Valdosta, GA 
Freedom Park Share
Uploaded By: toad1212 Hole #6
3 / 207ft.   3 / 264ft.   3 / 342ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Blue Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
one very fun course

1    1/20/2013   1/20/2013
Review By: Chuck6995
Played: 195  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 32.3 Years
Pros: 1 concrete tees on every hole
2 great tee signage letting you know where to go after you hole out
3 all the fairways are manicured and cleaned of debris
4 the local players are very friendly and willing to let you play thru if you are moving fast than they are.
5 to the next from any green was a short distance this also made my 2 rounds play very quick
6 the balance of woods and open holes made this course flow nicely, if you throw strong and far in the open you can bet you try to throw strong on the wooded holes with a good deal of confidence you might get an ace
Cons: only one con here hole 18 though wide open along the power line if you hit one and you can will turn a 3 into a 4 or 5 on your card
Other Thoughts: I look forward to coming back to this course

 Great Course

5+    7/20/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: Triple_Bogey
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads on every hole. Practice basket. Nice DisCatcher baskets, including a practice basket right next to the parking lot. Well thought out course that uses natural obstacles to shape the holes. Lot of different shots required. Pin positions change often.
Cons: Some of the wooded holes are bordered by a swampy lake, so bring plenty of bug spray in the spring and summer. Tall grass on hole 5 makes it easy to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course, and the only course in the area. It has a great mix of wooded and open holes, with a few birdie opportunities (holes 1, 4, 7, 12, 14, 16). Power throwers will love hole 18. The next time I visit Valdosta, I plan on playing a few rounds. Overall, a fairly difficult course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/12/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: simon14
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very unique course.Open and wooded fairways, this course is very challenging with a nice mix of different shots.
Cons: Easy to lose disc in tall grass.Course will sometimes become flooded.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course!!!It is the best course I have played besides T2.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/22/2011   2/23/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads for different skill levels. Decent mix between open and wooded holes. Some tight fairways and multiple pin placement keeps a good variety. Lots of distance on several holes. A number of tucked pins and hard right/left dog legs that'll test you for sure. There's a course map across from the practice tee and the course if fairly easy to navigate. A lot of the course is in the shade which makes it a great course to play year round. 18 is a sick ending to an awesome course! I think the best feature is the variety, it's never a boring course to play and you have to be consistent in order to score well throughout the entire course. Not really any "gimme" holes on this course, you've got to work for birdies and know when to lay up for par.

Cons: There's really not much to say...power lines make two of the holes a little tricky but that's not a design flaw. There are multiple pin locations and maybe having a marker somewhere to indicate whether it's on the right/left, short/long would help.
A few places where it's possible to lose a disc, I'd put a spotter on hole 9 just to be safe.
Other Thoughts: You've really got to have all parts of your game to score well on this course. And at the same time it's beginner friendly and a great place to learn how to play, because if you can play here you can play almost anywhere.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/6/2012   2/8/2012
Review By: lofton2107
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Where to begin....First thing that i must say about this course is the varitey that you have with each hole. Most of the time you will not have the same kind of shot over and over again. The course is difficult but also makes you a better player due to the tight shoots that you have to make on a consistent basis. Overall the course is tight, wooded, some open holes, uses every bit of elevation that is out there to use. So if you like a good challenege and better your playing this is a great course. Its always puts me to the test.
Cons: Tee Signs. But I have talk to the club pro and they are in work as of now.
Other Thoughts: The atmosphere around the course is awesome. Everyone out there is friendly and willing to help each other out. The club is really involved with the local community. Since I have lived in the area I have notice that the club out there really listens to the community about what they can do to improve the course and it is working. The Tee pads added a lot to the course and everytime I go out there they are improving something else about the course. Can't wait for the Tee Signs to get in!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

5+    2/2/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: theswamp36
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Everything about this curse gets me excited, the white tees as well as the blue tees have been concreted as well as mulitiple pin place ment on each hole provides for new challenges each week. Tee signs have been said to be in the works and should be in by end of febuary. The course layout gives you a number of challenging shots no matter what tee pads you play, with Long open windy holes as well as tight gapped planted pines, everything to challenge any skill level disc golfer.
Cons: Tee signs
Other Thoughts: This course is still young, with a military community as well as a college town, will definetly continue to provide a steady rise of interest in the sport, and with talk of another set of 18 holes, the future could provide for some great pro level tournaments!!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great South Georgia Gem

1    1/26/2012   1/26/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads
multiple pin locations
some open looks
some very tough tight lines
quiet park with beautiful foliage and mature trees
Cons: Signs were down and the flow of the course was confusing at times but if you have played your share of courses it wasn't too difficult to figure out.
some holes were high risk with little chance of reward even if you had the drive of your life
Other Thoughts: So i'll admit it, this course beat me today. Part of it was layout and the other part was i didn't throw my best round. if you are riding on I-75 in South Georgia-take the exit and play a round. You will enjoy the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, look for local guide

2-4    5/12/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Freedom park provides a well-rounded challenge for players of all skill levels. There are three sets of tees that do a good job of covering the entire player skill spectrum.

