Elizabethtown, PA 
Elizabethtown College Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #4 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Descent Course

5+    4/2/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: mSchmoe41
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I enjoyed the tight, wooded lines with some risk reward holes. A really good place to practice approach shots. I was able to navigate fairly well.
Cons: The last time I played there was no 18th basket. A little swampy the last time I played due to the rain that accompanied before I played. Could have used some cleaning up. Too short for my liking.
Other Thoughts: An 18th basket would make it worthwhile to come back as this course used to be one I went to quite a bit.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    7/3/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: danzdisz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: fun course. good signs that "help" u with were the basket is located. most holes have some type of trees but still lanes 2 throw
Cons: needs some maintence. clear some tree debris. better markers at basket 2 help get u 2 the next tee. playing with a small group is fine but if their are other on coure u will have to pay attention for discs because the tee boxes and fairways are close and cross sometimes
Other Thoughts: TAKE BUG SPRAY. then dump it on u. my friends and i were attacked by mosquitos. they stung through the clothing. LOOK OUT.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I gotBushwacked! :(

1    4/1/2011   4/3/2011
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A serviceable course for working on technical lines and approaches. There actually are a few longer holes such as #8 that is 350 but slightly uphill with a low initial ceiling so it plays longer. Also there are a few interesting lines to discover here as well as some really fun shots such as Hole #7 downhill through a mature forest canopy. I enjoyed the mix of flex shots, overhands, anhyzers, true hyzers, and even the simpler ace runs if you included the oob pavements into those shots. A perfect backyard practice type course as it will never be busy and has a low stress feel once you are in the woods 4-18. A good course to restore your confidence as par is definetely attainable. No one bothered me despite me obviously not being a student at the college. Signage was a help at the tee pads.
Cons: Plenty of things keep this course from reaching it's potential. It has a sloppy feel to it. That is lots of downed trees and large branches run amok in the fairways in the woods. These are to the point of making walking hazzardous. I typically don't mention these things but these are obviously more than a few yrs old and not just recent ice storm deadfall. Holes 1-3 play near campus walkways and buildings and although fun simple shots either lend themselves to danger or distraction with conflicts ever present during certain times. Several holes intersect one another or play close to other holes....crazy layout which gets confusing even for a veteran disc golfer who "thinks he can sniff out a layout" by instinct. I missed hole 15 and played 16 as hole 6 accidently. There still is no hole 18 as of April Fools Day 2011. My biggest peeve were the bush holes 9,10,11,and 12. Great hole shapes but unfortunately the fairways were defined by bushes and younger trees with their expansive foliage in the presumed throwing lanes. Bummer! Lots of blind holes , which is fun but given the bushiness and cramped feel of the course you could potentially lose a disc or hit someone. So despite the interesting little holes I got frustrated by disc retrievals, wandering, and feeling a bit cramped to begin the day on the initial campus holes.
Other Thoughts: My title rflects the bushy foliage that spoiled my mood and the wacky layout that got me frustrated.
It seems to be the fate of many campus courses. A few students dream it up and get the course installed and then they graduate or lose interest and the course falls into a state of decay. I'm not sure the story here but it seems to be the case based on evidence here.
I really felt like this was like somebody's backyard course as it has many intersecting walks and fairways and no true tee pads but has some really fun little shots mixing woods and open spaces well. I would bet if this were a pvt course it would get bumped up in the ratings but in reality its on a college campus and safety concerns and navigation are important.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Approach-less

1    5/1/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Tee signs with number, distance, and flightpath information. Arrows on bottom of basket indicating direction of next tee. Even blend of left/right turns needed off the tee. Plenty of chances to tee-off with mids/fairway drivers, then putt.
Cons:
Tee signs' orientation not consistent - sometimes they are in front, sometime they are to the side. Tees are whatever random surface happens to be available. Having a small clearing shared by three holes (6,15,16) not ideal, as is still having no basket for #18. Lots of brush, tall grass, and ankle-high plant-life means a high chance of disc loss.
Other Thoughts:
Don't let the miniature-golf aspect of hole #1 (wide-open, straight, 135') turn you off - the course does get better, making the most of the small bit of land available to it, which consists of the edge of the campus, a tiny clearing, a patch of woods, a small meadow with scattered trees, and a short tree-filled ridge. With 1/3rd of the holes under 200' and 3/4ths under 275', you'll have plenty of opportunity to work on finesse drives and then putts, but little-to-no opportunity to grip-n-rip or make approach shots.

Navigation: After finishing #5, walk past the basket, up the slope (carefully - lots of broken pipes and mini-sinkholes), through the trees/brush to reach tee #16. To your left is basket #15. Across the clearing is a sign - that's where tee #6 is, with basket #16 behind it and to the left. To you right and up the ridge is tee #7/#15, and hard to the right and in the woods is basket #6. So, walk across, and play #6 (a hard double-left turn), then either scramble up the steep ridge to your left for tee #7, or re-trace your steps a bit and walk up a more gradual incline to reach the tee. Also, when finishing #14, don't keep walking straight, or you'll find tee #17! Instead, re-trace your steps a bit, then turn right, to find tee #15 (same spot as #7).

Favourite hole #7: One of the longer holes at over 300' and one of the few holes with elevation change, you need to throw a down/cross left-turning shot, avoiding a smattering of large trees early, then running straight towards the basket located at the end of a narrowing opening.

A few ace and many birdie opportunities, if that's your muse! Polar opposite to Red Land High School, just about hour away.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 E-Town

1    10/26/2009   11/5/2009
Review By: Joe Hollywood
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Varying shots to the left and right. Technique needed for much of this course. Some holes go through woods and some are open shots. Several blind shots make it interesting.
Cons: No tee off boxes. The course gets a little confusing at times crossing over itself. Hole 18 is missing. Course could use some landscaping and grooming.
Other Thoughts: A decent course for college students to have close by but isn't much to look at. Would be nice if they put some time into making it look a little nicer, by cleaning up the brush and doing something to cheer it up.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/30/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: alfan42
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Lots of left and right placed holes with some elevation change.

- Short course but technical.
Cons: - Missing basket 18
- the signs do not show the pars.
Other Thoughts: Would be nice to have actual tee boxes concrete or pads.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.