Milan, IL 
Camden Park - II Share
Uploaded By: Sprague16425 Hole #9 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 245ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
White post is 10m from the 9c pin pictured



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Tee Signs IN

1    7/28/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: Loomis
Played: 401  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tee Signs: In.
Tee Pads: In.
Well Marked navigation: yes. Who ever said it was hard to figure out is directionally challenged. Super easy to get around on this course.
Challenge: It's going to take all you got to make par here.
Visuals: Hell yeah. This is a well-loved course. How many other courses have their own four man team working this hard week in and week out to improve the course? And it has its own website. That' pretty bad ass.


This is a complete course and it's not easy. It employs tight lines, elevation, blind shots and extreme greens. It's not a course you want to play if you have a tough time staying on fairways. This is a PRO level course and anyone shooting under 900 is probably going to struggle.
Cons: Mud. There is a creek that runs through a good portion of the course and with heavy rain this course is a swamp.

Bugs. There are a lot of them.

Poison Ivy. Stay on the fairway. That's my advice.

Sight lines. You won't always be able to see the basket. Not even walking up the fairway is going to help on some of these holes. Just go straight and pray you don't kick off the fairway.

Other Thoughts: This is not cart friendly. There are a lot of stairs and muddy hills which you must cross or climb.

Take brightly colored discs because if you get off the fairway too far, you won't have enough time in your day to find the disc.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 C2 "The Other Side"

5+    1/12/2014   1/16/2014
Review By: Jawzx2
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course can be a monster or nice and easy depending on the layout and how you are playing. It is definitely designed for more experienced players as you can tell right from the get go on hole 1 which gives taste of what the course has to offer. A long drive across a valley with a 15ft deep ravine at the bottom of that. (Stairs have recently been added on both sides to allow easy access to the pit) From there on you fight through hills valleys, trees, and bushes as you work your way into the heart of the course. Holes 4-8 can make or break your round often times.

The course is laid out to loop back near the parking lot on hole 9 so take advantage of that to refill your cooler/use the restroom because rounds can take 2-4 hours depending on the layout and the size group you play with.

There is a good mix of challenging and technical holes that make great use of elevation change and woods. There are some truly unique holes on this course.

Trashcans and benches on nearly every hole, great big 10x10 teepads let you work different lines (hole 1 and 3 they are exceptionally useful.

Well maintained year round (Teepads shoveled and salted all winter), relatively few briar patches are left on the course so retrieving discs in the rough is pretty safe.

Trails are pretty well established from the baskets to the next teebox which is nice because there is a lack of signage

The course plays a little differently in the winter, leaves fall off opening up unseen lines and the ceiling rises a bit making the long drive holes a bit more manageable.

Overall it is an incredibly beautiful course to play year round, monstrous oaks and burning bush make it especially neat looking in the fall. Even if you aren't a golfer it is a beautiful place to just walk.
Cons: Little to no signage. If you are not familiar with the course it can be easy to get lost, but I understand that will be remedied soon. (In the mean time the pin positions can be found on camdentwo.com)

Only one Portopotty and that is located at the bottom of a valley on Camden 1
Other Thoughts: The course has really come into it's own this past year. It is the MUST PLAY course in the Quad Cities.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

well taken care of

2-4    11/2/2013   12/15/2013
Review By: blkwizardsonny
Played: 88  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2014
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is carved out of the woods for the entire course except a couple holes.Multiple par 4s and a 5 or 2 ,multiple pin placements,course is always being improved,excellent elevation,ravines,very challenging.offers another disc golf 18 hole course right there same parking cam 1.One more thought carved out sculptures on multiple holesof mushrooms and such.
Cons: Not many cons but,No bathrooms throughout the course is one
Other Thoughts: there is a dedicated crew that is there daily improving the course in every way .

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

good clean hard frustrating fun

5+    11/2/2013   11/3/2013
Review By: namar
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is woods and ravines disc at its finest. Bring your A+ game to Camden 2. Where Camden 1 gives you plenty of chances to air it out and is fairly forgiving, Camden 2 requires constant precision and will positively punish you if you allow it. Other reviews claim unfair or lacking lines through the trees, but I'd have to disagree. The layout here values shot placement and diligent use of landing zones over grin-n-rip drives, and rewards you accordingly. That's not to say you can't bomb it here, in fact you need to in a few places, but there is almost no room for error and no space for any sort of sweeping S shot. One will have the most success here with a strong Buzz/Roc game, or whatever you can throw on a rope out to 300'.
Cons: The almost complete lack of signage really holds back the rating, because I think the layout is superb and the challenge presented is top-tier. That said, I think it also keeps the chuckers confined to the relative familiarity of Camden 1, so out of some misplaced sense of elitism I'm giving back 1/2 a point for that. Other than signage, I find nothing not to love about this course.
Other Thoughts: the local crew puts in a crazy amount of work to keep this place in the excellent shape I always find it in. There are trash cans throughout, at least every other tee, so please use them.

