Milan, IL 
Camden Park - II Share
Uploaded By: Sprague16425 Hole #16 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

2-4    10/11/2016   10/11/2016
Review By: Senorpinchy
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 27.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/13/2016
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Again this in advance styled review.Very technical ,a lot demanding left and right hand throws, flick ability for both left and right backhand is almost required to score low. Oh... and ability to throw An-hyser's with power was fun, and not something I usually get to contribute in the woods when it's this tight, in some spots.
Cons: Only that I can't play it everyday.
Other Thoughts: None. Perfect course, could use bathrooms that are closer. #1stworldproblems

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    9/30/2016   10/7/2016
Review By: DiscHuker
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Don't be scared off by the "wooded course" reviews that you see. In my opinion, this is not a wooded course, rather, it is a course in the woods. When I think "wooded course" I think 10' gaps, thick underbrush and being frustrated for most of the round. Camden II is not that.

It has everything you need to have fun and at the same time to be tested. Every hole has a fair way in the truest sense of the word. You don't need to thread a needle 100' away at any time. There are landing zones that put you in good positions or there are aggressive shots that can yield birdies or bogies.

Plenty of elevation without feeling like you need an oxygen mask to finish the round. However, lots of elevation usually mean lots of awful roll aways. Not here. The stewards have put in an unbelievable amount of time manicuring this place to include logs to stop those rolls in the most strategic locations.
Cons: This isn't a "con" per se but rather an observation. Because they are constantly improving the course, there are always areas that are being worked on. I can see the things that were installed 6 months ago and I can see the things that will be great 6 months from now.

There is one tree that I dislike and Sprague knows which one!
Other Thoughts: I was hosted by the course designer so I got to hear the stories of each hole; what they used to be, what they have changed and what they will be doing next.

This place is incredible and it made me want to be a part of this disc golf community.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don't miss this one

5+    7/13/2016   7/13/2016
Review By: ALitt
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love a good hike in the woods? This course is for you!
The ever-changing bridges and decorative features are great.
The course is a challenge with several pin locations, it's rarely the same thing twice.
The maintenance crew for this place are creative workhorses who have gone out of their way to add directional signage to keep you on course.
Cons: The underbrush gets thick in summer. Discs are easily lost. Wear some pants if you plan to go digging for yours or you'll meet up with the poison ivy and itch-weed.
Other Thoughts: We are lucky to have this place so close to us!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 well taken care of

2-4    11/2/2013   12/15/2013
Review By: blkwizardsonny
Played: 88  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2014
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course is carved out of the woods for the entire course except a couple holes.Multiple par 4s and a 5 or 2 ,multiple pin placements,course is always being improved,excellent elevation,ravines,very challenging.offers another disc golf 18 hole course right there same parking cam 1.One more thought carved out sculptures on multiple holesof mushrooms and such.
Cons: Not many cons but,No bathrooms throughout the course is one
Other Thoughts: there is a dedicated crew that is there daily improving the course in every way .