The course favors a player that is accurate and has the ability to shape shots in a variety of ways, but power does help.

There are some very unique looks to the holes as the course weaves through two sections of tall pines and one open section under the power lines.

Throwing off the fairways will certainly challenge a player's ability to scramble and tee shot selection provides many opportunities to think and consider strategy.

The white tees are all cement and provide a borderline white/blue level challenge. Over time, as the course continues to wear in, it'll probably be spot-on for a white level challenge.

Friendly locals and rapidly increasing player base that is tied in with the military base and university indicate that this course will continue to improve and become a 4 rated course in the near future.
Cons: The course markings are incomplete at present. It is somewhat difficult to navigate without a guide. The course does not yet have tee signs and many of the baskets are blind from the tee, requiring a lot of walking up and walking back. Most of these situations could be improved by cutting sight lines so that the baskets could be viewed from the tees.

The blue tees are presently a mix of rubber and natural surfaces.

There are 3-4 holes that are "poke and pray" types. These could be fixed by a combination of moving the baskets slightly and selective tree removal and trimming.

The rough is thick in places with quite a few thorns. There is a moderate chance of losing plastic.

Other Thoughts: Freedom Park provides a very attractive natural setting and solid challenge for all player skill levels. It requires focus and execution from start to finish to score well.

The locals are friendly, so it's worth waiting around the practice basket for a while to hook up with a game if you haven't played the course before.

Don't be a dirty discer, leave the course cleaner than how you found it.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Val's killer

1    4/13/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 197  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The disc golf course at Freedom Park in Valdosta is a very good course that has potential to be even better. The holes offer a good variety of distances, left/right, open & wooded, and overall challenge. Power lines create some unique tee shots on a couple of holes. Path through the course is reasonably easy to navigate. The presence of multiple tees on most holes adds versatility. All of the baskets are in good condition.
Cons: There are few real cons for this course, but there are a few areas where improvement is possible. The addition of tee signs with distances and hole maps would be great. A few garbage cans would be Ok too. I would also like to see concrete tees on the blue boxes. Those upgrades would make this course at least a 4 to me. I think it was hole 8 that really seemed that there were too many trees to have a valid fairway to drive.
Other Thoughts: I wish I could play this one a few more times. It had a very fun layout, and kind of kicked my butt. Making birdies is very possible. I had 5 my first and only round so far. On the flipside, bad drives and poor shot placement can really cost you. I ended up seven over, and regretting my inconsistent play. Freedom Park is not a stunner, but it is a very solid course that is fun, challenging, and somewhat unique. Given the opportunity, I would love to return there for a shot at a much improved score. I would surely recommend checking it out if you can.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Potential for greatness...not there yet!

1    4/30/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. Concrete tee pads (White tees only)
2. Good quality baskets (DISCatcher)
3. Next Tee signage
4. Variety of challenges including water, elevation changes, distance, electrical wires, and trees (dear God, the trees!)
5. Variety of shots required to score well
6. Adequate seating / benches along the way for those who require them
Cons:
1. No tee box signage - some tee boxes have a number near them, but no indication of distance, location of pin, etc...
2. Red and Blue tee boxes not concrete (I'm okay with the Reds being turf / rubber, but Blues should be poured up if possible)
3. Somewhat confusing layout for first-timer (After once through it's quite navigable)
4. Bathrooms are far away (but in same park!)
5. Very few trash receptacles
Other Thoughts: I was only able to get one round in at Freedom park on my visit to GA, but found the course to be both challenging and fun. I feel it would certainly provide adequate challenge for all skill levels and has a fair amount of variety, as well. While I was personally frustrated by a number of trees on the course, I appreciated their innate peaceful beauty (significantly more when my disc passed them by!)... Some holes were more technical than I prefer, and others were almost totally wide open...so there's a little something for everyone.

To me, this course is just a typical Disc Golf course (as it's setup currently). While the foundation for a very good course has been laid, there is still work to be done for improvement. My biggest complaint is that for Freedom Park first-timers or people relatively new to the sport, this course provides little of the basic information that would be useful (i.e. accurate distances and pin locations on each hole). While the course is fun overall, there are too many things lacking at this point for a better rating... Definitely worth a play if you're in the area, however!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.