Disc Golf Store
Milan, IL 
Camden Park - II Share
Uploaded By: Sprague16425 Hole #9 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
White post is 10m from the 9c pin pictured



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
"The Other Side" that Jason Derulo was really singing about.

1    9/1/2014   9/2/2014
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 71  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - What a gorgeous piece of land for disc golf! Secluded from all other park activities.
- Multiple pins for every hole - at least three, sometimes four. Great varieties of layouts available. Makes for good distance variation, as well as shot variation. I drove FH, BH, hyzer, and anhyzer multiple times all over the course.
- Benches at every tee pad. Some made of logs and stumps, others are obviously whatever the Camden Crew could get their hands on. Love it.
- Good signage. Looks very new, and has a lot of thought put into them. Each sign includes par and distance for each pin placement, along with a map of the hole. Also, pictures of what the hole looks like from the pad or fairway, with the pin positions indicated. So if you can see the basket, you can see on the picture which pin position it is. Very nice.
- HUGE tee pads. Like, 10' x 10'. This is great (and needed), since there is such a variety of pin positions, on some holes a normal 4 ft wide pad just wouldn't cut it.
- Massive elevation on many holes, as the course cuts along/through/across two ravines with deep creek beds at the bottoms. I played the day after a heavy rain, and the water in the creek beds was manageable when discs made their way down there. I was not afraid of losing a disc under water, or it being washed away.
- Great upkeep on the whole course. Can't say enough about it. Lots of underbrush is obviously kept clear. I would not call any of the underbrush dense, in the slightest.
- Great bridges, walk-overs, and steps in most of the right places. With so many holes crossing the ravines and swells, they've taken the time to put in log and paver steps to get you down into the creekbeds, which I'm sure get a lot of use. There's also evidence of spade-cut steps as well, directly into the sidewalls of the ravines.
- Fantastic warm-up area with putting-accuracy baskets, and regular baskets.
- Many memorable holes, and a handful of epic ones. A strength of this course is that there really are no true filler holes. Each one seems to have been designed with specific shots and shapes in mind.
- Just entering the woods, and seeing hole #1 in front of you is a grand experience. You suddenly realize the type of course you are about to encounter. Fantastic starter hole over a deep gully. Number 10 is a similar hole, but does not feel in the least bit repetitive.
- #4 is the signature hole on the course in my opinion. Long, downhill shot over the ravine, but wonderfully green, and open enough to let you see your disc flight the whole way. Etched in my memory.
- #7 is a daunting hole from the bottom of the same gully up the hill right next to #4. Easier than it looks, but there is always the chance of a roll-away if you hit something.
- #8 is a nice long hole that finally gives you a chance to grip and rip without too much chance of hitting a tree within 100 feet of the pad. Still plenty of timber guarding the last half of the hole, but a clean, powerful drive can get you a long ways on this hole.
- #12 may harbor the steepest of descents of any hole on the course. Many pin positions here, allowing for short ace-runs at the bottom of the hill, or longer rips to get across the valley.
- #13 is the only wide open hole on the course, but that doesn't make it a cake-walk. Massive downhill par 4 that requires a huge 400 foot left to right turning shot to get even a look at an open approach.
Cons: - My list of qualms, that obviously don't bother me all that much, but should be noted:
- Navigation can be a bit tricky if you don't pay attention to the tee sign. There are a few 'next tee' signs by baskets, but since there are so many pin placements, they're not always near the pin. If you make note of the indicated path on the tee sign, you'll have no problems.
- On some blind/longer holes, it can be difficult to tell which pin placement is in. The signs have done a pretty good job of making this obvious, but from time to time it takes a little dissection.
- I played the day after a heavy rain, and well-worn paths on hillsides were definitely slick. Fairways were all still in great shape, however.
- Just one porta-john on site in the parking lot, and no water available.
- As with all damp, wooded courses, I imagine bugs are a major issue in the spring. And of course poison ivy, which will never be eradicated from any wooded course.
Other Thoughts: - I played on a mixed pin set-up, including some very short A pins, as well as a few of the longer C/D pins. It made for a wonderful round. I imagine this course would be very arduous if in a completely 'long' layout.
- While I found the course highly demanding, I did not find it ridiculously punishing. Losing focus could mean a wayward shot or inopportune deflection into the woods, but all were reasonably recoverable. Yes, it is a high-level course, but not just for the sake of being as difficult as possible. Players with just one solid BH or FH hyzer drive will struggle here, however.
- Finally, kudos to the Camden Crew of volunteers who keep this free course in tip-top shape. The obvious upkeep on this course is what pushed this course to the max rating for me, my small qualms aside. Well done.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Tee Signs IN

1    7/28/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Loomis
Played: 401  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Tee Signs: In.
Tee Pads: In.
Well Marked navigation: yes. Who ever said it was hard to figure out is directionally challenged. Super easy to get around on this course.
Challenge: It's going to take all you got to make par here.
Visuals: Hell yeah. This is a well-loved course. How many other courses have their own four man team working this hard week in and week out to improve the course? And it has its own website. That' pretty bad ass.