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A magical world

2-4    10/27/2013   11/3/2013
Review By: Shade Seeker
Played: 102  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Walking into the woods and up to the first tee at Camden 2 is a magical moment. As you peer down into the ravine you realize you are in a different sort of place - a special environment crafted just for disc golfers. One can almost imagine a tribe of gnomes fashioning this wooden world of stairs, bridges, ladders, terraced greens, benches and "stump sculptures."
Beyond the beauty, this is a great disc golf course. It's been designed for the thinking man. The fairways have been cleared to offer choices for flight lines. The risks are truly risky - those ravines are much deeper than they appear from the top and there are steep slopes beneath some of the baskets. Proper placement is a consideration on both tee shots and upshots.
The character of this course is lots of trees and lots of elevation. Yet even though the ravines make for some cardiac climbing, the course gives you plenty of chances to catch your breath with shorter ridge-top holes. One of my favorite features of Camden 2 is its unique barriers like fallen trees and deep, pit bunkers at the bottom of the ravines.
My favorite holes are the ones that cross the ravines - #1, #7, #10 and #12. Hole #4 deserves special mention because the drive is so challenging - you have to hit the line, cross the creek and then turn right to land on the creek-side path. Fall short and you're descending a ladder to retrieve your disc. Go long and you're on the wooded slope beyond the path and pretty much trying to salvage a bogey. I also love #2 with its "whale" bunker - a huge fallen free between tee and basket - and #13, the long downhill bomb and the only hole that's not in the woods.
Cons: The major con, which is a temporary one, is the lack of signs. A world class course deserves world class signs, and, according to the website, they are on the way. The only other negative I can think of is that #18 is almost too difficult. The fairway is mostly creek for the length of the hole - one of those deep "pit bunkers." The only safe landing zone is a narrow path that runs between the right bank and steep slopes above. You have to be almost perfect, or really lucky, to stay out of trouble on this one. Any kind of hyzer action on your drive or your upshot and you're playing from the pit. That said, I guess it's a testimony to Camden 2 when the only con is about such a unique and cool hole.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure this course gets the respect it deserves. It should be on the national radar when it comes to courses in the woods. The only woods course I've played that comes close in terms of tender-loving-care is 7 Oaks in Nashville. Camden 2 is one of the major reasons that the Quad Cities area is such a great disc golf destination.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  World Class Wooded

5+    10/6/2012   11/6/2012
Review By: Sprague16425
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.4 Years
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A beautiful trail system with giant oaks, manicured grass covered fairways, navigable rough, dramatic elevation changes, terraced greens, trails, bunkers, generous tee pads, and a variety wildlife. This once overgrown briar and thorn tree forest has been reclaimed and restored to feel more like an oak savanna surrounded by heavy woods.

The course was designed for more experienced golfers as the terrain is demanding - be prepared for a hike. It is setup as a multiple loop trail system, so you can cut your round short at various points and hole 9 tees off near hole 1 allowing for half rounds.

Multiple pin positions means a variety of course layouts (each layout is given a unique name with course records tracked on the website). The layouts range from a par 55 in the shortest to a par 64 in the longest, allowing for a lot of flexibility for tournaments, leagues, and daylight issues.

The fairways are extremely well manicured and and the rough is 'navigable' with trails, steps, ladders, and terraces where necessary. The tree canopies are cut clean and high in an effort to allow a larger range of shots.

Strategically cleared rough allows bad shots to finish their flights leaving the players behind a wall of trees instead of hitting the tree line and dropping safely into the fairway. Players that wisely sacrifice distance for control will be rewarded with a shot for birdie, while players that are lured into throwing further will often find one these 'bunkers'.

Many of the par 4's and 5's are doglegs where the prime landing brings the basket into view and many have a fallen tree that gives you visual cues where to land. The prime landings are usually about 250-275ft to the front edge and 350-400ft to the back. This makes control more important than distance, while allowing both as an option.

Creek ravines have had hundreds of volunteer hours restoring their natural flow, removing splash dams that cause erosion, and building check dams to retain rocky sediment. A once quick sand filled ravine is now a dramatic elevation drop that acts more like a bunker with waterfalls, pools, steps, terraces, and ladders to get you in and out efficiently - a rare disc golf feature.

A highly dedicated crew averages over 25hrs per week improving course conditions and adding amenities. A work log has been maintained since November of 2007, documenting the creation and maintenance of this 90-acre behemoth.
Cons: Signage - the original plan for our signs fell through, but we are currently working on plan b for the signs which will closely resemble those at The Maple Hills course in Leicester, MA. The signs will have photos to illustrate the landing areas especially on the blind dogleg par 4's and 5's. The photos will be from prime landings looking down the second half of the fairway.

