Massillon, OH 
Lincoln Park (Oak Ledges DGC) Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Much More Enjoyable Than the Band

1    6/14/2014   10/27/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 74  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lincoln Park is a solid course with great elevation changes that features an especially technical midrange game. The elevation really steals the show,with all manner of challenges, from up- and down-hill shots to drop-offs framing pins to all manner of rolling hills that need to be smartly accounted for to score well. There are a variety of tight windows and lanes that need to be hit, which are made more tricky on account of the aforementioned elevation changes: these have a tremendous impact on what and how you throw. The level of woodedness ranges from modest to high, tending towards the heavier side. Pins are well placed, providing for lots of challenging birdie runs: the shorter hole lengths put most pins within reach from off the tee for many arms, but the threat of rollaways, drop-offs, and numerous mid-fairway obstacles means you'll still have to earn them.

The course is well sectioned off from other park activities, so conflicts with park goers isn't much of an issue. Parking is ample and starts right next to hole 1; the lot remains close by throughout, so you can skip out early if you need to.
Cons: The course is a shorter one to begin with, and some of the elevation changes and tight spaces make it play even shorter. The net effect was a constricting feel that had me sticking to putters and midranges almost exclusively throughout, and limited the overall sense of variation. A few holes outside of the birdieable par 3 pattern would have really helped to change things up. This isn't necessarily a fault of design, given the relatively small space the course is confined to, but no effort to offset this seems to be taken.

There are a few too many shots where you have to simply throw straight. Even holes that don't force you into a single lane often lack significant risk/reward decisions, allowing you to take a straightforward approach: the only time I caught myself weighing aggressive vs conservative throws was in regards to running baskets guarded by trees or drop-offs. This limits variety and the mental game: so much about Lincoln Park is about hitting the line you're forced to. My personal preference is to have more decisions to weigh.

The course has one set of tees and pin positions, limiting variety, replay value, and appeal to bigger arms.
Other Thoughts: I found Lincoln Park to be a very solid course with a rewardingly technical midrange game. Its shorter length and straightforward par 3 approach limits its appeal a bit, but it's still a worthwhile course in an area with several of them. It's a nice complement to the longer, more varied and open Arboretum-Spiker nearby.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Eastern Ohio has some Serious Elevation

1    4/8/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 81  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Oak Ledges DGC is located in beautiful Lincoln Park that has a variety of other things to do. Luckily, the section of the park that the course is in is primarily dedicated to disc golf. The parking lot is big and there is a Porta-John right next to it (which, according to other reviews, is an upgrade from the other bathroom). Hole 1 conveniently starts a few feet away from the parking lot, near the playground. There are an abundance of garbage cans and benches, which is nice to see because you hike up and down many hills throughout the course.

Tee signs are easy to spot, in new condition, and helpful in locating the pins. Concrete tee pads are in great shape, comfortably long, and dug nicely into the ground. Baskets are Mach 3 and have the hole numbers on them. This is helpful in a few spots where you see more than one basket at a time.

The most enjoyable factor to me was the use of elevation on every single hole, whether it was throwing uphill, downhill, across a ravine, or on a side-sloping hill. There are a few pretty extreme elevation changes that are a lot of fun (holes 1, 2, 7, 9, 12, 14, 15, 16, and 18). The course plays through a pretty densely wooded area, so most holes offer multiple lines, and you will throw many different types of shots throughout your round. Also, there are many well thought out pin positions that offer challenging upshots that do not give a lot of room for error, whether being located on a fast green (4, 16) or on a hill surrounded by a steep drop-off (7, 9, 11).

Navigation flows very well and is intuitive for the most part. There are a good number of next tee signs pointing you in the right direction, and a few sets of stairs are helpful in climbing up steep hills. The course begins and ends very close to the parking lot. It is also nice how there aren't many areas where it would be easy to lose a disc, as the rough is pretty limited here.
Cons: -Navigation is great for the most part, but can be tricky around the deep ravine (holes 7 and 9). There is no clear direction for where to go next. There are a few times where you cross roads, so be careful.
-There were a few holes that played uncomfortably close to yards and the park roads. Since hole 2 is downhill, a player could easily hyzer into that person's yard. I felt like I was playing in someone's backyard for holes 3, 4, 11, 13, 14, and 15. It was clearly part of the park, but they play very close to peoples' yards.
-While the holes present are a blast, there is not a whole lot of variety to the types of holes that this course offers - most holes are evenly wooded and hilly. The distances are very similar as well, and only one hole is longer than 400 feet.
-The course is packed pretty tight in a few spots, so I could see some definite trouble if multiple people were playing the course at once. Also, there are some areas where you backtrack to the next hole and parts where different fairways and baskets are close to one another (areas around holes 7 and 9, 12 and 18, 14 and 15). There were a few spots where I needed to check the basket's number first, as multiple were in view.
-Only one tee pad and pin position per hole
Other Thoughts: Lincoln Park (Oak Ledges) offers you a very technical course that will cause you to really think before a lot of your shots. It is a very fun course in that it is not too frustratingly hard, but does offer multiple tight, technical shots. It is definitely a hike, which is a plus in my eyes. People of all skills would enjoy this course, and it is located within 30 min of many other fine courses. I had a tough time deciding what to rate this course. If I could, I'd give it a 3.75, but will raise it up to a 4 because of how well done a lot of the holes are. What is most notable to me is how many unique holes there are on such a small piece of land. Holes 5, 7, 9, and 16 offer something different that I have never seen before. This is an awesome course, was very well designed, and is truly a course that I could play every day.

