Milan, IL 
Camden Park - II Share
Uploaded By: Sprague16425 Hole #17 (Taken 10/2013)
4 / 585ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Huge potential, almost there

1    5/9/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
11 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course plays in a hilly forested area in a large park, and the course doesn't share the land with any other uses which adds to the feeling of seclusion. The hills are used very well in the design to makke you play up and down hills and across valleys, with roll away pin positions to add trouble late in the hole. All the holes have tree lined fairways, and most have low ceilings, but very few felt so tight that it was luck to get down the fairway. It was a great risk/reward course though, because the further you try to get down the long fairways, the more chance you have of punishment from the thick rough.

You will need lots of different shots to score well here, with a great balance of left and right turning holes, and very few straightforward and easy holes. There are some great legitimate par 4 holes that will make you work for par, a birdie 3 feels great, and a poor drive or second shot can easily land you a 5 or worse. The creeks running through the property come into play on several holes adding an ob possibility but not one where you're going to lose your disc permanently.

The flow of the course is very good, with signs marking the way when it's not really obvious how to get to the next hole. The concrete tees are huge and brand new with great texture for grip even when wet. An enormous amount of work has gone into making steps and bridges up and down the ravines and over the creeks, so even when the ground is a little muddy it's not that tough to get down to a disc that ended up at the bottom.
Cons: Though navigation between holes is well marked and easy to follow, some signage work needs done for the holes themselves. There were some picture signs up on some holes, but they weren't very clear and didn't make it any easier to figure out the hole standing on the tee. There are lots of long holes in the woods here, and nearly all of them have elevation, so it makes for a long round when you have to walk ahead to scout every hole. Also, some holes that did have signs were not in the pin positions indicated on those signs adding to the confusion.

Some of the fairways need some work still, as this is a relatively new course. Some debris needs cleared, and there are places where small stumps etc. are still there to trip you up. Both of the major cons here are temporary though, as it seems like a lot of work is going into the course, hopefully these issues are resolved soon and I can update my review and rating.
Other Thoughts: The design and terrain of this course are fantastic, and make for some awesome throwing with great elevation and a tough but fair layout that will test every part of your game. There are some issues that need some work, but they are definitely fixable, and when they are taken care of this course is easily at least a 4 disc rated course.

Beginners will find this course very difficult and long, with lots of punishing rough waiting to snag errant drives. More experienced players will find the course challenging with lots of variety and unique holes, this is great wooded golf fi you like to be tested.

This course is definitely a destination if you visit the disc golf hot spot here in the quad cities, with two different but fun courses and the best practice area I've seen all in the same park.

11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Tight and challenging course

2-4    5/18/2009   5/10/2010
Review By: chelseahawk3
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is a new course. It is cut out of a heavily forested area just across from Camden I. Of course, the pads and tees are nice and new. Layout is innovative and challenging.
Cons: A new course, so not many pathways are cut out yet. That also means not a lot of shot pathways have been cut out either. Can be treacherous when muddy. Also can be confusing if you don't carefully follow signs/paths. Some holes can really test your patience. Can be very overgrown in the middle of summer.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is a real chore to play. However, you have to give it the respect it deserves. It is a very closed and wooded course, which can make for a challenging and frustrating round. I would recommend playing Camden I if you are short on patience or time.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT Job Quad City Disc Golf ! ! !

1    3/29/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: sthomas128
Played: 53  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2010
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: FANTASTIC course. Tight fairways, great use of elevation, creek with pretty deep ravine will make you think twice about the disc you have in your hand, good mix of holes. LOVE the photo tee signs, If only someone would stop ripping them down.
Cons: Only the navigation really (missing signs)...Slippery-When-Wet. Played a couple days after a good rain. Plenty of mud to go around
Other Thoughts: Kudos to Quad City Disc Golf for all of the hard work they have done. Quad City Disc Golf has gone the distance to put in a lot of GREAT courses. Keep up the fantastic work...

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Camden II is so SWEET

2-4    5/26/2012   1/16/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2012
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This review is coming from a professional player who loves the most difficult challenges.

Camden 2 is located on the East side of the property. The course plays entirely in heavy woods. There are some excellent elevation changes and nasty ravines. A small creek runs through the ravine and comes into play on many holes. This course is a pretty good hike so be careful. Several bridges were constructed across the ravines and they are very impressive. Many staircases and walking paths have been created as well.

There is a good sized practice area off the parking lot. There are 4 practice baskets.

This is a Championship Level wooded course. It is one of a kind in Illinois. It will challenge the best players in the world. There is a wide variety with multiple pins. Several par 4's/5's add difficulty. If each pin is in the hardest location this course is down right nasty!

They have done a great job of cleaning up many holes. The landing zones are wider and the rough isn't quite as nasty. It has become more player friendly.

Great use of elevation.

The concrete tees are awesome. They are 10X10 feet. I have never seen a course with anything like them. Depending on where you stand on the tee pad it changes the line of the hole dramatically.

Navigation has improved tremendously. There are next tee signs on every hole. They are white with a red hole # painted on them. They are placed high in easy to see areas.

Brand new Mach 3 baskets.
Cons: This course lacks tee signs. With them I might push my review to a 5.
Other Thoughts: *This course is designed for Adv/Pro calibur players or those who can control a disc. Staying in the fairways is a must. You also need to be in decent physical shape to hike up and down and get into and out of some difficult places.*

This course is still a work in progress. I am amazed with what has been accomplished since I last visited 2 years ago. It just keeps getting better.