Tee pads - The Village of Milan selected 10x10 street forms for the tee pads. Some players are bothered by the short length, so the Camden Crew has been working on terracing the tee pads adding an additional 2ft to the front and back. On a positive note the 10 wide tees offer a wider variety of shot angles and selection. Also, some tee pads were poured slightly off line from the way they were marked, so we are also working on expanding the tees to allow a proper angle at the run up.
Other Thoughts: Such a big course takes long term vision and dedication, and the Camden Crew repeatedly assesses and reassesses our goals and progress. There are few Cons that are not on our list of 'things to do'.

Please keep providing feedback, it helps us prioritize our goals, and just know that we have no intention of stopping the momentum - this course evolves weekly sometimes daily!

Thanks for all the positive support and thanks to all the disc golfers who embrace the course by keeping the trash cleaned - we hardly find trash anymore! Keep spreading the positive energy!

Course design was inspired by John Houck, Harold Duvall, Stan McDaniel, Dave Dunipace, Chuck Kennedy, Greg Hosfeld, Steve Dodge, Justin McLuen, Doug Peyton, Des Moines Disc Golf, Timmy Gill, the Wildcat Bluff crew, and the over 300 course I've played...thank you!

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 a QC must play, woods and ravines

5+    10/5/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 130  Reviewed: 21
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Camden Park has two courses and the newer one, Camden II, is a great wooded course with fair technical lines and some dramatic elevation change. It requires all types of shots. There are several par 4s (4,5,6,8,13,17), depending on basket positions some are par 3s. One of these (hole 4) has a par 5 long basket position where a 5 feels like a birdie (to me at least). It requires a pinpoint precision downhill left-to-right drive to a narrow landing zone along the opposite side of the ravine, then a couple of fairway tunnel drives up a steep hill to get to the putting area. A three on this hole would be heroic. There are a couple holes where large downed trees are left in place to prevent skips or rollers from reaching the desired lie for the approach or putt, a nice feature.

A great corps of volunteers puts a lot of work into this course, and it shows, every time I go there is a new landscaping feature or bench or sign or erosion control measure. Several holes play along or across deep ravines, and discs can be tough to retrieve, so the course crew has worked hard to put in lots of steps at common access points to access the bottom of the ravines.

The course is a double loop design back to the parking area after hole 8. Therefore it traverses the two sets of ravines twice, and its a lot of up and down. You need to be prepared for some exercise at this course, and that is a pro in my book.

So far I have played 5 of the top 40 courses listed on DGCR and this ranks right up there. There's a great collection of courses in the Quad Cities, several are well worth a stop, and Camden II and West Lake are the two absolute must-plays.
Cons: A minor con, really a potential long-term con, is that there are some erosion problems in the ravines, where the creek banks are getting traffic from people trying to climb down to get their discs. Without constant maintenance, this could become a big problem in the long term.

The park amenities aren't usually a big factor in how I rate a course, but the two disc golf courses, and a picnic shelter near the parking area, all see a lot of use, and there's one portable outhouse. And it is a long and difficult walk up and down two big ravines to get there from the outlying holes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best Quad Cities Area Course

2-4    10/4/2012   10/4/2012
Review By: alcstradamus
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/19/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: --10X10 foot concrete pads don't provide a ton of room for run-up, however it is really not needed on this course (hitting lines is what is truly important) and instead the side to side movement allowed by the wide pads is much appreciated in order to hit various lines through the trees

--SICK elevation changes, mostly running over an empty creekbed which is intimidating yet still friendly to play around--and in :)

--Wooded holes are cut out well to provide fair lines. I don't think there is a single poke-n-hope hole here, and if you think there is you probably have the wrong idea of what challenging disc golf should be like

--Although there is only one open hole, it is a sweet anny bomb down a sledding hill so the couple of minutes of relief you get from the woods is pretty awesome.

--Depending on the pin placements, this is a course for everyone from intermediate to professional. The shorts are probably too short for the best players to have fun on, but the longs can be pretty damn tough. Note the difference between the 3 pins on #4 and your jaw will drop. A par 3 to par 4 to true par 5 transformation!