My favorite holes were -

5- Straight shot that plays super tight off the tee and then downhill to the green
7- Straight shot playing over a deep ravine then uphill to where the basket sits. Not a lot of room for error on your upshot
9- Much like hole 7
14- Longest hole on the course. Plays uphill and through many trees
16- Plays downhill then over a ravine with the basket on a hillside

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  challenge me this....

1    8/5/2011   4/1/2012
Review By: discjockee
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good technical shots with distance and great tee placements. Upwind shots, nice elevations, trees are bountiful on many holes. Have fun trying to finish with more than minus eight.
Cons: A little chopped up by the street, plus not all that many trash cans. The restrooms are always locked unfortunately. Plus on occasion there have been disc thieves on certain holes.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Must play..

5+    11/8/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: plattertoss88
Played: 64  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a huge absolutely beautiful park. Huge rock ledges and some pretty enormous trees. Plays very hilly and some what wooded, but fairly open. Concrete tees and some very high quality tee signs. Very nice benches and lots if trash cans around. Nice clean park! #7 is close to the parking lot if you need to run to your car that's nice. #9 and #18 also finish right at the parking lot. Lots of fun elevation here, some greens are on peninsula like hills with very little room for error. Lots of risk reward type shots, placement is a must though. All par 3's now makes this a very interesting challenge.
Cons: Some holes are very close to one low traffic road and one more busy road. Most holes here aren't to long, still can be brutal on you if you don't have accuracy. Very hilly, can be a huge energy drainer on you if not used to these conditions.
Other Thoughts: Course also has a very nice walking trail and huge a field. Also a decent size playground sits right at the base of #1. Bathrooms are located at the road by #7 and #9. In my opinion this is a must play if you enjoy a scenic game of DG!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Small Course, Big Personality

1    6/12/2011   7/7/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
New Tee Signs with Maps, Distance, Par and Bag Hanger
Nice Concrete Tee Pads
Great use of Elevation
Good Variety of Distances
Great Variety of Shot Types
Both Wooded and Open Holes
Great Pin Placements
Very Well-Manicured and Maintained
Playground, Walking and Biking Trails, and Picnic Areas In Park
Baskets are in Good Shape
Ample Parking
Benches and Trash Cans Throughout
Scenery/Lanscaping is Amazing
Most Skill Levels Can Play Here
Cons:
No Real Long Holes For Big Arms
Bathrooms on Basically Condemned
Navigating is Tricky in A Couple Spots
Roads/Traffic In Play on Several Holes
Paths/Fairways Are Slippery When Wet
Other Thoughts:
Oak Ledges is a great little 18-hole course located in a small city park in Massillon, Ohio. The course and park are both very clean and very well-maintained except for the restrooms which looked nearly condemned.

To locate the course enter from the intersection of 17th Street Northwest and Lincoln Park Drive Northwest. Park in the lot on the east side of 17th Street, look for the playground. From the parking lot you will see the bulletin board/map and first tee on the south side of the parking lot.

The course plays through the small park, crossing roads in several places. The busiest road does not come into play, but you do have to cross it so be careful, especially if you have kids with you. The two smaller roads that cut through the park do come into play in several spots and traffic, both pedestrian and vehicular, can be a small issue. Just keep an eye out and you should have no problems at all.

After playing the first few holes you really start to get a feel for the type of course you are playing. Nothing too long, but technical and keeps you thinking. Many of the holes have a couple of different lines to take and, in my opinion, this keeps you coming back and keeps things interesting.

The designers did a great job with this course, making it both fun and challenging while working with such a small amount of land. They really used the natural features and obstacles the area has to offer to create some truly unique holes. The first one that comes to mind is hole 5. A fairly straight shot, you start in the open, shoot through the tunnel of trees down to the plateau below. Be careful not to over shoot the basket or put too much anhyzer on it or you will miss the plateau and end up well below the basket with no real shot at deuce. One of the features that make this hole and course so great are the huge stone steps that lead you down the fairway. It gives the course a unique feel and really lives up to its name.

