Massillon, OH 
Lincoln Park (Oak Ledges DGC) Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 227ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Shaded Terrain

1    7/3/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Three six=hole loops. Concrete tees and good signs. Mostly plays under large hardwoods, i.e. in the shade on hot summer days. Lots of benches and trash cans. Bathroom.
Cons:
Busy road separates parking and holes 1-6 from 7-18. Baskets 12 and 18 are not too far from this road.
Other Thoughts:
The course plays up/down/across two slopes of a public park split by a busy road. Elevation changes on practically every hole, even mix of up/down, moderate/slight. Nice blend of left/right/S/no turns needed off the tee. A few holes have tight windows or funnels to hit, but not overly small nor long. The tighter, relatively flatter, holes are played first amongst mid-sized trees, bushes/undergrowth, and small bits of open space on the East side of the park. The West side has a steeper, larger slope, with taller hardwoods scattered about, and several miniature ravines wending their way down the hillside. There are small sets of stone stairs near some greens, and #12 has you play across a small water garden. Baskets 7, 9, and 11 have a mini-crater located just behind them. Hole-16 has you play into, and hole-17 across, a mini-ravine. Number-18 is a great finishing hole - long, downhill, woods on left practically the entire way, scattered hardwoods early and late with open space in the middle, requiring an elongated right-then-left turn shot while keeping the nose down - don't want to gain altitude or you'll find canopy.

This course was a very enjoyable play, offering a variety of achievable challenges, and having a very pleasant environment to play in - underneath the trees and across interesting terrain.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/15/2009   6/28/2010
Review By: Keegan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course was absolutely beautiful. Loved the historic steps/ruins of old buildings and structures. Challenging, but very fun to play. Recommend to everyone!
Cons: Very little to speak about, but the first few holes were a bit confusing as to where the shot to. Otherwise no cons!
Other Thoughts: The course was little hard to find, played the course multiple times and enjoyed it more and more everytime I played it. Fantastic course.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Course

5+    5/26/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: Mike C
Played: 62  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Strong variety of holes featuring many elevation changes. They're enjoyable and flow well. The shots are mostly hyzer shots for RHBH players, but there are a couple of right turning drives as well.

-Holes 5, 11 and 14 are my favorites. 5 is a bit of a tunnel shot through some trees that ends slightly to the right, with a steep drop off if you hyzer out to the left. 11 is a long, downhill right turning drive that starts out wide ope and ends with a lot of mature trees guarding the approach to a basket sitting right in front of a ~50 foot drop off. 14 is a 400'+ straight shot trough some trees with two hills in play, it's a very beautiful hole.

-Quality teepads and signs. Good amount of benches and trash cans spread throughout the course.

-The holes feature a nice amount of trees, which increases the challenge.

-Course can easily be played with a putter and a midrange, but it can still be challenging.

-Scenic location. Nice course to sit on a bench for a few minutes and enjoy the surroundings.

-Running water fountain
Cons: -In the fall the large amount of leaves can obscure a tossed disc.

-Playing right along side the road can sometimes be noisy, but it's usually easy to ignore.
Other Thoughts: This course, with it's shorter, more wooded holes is a great compliment to the longer and more open Canton Disc Golf Park. Play them both in one day for a great variety of shots.

There are restrooms, playgrounds, basketball hoops, grills, and a soccer field.

One of the better courses in the area. Nice variety of shots with elevation and trees coming into play in numerous ways, and the distance varying between 200 foot ace runs to 400' uphill drives.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

oaky hill

5+    10/25/2009   1/3/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 55  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2013
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: +great idea to put a disc golf course on this hill with huge oak trees and nice elevation changes
+concrete tee pads
+wonderful pin locations (snuggled close to ridges)
+interesting paths through wooded course make for a scenic hike between throws
+saw a HUGEEEE red tail hawk that didn't care we were about 30 feet away.
Cons:


Other Thoughts: make a day trip to lincoln park and arboretum as these two dgc are within 10 min from each other, you will not be disappointed.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    11/7/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 140  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of little valleys and rock formations
Lots of Altitude changes
Well maintained park
Visually excellent
Not much land to work with but they use it perfectly
Lots of shot variety
Cons: A lot of the holes are kinda cramped together on a pretty small piece of land
A little trouble finding the next hole sometimes but nothing serious
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. Lots of elevation changes.The holes are all different and interesting. I loved the holes the make use of the little rock cliffs and valleys. It's a good looking course and they used the land available to them perfectly.