I understand the initial plan for signage fell through and other options are being looked at. Even with minimal signage this is an easy 4.5 rating; above-average tee signs would make Camden 2 worthy of a 5 rating.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A magical world

2-4    10/27/2013   11/3/2013
Review By: Shade Seeker
Played: 92  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Walking into the woods and up to the first tee at Camden 2 is a magical moment. As you peer down into the ravine you realize you are in a different sort of place - a special environment crafted just for disc golfers. One can almost imagine a tribe of gnomes fashioning this wooden world of stairs, bridges, ladders, terraced greens, benches and "stump sculptures."
Beyond the beauty, this is a great disc golf course. It's been designed for the thinking man. The fairways have been cleared to offer choices for flight lines. The risks are truly risky - those ravines are much deeper than they appear from the top and there are steep slopes beneath some of the baskets. Proper placement is a consideration on both tee shots and upshots.
The character of this course is lots of trees and lots of elevation. Yet even though the ravines make for some cardiac climbing, the course gives you plenty of chances to catch your breath with shorter ridge-top holes. One of my favorite features of Camden 2 is its unique barriers like fallen trees and deep, pit bunkers at the bottom of the ravines.
My favorite holes are the ones that cross the ravines - #1, #7, #10 and #12. Hole #4 deserves special mention because the drive is so challenging - you have to hit the line, cross the creek and then turn right to land on the creek-side path. Fall short and you're descending a ladder to retrieve your disc. Go long and you're on the wooded slope beyond the path and pretty much trying to salvage a bogey. I also love #2 with its "whale" bunker - a huge fallen free between tee and basket - and #13, the long downhill bomb and the only hole that's not in the woods.
Cons: The major con, which is a temporary one, is the lack of signs. A world class course deserves world class signs, and, according to the website, they are on the way. The only other negative I can think of is that #18 is almost too difficult. The fairway is mostly creek for the length of the hole - one of those deep "pit bunkers." The only safe landing zone is a narrow path that runs between the right bank and steep slopes above. You have to be almost perfect, or really lucky, to stay out of trouble on this one. Any kind of hyzer action on your drive or your upshot and you're playing from the pit. That said, I guess it's a testimony to Camden 2 when the only con is about such a unique and cool hole.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure this course gets the respect it deserves. It should be on the national radar when it comes to courses in the woods. The only woods course I've played that comes close in terms of tender-loving-care is 7 Oaks in Nashville. Camden 2 is one of the major reasons that the Quad Cities area is such a great disc golf destination.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed this top rated course in IL

1    8/25/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: FightingIllinut
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The extra wide 10 x 10 tee pads allowed for shot shaping and selecting your line. VERY well cared for with ALOT of hours of volunteer work shining thru on every hole!
Cons: hmmm, splitting hairs here but at least 2 holes require 500-1000 foot walks to the next tee box with no arrows. Although there are arrows at most key locations I could see one or two places where they would be helpful. Speaking of signs...no tee signs except one or two holes is rather weak for a course of this stature...Im just sayin' c'mon City of Milan or someone...lets get sponsors for high quality tee signs and arrows
Other Thoughts: more later just a rating for now

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

The Rumble

1    5/11/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: Dan Ensor
Played: 56  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course. It was taken care of very well. If you stay on the course, there's very little (if any) significant underbrush.
It's moderately hilly and wooded; and the elevation and trees were both utilized. There are some up-hill shots, some down-hill shots, and some over-the-valley shots with several pins in risky positions.
There was a good mix in fairway width. One or two holes let you bomb it without trees in your way, lots of holes would shoot you down if you strayed too far, and a few holes forced you to be VERY accurate.
You can shoot well at this course playing conservatively or aggressively. There aren't many courses that pull that off (especially wooded courses); a lot of courses this wooded have very thick underbrush that can kill a round. at Cam-II, I never felt like I didn't have an opportunity to play down the fairway if I wanted.
Cons: Playing it the first time, there were several fairways I couldn't see. From the tee or pin. I felt like several fairways were split in places that knocked down a lot of very good shots. I felt there was only 1 hole that a long, accurate drive was rewarded (If I was more accurate I may have felt differently).
There are a few stumps in the middle of the fairway. Maybe they're supposed to define split fairways, but they didn't seem tall enough for that unless a drive was released a little low. I saw a few nice drives go directly over them, and I also saw one or two hit the stumps.
Other Thoughts: I thought this course would have been a lot better if I was a gold level player. I could not hit a lot of fairways, no matter how conservative a shot I attempted. It was a lot of fun playing dubs, but playing singles at the tourney knowing I was throwing a crap-shoot type shot wasn't much fun.