This is a complete course and it's not easy. It employs tight lines, elevation, blind shots and extreme greens. It's not a course you want to play if you have a tough time staying on fairways. This is a PRO level course and anyone shooting under 900 is probably going to struggle.
Cons: Mud. There is a creek that runs through a good portion of the course and with heavy rain this course is a swamp.

Bugs. There are a lot of them.

Poison Ivy. Stay on the fairway. That's my advice.

Sight lines. You won't always be able to see the basket. Not even walking up the fairway is going to help on some of these holes. Just go straight and pray you don't kick off the fairway.

Other Thoughts: This is not cart friendly. There are a lot of stairs and muddy hills which you must cross or climb.

Take brightly colored discs because if you get off the fairway too far, you won't have enough time in your day to find the disc.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

C2 "The Other Side"

5+    1/12/2014   1/16/2014
Review By: Jawzx2
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course can be a monster or nice and easy depending on the layout and how you are playing. It is definitely designed for more experienced players as you can tell right from the get go on hole 1 which gives taste of what the course has to offer. A long drive across a valley with a 15ft deep ravine at the bottom of that. (Stairs have recently been added on both sides to allow easy access to the pit) From there on you fight through hills valleys, trees, and bushes as you work your way into the heart of the course. Holes 4-8 can make or break your round often times.

The course is laid out to loop back near the parking lot on hole 9 so take advantage of that to refill your cooler/use the restroom because rounds can take 2-4 hours depending on the layout and the size group you play with.

There is a good mix of challenging and technical holes that make great use of elevation change and woods. There are some truly unique holes on this course.

Trashcans and benches on nearly every hole, great big 10x10 teepads let you work different lines (hole 1 and 3 they are exceptionally useful.

Well maintained year round (Teepads shoveled and salted all winter), relatively few briar patches are left on the course so retrieving discs in the rough is pretty safe.

Trails are pretty well established from the baskets to the next teebox which is nice because there is a lack of signage

The course plays a little differently in the winter, leaves fall off opening up unseen lines and the ceiling rises a bit making the long drive holes a bit more manageable.

Overall it is an incredibly beautiful course to play year round, monstrous oaks and burning bush make it especially neat looking in the fall. Even if you aren't a golfer it is a beautiful place to just walk.
Cons: Little to no signage. If you are not familiar with the course it can be easy to get lost, but I understand that will be remedied soon. (In the mean time the pin positions can be found on camdentwo.com)

Only one Portopotty and that is located at the bottom of a valley on Camden 1
Other Thoughts: The course has really come into it's own this past year. It is the MUST PLAY course in the Quad Cities.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

good clean hard frustrating fun

5+    11/2/2014   11/3/2013
Review By: namar
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *update 11/4/14* Signs are in, which makes Camden 2 worthy of a 5 rating in my eyes. There are also some new pin placements since I last played, and general landscaping improvements throughout the course. **
This is woods and ravines disc at its finest. Bring your A+ game to Camden 2. Where Camden 1 gives you plenty of chances to air it out and is fairly forgiving, Camden 2 requires constant precision and will positively punish you if you allow it. Other reviews claim unfair or lacking lines through the trees, but I'd have to disagree. The layout here values shot placement and diligent use of landing zones over grin-n-rip drives, and rewards you accordingly. That's not to say you can't bomb it here, in fact you need to in a few places, but there is almost no room for error and no space for any sort of sweeping S shot. One will have the most success here with a strong Buzz/Roc game, or whatever you can throw on a rope out to 300'.
Cons: *update 11/4/14* really scratching here, but there are a couple places where a decent walk is required from a basket the next tee. There are no ziplines or chairlifts, so my legs are a little sore today.... I got nothin, Cam 2 is just plain great.
Other Thoughts: the local crew puts in a crazy amount of work to keep this place in the excellent shape I always find it in. There are trash cans throughout, at least every other tee, so please use them.

Benches at nearly every teepad (which are GIANT 10'x10' concrete slabs, bottle openers hanging from a tree or sign at every pad (at least during Camden Triples), and very informative signs provide those extra touches that bumps this course to a well-deserved 5 disc rating.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed this top rated course in IL

1    8/25/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: FightingIllinut
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The extra wide 10 x 10 tee pads allowed for shot shaping and selecting your line. VERY well cared for with ALOT of hours of volunteer work shining thru on every hole!
Cons: hmmm, splitting hairs here but at least 2 holes require 500-1000 foot walks to the next tee box with no arrows. Although there are arrows at most key locations I could see one or two places where they would be helpful. Speaking of signs...no tee signs except one or two holes is rather weak for a course of this stature...Im just sayin' c'mon City of Milan or someone...lets get sponsors for high quality tee signs and arrows
Other Thoughts: more later just a rating for now

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.