It was challenging but not frustrating, you definitely had to come up with a plan of attack before you throw. Plenty of trees in you way but not so much that you need to rely on luck

It lacks something though, I'm not sure what. There's nothing wrong with it but it just doesn't have anything about it that really sticks in your mind. No signature hole or anything that makes it stand out. But I would definitely play this course again and I would recommend it to anyone living within reasonable driving distance.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ravines!

1    7/19/2005   10/19/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of fun. Many fairly short holes. Most have elevation as a factor, grassy fairways, and plenty of trees to navigate around (but not so many as to be impossible or require pure luck to get through).

Most notable feature is some deep ravines that run through part of the course. A few baskets are located excitingly close to deep drop-offs, making them memorable. You also get a chance to drive over some, or try to.

A pretty and peaceful place for a round or two of disc golf.
Cons: Nothing really wrong with this course. Few holes with any "WOW" factor to merit a top rating, but all are fun to play.
Other Thoughts: The kind of course that players of a wide range of abilities could enjoy. Not terribly challenging for top players, beginners might deal with a few throws into nasty places (ravines, thick underbrush in a few places), but everyone should enjoy it.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/16/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Stark county's 2nd Gem. Offers lots technical shots. Plays on a hill side with elevation changes on just about every hole. Drive placement is key on most holes. Concrete tees. There is a bench after hole 8 for you to take break!
Cons: Tees signs are little banged up, but those should be fixed shortly. The constant ,up, down, up down.,...but that's not really a bad thing
Other Thoughts: Depending on recent rain fall 12 will have water in play. Plan on doing some serious hiking when you come to this course. Bring water !

Some of my favorite holes are on the course.

9 which has a drop off of about 30 to 40 ft surrounding the pin, so Don't over shoot it.

Water fountain & bathrooms on hole 7 . Playground right next to the parking lot. Soccer field and walking path that runs through the bottom of the park.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A fun hike made even better

2-4    5/17/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Almost every hole has elevation change
+ Course was well looked after and in great shape
+ Accuracy needed with few throws being open
+ Lots of risk/reward opportunities
+ Signs and guide posts between holes aide in course navigation
Cons: - Some of the current signs are in bad shape but they are getting replaced, so this con is temporary.
-Park bathroom is, well ... completely doorless. But at least there is a bathroom.
Other Thoughts: I had a great deal of fun playing this course. It challenged me and I'm certain I'm coming back to play here multiple more times.

What made me like this course more than Arboretum-Spiker was I thought the land the course runs through here was much more beautiful. That in combination with it's technical layout made it the kind of course that I want to be at more than once.

Many of the tees offered a couple of lines to hit, though all tight, and when I got a drive to hit those gaps I couldn't help but smile.

The course is very up/down, which for me was pretty new and challenging but very enjoyable. Its a decent hike and if it's just rained bring good shoes and watch your footing. Lots of places to slip and fall if careless.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Updates and modifications

5+    5/11/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: jay@just-disc-golf
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/19/2010
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is stark counties most beautiful course lots of trees lots of shots not a beginner course unless yo like trees well maintained by local club members new tee signs
Cons: would be the erosion issues from the years but this seems to be getting fixed here and there good job on the back filling of the tee pads no awful drop off now
Other Thoughts: a must play if in town

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 EXERCISE

5+    4/4/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: rcracer757
Played: 19  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2009
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A soccer field to practice your throws. This course has hills and trees galore. Have fun twisting a turning through all of it. I am a Bulldog at heart so it hurts me to say Massillon has a mighty fine course.
Cons: The pars on most of the holes seem to be very favorable. If you would just play as if they were all par 3 you would have a more accurate reading on how well you are playing.
Other Thoughts: Well this is a fun and challenging course and since I am trying to lose weight. This course put me to the test.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.