This course is on my short list of courses to play again in QCI.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 World Class Wooded

5+    10/6/2012   11/6/2012
Review By: Sprague16425
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.2 Years
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A beautiful trail system with giant oaks, manicured grass covered fairways, navigable rough, dramatic elevation changes, terraced greens, trails, bunkers, generous tee pads, and a variety wildlife. This once overgrown briar and thorn tree forest has been reclaimed and restored to feel more like an oak savanna surrounded by heavy woods.

The course was designed for more experienced golfers as the terrain is demanding - be prepared for a hike. It is setup as a multiple loop trail system, so you can cut your round short at various points and hole 9 tees off near hole 1 allowing for half rounds.

Multiple pin positions means a variety of course layouts (each layout is given a unique name with course records tracked on the website). The layouts range from a par 55 in the shortest to a par 64 in the longest, allowing for a lot of flexibility for tournaments, leagues, and daylight issues.

The fairways are extremely well manicured and and the rough is 'navigable' with trails, steps, ladders, and terraces where necessary. The tree canopies are cut clean and high in an effort to allow a larger range of shots.

Strategically cleared rough allows bad shots to finish their flights leaving the players behind a wall of trees instead of hitting the tree line and dropping safely into the fairway. Players that wisely sacrifice distance for control will be rewarded with a shot for birdie, while players that are lured into throwing further will often find one these 'bunkers'.

Many of the par 4's and 5's are doglegs where the prime landing brings the basket into view and many have a fallen tree that gives you visual cues where to land. The prime landings are usually about 250-275ft to the front edge and 350-400ft to the back. This makes control more important than distance, while allowing both as an option.

Creek ravines have had hundreds of volunteer hours restoring their natural flow, removing splash dams that cause erosion, and building check dams to retain rocky sediment. A once quick sand filled ravine is now a dramatic elevation drop that acts more like a bunker with waterfalls, pools, steps, terraces, and ladders to get you in and out efficiently - a rare disc golf feature.

A highly dedicated crew averages over 25hrs per week improving course conditions and adding amenities. A work log has been maintained since November of 2007, documenting the creation and maintenance of this 90-acre behemoth.
Cons: Signage - the original plan for our signs fell through, but we are currently working on plan b for the signs which will closely resemble those at The Maple Hills course in Leicester, MA. The signs will have photos to illustrate the landing areas especially on the blind dogleg par 4's and 5's. The photos will be from prime landings looking down the second half of the fairway.

Tee pads - The Village of Milan selected 10x10 street forms for the tee pads. Some players are bothered by the short length, so the Camden Crew has been working on terracing the tee pads adding an additional 2ft to the front and back. On a positive note the 10 wide tees offer a wider variety of shot angles and selection. Also, some tee pads were poured slightly off line from the way they were marked, so we are also working on expanding the tees to allow a proper angle at the run up.
Other Thoughts: Such a big course takes long term vision and dedication, and the Camden Crew repeatedly assesses and reassesses our goals and progress. There are few Cons that are not on our list of 'things to do'.

Please keep providing feedback, it helps us prioritize our goals, and just know that we have no intention of stopping the momentum - this course evolves weekly sometimes daily!

Thanks for all the positive support and thanks to all the disc golfers who embrace the course by keeping the trash cleaned - we hardly find trash anymore! Keep spreading the positive energy!

Course design was inspired by John Houck, Harold Duvall, Stan McDaniel, Dave Dunipace, Chuck Kennedy, Greg Hosfeld, Steve Dodge, Justin McLuen, Doug Peyton, Des Moines Disc Golf, Timmy Gill, the Wildcat Bluff crew, and the over 300 course I've played...thank you!

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

a QC must play, woods and ravines

5+    10/5/2012   10/23/2012
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 116  Reviewed: 19
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Camden Park has two courses and the newer one, Camden II, is a great wooded course with fair technical lines and some dramatic elevation change. It requires all types of shots. There are several par 4s (4,5,6,8,13,17), depending on basket positions some are par 3s. One of these (hole 4) has a par 5 long basket position where a 5 feels like a birdie (to me at least). It requires a pinpoint precision downhill left-to-right drive to a narrow landing zone along the opposite side of the ravine, then a couple of fairway tunnel drives up a steep hill to get to the putting area. A three on this hole would be heroic. There are a couple holes where large downed trees are left in place to prevent skips or rollers from reaching the desired lie for the approach or putt, a nice feature.