--The rough is amazingly manageable, especially considering the work that was necessary to make it that way. Something would seriously have to go wrong to lose a disc here,

--Handmade steps and bridges help increase the safety factor. This is NOT an easy course to walk, it is very steep and hilly and you are often traversing slick terrain, especially if it has been raining. The work put into adding these safety features is very appreciated, and I'm sure it will be even better in another year

--THE SHOTS....oh man...THE incredibly beautiful watching your disc fly over the ravine on multiple occasions. There are also 3 or 4 holes that could be called "signature"...take your pick of which those are. I suspect if you bring 4 people in your group, all 4 will have a different favorite hole.

--Loops back to the parking lot after the front 9 to refresh yourself

--Great exercise due to all the hills. Not busy, so you can take as much time as you need for rest and enjoyment
Cons: --I know it has been beat to death, but the lack of signage is a tough pill to swallow on this course. At minimum, there needs to be a hole number painted on the teepad. It is confusing even with a map when you get around the 11, 12, 17 area. Very easy to mistakenly throw off 17 when you should be throwing off of 12. When the leaves are fallen, the paths from basket to basket are less obvious as well and it is easy to tee at the wrong hole. I have played this course numerous times, and I still accidentally skipped a hole recently. Don't get me wrong, I like how the lack of signage helps keep the bad people out, but for someone who may be playing without a guide it would be tough. I also would really like some accurate yardage for the different pin placements without having to hunt on forums for a list.

--You could argue that there isn't enough variety here due to only 1 open hole, but I wouldn't make that argument. There are enough different types of shots throughout the woods to provide variety. This is not a con for me, just pointing it out to people who may love to bomb. There won't be much bombing here.
Other Thoughts: This is currently my favorite course. Other than lack of signage, there is only one reason why I did not give it a 5/5. That reason is that I just haven't played enough high rated courses to give myself perspective on what a 5/5 should be. Currently, the only top 40 courses I have played are Wildcat Bluff and West Lake. Camden 2 is superior to both of those for me, just barely squeeking by Wildcat Bluff. I need to play a couple more top rated courses before I am comfortable giving out 5 disc ratings.

If you visit the course website , you can find the updated pin locations that are currently in place. There are course layouts from the mid-50s for par up to the mid 60s (true par for an advanced golfer). I generally prefer the high 50s layout just because I'm not an advanced player, but the highest I have played is a par 62 and it definitely was a mental and physical beatdown!

Make no mistake about it folks, Camden 2 THE OTHER SIDE is a brilliant course and one that I am proud to have in the Quad Cities area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Camden II- The Bad Cop

1    9/16/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 35  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice big tee pads.

Multiple pin placements.

Amazing scenery and varied shot selection from tee off to holing out.

Densely wooded and great shots over ravines and up and down hills, great elevation changes.

Skill and shot placement necessary on every throw. You will be punished very badly for almost any mistake on any throw.

Isolated from everything except disc golf. Great atmosphere and a very challenging course.

Very nicely laid out and it takes much more than just a good drive to get a good score unlike many other courses.

This is the best course I have played and it is what I would see as a championship level course though I am not a tournament player. You need the skill, the power, the finesse, the right decisions, the disc selection, execution, and the confidence to just get par here and it changes how you view other courses that you thought were good before you played here.
Cons: It is a new course still coming together so there are no signs. Some holes have blind long pin placements which will require good signs that have all pin placements on them. Navigation would have been very bad if we didn't play with some locals who knew the course.
Other Thoughts: This course actually has legitimate par 4s and 5s if pins are in long positions. It was challenging for me when they were in short positions though I am just a casual/ recreational player. If you think you are good at disc golf, play a round here and see what you think of yourself after. I can not wait to come back and see how improved this course will get over time. Everyone should try this course!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

5+    7/30/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: Printnamehere2
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Multiple pin locations. Big wide tee pads. Many elevation changes and is well maintained by gene and his whole crew. They've been doing a great job trying to make this a champion level course.
Cons: Signage..... Just needs more of it

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.