Another great design feature are the pin placements. Not only are they picturesque, atop a hill or surrounded by stone, they provide an excellent risk-reward factor with drop-offs, hills, and guardian trees all coming into play. This is probably the best feature of the course making the short game a real equalizer.

All-in-all I really enjoyed this course. I thought the course was amazing for the land they had to work with. The park is very small and compact but the course has big personality. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone in the area, and with Deis Hill and Spiker-Arboretum not far away you can't go wrong making the Canton area a stop on your next road trip.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic!

2-4    6/11/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 43  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of parking, pavilion between holes #1 & #2
- Playground for the kids with grills
- Bathrooms located by hole #7 (note that as of 06/14/11, they were vandalized and appeared to be in the process of being renovated)
- Billboard at the entrance
- Map is accurate and very handy your first time out. The course can be confusing without the map.
- Concrete tees are in great shape
- Fantastic tee signs
- Convenient next tee signs
- Baskets are in good condition and well labeled
- The course flows well even with the interruption of the road between holes #6 & #7 and #15 & #16. Hole #1 starts at the parking lot and hole #18 ends right across the street near the parking lot. The land was utilized to the upmost ability.
- Amazing mix of shots required. Left and right turns, over hills and through ravines, over and under overhanging tree limbs.
- Gorgeous scenery with a rolling landscape. Constant elevation changes add tremendous value to this course. Beautiful stonework stairs make the course look 100 years old.
- Fantastic upkeep! This course is better looking than some ball golf courses I've seen. Huge thanks to the club that keeps this course top notch.
- Plenty of trashcans
- Low traffic except for disc golfers
- Benches located at the holes where you need them most!
Cons: - Bring your bug spray and watch out for poison ivy. Seems to be a breeding ground for mosquitoes.
- Hole #3 is right near private property probably receives a lot of discs
- The roads that criss-cross through the course can be very busy
Other Thoughts: - This is a very beautiful course and one that I make plans to visit at times of the year when there is plenty of moss and full natural growth when the course is at its' most beautiful state.
- Very scenic rock/water garden near the basket for #12 & #18
- I would not say that the overall course is challenging but the course certainly has it's challenges. Holes #3 & #5 have some of the more challenging tees to drive from and you can very easily hit a tree just a few feet away.
- The distance of the course is fairly short but requires some technical shots. Only able to really rip it on a few holes.
- The most challenging hole for me is #14. Not only is this longest hole but there is a small opening to aim for with OB to the right.
- My favorite hole is #7. It's short but the basket is located on a mound and I enjoy the challenge of trying to nail that straight shot through the trees and maybe one day I'll get that ace!
- I would classify this as a destination course but only in the seasons when all of nature is in full bloom

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great elevation for Ohio

5+    10/15/2010   2/28/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first thing that comes to mind when thinking about this course is how beautiful it is. From Spring through Fall this course is vibrant with plant life and has many great rock features throughout the course. The course has ravines, stairs carved from rock walls, lots of mature hardwoods and a sort of water garden. This course is especially spectacular in the Fall when all the deciduous trees (and there are lots of them) are in full color.

The course itself is a fairly compact 18 holes that play in a unique format of 3, 6 hole loops. I am sure this was not planned but just the way the layout happened. This course plays from lightly wooded to heavily wooded. There are not too many holes you can really open it up on. The exceptions being #'s 1 and 14 which give you some distance and some room to open it up. The course is very well balanced between FH and BH holes with numerous holes that provide line for both. Every hole on this course is unique. There is no repetition in the design. Contrary to previous reviews I think each hole has distinct lines available through the trees.

Oak Ledges takes full advantage of the wonderful elevation available with every hole featuring some form of elevation change. This can be subtle like hole #10 to dramatic like holes 2, 5 and 18. I think 3 might be the only hole that is flat.

There are some fantastic Pin placements on this course. Elevated on a mound, steep declines behind, defended by trees and on slopes. I think the pin placements are one of the highlights of this course.

This course has a nice pavilion, bathrooms (not super nice) and a playground. The tees are in good shape, with a few new natural long tees being put in but are currently unmarked. The tee signs are nice providing an accurate overview of the hole and distance. Navigation is relatively intuitive and should not be a problem for first timers.

There are 6 temp holes that get setup for tournaments to bring the course up to 24 holes. I personally do not enjoy the temp holes as they have a completely different feel and style from the rest of the course but it is always nice to be able to get in a couple more holes.
Cons: There are not many blatant cons on this course.