A great corps of volunteers puts a lot of work into this course, and it shows, every time I go there is a new landscaping feature or bench or sign or erosion control measure. Several holes play along or across deep ravines, and discs can be tough to retrieve, so the course crew has worked hard to put in lots of steps at common access points to access the bottom of the ravines.

The course is a double loop design back to the parking area after hole 8. Therefore it traverses the two sets of ravines twice, and its a lot of up and down. You need to be prepared for some exercise at this course, and that is a pro in my book.

So far I have played 5 of the top 40 courses listed on DGCR and this ranks right up there. There's a great collection of courses in the Quad Cities, several are well worth a stop, and Camden II and West Lake are the two absolute must-plays.
Cons: A minor con, really a potential long-term con, is that there are some erosion problems in the ravines, where the creek banks are getting traffic from people trying to climb down to get their discs. Without constant maintenance, this could become a big problem in the long term.

The park amenities aren't usually a big factor in how I rate a course, but the two disc golf courses, and a picnic shelter near the parking area, all see a lot of use, and there's one portable outhouse. And it is a long and difficult walk up and down two big ravines to get there from the outlying holes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best Quad Cities Area Course

2-4    10/4/2012   10/4/2012
Review By: alcstradamus
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/19/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: --10X10 foot concrete pads don't provide a ton of room for run-up, however it is really not needed on this course (hitting lines is what is truly important) and instead the side to side movement allowed by the wide pads is much appreciated in order to hit various lines through the trees

--SICK elevation changes, mostly running over an empty creekbed which is intimidating yet still friendly to play around--and in :)

--Wooded holes are cut out well to provide fair lines. I don't think there is a single poke-n-hope hole here, and if you think there is you probably have the wrong idea of what challenging disc golf should be like

--Although there is only one open hole, it is a sweet anny bomb down a sledding hill so the couple of minutes of relief you get from the woods is pretty awesome.

--Depending on the pin placements, this is a course for everyone from intermediate to professional. The shorts are probably too short for the best players to have fun on, but the longs can be pretty damn tough. Note the difference between the 3 pins on #4 and your jaw will drop. A par 3 to par 4 to true par 5 transformation!

--The rough is amazingly manageable, especially considering the work that was necessary to make it that way. Something would seriously have to go wrong to lose a disc here,

--Handmade steps and bridges help increase the safety factor. This is NOT an easy course to walk, it is very steep and hilly and you are often traversing slick terrain, especially if it has been raining. The work put into adding these safety features is very appreciated, and I'm sure it will be even better in another year

--THE SHOTS....oh man...THE SHOTS.....so incredibly beautiful watching your disc fly over the ravine on multiple occasions. There are also 3 or 4 holes that could be called "signature"...take your pick of which those are. I suspect if you bring 4 people in your group, all 4 will have a different favorite hole.

--Loops back to the parking lot after the front 9 to refresh yourself

--Great exercise due to all the hills. Not busy, so you can take as much time as you need for rest and enjoyment
Cons: --I know it has been beat to death, but the lack of signage is a tough pill to swallow on this course. At minimum, there needs to be a hole number painted on the teepad. It is confusing even with a map when you get around the 11, 12, 17 area. Very easy to mistakenly throw off 17 when you should be throwing off of 12. When the leaves are fallen, the paths from basket to basket are less obvious as well and it is easy to tee at the wrong hole. I have played this course numerous times, and I still accidentally skipped a hole recently. Don't get me wrong, I like how the lack of signage helps keep the bad people out, but for someone who may be playing without a guide it would be tough. I also would really like some accurate yardage for the different pin placements without having to hunt on forums for a list.

--You could argue that there isn't enough variety here due to only 1 open hole, but I wouldn't make that argument. There are enough different types of shots throughout the woods to provide variety. This is not a con for me, just pointing it out to people who may love to bomb. There won't be much bombing here.
Other Thoughts: This is currently my favorite course. Other than lack of signage, there is only one reason why I did not give it a 5/5. That reason is that I just haven't played enough high rated courses to give myself perspective on what a 5/5 should be. Currently, the only top 40 courses I have played are Wildcat Bluff and West Lake. Camden 2 is superior to both of those for me, just barely squeeking by Wildcat Bluff. I need to play a couple more top rated courses before I am comfortable giving out 5 disc ratings.

If you visit the course website www.camdentwo.com , you can find the updated pin locations that are currently in place. There are course layouts from the mid-50s for par up to the mid 60s (true par for an advanced golfer). I generally prefer the high 50s layout just because I'm not an advanced player, but the highest I have played is a par 62 and it definitely was a mental and physical beatdown!

Make no mistake about it folks, Camden 2 THE OTHER SIDE is a brilliant course and one that I am proud to have in the Quad Cities area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.