 24 holes. I personally do not enjoy the temp holes as they have a completely different feel and style from the rest of the course but it is always nice to be able to get in a couple more holes.
Cons: There are not many blatant cons on this course.

One that I have no problem with but have heard from other golfers is how throughout the course there are places where you are very close to private property. On holes 2 and 13 you could easily end up in someone's yard if you go long and the tees for 3 and 11 are very close to houses.

If you prefer grip it and rip it courses you will not enjoy the lack of open holes or space to rip a big drive. That is mostly unavailable due to the shorter technical style of this course.

There is a busy road that cuts through the middle of the course. You will need to cross it going from 6 to 7 and from 18 to 1. Not only is this road busy but the drivers on it go very fast since it is a pretty steep hill. I don't think the busy road should ever come into play (maybe on 8 if you have a really bad shot) but crossing it can be a shady proposition

Hole Number three. The tee does not aim at the hole which irks me for some reason. Also I understand the original thought was to have the hole play through a corridor of trees but everyone I play with just throws a RHFH and misses all the trouble. A redesign may help this hole.
Other Thoughts: I put this course on my list of favorites since it has such a great ambiance to it and provides such a high fun factor. I love the variety throughout the course from hitting the super narrow gap on 5 to launching a Buzz 400 ft on 18. I also think the ravine that comes into play on 7, 9 and 11 is awesome and makes your drives, approaches and putts on those holes much more interesting. The locals are great and do a great job keeping the course cleaned up. This is a great course to play in the warmer months since the abundant shade keeps you cool. I am looking forward to coming back to play here in May.

This course is often paired with the Arboretum-Spiker Park course in Canton. It is about a 20 minute drive between them and provide a nice study in opposites.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Course

5+    5/26/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: Mike C
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Strong variety of holes featuring many elevation changes. They're enjoyable and flow well. The shots are mostly hyzer shots for RHBH players, but there are a couple of right turning drives as well.

-Holes 5, 11 and 14 are my favorites. 5 is a bit of a tunnel shot through some trees that ends slightly to the right, with a steep drop off if you hyzer out to the left. 11 is a long, downhill right turning drive that starts out wide ope and ends with a lot of mature trees guarding the approach to a basket sitting right in front of a ~50 foot drop off. 14 is a 400'+ straight shot trough some trees with two hills in play, it's a very beautiful hole.

-Quality teepads and signs. Good amount of benches and trash cans spread throughout the course.

-The holes feature a nice amount of trees, which increases the challenge.

-Course can easily be played with a putter and a midrange, but it can still be challenging.

-Scenic location. Nice course to sit on a bench for a few minutes and enjoy the surroundings.

-Running water fountain
Cons: -In the fall the large amount of leaves can obscure a tossed disc.

-Playing right along side the road can sometimes be noisy, but it's usually easy to ignore.
Other Thoughts: This course, with it's shorter, more wooded holes is a great compliment to the longer and more open Canton Disc Golf Park. Play them both in one day for a great variety of shots.

There are restrooms, playgrounds, basketball hoops, grills, and a soccer field.

One of the better courses in the area. Nice variety of shots with elevation and trees coming into play in numerous ways, and the distance varying between 200 foot ace runs to 400' uphill drives.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/16/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Stark county's 2nd Gem. Offers lots technical shots. Plays on a hill side with elevation changes on just about every hole. Drive placement is key on most holes. Concrete tees. There is a bench after hole 8 for you to take break!
Cons: Tees signs are little banged up, but those should be fixed shortly. The constant ,up, down, up down.,...but that's not really a bad thing
Other Thoughts: Depending on recent rain fall 12 will have water in play. Plan on doing some serious hiking when you come to this course. Bring water !

Some of my favorite holes are on the course.

9 which has a drop off of about 30 to 40 ft surrounding the pin, so Don't over shoot it.

Water fountain & bathrooms on hole 7 . Playground right next to the parking lot. Soccer field and walking path that runs through the bottom of the park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A fun hike made even better

2-4    5/17/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Almost every hole has elevation change
+ Course was well looked after and in great shape
+ Accuracy needed with few throws being open
+ Lots of risk/reward opportunities
+ Signs and guide posts between holes aide in course navigation
Cons: - Some of the current signs are in bad shape but they are getting replaced, so this con is temporary.
-Park bathroom is, well ... completely doorless. But at least there is a bathroom.
Other Thoughts: I had a great deal of fun playing this course. It challenged me and I'm certain I'm coming back to play here multiple more times.

What made me like this course more than Arboretum-Spiker was I thought the land the course runs through here was much more beautiful. That in combination with it's technical layout made it the kind of course that I want to be at more than once.

Many of the tees offered a couple of lines to hit, though all tight, and when I got a drive to hit those gaps I couldn't help but smile.

The course is very up/down, which for me was pretty new and challenging but very enjoyable. Its a decent hike and if it's just rained bring good shoes and watch your footing. Lots of places to slip and fall if careless.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    6/30/2008   1/26/2009
Review By: smythransom
Played: 60  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety from the front 9 which offer a shorter technical set of holes while the back 9 offer a more open yet challenging 9. Signs are spot on, they show exactly where the pin is within relation to the natural surroundings.
Cons: Can be wet at times which make getting an disobeident disc a problem. Heavily wooded thus make sure to watch where your disc goes otherwise you may not find it.
Other Thoughts: Great course, makes you use all your shots. Uses up and down hill shots perfetly effectively lengthening and shorting holes respectively. Beautiful layout, nice and senic, hole 18 down hill is one of the best I have seen.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of great holes, course can be confusing.

5+    6/22/2008   6/22/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 45  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2008
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Plenty of cool holes after the first few, some of which will make you smile in anticipation. Lots of wooded holes if you like that sort of challenge.
Cons: Can be very confusing to navigate, even after having thrown this course a few times. Holes are all marked, but the order of the holes is not always clear.
Other Thoughts: Hills, hills and more hills. And trees. Challenging course, but worth the effort. Many beautiful holes, well-staged for scenic effect. The course is split by a road, but you only have to throw a few "roadside holes". Otherwise decently secluded. Lots of fun drives, and some clever basket placements.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.