Both courses compliement each other nicely with Camden 2 being very challenging.

The Quad Cities has some very good disc golf. Plan a vacation here and play as many course as you can. You will not be disappointed.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 another qca gem

2-4    9/26/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 711  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: See hognosesucker's review. I don't really have a lot to add to this.
One thing I will add; there are some deuce opportunites here. Many of the very top level courses have such tough holes; hole after hole, that par is the best you can achieve on all pins. Here, they actually give you a chance to send your score in the correct direction every once in a while.
On the other hand; there are some holes where a four is a good score. A few of these rank up there with some of the best holes I've ever seen.
Therefore, this balances out as a great par course. i.e. You earn your fours in some places; and have a chance to get a few twos as well.
Cons: Permanent tee signs still needed. You may have to find your way a couple of times here. There are a couple of places were holes are near each other. Not in terms of play; but in terms of discovering which direction you need to go.
Other Thoughts: I have noted this on the West Lake review; but, will say it again; this area is one of the best quality disc areas I've ever seen. West Lake is one of the best/toughest courses I've ever played. Camden 2 is nearly as good; without all the water. Devil's Glen is an awesome nine. Middle Park is a very good 18. Butterworth is as good as a nine gets. Prospect is a good course. Eagle River is top notch. Longview is one of their earliest; and though not played much any more (and map is needed for that one); is a great example of an early "fall away green" course. There are more courses here, believe it or not! i.e. Eastern (which is a rip and chuck course with some water involved) is the busiest of all of the courses. Come to the Quad Cities to play; you will be thrilled you did. Camden 2 is a top notch course!!!

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Addition of this course makes the Camden complex a must-play in IL

5+    5/9/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 360  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2010
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Huge concrete tee pads (8x8 I think)
-HEAVILY wooded (17 of 18 play in woods)
-Great use of elevation: this course plays across two huge ravines, about 2/3 of the holes utilize the elevation changes
-Great variety of shots-many straight drives, many big anhyzers, a few slight and big hyzers (rhbh), possibles holes where overhand shots and even grenades can be utilized effectively.
-some if not all holes have two pin placements/hole-I've played several times and have seen several holes in different positions
-although there was a big storm a few years ago that affected the original design, many of the trees were left to add unique structures/obstacles on the hole. for instance on hole 6 or 7 which is a big dogleg left, a massive tree fell down right at the turn, forcing you to throw up to it, but not get too close as it will limit your next shot...or try to go over it, number two has a unique tree fall also, I call it the whale hole, as the tree blocking the hole looks like a whale.
-OB on a few holes especially after rain, the creek comes into effect on maybe half the holes
-good mix of long and short holes-some of the long holes are sick, but the short holes can be tough also because of the semi-tight, but fair fairways.
-AWESOME bridges over the creek
-Waste baskets on almost every hole
-Another good, time tested 18 on the other side of the road is always nice.
-Course is a favorite of the local club so there are always opportunities to play with people who know the course.
-UPDATE10/2010: course now has alt pins (sometimes 3 placements) on vast majority of holes ( didnt see alt pins for 13 or 16 ) and pins have been moved to the new placements which are mostly short pins
Cons: -Since I played last in May still no signage, just interesting slabs of wood with different ways of denoting the number of hole (numbers dominoe like slabs etc.) UPDATE 10/10 still temporary tee signs
-Along with that there are no distances on the "signs" which I'm guessing will be fixed before the Women's Championships (Sept. 17-19). But for now it can be hard even to figure out in which direction to throw
-The park in general has fairly poor facilities-portajohn, possibly no water fountains on either course definitely not on this one. There is a nice pavillion with electric at the parking lot though.
-When the course is wet, it is dangerous. Being in the forest, there is not a lot of ground cover on the fairways (the rough is a different story) and with all the elevation change, climbing and decending the hills can be dangerous, also the paths btwn holes can be sloppy and treacherous.
-Although somewhat marked, navigation between holes can be confusing for first-timers, but btwn hole paths are well beaten in for the most part. UPDATE 10/10 I think navigation is intentionally tricky to keep the disrespectful dgers away. This is a positive thing though IMO
-Many blind shots so bring a spotter or two. UPDATE 10/10: short pins erase a lot of the blind shot issues here.
-Along with the previous con, play with another person the first few times, as the rough is pretty nasty there
-Overall, in my mind, for the quality of shots you'll be throwing, the cons are very minor.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is awesome, and with time it can only get better. In a few years, I can imagine most of the cons being erased. It's still very young (2008?). I would recommend getting together with a local the first time you play for the reasons above and you'll have a great round of smooth golf. I'm guessing you can go post up at the Iowa DG forum (www.iowadg.com ) or the qcdg club site (www.qcdiscgolfclub.com ) to meet up with someone. I was a member of the club years ago and the vast majority of club folks are great people. Also here is a link to the course layout (http://www.qcdiscgolfclub.com...amdentwo.php) just pull the mouse over the arial map and it shows the layout. There are also some youtube videos on that page. I don't know if there are any printable maps anywhere yet.

Overall this course is probably in the top five in Illinois. And in the quad city area it's a toss up btwn this and west lake ( http://www.dgcoursereview.com...php?id=2418).

A must play while in the qca

UPDATE Sept. 2009
Played there the weekend after the Women's DG Championships and the course is looking great! New additions include steps (made of 4x4 posts) in many locations to traverse dangerous spots, and temporary tee signs that have distance and photos of the holes to help point you in the right direction. The rough is still pretty rough though, but the fairways are still clean and tight!

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.