One that I have no problem with but have heard from other golfers is how throughout the course there are places where you are very close to private property. On holes 2 and 13 you could easily end up in someone's yard if you go long and the tees for 3 and 11 are very close to houses.

If you prefer grip it and rip it courses you will not enjoy the lack of open holes or space to rip a big drive. That is mostly unavailable due to the shorter technical style of this course.

There is a busy road that cuts through the middle of the course. You will need to cross it going from 6 to 7 and from 18 to 1. Not only is this road busy but the drivers on it go very fast since it is a pretty steep hill. I don't think the busy road should ever come into play (maybe on 8 if you have a really bad shot) but crossing it can be a shady proposition

Hole Number three. The tee does not aim at the hole which irks me for some reason. Also I understand the original thought was to have the hole play through a corridor of trees but everyone I play with just throws a RHFH and misses all the trouble. A redesign may help this hole.
Other Thoughts: I put this course on my list of favorites since it has such a great ambiance to it and provides such a high fun factor. I love the variety throughout the course from hitting the super narrow gap on 5 to launching a Buzz 400 ft on 18. I also think the ravine that comes into play on 7, 9 and 11 is awesome and makes your drives, approaches and putts on those holes much more interesting. The locals are great and do a great job keeping the course cleaned up. This is a great course to play in the warmer months since the abundant shade keeps you cool. I am looking forward to coming back to play here in May.

This course is often paired with the Arboretum-Spiker Park course in Canton. It is about a 20 minute drive between them and provide a nice study in opposites.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Lincoln Park

1    2/18/2011   2/19/2011
Review By: JoseCafe704
Played: 29  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Elevation changes are paramount on this course and used very objectively. There's a wonderful balance between uphill, downhill, and flat holes. Many older growth hardwoods assist in making this course relatively unique in that most courses throughout the state just unfortunately don't have as many mature trees. There's little frustration in finding the next tee with arrows and signs leading the player around the course. The technical aspect of the course leaves the player to really concentrate on the drive, as good shots with some risk involved (throwing parallel with ravine, skirting it's entire length) will be awarded with an easier play on the basket.
Cons: I know I visited the park after the first big thaw in nearly two months, but there were some areas I could imagine stay pretty damp year round. Lots of such evidence around the tee pads where you could tell those involved with the maintenance of the course have been trying to address this issue. The road that cuts through the middle of the park is, like others have mentioned, a definite distraction and consideration on several holes. Some holes also play dangerously close to private property (Hole 14 and 15?). The tee signs have been replaced from the ones seen in the pictures for this course. Though they have nice wooden bases and hooks on the back to hold your bag, the sign itself is just a piece of laminated paper that won't last nearly as long as the old DGA signs that were on the course.
Other Thoughts: One of the better laid out courses I've played in awhile. A lot of thought and attention was given to the design, and I plan on coming back in the warmer months to play this one again!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Precision is Instrumental

1    8/10/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: kinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
~Scenic trails, heavily wooded and hilly
~Long concrete tees, in nice condition
~Baskets are in very good shape
~Solid signage with plenty of arrows on nearby trees to keep you going in the right direction
~Parking lot puts you right at the 1st tee
~18th basket is close to the parking lot
~If technical throws are your thing, this is your course
~Challenging and an all around nice hike from start to finish
~Copious amounts of benches and trash cans
Cons:
~Trees and heavy vegetation on some parts of the ground can displace discs easily
~Only a few holes that contain any resemblance to an open fairway
~Difficult course start to finish for players without a lot of experience
Other Thoughts: Played fairly difficult for a guy like me who has yet to master consistent 250' throws that can fly straight as an arrow. The course itself is in a wonderful natural setting with more than enough undulation. The entire round provides for a very pleasant hike through a nicely wooded area with neat stone steps and natural trails. Plenty of beauty can be found all around and the constant shade was appreciated on a 90 degree August afternoon. I hit my share of trees off the tee, but also had a few sneak by which helped. Many of the baskets are placed on some unforgiving mounds so you are constantly reminded on using good form from tee shot to putting. I could easily see this course maintaining it's technical status while allowing for more approachable drives and an overall better experience if 2-3 of the smaller tress on most of the holes were removed. This course is a nice contrast to Arboretum-Spiker in nearby Canton so I am blessed to be close to both.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great for hot day

1    7/17/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: dallamjm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great for a hot day. lots of shade. Lightly wooded and decent markings. No lost discs. Easy to spot baskets from tee off area
Cons: I wish there was a public bathroom midway thru
Other Thoughts: Easy to find. Good starter course for my boys. Kept them engaged

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.